DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 10-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ho (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0079408).
Concerning claims 1-3 & 14, Ho discloses a system for air sanitization comprising:
a. an antimicrobial formulation comprising:
(i) one or more organic acids comprising lactic acid (paragraphs 25, 36, & 46;
(ii) optionally, one or more diols (i.e., not needed to satisfy the limitations of the claim; and
(a) wherein the organic acids intrinsically have a vapor pressure in a range of 0.10 Pa to about 300 Pa at room temperature and standard pressure (paragraphs 25, 36 and 46); and
b. a device for creating aerosolized droplets of the antimicrobial formulation wherein an average particle size is less than about 150 µm (paragraph 72) so that the formulation provides at least a 3-log reduction against airborne Staphylococcus aureus and/or an airborne virus, or another airborne target microbe within 60 minutes or less (paragraphs 37, 65 and 76-82).
Regarding claims 6 & 7, Ho continues to disclose that the lactic acid is included in the formulation in an amount from about 2-4% (paragraph 82).
With respect to claim 10, Ho further discloses that the pH of the formulation is from about 2-6 (paragraphs 48 & 49).
Regarding claims 11 & 12, the reference continues to disclose that the system includes a citric acid buffer (paragraph 44).
Concerning claim 15, Ho also discloses that the device includes a cold or thermal fogger (paragraph 73).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 8, 9 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0079408) in view of Tian et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2018/0140545).
Concerning claims 4, 5, 8, 16, 17, 19 and 20, Ho discloses a system for air sanitization comprising:
a. an antimicrobial formulation comprising:
(i) 0.1-5% by weight of at least one of lactic acid or citric (paragraphs 25, 36, 46 and 82);
(iii) a fragrance (paragraph 68);
Wherein the formulation comprises at least 80% by weight water (paragraph 68);
Wherein a pH of the formulation is from about 2-4 (paragraph 49);
Wherein the organic acids intrinsically have a vapor pressure of at least 0.02 Pa at room temperature and standard pressure (paragraphs 25, 36 and 46); and
b. a device for creating aerosolized droplets of the antimicrobial formulation wherein an average particle size is less than about 150 µm (paragraph 72) so that the formulation provides at least a 3-log reduction against airborne Staphylococcus aureus, and/or an airborne virus, or another airborne target microbe within 60 minutes or less (paragraphs 37, 65 and 76-82).
Ho does not appear to disclose that the formulation includes 1,2-hexanediol. Tian discloses a system for air sanitization (paragraphs 5 & 6) that comprises an antimicrobial formulation that includes lactic acid as a sanitizer (paragraph 61), and a device for creating aerosolized droplets of said antimicrobial formulation (paragraphs 58, 108 and 109). The reference continues to disclose that the antimicrobial formulation includes 0.5-10% by weight of 1,2-hexanediol in order to act as a plug-preventing additive to prevent the device from clogging (paragraphs 76 and 77). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the antimicrobial formulation of Ho with 0.5-10% by weight of 1,2-hexanediol in order to act as a plug-preventing additive to prevent the device from clogging as exemplified by Tian.
Therefore, claims 4, 5, 8, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are not patentable over Ho in view of Tian.
With respect to claim 9, Ho in view of Tian does not appear to disclose that the concentration ratio of the 1,2-hexanediol to the lactic acid in the formulation is from about 3:1 to about 1:3. However, the Courts have held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). Thus, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the concentration ratio of the 1,2-hexanediol to the lactic acid in the formulation is from about 3:1 to about 1:3 in order to successfully prevent fogging devices from clogging by the formulation while continuing to provide the appropriate amount of sanitizer to actively achieve the expected log reduction against bacteria and viruses for a given fogging device in a given setting; as such is considered a result effective variable that would be optimized by one of ordinary skill through routine experimentation. Only the expected results would be attained.
As such, claim 9 does not provide a patentable distinction over Ho in view of Tian, and said claim 9 is rejected over the references of Ho in view of Tian.
Regarding claim 18, Ho continues to disclose that the device includes a cold or thermal fogger (paragraph 73).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (U.S. Publication No. 2013/0079408).
Ho is relied upon as set forth above. Ho does not appear to disclose the percentage of the citric acid in the formulation. Nonetheless, the Courts have held that "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456,105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.). As such, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the citric acid in the formulation at a percentage of 0.1-5% in order to create a formulation that provides optimal decontaminating results for a particular microorganism, bacteria or virus for a given environment based numerous variables such as humidity, temperature etc.; as such would be no more than a result effective variable that would be optimized by one of ordinary skill during routine experimentation. Only the expected results would be attained.
Therefore, claim 13 does not create a patentable distinction over Ho, and is thus rejected in view of Ho.
Conclusion
/KEVIN JOYNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799