As a preliminary matter, it is noted that the finality of the 3/4/2026 office action is hereby WITHDRAWN and the time period for reply RESTARTED to the date of this present Non-Final office action.
Response to Amendment
The previously made objection to the Figures and Specification have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
The previous made 112 rejections have been withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandarino US 2012/008510 in view of Jiang et al. CN 115333243A and Xu et al. CN114629248A.
Mandarino teaches:
1. A UPS system, comprising:
a UPS module (UPS 150, FIG4) including a first housing (main compartment 130), and
a first sensor outputting first data, and a UPS within the first housing;
a battery module (ie battery within batter compartment comprising sensor 184B, FIG4) including a second housing, and a second sensor (184B) outputting second data, and a battery (battery 132) within the second housing; and
Mandarino fails to teach:
a central controller that is external to the first housing of the UPS module and the second housing of the battery module, the central controller being coupled to the UPS module and the battery module and is configured to receive the first data and the second data.
Jiang teaches a central controller (37, FIGURE7) that is external to the first housing of the UPS module (13) and the second housing of another module (ie 11, 12, 14, and/or 15), the central controller being coupled to the UPS module and the other module and is configured to receive the first data and the second data (see FIG7).
It would have been obvious to include the central controller as taught by Jiang into the system of Mandarino with the motivation of improved coordination, simplified decision making and enhanced system reliability.
Xu teaches a central controller (ie MBMU etc. of said control cabinet 12, FIGURE 1) that is external to said other modules (other cabinets of FIG1).
It would have been obvious to incorporate said controller that is external to said other modules as taught by Xu into the system of Mandarino and Jiang with the motivation of providing added desirable protection to said controller from physical and electromagnetic interference.
Mandarino further teaches:
2. The UPS system of claim 1, further comprising a cooling module (180, FIG4) including a third housing and being configured to provide cooling to the UPS module (via F2, FIG4).
3. The UPS system of claim 2, wherein the first sensor is configured to measure temperature within the first housing and the first data relates to temperature data of the first housing (see Specification @ [0052]).
Jiang teaches:
4. The UPS system of claim 2 wherein the central controller is configured to control the operation of the cooling module based on the first data and the second data (as provided for in the 103 above).
Mandarino further teaches:
6. The UPS system of claim 1, further comprising a frame structure (see frame structure of shell 112, FIG1 and further frame of floor 124 and supports 120, FIG4) configured to contain the UPS module and the battery module, wherein the central controller is within the frame structure, and wherein the frame structure includes a vent to exhaust warm air (see air flow including vent 180D, FIG4).
Jiang teaches:
8. The UPS system of claim 1, wherein the second sensor is configured to measure temperature within the second housing and the second data relates to temperature data of the second housing (as provided for in the 103 above).
9, 12. The UPS system of claim 8/11, further comprising a frame structure (see frame structure of shell 112, FIG1 and further frame of floor 124 and supports 120, FIG4) configured to contain the UPS module and the battery module, wherein the central controller is within the frame structure, and wherein the frame structure includes a first configured to direct cool air to flow over the battery module (via vent 180C, FIG4) and second vent (180D, see airflow arrows) configured to exhaust warm air away from the battery module.
Mandarino further teaches:
10. The UPS system of claim 9, wherein the battery module includes a dedicated cooling module coupled to the central controller and configured to direct cool air to the battery module (ie 180, FIG4 noting the term “dedicated” is relative and said cooling is “dedicated” to said FIG4).
Jiang further teaches:
11. The UPS system of claim 1, further comprising a power block including the central controller (ie Fault protection device 42 and/or display terminal (44) FIG10).
It would have been obvious to include the power block of taught by Jiang into Mandarino with the motivation of providing desirable protection and/or control.
Jiang further teaches:
13. The UPS system of claim 1, further comprising a user interface coupled to the central controller (display terminal (44) FIG10).
It would have been obvious to include the user interface of taught by Jiang into Mandarino with the motivation of providing desirable control means.
Mandarino fails to teach:
14. The UPS system of claim 1, further comprising at least one additional UPS module coupled to the central controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide for an additional/multiple UPS modules as opposed to a single UPS, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378.
Mandarino fails to teach the particular wattage “rating” of the system.
15. The UPS system of claim 1, wherein the UPS module is rated for at least about 1MW.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size a system ie system rating, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component (ie wire and electrical component sizes) and change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Mandarino further teaches:
16. The UPS system of claim 1, further comprising at least one additional battery module (see plural battery module compartments, FIG4) coupled to the central controller.
Claim(s) 5, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandarino US 2012/008510 in view of Jiang et al. CN 115333243A and Xu et al. CN114629248A and Best US 2014/0307384.
Mandarino teaches a cooling module(s) however fails to teach:
5. The UPS system of claim 2, wherein the cooling module includes a heat exchanger and a fan configured to move air over the heat exchanger.
Best teaches a cooling module 150 comprising a fan 154 and heat exchanger 152, see [0045] and FIG1A.
It would have been obvious to include a heat exchanger as taught by Best with said blower of Mandarino with the motivation of provided superior and increased cooling.
Mandarino teaches
17. The UPS system of claim 1, further comprising a frame structure (shell, FIG2) configured to contain the UPS module, and the battery module, and the central controller.
Mandarino fails to teach wherein the frame structure is an ISO container.
