DETAILED ACTION
I. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
II. This action is in response to applicants amendment/arguments filed on March 8, 2026. This action is made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
III. Claims 1, 8-9, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvanesan et al. (US 2021/0345072 A1) in view of Khalid (US 2025/0071833 A1) and Bao et al. (US 2023/0050701 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Selvanesan teaches a method comprising: determining, by an application on at least a first device of a plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0058] – [0059] & [0074], A wireless communication system comprising a plurality of user devices, UEs for group communication. The logical group is managed by an application server, wherein the application server may be hosted by one or more of the plurality of UEs. This reads on determining, by an application on at least a first device of a plurality of devices), a geographical location that includes the plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0058] –[0060] & [0068], A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. This reads on a geographical location that includes the plurality of devices), wherein each of the plurality of devices is configured to operate within a wireless communication network (see paragraph [0057] & [0058] – [0059], The communication over sidelink may be implemented in a wireless communication system with a plurality of user devices. This reads on wherein each of the plurality of devices is configured to operate within a wireless communication network); based at least in part on the geographical location, defining, by the application, a local area network (LAN) of the plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0058] – [0060] & [0068]; [0072], A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. The logical group including a plurality of member UEs to be connected via sidelink for sidelink communication with each other. This reads on based at least in part on the geographical location, defining, by the application, a local area network (LAN) of the plurality of devices), wherein the LAN provides direct communication links among at least some of the plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0008]; [0058] – [0060] & [0068]; [0216], A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. The logical group including a plurality of member UEs to be connected via sidelink for sidelink communication with each other. UEs that communicate directly with each other over the sidelink may include vehicles communicating directly with other vehicles. This reads on wherein the LAN provides direct communication links among at least some of the plurality of devices); establishing, by the application, a first communication link between the first device and a second device of the plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0058] – [0060] & [0068]; and claim 5, A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. The logical group including a plurality of member UEs to be connected via sidelink for sidelink communication with each other. The application server handles the joining of a new UE to the logical group and the assignment of the unique destination ID to a new UE. This reads on establishing, by the application, a first communication link between the first device and a second device of the plurality of devices), wherein the first device and the second device are configured to operate within the wireless communication network (see paragraph [0057] & [0058] – [0059], The communication over sidelink may be implemented in a wireless communication system with a plurality of user devices. This reads on wherein the first device and the second device are configured to operate within the wireless communication network), and wherein the first communication link is a direct communication link between the first device and the second device (see paragraphs [0008]; [0058] – [0060] & [0068]; [0216], A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. The logical group including a plurality of member UEs to be connected via sidelink for sidelink communication with each other. UEs that communicate directly with each other over the sidelink may include vehicles communicating directly with other vehicles. PC5 Interface using the Sidelink Channel for D2D communication. This reads on wherein the first communication link is a direct communication link between the first device and the second device); and UEs communicating, using the application, directly with each other over the wireless sidelink (see paragraph [0008], UEs that communicate directly with each other over the sidelink reads on UEs communicating, using the application, directly with each other over the wireless sidelink).
Selvanesan does not specifically teach sending a communication signal over the first communication link from the first device to the second device.
Khalid teaches sending a communication signal over the first communication link from the first device to the second device (see paragraph [0034], Two UEs establish side-link and the second UE transfers a data file to the first UE via the side-link. This reads on sending a communication signal over the first communication link from the first device to the second device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to make the UEs communicating using the application in Selvanesan adapt to include sending a communication signal over the first communication link from the first device to the second device because the sidelink communication among the plurality of devices in Selvanesan use PC5 Interface using a sidelink channel for D2D communication which allow for a communication signal to be sent over a communication link from the first device to the second device (see Selvanesan and Khalid above).
Selvanesan and Khalid do not teach defining, by the application, a grid pattern over the geographical location, wherein the grid pattern defines boundaries for users of the plurality of devices to operate within assigned areas, wherein the communication signal includes location information of the first device relative to the grid pattern.
