DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 7-8, 14-15 & 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite because of the recitations “a top surface” of the cell stack and “an inner surface of a top plate”. Said limitations have ambiguous antecedent bases as cell stack has only one surface and top plate has only one inner surface. For the purpose of this office action, said recitations have been interpreted to read “the top surface” and “the inner surface of a top plate”.
Claim 7 is indefinite because of the recitation “an inner surface” of a plate. Said limitation has ambiguous antecedent basis as plate has only one inner surface. For the purpose of this office action, said recitations have been interpreted to read “the inner surface”.
Claim 14 is indefinite because of the recitation “a top surface” of the cell stack and “an inner surface” of a top plate. Said recitations have ambiguous antecedent bases as cell stack has only one surface and top plate has only one inner surface. For the purpose of this office action, said recitations have been interpreted to read “the top surface” and “the inner surface”.
Claim 17 is indefinite because of the recitation “an inner surface” of a plate. Said recitation has ambiguous antecedent basis as plate has only one inner surface. For the purpose of this office action, said recitation has been interpreted to read “the inner surface”.
Additionally, dependent claims 3, 8, 15 and 18 are rejected as a result of their dependence on indefinite claims 2, 7, 14 and 17 respectively, as they include all the limitations of claims 2, 7, 14 and 17 respectively and they do not resolve the issues identified in rejections set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 & 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Albergucci (FR 3085547 A1; see machine translation).
Regarding Claim 1, Albergucci discloses a battery array (battery module 1, P5/Par 1 & Figure 1-2) for a battery pack (traction batteries, [0001]/P1) comprising: an outer array housing (enclosure comprising of rigid case 100, lid 200 & base 300, P5/Par 1 & Figure 1-2); a cell stack (battery pack 400, P5/Par 1 & Figure 1-2) housed inside the outer array housing (enclosure comprising of rigid case 100, lid 200 & base 300, P5/Par 1 & Figure 1-2); a compartment (free internal volume, P5/Par 1) extending between the outer array housing (enclosure comprising of rigid case 100, lid 200 & base 300 & Figure 1-2) and the cell stack (battery pack 400); and a non-conductive coolant (dielectric fluid 140, P5/Par 1 & Figure 2) contained within the compartment (free internal volume P5/Par 1) and configured to limit thermal propagation across the cell stack (battery pack 400) during a battery thermal event (see [0001]/P1 which describes that the temperature-regulated fluid which comes into direct contact with the battery cells is used to optimize thermal management of the battery pack).
Regarding Claim 2, Albergucci discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the compartment (free internal volume, P5/Par 1) extends between the top surface of the cell stack (battery pack 400, P5/Par 1 & Figure 1-2) and the inner surface of a top plate (lid 200 comprising of solid block 230 and sheet 239; P5/Par 1, P9/Par 2-3, Figures 1 & 3) of the outer array housing (enclosure comprising of rigid case 100, lid 200 & base 300) (see P5/Par 1/ L6-9 which describes that the free internal volume is the volume formed from the difference between the volume of the enclosure and the volume of the battery pack wherein the enclosure is divided into a lower part filled with dielectric fluid and an upper part filled with gas).
Regarding Claim 3, Albergucci discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the non-conductive coolant (dielectric fluid 140) is disposed in direct contact with a plurality of battery cells (battery cells, P3/Par 4 & Figure 2) of the cell stack (battery pack 400) (see [P3/Par 4/L1-2 which describes that battery cells are immersed in dielectric fluid) but does not directly contact the top plate (lid 200) (see P5/Par 1/ L6-9 which describes that upper part of enclosure is filled exclusively with gas).
Regarding Claim 4, Albergucci discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the non-conductive coolant (dielectric fluid 140) is contained within a fluid-filled portion (lower part filled exclusively with the liquid phase of the dielectric fluid 140, P5/Par 1) of the compartment (free internal volume, P5/Par 1), and wherein the compartment (free internal volume, P5/Par 1) further comprises an air gap portion (upper part 150 filled exclusively with gas, P5/Par 1) above the fluid-filled portion (lower part, P5/Par 1).
