DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/04/2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, 11, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chaugule et al. (hereinafter “Chaugule”, US2024/0007847) in view of Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang”, US2020/0178070).
Regarding claim 1, Chaugule discloses A method comprising:
receiving, by a user device and from a wireless network, a message indicating that the user device can connect to the wireless network to download an embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) associated with the wireless network; (i.e., During a pre-installation phase, the wireless device receives, from an MNO entitlement server, a message that identifies the eSIM profile and, in some embodiments, indicates whether the eSIM profile is currently available for downloading and installation, As described in paragraph [0032]);
based on the second connection, accessing at least one service provided by the wireless network. (i.e., In an eSIM activation monitor mode, the wireless device determines when a newly installed and activated eSIM profile, a re-activated eSIM profile, and/or a replenished data eSIM profile can be used to access services provided by a cellular wireless network of an MNO associated with the eSIM profile, As described in paragraph [0033]);
Chaugule discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose: based on receiving the message, causing a first connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network; based on downloading the eSIM via the first connection, causing a second connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network;
In a similar endeavor, Yang discloses based on receiving the message, causing a first connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network; (i.e., When the request is accepted by the cellular wireless network, the mobile wireless device establishes a secure data connection with an account server of a mobile network operator (MNO), As described in paragraph [0020]);
based on downloading the eSIM via the first connection, causing a second connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network; (i.e., The provisioning connection, once established, can allow the user to select an MNO 114 and download an eSIM for the selected MNO 114 to the eUICC 108. Upon activation of the eSIM, the mobile wireless device 102 can connect to the cellular wireless network of the MNO 114 to access services provided therefrom.. As described in paragraph [0024]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yang into the invention of Chaugule in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 10, Chaugule discloses based on the user device downloading the eSIM via the first connection, providing the user device with access to at least one service via a second connection that is established between the user device and the wireless network. (i.e., After successful activation of the eSIM profile 208, in the post-installation phase, the wireless device 102 can provide to the user a notification that cellular service is available using the eSIM profile 208, As described in paragraph [0041]).
Chaugule discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose: A method comprising: sending, by a wireless network and to a user device, a message indicating an option to establish a first connection with the wireless network to download an embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) associated with the wireless network;
based on the message, receiving a request, from the user device, to establish the first connection between the user device and the wireless network;
based on the request, causing the first connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network;
In a similar endeavor, Yang discloses A method comprising: sending, by a wireless network and to a user device, a message indicating an option to establish a first connection with the wireless network to download an embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) associated with the wireless network; (i.e., In some embodiments, cellular wireless networks broadcast support for using a limited purpose, bootstrap (or provisioning) connection to allow for provisioning and/or updating eSIMs 208 of a mobile wireless device 102., As described in paragraph [0030]).
based on the message, receiving a request, from the user device, to establish the first connection between the user device and the wireless network; (i.e., When the request is accepted by the cellular wireless network, the mobile wireless device establishes a secure data connection with an account server of a mobile network operator (MNO), As described in paragraph [0020]).
based on the request, causing the first connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network; (i.e., When the request is accepted by the cellular wireless network, the mobile wireless device establishes a secure data connection with an account server of a mobile network operator (MNO), As described in paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yang into the invention of Chaugule in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 2 and 11, Chaugule and Yang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein the user device is unable to access, via the first connection, the at least one service provided by the wireless network.
In a similar endeavor, Chaugule discloses wherein the user device is unable to access, via the first connection, the at least one service provided by the wireless network. (i.e., The wireless device may be using a limited functionality, bootstrap provisioning eSIM profile 208 with restricted cellular wireless access before obtaining the fully functional eSIM profile 208. As described in paragraph [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Chaugule into the invention of Chaugule and Yang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 3 and 12, Chaugule and Yang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein causing the first connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network comprises sending, to the wireless network, an indication of a request to download the eSIM.
