DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moineau et al. (US 5,402,812) in view of Tayenaka et al. (US 2016/0258144 A1) and Chang et al. (US 6,892,952 B2).
With regard to claim 1, Moineau discloses a multi-pressure shower system comprising: a shower head (12) and a timer dial (100); wherein said timer having selectively at least a first position and a second position (Col. 2 lines 39-41, flowrate is in direct relationship to pressure); wherein said shower head having a plurality of spray openings disposed on a front surface of said housing (Fig. 1).
However, Moineau does not disclose that wherein said first position lowers an initial water pressure to a first water pressure for a first predetermined period of time when said timer dial is moved from an initial position to said first position; wherein said second position lowers said initial water pressure to said first water pressure for a second predetermined period of time when said timer dial is moved from said initial position to said second position; and further wherein said first water pressure is from 10% to 30% of said initial water pressure.
Tayenaka discloses a multi-pressure shower system comprising: a timer (“timer system”) ; wherein said timer having selectively at least a first position and a second position; wherein said first position lowers an initial water pressure to a first water pressure for a first predetermined period of time when said timer dial is moved from an initial position to said first position; wherein said second position lowers said initial water pressure to said first water pressure for a second predetermined period of time when said timer dial is moved from said initial position to said second position; and further wherein said first water pressure is from 10% to 30% of said initial water pressure (Par. [0043, 0046 and 0143]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Moineau, by incorporating the variable flow valve to create various flow rates as taught by Tayenaka in communication with the timer of Moineau, doing it would allow the user to save more water (Para. [0046]).
Moineau does not disclose that the shower system comprising a housing including a handle, a flexible water pipe attached to said handle; wherein said water pipe connected to a water inlet for supplying water to said handle..
Chang teaches a shower system comprising a housing including a handle, a flexible water pipe (104) attached to said handle (Fig. 4), a shower head (102), and a timer dial (18); wherein said water pipe connected to a water inlet for supplying water to said handle (Fig. 4); wherein said shower head having a plurality of spray openings disposed on a front surface of said housing (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Moineau, by incorporating the handheld shower head and the flexible water pipe as taught by Chang, doing it would allow the user to remove the showerhead from the fixture.
With regard to claim 2, the device of Moineau as modified by Tayenaka and Chang discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1. Tayenaka further discloses that said first water pressure is from 15% to 25% of said initial water pressure (Par. [0046]).
With regard to claim 3, the device of Moineau as modified by Tayenaka and Chang discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1. Tayenaka further discloses that said second predetermined period of time is greater than said first predetermined period of time (Par. [0143]).
With regard to claim 4, the device of Moineau as modified by Tayenaka and Chang discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3. Tayenaka further discloses that said first predetermined period of time is 30 seconds and said second predetermined period of time is 60 seconds (Par. [0143]).
With regard to claim 5, the device of Moineau as modified by Tayenaka and Chang discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3. Tayenaka further discloses that said housing is waterproof (Par. [0063]).
With regard to claim 6, the device of Moineau as modified by Tayenaka and Chang discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 3. Tayenaka further discloses that said first position closing off a selected number of said plurality of spray openings (Par. [0093-0094]).
With regard to claim 7, the device of Moineau as modified by Tayenaka and Chang discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1. Moineau further discloses that said timer dial automatically returning to said initial position and said initial water pressure after said first predetermined period of time elapses (a spring or coil-wound, tension-mounted timer).
With regard to claim 8, the device of Moineau as modified by Tayenaka and Chang discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 7. Moineau further discloses that said timer dial automatically returning to said initial position and said initial water pressure after said second predetermined period of time elapses (a spring or coil-wound, tension-mounted timer).
With regard to Claims 9-20, the device of Moineau as modified by Tayenaka and Chang discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claims 1-8.
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752