Regarding Claim 7, Albergucci discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the air gap portion (upper part 150 filled exclusively with gas, P5/Par 1) is an open space extending from the fluid-filled portion (lower part, P5/Par 1) to the inner surface of a plate (lid 200 comprising of solid block 230 and sheet 239; P5/Par 1, P9/Par 2-3, Figures 1 & 3) of the outer array housing (enclosure comprising of rigid case 100, lid 200 & base 300) (see Figure 2 which shows upper part 150 is gaseous portion located above the lower part and under a sheet metal 239 that closes the battery module and is part of the lid 200, P9/Par 2-3 & Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 8, Albergucci discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the plate (lid 200 comprising of solid block 230 and sheet 239; P5/Par 1, P9/Par 2-3, Figures 1 & 3) is a top plate of the outer array housing (see P9/Par 2-3 which describes that sheet metal 239 closes the battery module and Figure 3 which shows sheet metal 239 is part of the lid 200 of enclosure).
Regarding Claim 9, Albergucci discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the air gap portion (upper portion 150) provides a venting path for venting battery vent byproducts during the battery thermal event (see P9/Par 4 which describes that during thermal runaway of the batteries, gases are produced and the gaseous phase 150 is vented out via a through-hole of a safety valve).
Regarding Claim 10, Albergucci discloses all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the non-conductive coolant is a dielectric fluid (dielectric fluid 140, P5/Par 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albergucci (FR3085547A1; see machine translation) as applied to claim 4 in view of Choi (KR20250053383A; see machine translation).
Regarding Claims 5 & 6, Albergucci teaches all of the limitations as set forth above but is silent on wherein a slotted plate establishes a physical interface between the fluid-filled portion and the air gap portion (as required by Claim 5) and wherein the slotted plate includes a plurality of through-holes (as required by claim 6).
Choi, see Fig. 2-7, teaches a battery pack (battery pack 100, Figure 3) comprising outer array housing (pack housing 140, [0073] & Figure 3), plurality of battery cells (battery cell 10, Figure 1), cell stack (module body 120, Figure 6-7), a compartment (a receiving space for accommodating plurality of battery cells, [0012]), a non-conductive coolant (immersion member 130, Figures 6 & 7 for immersing a portion of the battery cells within the module body 120, [0070]) and a slotted plate (leak prevention member 150, [0074] & Figures 5-7) located between the module body 120 and pack housing 140 (see [0012] & Figures 5-7).
Choi further teaches wherein a slotted plate (leak prevention member 150, [0074] & Figures 5-7) establishes a physical interface between the fluid-filled portion (region of module body 120 containing immersion member 130 wherein immersion member 130 immerses at least a portion of a plurality of battery cells 100 inside a module body 120, see [0070] and wherein immersion member 130 is further described as moving from inside to outside the module body 120, [0080]) and the air gap portion (portion of receiving space between the upper housing 141 and above the leak prevention member 150, figures 6-7 & [0075] which further acts as a flow path above the leak prevention member 150 for discharged gas, see [0093]). Choi further teaches that the leak prevention member 150 includes a recess 151 which allows any discharged immersion member 130 to be collected back into the module body (see [0086]-[0088]). Additionally, Choi teaches wherein the slotted plate (leak prevention member 150) includes a plurality of through-holes (through hole 152 (Figure 5) to allow for the passing of discharged gas from the venting portion 1230 and further prevent the discharged gas from flowing back into the module body [0084]-[0085]).
