DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed on 01/20/2026.
Claims 1-9, 21-31 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 21 and 29 are independent claims. This Office Action is made Final.
Examiner Notes
The prior art rejections below cite particular paragraphs, columns, and/or line numbers in the references for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 8, 21, 24-25, 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (“Li”, US PG-Pub. 2024/0170002 A1) in view of Jaini et al. (“Jaini”, US PG-Pub. 2019/0018572 A).
Re-claim 1,
Li teaches a method, comprising:
obtaining, from a media service, a media item (Fig. 5, [0095]. Li describes the process of receiving an input audio signal in block 502);
applying the media item to a separator network to generate a modified media item, wherein the separator network is configured to generate the modified media item by isolating a first audio component of the media item into an isolated audio track such that the modified media item comprises the isolated audio track and one or more additional audio tracks (Fig. 5, [0096]. Li describes the process of separating the input audio signal into a vocal component (i.e. isolated audio track) and a non-vocal component (i.e. additional audio track) shown in block 504 as a modified audio signal).
Li fails to teach receiving selection of the media item for playback.
However, Jaini teaches:
receiving selection of the media item for playback (Figs. 4, 6, 7, 8, [0050, 0057-0063, 0089, 0094]. Jaini describes the media item is selected to playback. Jaini also describes in paragraph [0060] as “…In some implementations, the user-generated audio content and the source audio content can be played at different volume levels.” and in paragraph [0094] about the playback video data as “…The data may include video data associated with the source content item, audio data associated with the source content item, captioning data associated with the source content item, etc. In some implementations, the source content item may have one or more audio components, such as a song, a speech, a movie's voice part, etc.” that indicates different audio components can be controlled to play at different volume levels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separating media content’s part technique for dereverberation teachings of Li with the media playback associated with associated media component parts teaching of Jaini to provide users flexible options to control each separated or isolated media content portions independently for singalong or recording performance in a customization manner.
Re-claim 4,
in addition to what Li-Jaini teaches in the method of claim 1, Li also teaches the method, wherein the isolated audio track is a vocals track (Fig. 5, [0097]. Li describes “At 506 process 500 can classify the vocal component as one of: 1) speech; or 2) non-speech …”).
Re-claim 5,
in addition to what Li-Jaini teaches in the method of claim 1, Li also teaches the method, wherein the media item includes instrumental and vocals (Fig. 5, [0096, 0098]. Li describes “At 504, process 500 can separate the input audio signal into a vocal component and a non-vocal component…” and “At 508, process 500 can classify the non-vocal component as one of: 1) music; and 2) non-music … ”).
Re-claim 8,
Li-Jaini teaches in the method of claim 1, but Li fails to teach a method, wherein the media item is a song.
However, Jaini teaches:
wherein the media item is a song ([0053]. Jaini describes “…In some implementations, the source audio content corresponds to an audio component of the source content item (e.g., a song, a speech, a movie's voice part, etc.) …”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separating media content’s part technique for dereverberation teachings of Li with the media playback associated with associated media component parts teaching of Jaini to provide users flexible options to control each separated or isolated media content portions independently for singalong or recording performance in a customization manner.
Re-claim 21,
It is a system claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 24,
in addition to what Li-Jaini teaches in claim 21, claim 24 is a system claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 4; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 25,
in addition to what Li-Jaini teaches in claim 21, claim 25 is a system claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 5; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 28,
in addition to what Li-Jaini teaches in claim 21, claim 28 is a system claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 8; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 29,
It is a non-transitory computer-readable medium claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 1; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 2-3, 6-7, 22-23, 26-27 and 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Jaini, and further in view of Humphrey (US PG-Pub. 2011/0252948 A1).
Re-claim 2,
Li-Jaini teaches the method of claim 1, but Li fails to teach a method, further comprising: providing functionality to modify one or more characteristics of the isolated audio track during playback of the media item.
