DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
In claim 2, the “sonic device configured to produce sound engaged by the trigger” is a bowl ([0065]), cymbal ([0082]), or any “developed device configured to produce a sound” ([0082]).
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the frame proximate the elongate slot” is idiomatically incorrect and appears to mean -the frame proximal to the elongate slot-. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Roberts (1,175,816).
Regarding claim 1, Roberts teaches a timer, comprising: an hourglass (7) including: a top globe (a); a bottom globe (b); and a neck connecting the top globe and the bottom globe and defining a sand passageway (page 1, lines 50-52) between the top globe and the bottom globe (Fig. 1); a frame (1-2, 4-5, 8) pivotally supporting the hourglass at the neck with the bottom globe disposed below the top globe; and a trigger (b, 6, 8) pivotally coupled to the frame in a position to be engaged by the bottom globe when the hourglass pivots on the frame to a selected extent; wherein: the hourglass is configured to contain sand disposed inside one or more of the top globe, the bottom globe, and the neck (page 1, lines 50-52); the hourglass is configured to allow the sand to flow from the top globe to the bottom globe through the neck under the influence of gravity (page 1, lines 50-52); the hourglass pivots on the frame in response to sand flowing from the top globe to the bottom globe (page 1, lines 50-63); and the selected extent the hourglass must pivot for the bottom globe to engage the trigger corresponds to a selected amount of time. Roberts discloses an alarm (title), and an alarm by definition corresponds to an amount of time. The shape of the hourglass and amount of sand sets the point and time at which the hourglass will pivot.
Regarding claim 2, Roberts teaches (Fig. 1) the timer of claim 1, further comprising a sonic device (3, 6) configured to produce sound when engaged by the trigger (8) in response to the trigger being engaged by the bottom globe. The bottom globe pivoting causes 8 to move, which carries 6 and causes it to strike 3.
Regarding claim 3, Roberts teaches the timer of claim 2, wherein the sonic device includes an acoustic bowl (3 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Roberts teaches (Fig. 1) the timer of claim 3, wherein: the sonic device further includes a sphere (6) configured to engage the acoustic bowl (3) after being engaged by the trigger (8); and the acoustic bowl produces a sound when engaged by the sphere.
Regarding claim 19, Roberts teaches (Fig. 1) the timer of claim 1, wherein the trigger include a curved member (8) and is pivotally connected to the frame (at 10) at a medial position (5) of the curved member.
Regarding claim 20, Roberts teaches the timer of claim 1, further comprising a base supporting the frame (the triangular legs supporting 1 in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roberts.
Regarding claim 11, Roberts discloses the timer of claim 2, but does not show the sonic device including a cymbal.
Cymbals are known to be struck by hard elements to create a sound.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Roberts’s acoustic device for a cymbal. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this substitution to achieve the predictable result of creating a sound when struck by Robert’s striker.
Regarding claims 12-13 Roberts discloses (Fig. 1) the timer of claim 11, wherein the cymbal is suspended from the frame in a path of the trigger when the trigger (8) pivots relative to the frame (1-2); the cymbal creates a sound when contacted by the trigger (6); the trigger is held in a cocked position spaced from the cymbal (Fig. 1); the trigger is pivoted out of the cocked position when the bottom globe engages the trigger (page 1, lines 50-55); the trigger pivots from the cocked position to a cocked position under the force of gravity after being pivoted out of the cocked position (page 1, lines 50-55); and the trigger contacts the cymbal in the contact position (page 1, lines 56-59).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-10 and 14-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 5, the prior art does not show or suggest a frame defining a track so that a sphere rolls down the track from an upper end to a lower end to engage an acoustic bowl disposed at the lower end when a trigger engages the sphere, in combination with the other limitations.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art does not show or suggest a trigger adjustment mechanism including a variable finger pivotally connected to a fixed finger and a fastener configured to selectively secure the variable finger in a desired pivot position relative to the fixed finger.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art does not show or suggest a frame defining an elongate slot, and a trigger pivotally connected to the frame proximal to the elongate slot, in combination with the other limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Van Dam (US 2,259,402) teaches an hourglass that pivots to trigger an electrical circuit. Koester (US 2,064,759) teaches an hourglass that pivots and rolls on a track to ring a bell (Figs. 1-2).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW DANIEL HWANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2833
/renee s luebke/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2833