Choi and Albergucci are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of battery packs. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a leak prevention member further comprising through holes 152 to the battery pack of Albergucci as taught by Choi wherein the structure of the leak prevention member 150 which allows for the re-entry of any discharged immersion member 130 back into the module body 120 (Choi, [0086]-[0088]) would prevent any discharged dielectric fluid 140 which evaporates during heating of the cell to be directed back into the battery module (Albergucci, P8/Par 4 - P9/Par 1) and wherein the through holes 152 of the leak prevention member 150 which allows for discharged gas to pass through and further prevents the discharged gas from flowing back into the module body (Choi, [0084]-[0085] would allow for the passage of evaporating dielectric fluid during heating of the battery cells (Albergucci, (P8/Par 4 - P9/Par 1)
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albergucci (FR3085547A1; see machine translation) in view of Choi (KR20250053383A; see machine translation).
Regarding Claims 11 & 16, Albergucci teaches a battery array (battery module 1, P5/Par 1 & Figure 1-2) for a battery pack (traction batteries, [0001]/P1) comprising: an outer array housing (enclosure comprising of rigid case 100, lid 200 & base 300, P5/Par 1 & Figure 1-2); a cell stack (battery pack 400, P5/Par 1 & Figure 1-2) housed inside the outer array housing (enclosure comprising of rigid case 100, lid 200 & base 300, P5/Par 1 & Figure 1-2); a compartment (free internal volume, P5/Par 1) extending between the outer array housing (enclosure comprising of rigid case 100, lid 200 & base 300 & Figure 1-2) and the cell stack (battery pack 400). Albergucci further teaches a fluid-filled portion (lower part filled exclusively with the liquid phase of the dielectric fluid 140, P5/Par 1) and an air gap portion (upper part 150 filled exclusively with gas, P5/Par 1).
Albergucci is silent on a slotted plate positioned to divide the compartment between a fluid-filled portion and an air gap portion (as required by claim 11) and wherein the slotted plate establishes a physical interface between the fluid-filled portion and the air gap portion and includes a plurality of through-holes (as required by Claim 16).
Choi, see Fig. 2-7, teaches a battery pack (battery pack 100, Figure 3) comprising outer array housing (pack housing 140, [0073] & Figure 3), plurality of battery cells (battery cell 10, Figure 1), cell stack (module body (120), Figure 6-7), a compartment (a receiving space for accommodating plurality of battery cells, [0012]), a non-conductive coolant (immersion member 130, Figures 6 & 7 for immersing a portion of the battery cells within the module body 120, [0070]) and a slotted plate (leak prevention member 150, [0074] & Figures 5-7) located between the module body 120 and pack housing 140 (see [0012] & Figures 5-7).
Choi further teaches wherein a slotted plate (leak prevention member 150, [0074] & Figures 5-7) establishes a physical interface between the fluid-filled portion (region of module body 120 containing immersion member 130 wherein immersion member 130 immerses at least a portion of a plurality of battery cells 100 inside a module body 120, see [0070] and wherein immersion member 130 is further described as moving from inside to outside the module body 120, [0080]) and the air gap portion (portion of receiving space between the upper housing 141 and above the leak prevention member 150, figures 6-7 & [0075] which further acts as a flow path above the leak prevention member 150 for discharged gas, see [0093]). Choi further teaches that the leak prevention member 150 includes a recess 151 which allows any discharged immersion member 130 to be collected back into the module body (see [0086]-[0088]). Additionally, Choi teaches wherein the slotted plate (leak prevention member 150) includes a plurality of through-holes (through hole 152 (Figure 5) to allow for the passing of discharged gas from the venting portion 1230 and further prevent the discharged gas from flowing back into the module body [0084]-[0085]).
