Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12, 13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gohng (US20120267221) in view of Schramm (US20120096980).
Regarding claim 1, Gohng teaches a manual control assembly, comprising:a multi-modal control mechanism 301; a connection socket 100 for housing the multi-modal control mechanism on a steering controller 2 of a vehicle, wherein an interface (132, 211) of the connection socket is connected to a control system for the vehicle (the base connector 132 and the board connector 211 form the interface, see paragraph 79); a first sensor 330 and a second sensor 400 for detecting actuation of the multi-modal control mechanism, the first sensor configured to detect force associated with actuation of the multi-modal control mechanism in a first direction, and the second sensor configured to detect force associated with actuation of the multi-modal control mechanism (Figs. 9-12); and a control module 200 for generating, based on the actuation, input signals to be transmitted to the control system to control one or more components of the vehicle (paragraph 80). Gohng does not teach the second direction being orthogonal to the first direction. However, Schramm teaches a similar manual control assembly that comprises a multi-modal control mechanism 6 with a first sensor and second sensor (paragraph 32); the first sensor configured to detect force associated with actuation of the multi-modal control mechanism in a first direction (Fig. 2), and the second sensor configured to detect force associated with actuation of the multi-modal control mechanism in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a lateral or sideways actuation in the multi-modal control of Gohng to give the driver more ways to control vehicle functions.
Regarding claim 2, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly wherein the multi-modal control mechanism 301 is capable of bidirectional actuation by spinning the multi-modal control mechanism around a central rotational axis (the knob 301 performs bidirectional rotary operation around the central axis of the shaft, see paragraph 85, 100).
Regarding claim 3, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly wherein the input signals are generated based on a detected measurement related to rotation of the multi-modal control mechanism around the central rotational axis, the detected measurement comprising at least one of an angle of rotation, a speed of rotation, an acceleration of rotation, or a rotational force (the sensing unit 330 measures the rotation of the shaft, see paragraph 95).
Regarding claim 12, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly further comprising a motor housed within the multi-modal control mechanism or a housing component of the connection socket 100 (paragraphs 85-86).
Regarding claim 13, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly further comprising a braking mechanism, wherein a level of resistance applied to the multi-modal control mechanism by the braking mechanism is determined by the control system (the haptic wheel device actuator 310 generates a “rotation restraining force” that resists or brakes the rotation of the knob (paragraph 85).
Regarding claim 16, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly further comprising a haptic actuator 310, wherein the manual control assembly is capable of generating haptic feedback using the haptic actuator based on signals received from the control system (paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 17, Gohng teaches a steering controller configured for installation in a vehicle, comprising: a pair of manual control assemblies 10 (Fig. 18), each of the manual control assemblies comprising:a multi-modal control mechanism 301; and a connection socket 100 for housing the multi-modal control mechanism on the steering controller, wherein an interface of the connection socket is connected to a control system for the vehicle (the base connector 132 and the board connector 211 form the interface, see paragraph 79); wherein each of the manual control assemblies is capable of transmitting input signals to the control system to control components of the vehicle (the circuit board 200 and the control unit 20 transmit signals from rotation/push sensors to the control vehicle components such as audio or navigation, see paragraph 125-127) and capable of receiving feedback signals from the control system (the hepatic wheel device actuator 310 receives signals from the control 20 to generate haptic feedback, see paragraphs 85, 125). Gohng does not teach the multi-modal control mechanism 301 capable of bidirectional actuation around a central rotational axis and bidirectional actuation in first and second directions orthogonal to one another. However, Schramm teaches the multi-modal control mechanism 6 capable of bidirectional actuation around a central rotational axis 12 and bidirectional actuation in first and second directions orthogonal to one another (Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 31-33). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a lateral or sideways actuation in the multi-modal control of Gohng to give the driver more ways to control vehicle functions.
Regarding claim 18, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly wherein the pair of manual control assembly 10 are positioned on opposite sides of the steering controller 2, and wherein the multi-modal control mechanism 301 of each of the manual control assemblies is reachable by a driver's hand while positioned on the steering controller for normal driving operation (Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 19, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly wherein each of the manual control assemblies is associated with a user control context (control unit 20 selects different operating modes such audio or A/C based on user input, paragraphs 125-126), and wherein the input signals from each of the manual control assemblies are transmitted in accordance with the user control context (the input signals generated from the knob or push button are processed by the control unit 20, paragraphs 126-127).
Regarding claim 20, Gohng teaches a control system for a vehicle, comprising: an electronic control unit (20, 40, 30) comprising a processor 40 and a non-transitory computer-readable medium 30 comprising instructions executable to control one or more functions of the vehicle (Fig. 12 and paragraphs 126-127); a steering controller 2; a pair of manual control assemblies 10 incorporated into the steering controller, each of the manual control assemblies comprising:a multi-modal control mechanism 301; and a connection socket 100 for housing the multi-modal control mechanism on the steering controller of the vehicle, wherein an interface (the base connector 132 and the board connector 211 form the interface, see paragraph 79) of the connection socket is connected to a control system for the vehicle; wherein the manual control assemblies are capable of transmitting input signals to the electronic control unit to control components of the vehicle (the circuit board 200 and the control unit 20 transmit signals from rotation/push sensors to the control vehicle components such as audio or navigation, see paragraph 125-127). Gohng does not teach the multi-modal control mechanism capable of bidirectional actuation around a central rotational axis and bidirectional actuation in first and second directions orthogonal to one another. However, Schramm teaches the multi-modal control mechanism 6 capable of bidirectional actuation around a central rotational axis 12 and bidirectional actuation in first and second directions orthogonal to one another (Figs. 1-4 and paragraphs 31-33).It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a lateral or sideways actuation in the multi-modal control of Gohng to give the driver more ways to control vehicle functions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AHMED M SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831