Election/Restrictions
Claims 4-11 and 14-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/05/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, "the first sensor is positioned orthogonal to the second sensor” of claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Additionally, Figs. 2A-2D are not done in solid black lines.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 12, 13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gohng (US20120267221)
Regarding claim 1, Gohng teaches a manual control assembly, comprising:a multi-modal control mechanism 301; a connection socket 100 for housing the multi-modal control mechanism on a steering controller 2 of a vehicle, wherein an interface (132, 211) of the connection socket is connected to a control system for the vehicle (the base connector 132 and the board connector 211 form the interface, see paragraph 79); a first sensor 330 and a second sensor 400 for detecting actuation of the multi-modal control mechanism, wherein the first sensor is positioned orthogonal to the second sensor (the sensing part 339 of the sensor 330 is positioned horizontally, while the sensing part 410 of the sensor 400 positioned vertically, see Figs. 9-12) to detect a force applied to the multi-modal control mechanism (the two sensors operate on orthogonal axes; the rotary sensor 330 detects force in rotational plane of the wheel, while the push sensor 410 detects force in the vertical axial direction “perpendicular to the wheel plane”, see paragraph 70); and a control module 200 for generating, based on the actuation, input signals to be transmitted to the control system to control one or more components of the vehicle (paragraph 80).
Regarding claim 2, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly wherein the multi-modal control mechanism 301 is capable of bidirectional actuation by spinning the multi-modal control mechanism around a central rotational axis (the knob 301 perform bidirectional rotary operation around the central axis of the shaft, see paragraph 85, 100).
Regarding claim 3, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly wherein the input signals are generated based on a detected measurement related to rotation of the multi-modal control mechanism around the central rotational axis, the detected measurement comprising at least one of an angle of rotation, a speed of rotation, an acceleration of rotation, or a rotational force (the sensing unit 330 measures the rotation of the shaft, see paragraph 95).
Regarding claim 12, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly further comprising a motor housed within the multi-modal control mechanism or a housing component of the connection socket 100 (paragraphs 85-86).
Regarding claim 13, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly further comprising a braking mechanism, wherein a level of resistance applied to the multi-modal control mechanism by the braking mechanism is determined by the control system (the haptic wheel device actuator 310 generates a “rotation restraining force” that resists or brakes the rotation of the knob (paragraph 85).
Regarding claim 16, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly further comprising a haptic actuator 310, wherein the manual control assembly is capable of generating haptic feedback using the haptic actuator based on signals received from the control system (paragraph 77).
Regarding claim 17, Gohng teaches a steering controller configured for installation in a vehicle, comprising: a pair of manual control assemblies 10 (Fig. 18), each of the manual control assemblies comprising:a multi-modal control mechanism 301 capable of bidirectional actuation around a central rotational axis (bidirectional spinning) and bidirectional actuation along one or more axes (vertical push); and a connection socket 100 for housing the multi-modal control mechanism on the steering controller, wherein an interface of the connection socket is connected to a control system for the vehicle (the base connector 132 and the board connector 211 form the interface, see paragraph 79); wherein each of the manual control assemblies is capable of transmitting input signals to the control system to control components of the vehicle (the circuit board 200 and the control unit 20 transmit signals from rotation/push sensors to the control vehicle components such as audio or navigation, see paragraph 125-127) and capable of receiving feedback signals from the control system (the hepatic wheel device actuator 310 receives signals from the control 20 to generate haptic feedback, see paragraphs 85, 125).
Regarding claim 18, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly wherein the pair of manual control assembly 10 are positioned on opposite sides of the steering controller 2, and wherein the multi-modal control mechanism 301 of each of the manual control assemblies is reachable by a driver's hand while positioned on the steering controller for normal driving operation (Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 19, Gohng teaches the manual control assembly wherein each of the manual control assemblies is associated with a user control context (control unit 20 selects different operating modes such audio or A/C based on user input, paragraphs 125-126), and wherein the input signals from each of the manual control assemblies are transmitted in accordance with the user control context (the input signals generated from the knob or push button are processed by the control unit 20, paragraphs 126-127).
Regarding claim 20, Gohng teaches a control system for a vehicle, comprising: an electronic control unit (20, 40, 30) comprising a processor 40 and a non-transitory computer-readable medium 30 comprising instructions executable to control one or more functions of the vehicle (Fig. 12 and paragraphs 126-127); a steering controller 2; a pair of manual control assemblies 10 incorporated into the steering controller, each of the manual control assemblies comprising:a multi-modal control mechanism 301 capable of bidirectional spinning around a central rotational axis; and a connection socket 100 for housing the multi-modal control mechanism on the steering controller of the vehicle, wherein an interface (the base connector 132 and the board connector 211 form the interface, see paragraph 79) of the connection socket is connected to a control system for the vehicle; wherein the manual control assemblies are capable of transmitting input signals to the electronic control unit to control components of the vehicle (the circuit board 200 and the control unit 20 transmit signals from rotation/push sensors to the control vehicle components such as audio or navigation, see paragraph 125-127).
Conclusion
/AHMED M SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831