DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2026-08-26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 19 rejected under 35 USC § 102, applicant argues Batra does not disclose “a wireless device that receives a time for a virtual anchor point for a sub-connection event during a first connection event”. Examiner respectfully disagrees, under the broadest most reasonable interpretation, Batra discloses the claimed features as observed in at least figures 5-6. Batra discloses a system consisting of a source device, and additional sink devices (Batra, fig. 5, elements 510, 520 and 522). Furthermore, the source device is configured to broadcast isochronous data (Batra, fig. 5, par. 58; the source device 510 broadcasts the isochronous data via two separate isochronous streams, which include a first isochronous stream 530 that carries time-related isochronous channels 534, 536 as well as a second isochronous stream 540 that carries one isochronous channel 544.) and leverages sub-events in the isochronous channels to select a frequency from the automatic frequency hopping channel map (Batra, fig. 5, par. 58; Accordingly, to receive the isochronous data from the source device 510, the sink devices 520, 522 first receive the synchronization information via the advertising channels 532, 542 and then synchronize to the frequency hopping sub-events in any isochronous channel(s) 534, 536, 544 selected at the sink devices 520, 522.)see also par. 7. Batra further discloses a time indication associated with each of the sub-events to include update sub-events (Batra, par. 64; FIG. 6A-6C, which may indicate the time associated with an event on the isochronous channel 640 (i.e., the time for all sub-events including the update sub-event)), as disclosed by Batra the update sub-event conveys when the channel transitions from an active, inactive, or terminated state (See Batra, par. 61; Accordingly, in the following description, the receiving sink devices may directly synchronize to the update sub-event (also called an “update slot”) that the source device uses to send occasional control information to the receiving sink devices, whereby any state information relating to the isochronous data transmitted via the isochronous channel (e.g., changes in state from inactive or active, from active to inactive, etc.) may be conveyed via the update sub-event such that the sink devices may cease listening to the periodic advertising stream after the isochronous channel has been acquired).
Response to Amendment
Regarding applicants’ amendments to the specification, the amendments are responsive to the previously presented objections to the specification, however, the amendments to the specifications are not entered because a clean copy and marked up copy of the substitute specification has not been supplied.
Specification
The substitute specification filed 2026-08-26 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because: a clean copy and marked up copy of the substitute specification has not been supplied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-21, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Batra et al. (US-20170244576-A1, published: 2017-08-24) hereinafter Batra.
Regarding claim 19, Batra discloses a wireless device, comprising: a transceiver (Batra, fig. 9 par. 77; The functions associated with the transmitter 910 and the receiver 912 can be incorporated into a transceiver 914); and a processor (Batra, fig. 9, par. 77; the wireless device 900 may include a processor 904) configured to: receive a time for a virtual anchor point for a sub-connection event during a first connection event (Batra, fig. 6, par. 64; isochronous channel 640 (e.g., a time from an anchor point associated with an auxiliary synchronization packet 632 to a future anchor point, a time from the anchor point to the update sub-event, a packet number associated with the first packet that will be transmitted on the isochronous channel 640 ); and receive a channel map, wherein the channel map (Batra, par. 64; the synchronization information may include a channel map that indicates used and unused data channels, a symbol rate, a worst case accuracy associated with a sleep clock used at the source device, and/or other suitable physical channel information) includes a first frequency for communication between the wireless device and a second wireless device, and includes a second frequency for communication between the wireless device and a third wireless device (Batra, par. 65; the synchronization information conveyed via the auxiliary advertising packets 622 and/or the auxiliary synchronization packets 632 may therefore provide various parameters that may point to the isochronous channel 640 and enable sink devices to synchronize to the frequency hopping sub-events in the isochronous channel 640) Examiner notes, see also fig. 5 par 58. Where Batra further discloses the
use of 3 devices using 3 different channels with frequency hopping.
Regarding Claim 20, Batra discloses the wireless device of claim 19, further configured to: receive a request for service from the second wireless device; transmit a response to the request for service to the second wireless device; and receive one or more service parameters, wherein the service parameters include a request for the wireless device to communicate with the third wireless device (Batra, fig. 7, par. 71; an application profile may request an isochronous stream with one or more time-related isochronous channels, wherein preparing the one or more isochronous channels may comprise allocating a stream identifier to each isochronous stream that has been requested and allocating a
channel identifier to the isochronous channel(s) in each isochronous stream).
