DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9-13, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Creamer et al., USPN 2018/0144110.
With regard to claims 1 and 11, Creamer discloses a system for controlling use of a device having a plurality of operating features based on authentication of a user (0042-0044, 0049, 0016), the system including an identification device configured to identify characteristics of the user of the device (0032, 0038), and an electronic processor communicatively coupled to the identification device, the electronic processor configured to receive, from the identification device, a first characteristic of the user (0032), determine, based on the first characteristic of the user via a first authentication method, whether the user is a primary user (0032, 0042-0044, 0054), determine, in response to failing to determine that the user is the primary user, a current operating pattern of the user (0005-0007, 0015), receive, in response to the user not being the primary user and from the identification device, a second characteristic of the user, determine (0005-0007, 0015, claim 1), based on a second characteristic of the user via a second authentication method, whether the user is a secondary authenticated user (0045, 0034, 0052), determine, based on the user being the secondary authenticated user and based on the current operating pattern of the user, a level of access to a subset of the plurality of operating features of the device (0053, 0035, 0052, 0045), and limit, based on the current operating pattern of the user and the level of access to the subset of the plurality of operating features of the device (0053, 0035, 0045).
With regard to claims 2 and 12, Creamer discloses the system of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the electronic processor is further configured to permit, in response to the user being the primary user, access to all of the plurality of operating features of the device (0015, 0035), determine, after permitting access to all of the plurality of operating features of the device, a current operating pattern of the user (0035), and limit, based on the current operating pattern of the user, a first operating feature of the plurality of operating features of the device (0035).
With regard to claims 3 and 13, Creamer discloses the system of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses wherein the electronic processor is further configured to initiate, in response to the user not being the primary user (claim 1), a notification mode, in which the electronic processor restricts incoming and outgoing transmissions (claim 2).
With regard to claims 6 and 16, Creamer discloses the system of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the identification device includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a fingerprint scanner (0032), a camera (0015), a microphone (0029), a weight sensor, an RFID scanner, a keypad, and a touch screen (0020, 0066).
With regard to claims 7 and 17, Creamer discloses the system of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses to limit the subset of the plurality of operating features, the electronic processor is configured to select, based on the current operating pattern of the user and the second characteristic of the user, one of a first limited operating mode and a second limited operating mode, wherein the first limited operating mode permits more of the plurality of operating features than the second limited operating mode (0052-0057).
With regard to claims 9 and 19, Creamer discloses the system of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses the electronic processor is further configured to determine, based on the current operating pattern of the user and the second characteristic of the user, whether the user is an unauthorized user (claim 1), and disable, in response to the user being the unauthorized user, the device (claim 2, 0058).
With regard to claims 10 and 20, Creamer discloses the system of claim 1, as outlined above, and further discloses determine, after limiting the subset of the plurality of operating features and based on the second characteristic of the user, whether the user is the primary user and whether the user is operating the device within established operating parameters, and permit, in response to the user being the primary user and the user operating the device within established operating parameters, the subset of the plurality of operating features (0015, 0052-0054, Fig. 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 8, 14, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Creamer in view of Cavanaugh, USPN 2015/0121506.
With regard to claims 4 and 14, Creamer discloses the system of claim 1, as outlined above, but does not disclose the device as being a vehicle. Cavanaugh discloses a method for controlling use of a device having a plurality of operating features (0019) based on user characteristics (0052, 0101, 0107-0110), and further discloses that the device can be a vehicle (0101), and wherein determining the current operating pattern of the user includes determining a driving speed of the vehicle; and ()0101 comparing the driving speed of the vehicle to an expected driving speed of the vehicle to generate an operating difference value, wherein the expected driving speed is based on historical driving patterns of an average user of the vehicle (0101, 0107-0110). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to implement the security features of Creamer in a vehicle, as taught by Cavanaugh, for the motivation of improved protection of vehicle usage (just like a mobile device) for secondary users and unauthorized users, as taught by Cavanaugh (0101).
With regard to claims 5 and 15, Creamer in view of Cavanaugh discloses the system of claim 4, as outlined above, and Cavanaugh further discloses the plurality of operating features includes acceleration control, and door lock control (0101, 0104). The motivation to combine remains the same as outlined above.
With regard to claims 8 and 18, Creamer in view of Cavanaugh discloses the system of claim 4, as outlined above, and Cavanaugh further to limit the subset of the plurality of operating features, the electronic processor is configured to limit a maximum speed of the device (0101), and limit access to a device virtual assistant. (cellular phone 0101). The motivation to combine remains the same as outlined above.
References Cited
Shi, USPN 2024/0010165, discloses a system of authenticating a user of a vehicle based on behavior (0075).
Conclusion
/JACOB LIPMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2434