Bao teaches defining, by the application, a grid pattern over the geographical location, wherein the grid pattern defines boundaries for users of the plurality of devices to operate within assigned areas (see paragraphs [0300] & [0313] and Fig. 13, A mapping of zone identifiers to zones is application driven and may be implemented at each UE. A grid is depicted whereby each box of the grid corresponds to a particular zone associated with a respective zone identifier. A Target UE and candidate UEs perform sidelink communication (see paragraph [0296]). This reads on a grid pattern over the geographical location, wherein the grid pattern defines boundaries for users of the plurality of devices to operate within assigned areas), wherein the communication signal includes location information of the first device relative to the grid pattern (see paragraph [0296], The target UE receives zone information associated with a plurality of zones, the zone information indicating, for each of a plurality of candidate UEs for a sidelink-assisted position estimation procedure of the target UE, a zone identifier of a zone in which the respective candidate UE is located. The zone information for a particular candidate UE is received directly from that particular candidate UE. This reads on wherein the communication signal includes location information of the first device relative to the grid pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Selvanesan and Khalid combination adapt to include defining, by the application, a grid pattern over the geographical location, wherein the grid pattern defines boundaries for users of the plurality of devices to operate within assigned areas, wherein the communication signal includes location information of the first device relative to the grid pattern because it would allow for a well-known and efficient mechanism for locating devices in a particular geographic location.
Regarding claim 8 Khalid teaches wherein the communication signal is a text signal (see paragraph [0031], A data file including a photo embedded in a text message to be transmitted from a first UE to a second UE reads on wherein the communication signal is a text signal).
Regarding claim 9 Selvanesan teaches an apparatus (UE) comprising: one or more processors; and a non-transitory storage medium comprising instructions stored thereon, the instructions being executable by the one or more processors to cause the one of more processors to perform one or more actions (see paragraphs [0200] – [0205], The features of the invention may be implemented in hardware and software through execution of instructions by one or more processors) comprising: determining, by an application on at least a first device of a plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0058] – [0059] & [0074], A wireless communication system comprising a plurality of user devices, UEs for group communication. The logical group is managed by an application server, wherein the application server may be hosted by one or more of the plurality of UEs. This reads on determining, by an application on at least a first device of a plurality of devices), a geographical location that includes the plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0058] –[0060] & [0068], A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. This reads on a geographical location that includes the plurality of devices), wherein each of the plurality of devices is configured to operate within a wireless communication network (see paragraph [0057] & [0058] – [0059], The communication over sidelink may be implemented in a wireless communication system with a plurality of user devices. This reads on wherein each of the plurality of devices is configured to operate within a wireless communication network); based at least in part on the geographical location, defining, by the application, a local area network (LAN) of the plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0058] – [0060] & [0068]; [0072], A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. The logical group including a plurality of member UEs to be connected via sidelink for sidelink communication with each other. This reads on based at least in part on the geographical location, defining, by the application, a local area network (LAN) of the plurality of devices), wherein the LAN provides direct communication links among at least some of the plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0008]; [0058] – [0060] & [0068]; [0216], A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. The logical group including a plurality of member UEs to be connected via sidelink for sidelink communication with each other. UEs that communicate directly with each other over the sidelink may include vehicles communicating directly with other vehicles. This reads on wherein the LAN provides direct communication links among at least some of the plurality of devices); establishing, by the application, a first communication link between the first device and a second device of the plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0058] – [0060] & [0068]; and claim 5, A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. The logical group including a plurality of member UEs to be connected via sidelink for sidelink communication with each other. The application server handles the joining of a new UE to the logical group and the assignment of the unique destination ID to a new UE. This reads on establishing, by the application, a first communication link between the first device and a second device of the plurality of devices), wherein the first device and the second device are configured to operate within the wireless communication network (see paragraph [0057] & [0058] – [0059], The communication over sidelink may be implemented in a wireless communication system with a plurality of user devices. This reads on wherein the first device and the second device are configured to operate within the wireless communication network), and wherein the first communication link is a direct communication link between the first device and the second device (see paragraphs [0008]; [0058] – [0060] & [0068]; [0216], A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. The logical group including a plurality of member UEs to be connected via sidelink for sidelink communication with each other. UEs that communicate directly with each other over the sidelink may include vehicles communicating directly with other vehicles. PC5 Interface using the Sidelink Channel for D2D communication. This reads on wherein the first communication link is a direct communication link between the first device and the second device); and UEs communicating, using the application, directly with each other over the wireless sidelink (see paragraph [0008], UEs that communicate directly with each other over the sidelink reads on UEs communicating, using the application, directly with each other over the wireless sidelink).