In a similar endeavor, Yang discloses wherein causing the first connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network comprises sending, to the wireless network, an indication of a request to download the eSIM. (i.e., At 602, the mobile wireless device 102 sends to a network mobility management entity (MME) of a cellular wireless network a request to establish a connection provisioning an eSIM 208 to the mobile wireless device 102, As described in paragraph [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yang into the invention of Chaugule and Yang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 4, Chaugule and Yang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein receiving the message indicating that the user device can connect to the wireless network to download the eSIM is based on scanning, by the user device, for available wireless networks.
In a similar endeavor, Yang discloses wherein receiving the message indicating that the user device can connect to the wireless network to download the eSIM is based on scanning, by the user device, for available wireless networks. (i.e., In some embodiments, the mobile wireless device 102 performs a search for cellular wireless networks, such as using a full band scan to search for and locate cellular wireless networks. As described in paragraph [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yang into the invention of Chaugule and Yang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 6, Chaugule and Yang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein the first connection comprises a limited connection, and wherein downloading the eSIM comprises downloading the eSIM from at least one server associated with the wireless network via the limited connection.
In a similar endeavor, Chaugule discloses wherein the first connection comprises a limited connection, and wherein downloading the eSIM comprises downloading the eSIM from at least one server associated with the wireless network via the limited connection. (i.e., When using the limited functionality, bootstrap eSIM 208, only certain servers can communicate with the wireless device 102…At 528, the wireless device 102 downloads and installs the eSIM profile 208 from the SM-DP+ server. As described in paragraph [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Chaugule into the invention of Chaugule and Yang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 9 and 14, Chaugule and Yang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein the at least one service comprises at least one of a voice communication service, a messaging communication service, or a mobile data service.
In a similar endeavor, Chaugule discloses wherein the at least one service comprises at least one of a voice communication service, a messaging communication service, or a mobile data service. (i.e., the MNOs 114 can represent different wireless service providers that provide specific cellular wireless services (e.g., voice and data) to which the wireless device 102 can subscribe, As described in paragraph [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Chaugule into the invention of Chaugule and Yang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Claims 5, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chaugule et al. (hereinafter “Chaugule”, US2024/0007847) in view of Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang”, US20200178070) and further in view of Huang et al. (hereinafter “Huang”, US2023/0044554).
Regarding claim 5 and 13, Chaugule and Yang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein the message comprises a system information block (SIB) message.
In a similar endeavor, Huang discloses wherein the message comprises a system information block (SIB) message. (i.e., the terminal device may obtain the first parameter set from a synchronization signal and/or a broadcast signal and/or a system information block that are sent by the network device, or the terminal device may receive a message from another device to obtain the first parameter set., As described in paragraph [0165]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Huang into the invention of Chaugule and Yang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Claims 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chaugule et al. (hereinafter “Chaugule”, US2024/0007847) in view of Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang”, US2020/0178070) and further in view of Holla et al. (hereinafter “Holla”, US2024/0048962).
Regarding claim 7, Chaugule and Yang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein the user device is associated with a device identifier, the method further comprising: based on the device identifier corresponding to the eSIM, receiving an indication of a location associated with the eSIM, wherein downloading the eSIM comprises downloading the eSIM from at least one server associated with the wireless network based on the indication of the location associated with the eSIM.
In a similar endeavor, Holla discloses wherein the user device is associated with a device identifier, the method further comprising: based on the device identifier corresponding to the eSIM, receiving an indication of a location associated with the eSIM, wherein downloading the eSIM comprises downloading the eSIM from at least one server associated with the wireless network based on the indication of the location associated with the eSIM. (i.e. identify a geographic location associated with the device; identify at least one carrier that provides a network communication service to the geographic location of the device; …and generate for display, on a graphical user interface, a prompt to a user indicating that the eSIM profile stored on the at least one subscription server is available for download, As described in paragraph [0018]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Holla into the invention of Chaugule and Yang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chaugule et al. (hereinafter “Chaugule”, US2024/0007847) in view of Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang”, US2020/0178070) and further in view of Somasekhar (hereinafter “Somasekhar”, US2025/0113174).
Regarding claim 8, Chaugule and Yang disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein the user device is associated with a device identifier, the method further comprising:
based on the device identifier not corresponding to the eSIM, receiving an indication to select a subscription associated with the wireless network; and
based on a selected subscription associated with the wireless network, receiving an indication of a location associated with the eSIM, wherein downloading the eSIM comprises downloading the eSIM from at least one server associated with the wireless network based on the indication of the location associated with the eSIM.”