Choi and Albergucci are analogous art to the claimed invention as both references are in the same field of battery packs. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a leak prevention member further comprising through holes 152 to the battery pack of Albergucci as taught by Choi wherein the structure of the leak prevention member 150 which allows for the re-entry of any discharged immersion member 130 back into the module body 120 (Choi, [0086]-[0088]) would prevent any discharged dielectric fluid 140 which evaporates during heating of the cell to be directed back into the battery module (Albergucci, P8/Par 4 - P9/Par 1) and wherein the through holes 152 of the leak prevention member 150 which allows for discharged gas to pass through and further prevents the discharged gas from flowing back into the module body (Choi, [0084]-[0085] would allow for the passage of evaporating dielectric fluid during heating of the battery cells (Albergucci, (P8/Par 4 - P9/Par 1)
Regarding Claim 12, modified Albergucci teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches a battery array (battery module 1, P5/Par 1 & Figure 1-2) comprising a non-conductive coolant (dielectric fluid 140, P5/Par 1 & Figure 2) contained within the fluid-filled portion (lower part filled exclusively with the liquid phase of the dielectric fluid 140, P5/Par 1) and configured to limit thermal propagation across the cell stack (battery pack 400) during a battery thermal event (see [0001]/P1 which describes that the temperature-regulated fluid which comes into direct contact with the battery cells is used to optimize thermal management of the battery pack).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Albergucci teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the non-conductive coolant is a dielectric fluid (dielectric fluid 140, P5/Par 1 & Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Albergucci teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the compartment (free internal volume, P5/Par 1) extends between the top surface of the cell stack (battery pack 400, P5/Par 1 & Figure 1-2) and the inner surface of a top plate (lid 200, P5/Par 1 & Figure 1) of the outer array housing (enclosure comprising of rigid case 100, lid 200 & base 300) (see P5/Par 1/ L6-9 which describes that the free internal volume is the volume formed from the difference between the volume of the enclosure and the volume of the battery pack wherein the enclosure is divided into a lower part filled with dielectric fluid and an upper part filled with gas).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Albergucci teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein a non-conductive coolant (dielectric fluid 140, P5/Par 1 & Figure 2) is disposed in direct contact with a plurality of battery cells (battery cells, P3/Par 4 & Figure 2) of the cell stack (battery pack 400) (see [P3/Par 4/L1-2 which describes that battery cells are immersed in dielectric fluid) but does not directly contact the top plate (lid 200 comprising of solid block 230 and sheet 239; P5/Par 1, P9/Par 2-3, Figures 1 & 3) (see P5/Par 1/ L6-9 which describes that upper part of enclosure is filled exclusively with gas).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Albergucci teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the air gap portion (upper part 150 filled exclusively with gas, P5/Par 1) is an open space extending from the fluid-filled portion (lower part, P5/Par 1) to the inner surface of a plate (lid 200 comprising of solid block 230 and sheet 239; P5/Par 1, P9/Par 2-3, Figures 1 & 3) of the outer array housing (enclosure comprising of rigid case 100, lid 200 & base 300) (see Figure 2 which shows upper part 150 is gaseous portion located above the lower part and under a sheet metal 239 that closes the battery module and is part of the lid 200, P9/Par 2-3 & Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Albergucci teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the plate (lid 200 comprising of solid block 230 and sheet 239; P5/Par 1, P9/Par 2-3, Figures 1 & 3) is a top plate of the outer array housing (see P9/Par 2-3 which describes that sheet metal 239 closes the battery module and Figure 3 which shows sheet metal 239 is part of the lid 200 of enclosure).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Albergucci teaches all of the limitations as set forth above and further teaches wherein the air gap portion (upper portion 150) provides a venting path for venting battery vent byproducts during the battery thermal event (see P9/Par 4 which describes that during thermal runaway of the batteries, gases are produced and the gaseous phase 150 is vented out via a through-hole of a safety valve).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Albergucci teaches all of the limitations as set forth above but is silent on wherein the venting path extends through a through-hole of the slotted plate.
Choi teaches that immersion member 130 passes through a venting path (venting portion 1230, [0088] & Figure 7) which corresponds to a position where a through-hole (through hole 152, [0085]) is formed and thus prevents gas discharged from the venting part from flowing back into the module body 120 (see [0085]).
It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery pack of Albergucci by arranging the venting path of Albergucci (through hole of safety valve, P9/Par 4) such that it extends through the through hole 152 of the slotted plate as shown by Choi since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of the working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167 and In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 and further wherein the slotted plate having a through hole as taught by Choi allows for any gas discharged to be prevented from flowing back into the module body.
Conclusion
/F.V.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725