Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the displacement sensor must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following apparent inadvertent typographical error: examiner suggests "two linear magnetic drive structures". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 6-8, the limitations with phrases following the format “[first element] is/being provided at [second element]” raises clarity issues. It is unclear how this limitation should be interpreted and it is unclear as to what the metes and bounds of the above claim limitations are and would be needed to meet the above claim limitations.
In each claim, the phrase “[first element] is/being provided at [second element]”, such as “the linear magnetic drive structure being provided at the lower mounting plate” and “both ends of the connecting seat are respectively provided at the linear magnetic drive structure and the moving lens group” is unclear. It is unclear what is meant by an element being “at” another element – it is unclear whether it means that the first element is directly disposed on the second element, if the first element is anywhere near the second element, if the first element is directly or indirectly attached to the second element, if the first element is mechanically coupled to the second element, etc.
For the purposes of examination, examiner assumes any limitations following the format “[first element] is/being provided at [second element]” as being met as long as any of the above scenarios are satisfied.
Claim 3 is dependent on claim 2 and therefore inherits the same issues. Claims 5-6 are dependent on claim 4 and therefore inherit the same issues. Claim 9 is dependent on claim 8 and therefore inherits the same issues.
Regarding claims 1 and 9, the limitation “driven to connect” raises clarity issues. It is unclear how this limitation should be interpreted and it is unclear as to what the metes and bounds of the above claim limitations are and would be needed to meet the above claim limitations.
It is unclear what the limitation “driven to connect” means. It is unclear what is being connected – is the linear magnetic drive structure connected to the moving lens assembly/first and second moving lens groups, are the first and second moving lens groups being connected to each other, or is the linear magnetic drive structure just moving the moving lens assembly/first and second moving lens groups.
For the purposes of examination, examiner assumes “driven to connect” as “driven to move”.
Claims 2-10 are dependent on claim 1 and therefore inherit the same issues.
Regarding claim 8, the limitation “the motor guide” in the third line lacks sufficient antecedent basis. For the purposes of examination, examiner assumers “the motor guide rail”. Claim 9 is dependent on claim 8 and therefore inherits the same issues.
Applicant should clarify the claim limitations as appropriate. Care should be taken during revision of the description and of any statements of problem or advantage, not to add subject-matter which extends beyond the content of the application (specification) as originally filed.
If the language of a claim, considered as a whole in light of the specification and given its broadest reasonable interpretation, is such that a person of ordinary skill in the relevant art would read it with more than one reasonable interpretation, then a rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, is appropriate. See MPEP 2173.05(a), MPEP 2143.03(I), and MPEP 2173.06.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 20220252827 A1), hereinafter Lin, in view of Ohtake (US 20060291071 A1).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lin discloses a zoom lens, wherein an optical axis is formed within the zoom lens (Figs. 2-3; ¶0004), the zoom lens is provided with an object side and an image side opposite to the object side along an optical axis direction (Figs. 2-3; ¶0004), the zoom lens comprises:
a base (103; Fig. 3; ¶0036),
a fixed lens assembly (1021, 1024; Fig. 3; ¶0038-¶0039) mounted on the base (103) (Figs. 2-3), wherein the fixed lens assembly (1021, 1024) comprises a first fixed lens group (1021; Fig. 3; ¶0038-¶0039) and a second fixed lens group (1024; Fig. 3; ¶0038-¶0039) provided at intervals along the optical axis direction (Figs. 2-3),
a moving lens assembly (1022, 1023; Fig. 3; ¶0038-¶0039) movably mounted on the base (103) along the optical axis direction (Figs. 2-3), wherein the moving lens assembly (1022, 1023) comprises a first moving lens group (1022; Fig. 3; ¶0038-¶0039) and a second moving lens group (1023; Fig. 3; ¶0038-¶0039) provided at intervals along the optical axis direction (Figs. 2-3); and
a linear magnetic drive structure (magnets and coils to drive the lenses, plus the guide unit comprising the guide rods and the connections between the elements of the guide unit; ¶0007-¶0008, ¶0042) provided on the base (103) (¶0007-¶0008, ¶0042) and driven to connect the moving lens assembly (1022, 1023) (¶0042-¶0043).
Lin does not disclose the first fixed lens group, the first moving lens group, the second fixed lens group and the second moving lens group are arranged in sequence along the object side to the image side.
However, Ohtake teaches a similar zoom lens (Fig. 1; ¶0065) comprising a fixed lens assembly (G1, G3; Fig. 1; ¶0132), wherein the fixed lens assembly comprises a first fixed lens group (G1; Fig. 1; ¶0132) and a second fixed lens group (G3; Fig. 1; ¶0132), a moving lens assembly (G2, G4; Fig. 1; ¶0132), wherein the moving lens assembly comprises a first moving lens group (G2; Fig. 1; ¶0132) and a second moving lens group (G4; Fig. 1; ¶0132) provided at intervals along the optical axis direction (Fig. 1), a drive structure (¶0180), and further wherein the first fixed lens group (G1), the first moving lens group (G2), the second fixed lens group (G3) and the second moving lens group (G4) are arranged in sequence along the object side to the image side (Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the lens groups to be in the order of first fixed lens group, first moving lens group, second fixed lens group, and second moving lens group for the purpose of achieving a high power variation ratio and a high performance (¶0019 of Ohtake).
