DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 8-9is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP201318146 to Baba (Baba).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Baba teaches the electrical cabinet comprising a cabinet body (1, Figure 1) and a plurality of drawers (2, Figure 1 are moved via guide rails which are not shown per the specification “Inside the rack body 3 of the rack 1 of the electronic device, a plurality of guide rails (not shown) for guiding the attaching / detaching operation of the subrack 2 into the rack body 3 are provided” per Page 3, last paragraph of the translation), the plurality of drawers inserted into the cabinet body from a front side of the cabinet body in a thickness direction of the cabinet and arranged along a height direction of the cabinet body (shown in Figure 1), the heat dissipating device comprises: a first air inlet (20, Figure 1) and a second air inlet (20 is shown in duplicate in Figure 1), the first air inlet arranged on the front side of the cabinet body between two adjacent drawers of the plurality of drawers to receive a first cooling airflow (shown in the middle of Figure 1), the second air inlet arranged on the front side of the cabinet body adjacent to a bottom of the cabinet body to receive a second cooling airflow (shown at the bottom of Figure 1); and an isolation assembly arranged within the cabinet body to isolate the first cooling airflow and the second cooling airflow (19, Figure 1).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Baba teaches wherein the heat dissipating device further comprises a plurality of drawer vents, each of the plurality of drawer vents arranged between adjacent drawers of the plurality of drawers for the first cooling airflow and the second cooling airflow to flow between different drawers (“Then, air flowing into the inside of the rack body 3 from the opening 20 on the front surface of the rack body 3 of the rack 1 passes through the lower side of the casing 4 of the subrack 2 by the convection guide plate 19 and flows into the inside of the subrack 2”, Page 4, third paragraph of the translation)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baba in view of EP2071910 to AO et al. (AO).
Regarding claim 3, Baba is silent on wherein the isolation assembly comprises a pair of side isolation plates respectively arranged adjacent to opposite sides of the plurality of drawers in a width direction of the cabinet body to guide the first cooling airflow and the second cooling airflow to flow to the plurality of drawer vents.
AO teaches wherein the isolation assembly comprises a pair of side isolation plates respectively arranged adjacent to opposite sides of the plurality of drawers in a width direction of the cabinet body to guide the first cooling airflow and the second cooling airflow to flow to the plurality of drawer vents (13, Figure 8 or plates connected with 142). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Baba with the teachings of AO to provide wherein the isolation assembly comprises a pair of side isolation plates respectively arranged adjacent to opposite sides of the plurality of drawers in a width direction of the cabinet body to guide the first cooling airflow and the second cooling airflow to flow to the plurality of drawer vents. Doing so would assist in directing flow to the desired location to cool components as desired.
Regarding claim 4, Baba teaches wherein the isolation assembly further comprises a bottom isolation plate (19, Figure 1) which is positioned below the bottom drawer (shown in Figure 1).
Baba is silent on wherein the isolation assembly further comprises one end of the bottom isolation plate abutting a drawer of the plurality of drawers which is adjacent to the bottom of the cabinet body and the other end abutting the bottom of the cabinet body to guide the second cooling airflow received by the second air inlet to flow to the plurality of drawer vents.
AO teaches wherein the isolation assembly further comprises one end of the bottom isolation plate abutting a drawer of the plurality of drawers which is adjacent to the bottom of the cabinet body and the other end abutting the bottom of the cabinet body to guide the second cooling airflow received by the second air inlet to flow to the plurality of drawer vents (plate at 151 shown in Figure 8 connects the structure below the rack and the rack per Figures 9-11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Baba with the teachings of AO to provide wherein the isolation assembly further comprises one end of the bottom isolation plate abutting a drawer of the plurality of drawers which is adjacent to the bottom of the cabinet body and the other end abutting the bottom of the cabinet body to guide the second cooling airflow received by the second air inlet to flow to the plurality of drawer vents. Doing so would assist in directing flow to the desired location to cool components as desired.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baba.
Regarding claim 5, Baba is silent on wherein the isolation assembly further comprises a pair of thermal isolation plates arranged between the first air inlet and a drawer of the two adjacent drawers which is closer to the bottom of the cabinet body, the pair of thermal isolation plates arranged along a width direction of the cabinet body and spaced from each other by a predetermined distance to isolate the first cooling airflow and the second cooling airflow but does teach a single isolation plate (19) in that location). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide the plate 19 in multiple parts, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961)).
Regarding claim 6, Baba teaches wherein the heat dissipating device further comprises a through hole arranged adjacent to a side of the pair of thermal isolation plates away from the front side of the cabinet body, for the second cooling airflow to pass through (flowpath shown in Figure 2 with a through hole on a side of 19 allowing flow).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not provide a reasonable combination to teach “herein the heat dissipating device further comprises a first air outlet and a second air outlet, the first air outlet arranged on the front side of the cabinet body adjacent to a top of the cabinet body to guide the first cooling airflow flowing through the plurality of drawers to be discharged from the cabinet body, the second air outlet arranged on a rear side of the cabinet body adjacent to the top of the cabinet body to guide the second cooling airflow flowing through the plurality of drawers and through holes to be discharged from the cabinet body”. The prior art in general teaches outlets through the top of the cabinet or through one of the front or back of the cabinet. The intervening claims require a certain orientation which also prohibit some references from being used.
Conclusion
/STEVEN S ANDERSON II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762