However, Humphrey teaches:
providing functionality to modify one or more characteristics of the isolated audio track during playback of the media item (Fig. 14, [0097]. Humphrey describes “…FIG. 14 illustrates a display for a graphical user interface offering state selections for track faders, volume fader control, and transport selections, in which only the isolated instrument audio track and the emulated instrument audio track are selected on a multi-track audio recording designed for use with the system for learning and mixing music, according to some embodiments.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separating media content’s parts technique teachings of modified Li with the separating and mixing audio tracks GUI teaching of Humphrey to control the volume of the isolated audio tracks in mixing music process.
Re-claim 3,
Li-Jaini-Humphrey teaches the method of claim 2, but Li fails to teach a method, wherein the one or more characteristics include volume output of the isolated audio track during playback of the media item.
However, Humphrey teaches:
wherein the one or more characteristics include volume output of the isolated audio track during playback of the media item (Fig. 14, [0097]. Humphrey describes “…FIG. 14 illustrates a display for a graphical user interface offering state selections for track faders, volume fader control, and transport selections, in which only the isolated instrument audio track and the emulated instrument audio track are selected on a multi-track audio recording designed for use with the system for learning and mixing music, according to some embodiments.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separating media content’s parts technique teachings of modified Li with the separating and mixing audio tracks GUI teaching of Humphrey to control the volume of the isolated audio tracks in mixing music process.
Re-claim 6,
Li-Jaini teaches the method of claim 1, but Li fails to teach a method, wherein a graphical representation of the media item includes at least one graphical indicator.
However, Humphrey teaches:
wherein a graphical representation of the media item includes at least one graphical indicator (Fig. 14, [0092, 0097]. Humphrey describes “…The functionality of the volume/fader controls 1210 is provided by the volume indicators 1215 to indicate sound pressure level and the faders 1220,1225,1230,1235 to adjust volume in the manner of a potentiometer or digitometer, for example”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separating media content’s parts technique teachings of modified Li with the separating and mixing audio tracks GUI teaching of Humphrey to provide user a convenient GUI to interact and control the volume of the isolated audio tracks in mixing music process.
Re-claim 7,
Li-Jaini-Humphrey teaches the method of claim 6, but Li fails to teach a method, wherein the at least one graphical indicator indicates that vocal attenuation is available for the media item.
However, Humphrey teaches:
wherein the at least one graphical indicator indicates that vocal attenuation is available for the media item (Fig. 14, [0092, 0097]. Humphrey describes “…The functionality of the volume/fader controls 1210 is provided by the volume indicators 1215 to indicate sound pressure level and the faders 1220,1225,1230,1235 to adjust volume in the manner of a potentiometer or digitometer, for example”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separating media content’s parts technique teachings of modified Li with the separating and mixing audio tracks GUI teaching of Humphrey to provide user a convenient GUI to interact and control the volume of the isolated audio tracks in mixing music process.
Re-claim 22,
in addition to what Li-Jaini teaches in claim 21, claim 22 is a system claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 2; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 23,
in addition to what Li-Jaini-Humphrey teaches in claim 22, claim 23 is a system claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 3; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 26,
in addition to what Li-Jaini teaches in claim 21, claim 26 is a system claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 6; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 27,
in addition to what Li-Jaini-Humphrey teaches in claim 26, claim 27 is a system claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 7; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 30,
in addition to what Li-Jaini teaches in claim 29, claim 30 is a medium claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 2; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Re-claim 31,
in addition to what Li-Jaini-Humphrey teaches in claim 30, claim 31 is a medium claim having similar limitations in scope of claim 3; therefore, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li in view of Jaini, and further in view of Jansson (US PG-Pub. 2020/0043517 A1).
Re-claim 9,
Li-Mahar-Jaini teaches in the method of claim 1, but Li fails to teach a method, wherein the media item is an album.
However, Jansson teaches:
wherein the media item is an album ([0111]. Jansson describes the media item is an album).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separating media content’s parts technique teachings of modified Li with the media context teaching of Jansson to identify the media item is an album.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/20/2026 with respect to amended claim 1 and new claims 21 and 29 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUAN S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179