Selvanesan does not specifically teach sending a communication signal over the first communication link from the first device to the second device.
Khalid teaches sending a communication signal over the first communication link from the first device to the second device (see paragraph [0034], Two UEs establish side-link and the second UE transfers a data file to the first UE via the side-link. This reads on sending a communication signal over the first communication link from the first device to the second device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to make the UEs communicating using the application in Selvanesan adapt to include sending a communication signal over the first communication link from the first device to the second device because the sidelink communication among the plurality of devices in Selvanesan use PC5 Interface using a sidelink channel for D2D communication which allow for a communication signal to be sent over a communication link from the first device to the second device (see Selvanesan and Khalid above).
Selvanesan and Khalid do not teach defining, by the application, a grid pattern over the geographical location, wherein the grid pattern defines boundaries for users of the plurality of devices to operate within assigned areas, wherein the communication signal includes location information of the first device relative to the grid pattern.
Bao teaches defining, by the application, a grid pattern over the geographical location, wherein the grid pattern defines boundaries for users of the plurality of devices to operate within assigned areas (see paragraphs [0300] & [0313] and Fig. 13, A mapping of zone identifiers to zones is application driven and may be implemented at each UE. A grid is depicted whereby each box of the grid corresponds to a particular zone associated with a respective zone identifier. A Target UE and candidate UEs perform sidelink communication (see paragraph [0296]). This reads on a grid pattern over the geographical location, wherein the grid pattern defines boundaries for users of the plurality of devices to operate within assigned areas), wherein the communication signal includes location information of the first device relative to the grid pattern (see paragraph [0296], The target UE receives zone information associated with a plurality of zones, the zone information indicating, for each of a plurality of candidate UEs for a sidelink-assisted position estimation procedure of the target UE, a zone identifier of a zone in which the respective candidate UE is located. The zone information for a particular candidate UE is received directly from that particular candidate UE. This reads on wherein the communication signal includes location information of the first device relative to the grid pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Selvanesan and Khalid combination adapt to include defining, by the application, a grid pattern over the geographical location, wherein the grid pattern defines boundaries for users of the plurality of devices to operate within assigned areas, wherein the communication signal includes location information of the first device relative to the grid pattern because it would allow for a well-known and efficient mechanism for locating devices in a particular geographic location.
Regarding claim 16 Selvanesan and Khalid teach limitations as recited in claim 8 and therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 17 Selvanesan teaches one or more non-transitory storage media comprising instructions stored thereon, the instructions being executable by one or more processors to perform actions (see paragraphs [0200] – [0205], The features of the invention may be implemented in hardware and software through execution of instructions by one or more processors) comprising: determining, by an application on at least a first device of a plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0058] – [0059] & [0074], A wireless communication system comprising a plurality of user devices, UEs for group communication. The logical group is managed by an application server, wherein the application server may be hosted by one or more of the plurality of UEs. This reads on determining, by an application on at least a first device of a plurality of devices), a geographical location that includes the plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0058] –[0060] & [0068], A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. This reads on a geographical location that includes the plurality of devices), wherein each of the plurality of devices is configured to operate within a wireless communication network (see paragraph [0057] & [0058] – [0059], The communication over sidelink may be implemented in a wireless communication system with a plurality of user devices. This reads on wherein each of the plurality of devices is configured to operate within a wireless communication network); based at least in part on the geographical location, defining, by the application, a local area network (LAN) of the plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0058] – [0060] & [0068]; [0072], A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. The logical group including a plurality of member UEs to be connected via sidelink for sidelink communication with each other. This reads on based at least in part on the geographical location, defining, by the application, a local area network (LAN) of the plurality of devices), wherein the LAN provides direct communication links among at least some of the plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0008]; [0058] – [0060] & [0068]; [0216], A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. The logical group including a plurality of member UEs to be connected via sidelink for sidelink communication with each other. UEs that communicate directly with each other over the sidelink may include vehicles communicating directly with other vehicles. This reads on wherein the LAN provides direct communication links among at least some of the plurality of devices); establishing, by the application, a first communication link between the first device and a second device of the plurality of devices (see paragraphs [0058] – [0060] & [0068]; and claim 5, A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. The logical group including a plurality of member UEs to be connected via sidelink for sidelink communication with each other. The application server handles the joining of a new UE to the logical group and the assignment of the unique destination ID to a new UE. This reads on establishing, by the application, a first communication link between the first device and a second device of the plurality of devices), wherein the first device and the second device are configured to operate within the wireless communication network (see paragraph [0057] & [0058] – [0059], The communication over sidelink may be implemented in a wireless communication system with a plurality of user devices. This reads on wherein the first device and the second device are configured to operate within the wireless communication network), and wherein the first communication link is a direct communication link between the first device and the second device (see paragraphs [0008]; [0058] – [0060] & [0068]; [0216], A plurality of user device, UEs, wherein at least one logical group is defined in accordance with one or more logical group criteria including UEs sharing the same location or proximity to each other. The logical group including a plurality of member UEs to be connected via sidelink for sidelink communication with each other. UEs that communicate directly with each other over the sidelink may include vehicles communicating directly with other vehicles. PC5 Interface using the Sidelink Channel for D2D communication. This reads on wherein the first communication link is a direct communication link between the first device and the second device); and UEs communicating, using the application, directly with each other over the wireless sidelink (see paragraph [0008], UEs that communicate directly with each other over the sidelink reads on UEs communicating, using the application, directly with each other over the wireless sidelink).