Regarding Claim 21, Batra discloses the wireless device of claim 19, further configured to: begin the first connection event with the second wireless device; and receive a first message from the second wireless device during the first connection event at the first frequency (Batra, par. 40; the scanner may make a request to the advertiser on the same advertising PHY channel and a response from the advertiser on the same advertising PHY channel may follow the request).
Regarding Claim 25, Batra discloses The wireless device of claim 19, further configured to: negotiate one or more service parameters with the second wireless device (Batra, par. 53; the isochronous physical channels 412 may enable isochronous data to be transferred via a connection-oriented configuration (i.e., a one-to-one configuration in which a source device transfers isochronous data to one sink device) or according to connectionless configuration (i.e., a one-to-many configuration in which the source device broadcasts the isochronous data to one or more sink devices)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batra et al. (US-20170244576-A1, published: 2017-08-24) hereinafter Batra in view of Haartsen (US-6754250-B2, published: 2004-06-22).
Regarding Claim 22, Batra discloses the wireless device of claim 21, further configured to: transmit, at the second frequency, a second message from the wireless device to the third wireless device during the sub-connection event of the first connection event; receive a third message from the third wireless device at the second frequency during the sub-connection event of the first connection event; and transmit, at the first frequency, data from the third message to the second wireless device (Batra, figs. 5, par. 58; a source device 510 transfers isochronous data to multiple sink devices 520, 522 according to a connectionless method … the source device 510 broadcasts the isochronous data via two separate isochronous streams, which include a first isochronous stream 530 that carries time-related isochronous channels 534, 536 as well as a second isochronous stream 540 that carries one isochronous channel 544. The source device 510 further broadcasts synchronization information associated with the first isochronous stream 530 via a first advertising channel 532 and synchronization information associated with the second isochronous stream 540 via a first advertising channel 542. Accordingly, to receive the isochronous data from the source device 510, the sink devices 520, 522 first receive the synchronization information via the advertising channels 532, 542 and then synchronize to the frequency hopping sub-events in any isochronous channel(s) 534, 536, 544 selected at the sink devices 520, 522).
Batra does not explicitly disclose the source device receiving a message from the third wireless device (sink device 522) and transmit that data to the second wireless device (sink device 520). However, Haartsen discloses a method for frequency hopping in uncoordinated frequency piconets forming dynamic anchor configuration using intermediate units to stablish connection between the master and slave piconets (Haartsen, fig. 8, par. 20; If units 101 and 113 are not within range, a link has to be established via some intermediate units. At the traffic level 1, unit 103 becomes a master of traffic piconet 810 connecting 101 with 111. Unit 111 is both a slave in piconet 810 and master in piconet 820).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Batra’s method for synchronizing channel control information in a BLE system using anchor points with Haartsen’s method for forming anchor piconets from a plurality of wireless units with dynamic anchor configuration to enhance wireless network communication.
Regarding Claim 23, The combination of Batra and Haartsen disclose the wireless device of claim 22, further configured to: transmit the data from the third message to the second wireless device during a second connection event (Haartsen, fig. 7, par. 20; If units 101 and 113 are not within range, a link has to be established via some intermediate units. At the traffic level 1, unit 103 becomes a master of traffic piconet 810 connecting 101 with 111. Unit 111 is both a slave in piconet 810 and master in piconet 820. Unit 111 has established piconet 820 connecting units 111 and 113. Information between units 101 and 113 flows via intermediate units 103 and 111 at the traffic level 1).
Regarding Claim 24, Batra discloses the wireless device of claim 21, further configured to: transmit, at the second frequency, a second message from the wireless device to the third wireless device during the sub-connection event of the first connection event receive an encrypted third message from the third wireless device at the second frequency during the sub-connection event of the first connection event; and transmit, at the first frequency, the encrypted third message from the wireless device to the second wireless device without decrypting the encrypted third message (Batra, par. 64; the synchronization information broadcasted on the secondary advertising channels 620 and/or the periodic advertising stream 630 may comprise various parameters that enable the isochronous channel 640 to be selected and acquired at the sink device(s) … and/or other parameters that may enable the sink device(s) to select and acquire the isochronous channel 640 (e.g., a time from an anchor point associated with an auxiliary synchronization packet 632 to a future anchor point, a time from the anchor point to the update sub-event … encryption/decryption information if encryption is enabled, etc.), Examiner notes, see also Batra, par. 56, Table 3.
