DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imrie (2022/0365240) in view of Ounadjela (WO 2015/153537).
With respect to claim 1, Imrie teaches inducing first acoustic energy in a fluid contained within a pipe network at a predetermined location ([0026], lines 2-6]; [0028], lines 1-2; [0029], lines 37-38); recording, using an array of transducers, second acoustic energy that propagates, in response to the induced first acoustic energy, from the fluid through the pipe network and into a subsurface ([0028], lines 2-4; [0029], lines 40-41); providing the recorded, acoustic energy as an input to a machine learning algorithm ([0053], lines 9-11, 23-25) to generate image data associated with the subsurface ([0053], lines 23-25); and generating, with the machine learning algorithm, a subsurface model that comprises the generated image data for presentation in a graphical user interface ([0053], lines 7-9). However, it does not teach the array of transducers are coupled to the subsurface external to the pipe network.
Ounadjela the array of transducers are coupled to the subsurface external to the pipe network ([0018], lines 5-6; [0019], line 6; Figs 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method of Imrie with the externally coupled sensors of Ounadjela since such a modification would have enable the detection of small seismic events at high frequencies by the sensors.
With respect to claim 10, Imrie teaches a non-transitory, computer readable medium storing instructions ([0033], lines 24-25) that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: inducing first acoustic energy in a fluid contained within a pipe network at a predetermined location ([0026], lines 2-6]; [0028], lines 1-2; [0029], lines 37-38); recording, using an array of transducers, second acoustic energy that propagates, in response to the induced first acoustic energy, from the fluid through the pipe network and into a subsurface ([0028], lines 2-4; [0029], lines 40-41); providing the recorded, acoustic energy as an input to a machine learning algorithm ([0053], lines 9-11, 23-25) to generate image data associated with the subsurface ([0053], lines 23-25); and generating, with the machine learning algorithm, a subsurface model that comprises the generated image data for presentation in a graphical user interface ([0053], lines 7-9). However, it does not teach the array of transducers are coupled to the subsurface external to the pipe network.
Ounadjela the array of transducers are coupled to the subsurface external to the pipe network ([0018], lines 5-6; [0019], line 6; Figs 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the medium of Imrie with the externally coupled sensors of Ounadjela since such a modification would have enable the detection of small seismic events at high frequencies by the sensors.
With respect to claim 19, Imrie teaches one or more processors ([0033], lines 19-20); one or more tangible, non-transitory, media operably connectable to the one or more processors and storing a machine learning model ([0033], lines 24-25) that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising: causing at least one acoustic source to induce first acoustic energy in a fluid contained within a pipe network at a predetermined location ([0026], lines 2-6]; [0028], lines 1-2; [0029], lines 37-38); recording, using an array of transducers, second acoustic energy that propagates, in response to the induced first acoustic energy, from the fluid through the pipe network and into a subsurface ([0028], lines 2-4; [0029], lines 40-41); providing the recorded, acoustic energy as an input to a machine learning algorithm ([0053], lines 9-11, 23-25) to generate image data associated with the subsurface ([0053], lines 23-25); and generating, with the machine learning algorithm, a subsurface model that comprises the generated image data for presentation in a graphical user interface ([0053], lines 7-9). However, it does not teach the array of transducers are coupled to the subsurface external to the pipe network.
Ounadjela the array of transducers are coupled to the subsurface external to the pipe network ([0018], lines 5-6; [0019], line 6; Figs 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the system of Imrie with the externally coupled sensors of Ounadjela since such a modification would have enable the detection of small seismic events at high frequencies by the sensors.
Claims 2, 5, 6, 11, 14, 15, 20, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imrie in view of Ounadjela and further in view of Schaeffer (2024/0018866).
With respect to claims 2, 11, and 20, Imrie teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach sensing a pipe network pressure and fluid temperature at the predetermined location; and providing the sensed pipe network pressure and fluid temperature to the machine learning algorithm as input.
Schaeffer teaches sensing a pipe network pressure ([0042], lines 6-18) and fluid temperature ([0039], lines 6-7) at the predetermined location; and providing the sensed pipe network pressure and fluid temperature to the machine learning algorithm as input ([0018], lines 4-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method and apparatus of Imrie with the pressure and fluid temperature detection and input of Schaeffer since such a modification would have led to better evaluation of pipe conditions.