Selvanesan does not specifically teach sending a communication signal over the first communication link from the first device to the second device.
Khalid teaches sending a communication signal over the first communication link from the first device to the second device (see paragraph [0034], Two UEs establish side-link and the second UE transfers a data file to the first UE via the side-link. This reads on sending a communication signal over the first communication link from the first device to the second device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed inventio to make the UEs communicating using the application in Selvanesan adapt to include sending a communication signal over the first communication link from the first device to the second device because the sidelink communication among the plurality of devices in Selvanesan use PC5 Interface using a sidelink channel for D2D communication which allow for a communication signal to be sent over a communication link from the first device to the second device (see Selvanesan and Khalid above).
Selvanesan and Khalid do not teach defining, by the application, a grid pattern over the geographical location, wherein the grid pattern defines boundaries for users of the plurality of devices to operate within assigned areas, wherein the communication signal includes location information of the first device relative to the grid pattern.
Bao teaches defining, by the application, a grid pattern over the geographical location, wherein the grid pattern defines boundaries for users of the plurality of devices to operate within assigned areas (see paragraphs [0300] & [0313] and Fig. 13, A mapping of zone identifiers to zones is application driven and may be implemented at each UE. A grid is depicted whereby each box of the grid corresponds to a particular zone associated with a respective zone identifier. A Target UE and candidate UEs perform sidelink communication (see paragraph [0296]). This reads on a grid pattern over the geographical location, wherein the grid pattern defines boundaries for users of the plurality of devices to operate within assigned areas), wherein the communication signal includes location information of the first device relative to the grid pattern (see paragraph [0296], The target UE receives zone information associated with a plurality of zones, the zone information indicating, for each of a plurality of candidate UEs for a sidelink-assisted position estimation procedure of the target UE, a zone identifier of a zone in which the respective candidate UE is located. The zone information for a particular candidate UE is received directly from that particular candidate UE. This reads on wherein the communication signal includes location information of the first device relative to the grid pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Selvanesan and Khalid combination adapt to include defining, by the application, a grid pattern over the geographical location, wherein the grid pattern defines boundaries for users of the plurality of devices to operate within assigned areas, wherein the communication signal includes location information of the first device relative to the grid pattern because it would allow for a well-known and efficient mechanism for locating devices in a particular geographic location.
IV. Claims 2-3, 10-11, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvanesan et al. (US 2021/0345072 A1) in view of Khalid (US 2025/0071833 A1); Bao et al. (US 2023/0050701 A1); Qaisrani et al. (US 2022/0109969 A1); and Bellavoine et al. (US 2021/0056654 A1).
Regarding claim 2 Selvanesan, Khalid, and Bao teach the method of claim 1 except for wherein users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are operating within an area in which the wireless communication network is inoperable.
