DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment dated 09/09/2026 has also received and entered. By the amendment, claims 1-19 and 21 are now pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/27/2026 and 09/23/2026 was filed and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Telfer et al., US 2023/0004061 A1.
Claims 1-4, 6-13, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Claim 1 is anticipated by Telfer et al. figures 1, 2, 4 and accompanying text which discloses system comprising:
. a first layer 150
. a second layer 160
. a plurality of capsules 126
. wherein the plurality of capsules comprise a functional additive 121/122
. a carrier layer 120 is disposed within each of the plurality of capsules (fig. 2) and permits free movement of each of the functional additive 121/122 within each of the plurality of capsules (according to an electrophoretic property).
. the functional additive is switchable to a first state and a second state (bistable display, [0054]).
In case of functional additive not freely mowed in the Telfer et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the display before the effective filing dated of the claimed invention to employ the Telfer et al. functional additive freely moving inside the capsule (e.g., under electric field applying), since it is a known practice in the display for light modulation purposes.
Re claims 2 and 16, wherein the functional additive comprises a negatively charged component and a positively charged component ([0052]).
Re claims 3-4, wherein the functional additive absorbs light in a visible wavelength bandwidth (electrophoretic display property, [0062]).
Re claim 6, wherein the functional additive comprises one or more pigments ([0055]).
Re claim 7, wherein the functional additive comprises a colorant (Abstract, [0055]).
Re claims 8-9, wherein the first layer and the second layer are transparent in a wavelength range of from about 380 nm to about 700 nm (visible wavelength range)([0053]).
Re claim 10, wherein a surface charge-controlled layer 110/130 in proximity to the first layer or the second layer.
Re claims 11-13, wherein a first state comprises transparency in a first visible wavelength bandwidth and a second state comprises absorbance in a second visible wavelength bandwidth ([0010]-[0011]).
Re claim 15, wherein the carrier layer is filled with a liquid ([0054]).
Re claim 21, wherein a first state comprises transparency in a first visible wavelength bandwidth and a second state comprises absorbance in a second visible wavelength bandwidth ([0010]-[0011]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 14 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Telfer et al., US 2023/0004061 A1.
Re claim 5, Telfer et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for the functional additive comprises a plurality of quantum dots. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to employ the Telfer et al. functional additive with a plurality of quantum dots since it would be considered equally well alternative for the electrophoresis particle (e.g., functional additive).
Re claim 14, Telfer et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for a size of each of the capsules from about 15 to about 100 microns. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to employ the Telfer et al. capsule size in the claimed range, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art
Re claim 17, Telfer et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for a gap between the first layer and the second layer is from about 80 microns to about 150 microns. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to employ the Telfer et al. cell gap in the claimed range, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art
Re claims 18-19, Telfer et al. disclose the claimed invention as described above except for application in an eyewear and/or in an aerospace vehicle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the Telfer et al. device/system in an eyewear and/or in an aerospace vehicle, since it was known in the art to obtain an electrophoresis advantages (e.g., adaptive, visual comfort, fast switching optical states).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
. Albert et al. (US 6,727,881), disclose electrophoretic display with a functional additive freely moved inside a capsule (see figs 2-4).
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DUNG T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871