Best teaches wherein a frame is an ISO container (see [0040]).
It would have been obvious to use said ISO container as taught by Best in place of the frame structure of Mandarino with the motivation of providing a quick and affordable base means for a frame.
Claim(s) 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandarino US 2012/008510 in view of Xu et al. CN114629248A.
Mandarino teaches:
18. A UPS system, comprising:
a frame structure (shell of FIG1);
at least one UPS module (UPS of 150 excluding cooling means 150B) contained within the frame structure;
at least one battery module (battery compartment module of 120) contained within the frame structure;
at least one cooling module (150B) contained within the frame structure; and
wherein the frame structure includes a first vent (ie 180D) configured to exhaust warm air.
Mandarino fails to teach:
a central controller within the frame structure, the central controller being coupled to the at least one UPS module and the at least one battery module, wherein the at least one cooling module is configured to provide cooling to a UPS module of the at least one UPS module.
Jiang teaches a central controller (37, FIGURE7) that is external to the first housing of the UPS module (13) and the second housing of another module (ie 11, 12, 14, and/or 15), the central controller being coupled to the UPS module and the other module and is configured to receive the first data and the second data (see FIG7).
It would have been obvious to include the central controller as taught by Jiang into the system of Mandarino with the motivation of improved coordination, simplified decision making and enhanced system reliability.
Mandarino further teaches:
19. The UPS system of claim 18, wherein the frame structure includes a first vent configured to direct cool air to flow over the battery module (ie vent 180C) and a second vent configured to exhaust warm air from the battery module (ie vent 180D, see airflow of FIG4).
20. The UPS system of claim 19, wherein the battery module includes a dedicated cooling module configured to direct cool air to the battery module (ie module 180, FIG4).
Mandarino teaches a plurality of cooling modules (180 and 150B, FIG4) with a single of said modules within the frame however fails to teach:
21. The UPS module of claim 18, wherein the at least one cooling module includes at least two cooling modules, and wherein each cooling module of the at least two cooling modules is within the frame structure and coupled to the central controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to move said external cooling module 180 internal of said frame 112A, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. The motivation would have been to provide said cooling module protection and make the overall footprint compact.
And/or it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide plural internal cooling modules (taught as 150b), since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandarino US 2012/008510 in view of Xu et al. CN114629248A and Best US 2014/0307384.
Mandarino teaches a cooling module(s) however fails to teach:
22. The UPS system of claim 21, wherein the at least two cooling modules compromise a heat exchanger and a fan configured to move air over the heat exchanger.
Best teaches a cooling module 150 comprising a fan 154 and heat exchanger 152, see [0045] and FIG1A.
It would have been obvious to include a heat exchanger as taught by Best with said blower of Mandarino with the motivation of provided superior and increased cooling.
Claim(s) 23, 24, 25, 26, 27 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandarino US 2012/008510 in view of Jiang et al. CN 115333243A and Xu et al. CN114629248A.
Mandarino fails to teach:
23. The UPS module of claim 18, further comprising a power block supported by within the frame structure, the power block including the central controller.
Jiang further teaches further comprising a power block including the central controller (ie Fault protection device 42 and/or display terminal (44) FIG10).
It would have been obvious to include the power block of taught by Jiang into Mandarino with the motivation of providing desirable protection and/or control.
Mandarino teaches first and second vents directing cool/warm air across the battery component but fails to teach:
24. The UPS module of claim 23, wherein the frame structure includes include a first vent configured to direct cool air to the power block and a second vent configured to exhaust warm air from the power block.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide said ventallation vent structure for said battery module(s) for said other components and modules including the power block, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378.
Mandarino fails to teach:
25. (Original) The UPS module of claim 18, further comprising a user interface coupled to the central controller, the user interface being configured to enable a user to control the operation of the UPS module and the battery module.
Jiang further teaches: further comprising a user interface coupled to the central controller (display terminal (44) FIG10).
It would have been obvious to include the user interface of taught by Jiang into Mandarino with the motivation of providing desirable control means.
Mandarino fails to teach:
26. The UPS module of claim 18, wherein the at least one UPS module includes at least two UPS modules, and wherein each UPS module of the at least two UPS modules being be supported by is within the frame structure and coupled to the central controller.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide for an additional/multiple UPS modules as opposed to a single UPS, since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378.
Mandarino fails to teach the particular wattage “rating” of the system.
27. The UPS system of claim 26, wherein each UPS module includes a “1MW UPS”.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to size a system including a 1MW UPS, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component (ie wire and electrical component sizes) and change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Mandarino further teaches:
28. The UPS system of claim 18, wherein the at least one battery module includes at leat two battery modules, and wherein each battery module of the at least two battery modules is within the frame structure and coupled to the central controller (see plural battery module compartments, FIG4) coupled to the central controller (as provided by the 103 combination above).
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mandarino US 2012/008510 in view of Xu et al. CN114629248A and Best US 2014/0307384.
Mandarino teaches
29. The UPS system of claim 18, further comprising a frame structure (shell, FIG2) configured to contain the UPS module, and the battery module, and the central controller.
Mandarino fails to teach wherein the frame structure is an ISO container.
Best teaches wherein a frame is an ISO container (see [0040]).
It would have been obvious to use said ISO container as taught by Best in place of the frame structure of Mandarino with the motivation of providing a quick and affordable base means for a frame.
Conclusion
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836