Qaisrani teaches wherein users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are operating within an area in which the wireless communication network is inoperable (see paragraphs [0183], The device to device (D2D) communication session may be established between a host (e.g. client) UE, and a cooperating (e.g., relay and/or relaying) UE. The remote UE may be out of range of cellular services. A peer-to-peer communication session may be established. The peer-to-peer communication session may be established and based on and/or in conjunction with 3GPP PC5 communication protocol. This reads on wherein users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are operating within an area in which the wireless communication network is inoperable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao combination adapt to include wherein users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are operating within an area in which the wireless communication network is inoperable because it would provide a mechanism for emergency communications when cellular services are not available (see Qaisrani, paragraph [0183]).
Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, and Qaisrani do not teach wherein the users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are part of a search and rescue team.
Bellavoine teaches a search and rescue team (see paragraph [0126], Making safe zones within a scope of a search for victims of accidents or natural disasters include at least on exclusion zone, wherein access is restricted to rescue services. This reads on part of a search and rescue team).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices in the Selvanesan, Khalid, and Qaisrani combination adapt to include being part of a search and rescue team because it is well-known that members of search and rescue can use a plurality of devices, such as the ones in the Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, and Qaisrani combination, to provide search and rescue services.
Regarding claim 3 Selvanesan Khalid, and Bao teach the method of claim 1 except for wherein users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are operating within an area in which the wireless communication network is inoperable.
Qaisrani teaches wherein users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are operating within an area in which the wireless communication network is inoperable (see paragraphs [0183], The device to device (D2D) communication session may be established between a host (e.g. client) UE, and a cooperating (e.g., relay and/or relaying) UE. The remote UE may be out of range of cellular services. A peer-to-peer communication session may be established. The peer-to-peer communication session may be established and based on and/or in conjunction with 3GPP PC5 communication protocol. This reads on wherein users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are operating within an area in which the wireless communication network is inoperable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Selvanesan, Bao and Khalid combination adapt to include wherein users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are operating within an area in which the wireless communication network is inoperable because it would provide a mechanism for emergency communications when cellular services are not available (see Qaisrani, paragraph [0183]).
Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, and Qaisrani do not teach wherein the users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are archeologists.
Bellavoine teaches archeologists (see paragraph [0123], A work environment can be an archaeological site type, wherein archaeologist are aware who enters the site. This reads on archeologists).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices in the Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, and Qaisrani combination adapt to include archeologists because it is well-known that archeologists can use a plurality of devices, such as the ones in the Selvanesan, Khalid, and Qaisrani combination, when doing work ant archaeological sites such as excavation zones.
Regarding claim 10 Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, Qaisrani ,and Bellavoine teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 11 Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, Qaisrani ,and Bellavoine teach limitations as recited in claim 3 and therefore claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 18 Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, Qaisrani ,and Bellavoine teach limitations as recited in claim 2 and therefore claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 19 Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, Qaisrani ,and Bellavoine teach limitations as recited in claim 3 and therefore claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
V. Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvanesan et al. (US 2021/0345072 A1) in view of Khalid (US 2025/0071833 A1); Bao et al. (US 2023/0050701 A1); Qaisrani et al. (US 2022/0109969 A1); and Thommana et al. (US 12,289,697 B1).
Regarding claim 4 Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao teach the method of claim 1 except for wherein users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are operating within an area in which the wireless communication network is inoperable.
Qaisrani teaches wherein users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are operating within an area in which the wireless communication network is inoperable (see paragraphs [0183], The device to device (D2D) communication session may be established between a host (e.g. client) UE, and a cooperating (e.g., relay and/or relaying) UE. The remote UE may be out of range of cellular services. A peer-to-peer communication session may be established. The peer-to-peer communication session may be established and based on and/or in conjunction with 3GPP PC5 communication protocol. This reads on wherein users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are operating within an area in which the wireless communication network is inoperable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao combination adapt to include wherein users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are operating within an area in which the wireless communication network is inoperable because it would provide a mechanism for emergency communications when cellular services are not available (see Qaisrani, paragraph [0183]).
Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, and Qaisrani do not teach wherein the users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices are soldiers.
Thommana teaches soldiers (see col. 9, lines 5-11, a squad of soldiers with UEs reads on soldiers).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the users of at least some of the devices of the plurality of devices in the Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, and Qaisrani combination adapt to include soldiers because it is well-known that soldiers can use a plurality of devices, such as the ones in the Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, and Qaisrani combination, during military operations.
