DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 9-13 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sidler et al (9,990,683) in view of Higgs (9,300,791) and further in view of Brown et al (5,535,261).
Consider claims 2, 9 and 16, Sidler et al teach a method, system and non-transitory computer-readable device having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations, for monitoring an incoming communication, comprising: receiving the incoming communication (col. 4 lines 17-32; “For example, embodiments of the present invention may monitor calls for one or more criteria (e.g., a particular called number, a particular individual making or receiving a call, a particular calling feature such as three-way calling being invoked”); determining an outside party associated with the incoming communication; retrieving a list of outside parties stored in an incoming communication system (col. 37 lines 29-50; “As an example of information that may be presented in call information section 810, the illustrated embodiment includes information identifying the calling and called parties, such as may be determined from identification and/or validation of a calling or called party by controlled environment information management system 110, from accessing one or more databases (e.g., billing name and number (BNA), line information database (LIDB), etcetera), and/or the like. Moreover, the calling and/or called party information of the illustrated embodiment includes status information (e.g., inmate, family, attorney, etcetera), such as may be determined by controlled environment information management system 110 and/or from accessing one or more databases (e.g., personal allowed number (PAN) list, government records, internet search results, etcetera). The illustrated embodiment of call information section 810 further includes the called number”); detecting a three-way communication in the recorded incoming communication (col. 38 lines 49-64; “Call event 835 may represent detection of unauthorized or undesired activity during the call, such as an attempt to invoke a three-way call, and thus may represent a somewhat atypical event in a call flow”); and triggering an alert in response to the detecting the three-way communication (col. 4 line 24-32; “a particular individual making or receiving a call, a particular calling feature such as three-way calling being invoked, a particular word or phrase spoken during the call) identified by an investigator to cause a notification to be communicated to the investigator to provide the investigator an opportunity listen in on the call and to barge into the call”).
Slider et al did not explicitly suggest of detecting a resident-to-resident communication in the recorded incoming communication; and triggering the alert in response to the detecting the resident-to-resident communication. In the same field of endeavor, Higgs teaches controlled-environment facility resident communication detection that detects unauthorized communications such as three-way communication and resident-to-resident communications in a controlled environment and send an alert so that authorized staff can listen to the call, or the like (col. 4 line 57 – col. 5 line 32).
Furthermore, Slider et al did not explicitly suggest of performing a privileged determination that the outside party is not entitled to privileged communication and recording the incoming communication based on a mismatch between the outside party and the list and the privileged determination (i.e., the call does not have privileged conversations between attorney and client). Brown et al teach system for controlling and monitoring the recording of telephone calls in institutions such as jails and correctional facilities. Calls are recorded automatically in response to the occurrence of specific triggering events, as pre-defined under software control by a system administrator. Triggering events may include, for example, use of a specific line, attempts to use particular features (such as three-way calling), attempts to dial particular telephone numbers, or use by a particular person (see abstract). An operator to pre-determine which calls should be recorded. It also allows an administrator to specify particular types of calls for which recordings should not be made, such as communications that are protected by attorney-client privilege. This reduces the possibility of illegal monitoring and/or recording of such conversations (col. 1 line 63 – col. 2 line 2). An administrator specifies 202 which telephone lines will be subject to recording, and identifies particular events that will trigger recording (col. 3 lines 16-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to apply the teaching of Higgs and Brown et al into view of Slider et al and the result would have been predictable and resulted in detecting various types of unauthorized communications in the controlled environment and notify the authorized staffs as well as automatically controlling which calls are to be record and not record in the controlled environment thereby improve call processing as well as provides cost savings and improved flexibility in a controlled environment.
Consider claims 3, 10 and 17, the combination teaches wherein detecting the resident-to-resident communication further comprises: injecting a message into an outgoing communication; detecting the message in the incoming communication; and determining that the incoming communication includes the resident-to-resident communication (col. 4 lines 32-56 of Higgs; “For example, in accordance with embodiments of the present systems and methods for definitive controlled-environment facility resident to resident communication detection, a controlled-environment communication apparatus, or the like may insert a modulated signal into audio of a controlled-environment facility resident's side of a call”).
Consider claims 4, 11 and 18, the combination teaches wherein the message is periodic (col. 9 lines 19-33; “For example, controlled-environment facility communication processing system 131 and/or 140, etc. may insert the modulated signal after the signal originates from controlled-environment facility phone 113, 123, 133, etc. IFD 114, 124, 134, etc., IRD 115, 125, 135, 116, 126, 136, or the like, before it reaches the other call party's equipment 163, 164, 165, 166. In another example, IFDs 114, 124, 134, etc. and/or resident IRDs 115, 125, 135, 116, 126, 136, etc. may insert the modulated signal as apart of origination of the resident's audio output”; thus, the inserting of modulated signal is program specific (i.e., periodic or random/intermittent).
Consider claims 5 and 12, the combination teaches wherein the message is intermittent (col. 9 lines 19-33; “For example, controlled-environment facility communication processing system 131 and/or 140, etc. may insert the modulated signal after the signal originates from controlled-environment facility phone 113, 123, 133, etc. IFD 114, 124, 134, etc., IRD 115, 125, 135, 116, 126, 136, or the like, before it reaches the other call party's equipment 163, 164, 165, 166. In another example, IFDs 114, 124, 134, etc. and/or resident IRDs 115, 125, 135, 116, 126, 136, etc. may insert the modulated signal as apart of origination of the resident's audio output”; thus, the inserting of modulated signal is program specific (i.e., periodic or random/intermittent).
Consider claims 6, 13 and 19, the combination teaches wherein injecting the message further comprises setting a volume of the message to be lower than a volume of the outgoing communication (col. 4 lines 63-65 of Higgs; “Modulation of the signal can be such as to locate it in a frequency domain less prone to being heard, rendering it more or less inaudible”).
Claims 7-8, 14-15 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sidler et al (9,990,683) in view of Higgs (9,300,791) and Brown et al (5,535,261) and further in view of Hogg (2008/0118042).
Consider claims 7, 14 and 20, Sidler et al did not explicitly suggest wherein determining the three-way communication further comprises: sampling voice samples of the incoming communication; performing voice recognition based on the voice samples; and determining, based on a result of the voice recognition, a number of parties of the incoming communication. In the same field of endeavor, Hogg teaches the system and method for detecting three-way (number of parties) call utilizing well-known voice recognition-based system monitoring (par. 0012; 0019; 0034). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to apply the existing monitoring system and method taught by Hogg into the “base” process of Slider et al and the result would have been predictable and resulted in detecting unauthorized callers thereby improve call processing in a controlled environment.
Consider claims 8, 15 and 21, Sidler et al did not explicitly suggest wherein determining the three-way communication further comprises: performing face detection based on the incoming communication; and determining, based on a result of the face detection, a number of parties of the incoming communication. In the same field of endeavor, Hogg teaches the system and method for detecting three-way (number of parties) call utilizing well-known face recognition-based system monitoring (par. 0012; 0019; 0034). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date the invention was made to apply the existing monitoring system and method taught by Hogg into the “base” process of Slider et al and the result would have been predictable and resulted in detecting unauthorized callers thereby improve call processing in a controlled environment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2-21 have been considered but are moot.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.) Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/Quoc D Tran/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691
June 9, 2026