Regarding claim 2, Lin in view of Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Lin further discloses the base comprises: a lower mounting plate (1032; Fig. 3; ¶0036), the linear magnetic drive structure (magnets, coils, guide unit) being provided at the lower mounting plate (1032) (Figs. 2-3); an upper mounting plate (1033; Fig. 3; ¶0036) provided apart from the lower mounting plate (1032) along up and down, the fixed lens assembly (1021, 1024) being provided at the upper mounting plate (1033) (Figs. 2-3); and a plurality of support columns (1031, 1032; Fig. 3; ¶0036) provided between the upper mounting plate (1033) and the lower mounting plate (1033) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Lin in view of Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Lin further discloses both the first moving lens group (1022) and the second moving lens (1023) group comprise a moving lens group (¶0039); and the moving lens assembly (1022, 1023) further comprises a connecting seat (sections of frames 1022a, 1023a that contact guide rod 104 and the lens 1022b, 1023b; Figs. 2-3) extending up and down (Figs. 2-3), and both ends of the connecting seat are respectively provided at the linear magnetic drive structure (connects to guide rods 104, which is part of the linear magnetic drive structure) and the moving lens group (1022, 1023) (Figs. 2-3; ¶0038).
Regarding claim 5, Lin in view of Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 4, as set forth above. Line further discloses the connecting seat (sections of 1022a, 1023a that contact guide rod 104 and the lens 1022b, 1023b) is detachably mounted to the linear magnetic drive structure (guide rods 104) (Figs. 2-3; ¶0041) and/or the moving lens group.
Regarding claim 6, Lin in view of Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 5, as set forth above. Lin does not disclose the zoom lens further comprises an infrared assembly provided at the base, and the infrared assembly is provided between the second moving lens group and the image side.
However, Ohtake teaches the zoom lens further comprises an infrared assembly (¶0129), and the infrared assembly is provided between the second moving lens group (G4) and the image side (¶0129). It is further follows that the infrared assembly of Ohtake would be provided at the base of Lin in the combined invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lin to include an infrared assembly as taught by Ohtake for the purpose of filtering out infrared light.
Regarding claim 7, Lin in view of Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Lin further discloses a displacement sensor (¶0042) provided at the base (103) (¶0042) for detecting a position of the first moving lens group (1022) and a position of the second moving lens group (1023) (¶0042).
Regarding claim 8, Lin in view of Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 1, as set forth above. Lin further discloses the linear magnetic drive structure comprises:
a motor guide rail (guide rail corresponding to the protruding portion; ¶0040) provided at the base (103) (¶0040);
a stator structure (protruding portion; ¶0040) provided at the motor guide (¶0040); and
a mover structure (1022a, 1023a; Figs. 2-3; ¶0041) configured to move along the optical axis direction relative to the stator structure (Figs. 2-3; ¶0040-¶0041), wherein the moving lens group (1022, 1023) is provided at the mover structure (1022a, 1023a; Figs. 2-3; ¶0041).
Regarding claim 9, Lin in view of Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 8, as set forth above. Lin further discloses two linear magnetic drive structure are provided (first: 1051 and 1052, second: 1053 and 1054; ¶0043), and the two linear magnetic drive structures (1051/1052, 1053/1054) are respectively driven to connect the first moving lens group (1022) and the second moving lens group (1023) (¶0043).
Regarding claim 10, Lin in view of Ohtake discloses an imaging device (¶0001), comprising the zoom lens according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 20220252827 A1) in view of Ohtake (US 20060291071 A1) and further in view of Wu et al. (US 20240295744 A1), hereinafter Wu.
Regarding claim 3, Lin in view of Ohtake discloses the zoom lens according to claim 2, as set forth above. Neither Lin nor Ohtake disclose the base further comprises an alignment reference plate extending up and down, the alignment reference plate is provided with an alignment reference surface, the upper mounting plate is provided at an upper end of the alignment reference surface, and the lower mounting plate is provided at a lower end of the alignment reference surface.
However, Wu teaches a similar movable lens comprising a base (120; Fig. 1B; ¶0046), wherein the base comprises a lower mounting plate and an upper mounting plate (sidewalls of 120; Fig. 1B) and a plurality of support columns (sections connecting sidewalls of 120; Fig. 1B), and further comprises an alignment reference plate (130, 140; Fig. 1B; ¶0045) extending up and down, the alignment reference plate (130, 140) is provided with an alignment reference surface (Fig. 1B), the upper mounting plate is provided at an upper end of the alignment reference surface (Fig. 1B), and the lower mounting plate is provided at a lower end of the alignment reference surface (Fig. 1B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lin in view of Ohtake to include the alignment reference plates as taught by Wu for the purpose of strengthening the structure of the optical module (¶0049 of Wu).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Xu (US 20220299788 A1) and Lyn (US 20220155553 A1) disclose a similar zoom lens drive .
/NATASHA NIGAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2872 February 6th, 2026
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872