DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the last line, it should read –the rigid member in the event--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the vicinity" in Line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the electrical component is mounted on a vehicle in the vicinity of the rigid member". The limitation is unclear. For examination purposes, the Examiner will assume that the electrical component is near the rigid member and mounted in the vehicle.
As far as understood by the Examiner, the rejection stands as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mizutani (JP 2009-38920A). Regarding Claim 1, Mizutani discloses an electrical connector (220A, 220B, 240) that connects an electrical wire (400) installed at least partially between an electrical component (300) and a rigid member (230) electrically and fixedly to the electrical component (via 400), wherein the electrical component is mounted on a vehicle (10) in the vicinity of the rigid member, the electrical connector comprising: a cover (240) as an outer shell that covers a connection between one end of the electrical wire and the electrical component, wherein the cover comprises: an opposing section (242) being opposed to the rigid member in the cover attached to the electrical component; a sloping section (244) that inclines in a direction such that an outer surface of the opposing section is withdrawn away from the rigid member at least partially; and a reinforcement section (1250) that reinforces the sloping section to bear a load resulting from a collision or an interference between the sloping section and the rigid member in the event of a collision of the vehicle.
Regarding Claim 2, Mizutani discloses the cover further comprising a frame section (230) that ensures a strength of the cover, and the reinforcement section includes a reinforcement rib (1250) that is joined to the sloping section and the frame section to reinforce the sloping section.
Regarding Claim 3, Mizutani discloses the one end covering the electrical wire between the electrical component and the rigid member, and the cover further comprises a protection wall (230) that is joined to the opposing section between the opposing section and the electrical component to protect the electrical wire from the load applied to the opposing section in the event of a collision or an interference between the opposing section and the rigid member.
Regarding Claim 4, Mizutani discloses the one end covers the electrical wire between the electrical component and the rigid member, and the cover further comprises a protection wall (230) that is joined to the opposing section between the opposing section and the electrical component to protect the electrical wire from the load applied to the opposing section in the event of a collision or an interference between the opposing section and the rigid member.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses connectors, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having covers with reinforcement sections.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833