Regarding claim 12 Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, Qaisrani, and Thommana teach limitations as recited in claim 4 and therefore claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VI. Claims 5, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvanesan et al. (US 2021/0345072 A1) in view of Khalid (US 2025/0071833 A1) Bao et al. (US 2023/0050701 A1); and Esswie (US 2025/0024472 A1).
Regarding claim 5 Selvanesan, Khalid, and Bao teach the method of claim 1 including wherein the second device includes the application (see Selvanesan, paragraph [0074] and except for establishing, by the application on the second device, a second communication link with a third device of the plurality of devices, wherein the third device is configured to operate within the wireless communication network, and wherein the second communication link is a direct communication link between the second device and the third device; and forwarding, by the application, the communication signal over the second communication link from the second device to the third device.
Esswie teaches establishing a second communication link with a third device of the plurality of devices, wherein the third device is configured to operate within the wireless communication network, and wherein the second communication link is a direct communication link between the second device and the third device; and forwarding, by the application, the communication signal over the second communication link from the second device to the third device (see paragraphs [0111] – [0112] and Fig. 7, Source UE 115A may transmit traffic payload, to UE 115B, via the first sidelink 135 A-B. Source user equipment transmits traffic payload to relay user equipment (735, Fig. 7). Relay user equipment 115B may determine frequency resources to use to transmit the traffic payload, via sidelink link 135B-D, to user equipment 115D (740, Fig. 7). This reads on establishing a second communication link with a third device of the plurality of devices, wherein the third device is configured to operate within the wireless communication network, and wherein the second communication link is a direct communication link between the second device and the third device; and forwarding, by the application, the communication signal over the second communication link from the second device to the third device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the application of the second device in the Selvanesan, Khalid, and Bao combination adapt to include establishing a second communication link with a third device of the plurality of devices, wherein the third device is configured to operate within the wireless communication network, and wherein the second communication link is a direct communication link between the second device and the third device; and forwarding, by the application, the communication signal over the second communication link from the second device to the third device because it would allow for the efficient communication of data traffic directly between users when user devices are located beyond wireless coverage (see Esswie, paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 13 Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, and Esswie teach limitations as recited in claim 5 and therefore claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 20 Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, and Esswie teach limitations as recited in claim 5 and therefore claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
VII. Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Selvanesan et al. (US 2021/0345072 A1) in view of Khalid (US 2025/0071833 A1); Bao et al. (US 2023/0050701 A1) and Baek et al. (US 2016/0381720 A1).
Regarding claim 6 Selvanesan, Khalid, and Bao teach the method of claim 1 except for wherein the communication signal comprises data from a sensor coupled to the first device.
Baek teaches wherein the communication signal comprises data from a sensor coupled to the first device (see paragraph [0175] and Fig. 13A, A mission critical PTT UE includes a microphone for receiving voice. A call setup creates a group call. The media transceiver for performs transmission of voices during PTT direct communications. This reads on wherein the communication signal comprises data from a sensor coupled to the first device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the communication signal in the Selvanesan, Khalid, and Bao combination adapt to include data from a sensor coupled to the first device because it is well-known that the plurality of devices in the Selvanesan, Khalid, and Bao combination can include sensors for the transmission of media information (see Baek, above).
Regarding claim 7 Selvanesan, Khalid, and Bao teach the method of claim 1 except for wherein the communication signal is a voice signal.
Baek teaches wherein the communication signal is a voice signal (see paragraph [0175] and Fig. 13A, A mission critical PTT UE includes a microphone for receiving voice. A call setup creates a group call. The media transceiver for performs transmission of voices during PTT direct communications. This reads on wherein the communication signal comprises data from a sensor coupled to the first device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the communication signal in the Selvanesan, Khalid, and Bao combination adapt to include a voice signal because it is well-known that the plurality of devices in the Selvanesan, Khalid, and Bao combination can include capabilities for the transmission of a voice signal (see Baek, above).
Regarding claim 14 Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, and Baek teach limitations as recited in claim 6 and therefore claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Regarding claim 15 Selvanesan, Khalid, Bao, and Baek teach limitations as recited in claim 7 and therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons given above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reimann et al. Pub. No.: US 2020/0359360 A1 discloses apparatus, method and computer program for determining one or more radio resources to be sued for performing a wireless communication over a sidelink of a mobile communication system including a communication resource grid (see abstract and fig 2a).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRANDON J MILLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647
March 18, 2026