With respect to claims 5, 14, and 23, Imrie teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach performing distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) in one or more fiber optic cables to obtain strain data associated with the cables, wherein the fiber optic cables are in a region comprising the pipe network; and providing the strain data to the machine learning algorithm as input.
Schaeffer teaches performing distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) in one or more fiber optic cables to obtain strain data associated with the cables ([0016], lines 14-15), wherein the fiber optic cables are in a region comprising the pipe network ([0016], lines 15-17); and providing the strain data to the machine learning algorithm as input ([0018], lines 4-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method and apparatus of Imrie with the distributed acoustic sensing of Schaeffer since such a modification would have allowed for finer sensing location spacing using well-known technology.
With respect to claims 6, 15, and 24, Imrie teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach the one or more fiber optic cables are adjacent to one or more pipes of the pipe network.
Schaeffer teaches the one or more fiber optic cables are adjacent to one or more pipes of the pipe network ([0019], lines 2-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method and apparatus of Imrie with the cable placement of Schaeffer since such a modification would have ensured a good connection for accurate readings.
Claims 3, 12, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imrie in view of Ounadjela and further in view of Stolarczyk (2014/0104979).
With respect to claims 3, 12, and 21, Imrie teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach the predetermined location is identified based on a GPS signal.
Stolarczyk teaches the predetermined location is identified based on a GPS signal ([0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method and apparatus of Imrie with the GPS identification of Stolarczyk since such a modification would have allowed for accurate timing calculations.
Claims 4, 9, 13, 18, 22, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imrie in view of Ounadjela and further in view of Imrie (2016/0216393).
With respect to claims 4, 13, and 22, Imrie teaches the invention as discussed above. It furthermore teaches the predetermined location is one of a plurality of predetermined locations ([0029], lines 4-7), and performing beamforming techniques ([0029], lines 10-13). However, it does not teach the beamforming comprising selecting a predetermined time for each of the plurality of predetermined locations to cause constructive interference in the first acoustic energy from each of the plurality of predetermined locations at a target location; and inducing the first acoustic energy in the fluid at each of a plurality of predetermined locations, each induction occurring at a predetermined time.
Imrie teaches the beamforming comprising selecting a predetermined time for each of the plurality of predetermined locations to cause constructive interference in the first acoustic energy from each of the plurality of predetermined locations at a target location ([0025], lines 4-6; [0037]; [0064-9971]); and inducing the first acoustic energy in the fluid at each of a plurality of predetermined locations, each induction occurring at a predetermined time (claim 2, lines 2-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method and apparatus of Imrie with the beamforming timings of Imrie since such a modification would have allowed for the accurate sensing of a desired target.
With respect to claims 9, 18, and 27, Imrie teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach the meter is configured to both induce the first acoustic energy and record the second acoustic energy.
Imrie teaches the meter is configured to both induce the first acoustic energy and record the second acoustic energy ([0021], lines 11-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method and systems of Imrie with the transmit and receive combination meter of Imrie since such a modification would reduce equipment costs.
Claims 7, 16, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imrie in view of Ounadjela and further in view of Ahmad (2019/0271576).
With respect to claims 7, 16, and 25, Imrie teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach the first acoustic energy is induced by a transducer of a meter configured to measure flow in a pipe network.
Ahmad teaches first acoustic energy is induced by a transducer of a meter configured to measure flow in a pipe network ([0021]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the system of Imrie with the transducer of a flowmeter as taught by Ahmad since such a modification would allowed for the collection of additional data relevant to the pipe fluid and surroundings.
Claims 8, 17, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imrie in view of Ounadjela and further in view of Schaeffer and Stolarczyk.
With respect to claims 8, 17, and 26, Imrie teaches the invention as discussed above. However, it does not teach the meter comprises a GPS receiver, a pressure sensor, and a temperature sensor.
Schaeffer teaches a pressure sensor ([0042], lines 6-18) and a temperature ([0039], lines 6-7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method and apparatus of Imrie with the pressure and fluid temperature detection and input of Schaeffer since such a modification would have led to better evaluation of pipe conditions.
Stolarczyk teaches the sensor meter comprises a GPS receiver ([0041]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to modify the method and apparatus of Imrie with the GPS identification of Stolarczyk since such a modification would have allowed for accurate timing calculations.
Conclusion
The prior art which is cited but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The references made herein are done so for the convenience of the applicant. They are in no way intended to be limiting. The prior art should be considered in its entirety.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRYSTINE E BREIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645