In a similar endeavor, Somasekhar discloses wherein the user device is associated with a device identifier, the method further comprising:
based on the device identifier not corresponding to the eSIM, receiving an indication to select a subscription associated with the wireless network; (i.e., If no eSIM subscription is found, the device 201 performs operation 229, which includes a subscription plan signup process, As described in paragraph [0049]).
And based on a selected subscription associated with the wireless network, receiving an indication of a location associated with the eSIM, wherein downloading the eSIM comprises downloading the eSIM from at least one server associated with the wireless network based on the indication of the location associated with the eSIM. (i.e., After the device 201 has been communicatively attached to the PDN 212, the device 201 can determine the server address of the SMDP server 214 and check with the SMDP server 214 to determine if there is a pending eSIM subscription for download. If the eSIM subscription is found, the device 201 performs operation 230, which includes an eSIM activation process and an eSIM profile download, As described in paragraph [0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Somasekhar into the invention of Chaugule and Yang in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hassan et al. (hereinafter “Hassan”, US2025/0175802) in view of Sikes et al. (hereinafter “Sikes”, US2021/0329717.)
Regarding claim 15, Hassan discloses A method comprising: receiving, from a user device and via a first connection between the user device and a wireless network, a device identifier associated with the user device; (i.e., Upon receiving the call request, the communications service 206 obtains a unique device identifier associated with the user's mobile computing device 202-B., As described in paragraph [0038]).
determining whether the device identifier corresponds to an embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) associated with the wireless network; ; (i.e., Once obtained, the communications service 206 compares this current unique device identifier to a previously stored identifier associated with the user's account, ., As described in paragraph [0039]).
Hassan discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: based on determining whether the device identifier corresponds to the eSIM, causing a second connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network, wherein the user device is configured to access at least one service provided by the wireless network via the second connection.
In a similar endeavor, Sikes discloses based on determining whether the device identifier corresponds to the eSIM, causing a second connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network, wherein the user device is configured to access at least one service provided by the wireless network via the second connection. (i.e., When user device 140 initially connected, remote eSIM provisioning platform 310 can be contacted and identifier resource 245A-C can be provisioned from remote eSIM provisioning platform and stored at user device 140 for use establishing connections, As described in paragraph [0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Sikes into the invention of Hassan in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hassan et al. (hereinafter “Hassan”, US2025/0175802) in view of Sikes et al. (hereinafter “Sikes”, US2021/0329717), and further in view of Yang et al. (hereinafter “Yang”, US2020/0178070.)
Regarding claim 16, Hassan and Sikes disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein the device identifier comprises an embedded universal integrated circuit card identifier.
In a similar endeavor, Yang discloses wherein the device identifier comprises an embedded universal integrated circuit card identifier. (i.e., In some embodiments, the one or more hardware device identifiers include an eUICC identifier (EID) and/or an international mobile equipment identifier (IMEI) of the mobile wireless device 102, As described in paragraph [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yang into the invention of Hassan and Sikes in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 17, Hassan and Sikes disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein the user device is not provided access to the at least one service provided by the wireless network based on the first connection.
In a similar endeavor, Yang discloses wherein the user device is not provided access to the at least one service provided by the wireless network based on the first connection. (i.e., At 606, the mobile wireless device 102 establishes a secure connection to the cellular wireless network. In some embodiments, the secure connection between the mobile wireless device 102 and the cellular wireless network is restricted to access to a provisioning server, As described in paragraph [0032]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yang into the invention of Hassan and Sikes in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Claims 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Hassan et al. (hereinafter “Hassan”, US2025/0175802) in view of Sikes et al. (hereinafter “Sikes”, US2021/0329717), and further in view of PADOVA et al. (hereinafter “Padova”, US2024/0267722) and Holla et al. (hereinafter “Holla”, US20240048962.)
Regarding claim 18, Hassan and Sikes disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein causing the second connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network comprises sending, to the user device, an indication of a location associated with the eSIM, and wherein the user device is configured to download the eSIM from at least one server associated with the wireless network based on the indication of the location associated with the eSIM.
In a similar endeavor, Padova discloses wherein causing the second connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network comprises sending, to the user device, an indication of a location associated with the eSIM, (i.e., The bootstrap server forwards the unique device ID, the use case type value, and local cellular wireless network location information, As described in paragraph [0025]),
And Holla further discloses wherein the user device is configured to download the eSIM from at least one server associated with the wireless network based on the indication of the location associated with the eSIM. (i.e., identify a geographic location associated with the device; identify at least one carrier that provides a network communication service to the geographic location of the device; …and generate for display, on a graphical user interface, a prompt to a user indicating that the eSIM profile stored on the at least one subscription server is available for download, As described in paragraph [0018]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Padova and Holla into the invention of Hassan and Sikes in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 19 Hassan and Sikes disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein determining if the device identifier corresponds to the eSIM comprises determining that the device identifier corresponds to the eSIM, wherein causing the second connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network comprises sending, to the user device, an indication of a location associated with the eSIM, and wherein the user device is configured to download the eSIM from at least one server associated with the wireless network based on the indication of the location associated with the eSIM.
In similar endeavor, Hussan discloses wherein determining if the device identifier corresponds to the eSIM comprises determining that the device identifier corresponds to the eSIM, (i.e., Once obtained, the communications service 206 compares this current unique device identifier to a previously stored identifier associated with the user's account, As described in paragraph [0039]).
And Padova further discloses wherein causing the second connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network comprises sending, to the user device, an indication of a location associated with the eSIM, (i.e., The bootstrap server forwards the unique device ID, the use case type value, and local cellular wireless network location information, As described in paragraph [0025]),
And additionally, Holla discloses wherein the user device is configured to download the eSIM from at least one server associated with the wireless network based on the indication of the location associated with the eSIM. (i.e., identify a geographic location associated with the device; identify at least one carrier that provides a network communication service to the geographic location of the device; …and generate for display, on a graphical user interface, a prompt to a user indicating that the eSIM profile stored on the at least one subscription server is available for download, As described in paragraph [0018]),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Padova, Hassan and Holla into the invention of Hassan and Sikes in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Regarding claim 20, Hassan and Sikes disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose feature of these claims: wherein determining if the device identifier corresponds to the eSIM comprises determining that the device identifier does not correspond to the eSIM, wherein causing the second connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network comprises:
sending, to the user device, an indication to select a subscription associated with the wireless network, and
based on a selected subscription associated with the wireless network, sending, to the user device, an indication of a location associated with the eSIM, and
wherein the user device is configured to download the eSIM from at least one server associated with the wireless network based on the indication of the location associated with the eSIM.
In similar endeavor, Hassan discloses wherein determining if the device identifier corresponds to the eSIM comprises determining that the device identifier does not correspond to the eSIM, (i.e., A mismatch between the current and stored identifiers could indicate one of at least two possible scenarios. ... In any case, the mismatch triggers the communications service 212 to initiate an authentication process., As described in paragraph [0039]),
Padova further discloses wherein causing the second connection to be established between the user device and the wireless network comprises:
sending, to the user device, an indication to select a subscription associated with the wireless network, (i.e., The bootstrap server forwards the unique device ID, the use case type value, and local cellular wireless network location information, As described in paragraph [0025]), and
based on a selected subscription associated with the wireless network, sending, to the user device, an indication of a location associated with the eSIM. (i.e., The wireless device 102 selects an i-IMSI value (which in some embodiments can be based on a determined geographic location of the wireless device 102, As described in paragraph [0039].)
And Holla discloses wherein the user device is configured to download the eSIM from at least one server associated with the wireless network based on the indication of the location associated with the eSIM. (i.e., identify a geographic location associated with the device; identify at least one carrier that provides a network communication service to the geographic location of the device; …and generate for display, on a graphical user interface, a prompt to a user indicating that the eSIM profile stored on the at least one subscription server is available for download., As described in paragraph [0018].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Hassan, Padova and Holla into the invention of Hassan and Sikes in order to provide an optimal level of services to users.
Conclusion
/Eric M. Vo/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644