Batra does not explicitly disclose the system being configured to transmit information between the second and third devices, however, Haartsen discloses a dynamic piconet network (Haartsen, par. 15; The configuration of level 1 is very dynamic. Piconets 310-340 and scatternets are established and released in level 1 as needed for traffic exchange between specific units) using uncoordinated frequency hopping (Haartsen, par. 16; This system uses frequency hopping and radios that are low-power, low-cost and have a small footprint) and the ability to use intermediate units as master or slave to stablish communication between units (Haartsen, fig. 8, par. 20; If units 101 and 113 are not within range, a link has to be established via some intermediate units. At the traffic level 1, unit 103 becomes a master of traffic piconet 810 connecting 101 with 111. Unit 111 is both a slave in piconet 810 and master in piconet 820. Unit 111 has established piconet 820 connecting units 111 and 113. Information between units 101 and 113 flows via intermediate units 103 and 111 at the traffic level 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Batra’s method for synchronizing channel control information in a BLE system using anchor points with Haartsen’s method for stablishing master slave connection in a dynamic anchor configuration to enhance wireless network communication
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batra et al. (US-20170244576-A1, published: 2017-08-24) hereinafter Batra in view of Chen (US-20200260448-A1, published: 2020-08-13).
Regarding claim 26, Batra discloses the wireless device of claim 19, wherein the first connection event comprises a fixed time period that begins at a primary anchor point (Batra, fig. 5, par. 58; the source device 510 broadcasts the isochronous data via two separate isochronous streams, which include a first isochronous stream 530 that carries time-related isochronous channels 534, 536 as well as a second isochronous stream 540 that carries one isochronous channel 544) and ends at a first connection event termination point, and wherein the sub-connection event begins at the virtual anchor point (Batra, fig. 5, par.58; Accordingly, to receive the isochronous data from the source device 510, the sink devices 520, 522 first receive the synchronization information via the advertising channels 532, 542 and then synchronize to the frequency hopping sub-events in any isochronous channel(s) 534, 536, 544 selected at the sink devices 520, 522) and ends at a sub-connection event termination point on or before the first connection event termination point (Batra par. 70; Furthermore, when the isochronous channel 640 is to be terminated (e.g., removed from memory at the source device and any sink device(s) because there is no more isochronous data to be transmitted or other reasons), the update sub-event packet transmitted via the update slot 644 may convey the termination event such that the isochronous channel 640 may then follow the timing diagram shown in FIG. 6C. In particular, as shown therein, the isochronous data is not present in the one or more isochronous slots 642 and the update sub-event is not present in the update slot 644 upon termination).
Batra does not explicitly teach the sub event ends on or before the first connection event. However in analogous art, Chen discloses a method to pre-calculate an RF channel sub-event, in which it is disclosed a first subevent, starting at the same time as a connected Isochronous Group event and ends before the CIG event (Chen, par. 48; A CIG event consists of one or more CIS events depending on the number of CISs in that CIG. CIG events occur periodically every isochronous interval. The CIG event starts at the start of the first subevent of the first scheduled CIS (i.e. CIS(1)) and ends at the end of the last subevent of the last scheduled CIS (i.e. CIS(NumCIS)) in an isochronous interval. The CIG anchor points occur at the same time as the anchor points of the first CIS in the CIG).
Therefore a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine Batra’s the teachings for isochronous source and sink device communication with Chens teachings for pre-calculating sub-events in an RF channel to enhance multi-connection communication in short wireless devices.
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batra et al. (US-20170244576-A1, published: 2017-08-24) hereinafter Batra in view of Chen (US-20200260448-A1, published: 2020-08-13) and further in view of Linsky et al (US-20190007153-A1, published: 2019-01-03) hereinafter Linsky.
Regarding Claim 27, the combination of Batra and Chen teaches, the wireless device of claim 26, wherein the first connection event is a time period in which the wireless device communicates with the second wireless device on the first frequency (Batra, fig. 5 par. 58; Accordingly, to receive the isochronous data from the source device 510, the sink devices 520, 522 first receive the synchronization information via the advertising channels 532, 542 and then synchronize to the frequency hopping sub-events in any isochronous channel(s) 534, 536, 544 selected at the sink devices 520, 522. For example, the isochronous streams 530, 540 may each be allocated a respective stream identifier and each isochronous channel 534, 536, 544 may be allocated a respective channel identifier. The stream identifier and the channel identifier may be transmitted in the synchronization information conveyed via the advertising channels 532, 542 such that each sink device 520, 522 may select and acquire appropriate isochronous channels).
The combination of Batra and Chen does not explicitly disclose the communication between the first and second devices are at a first frequency for the whole duration of the connection event, and rather Batra relies on frequency hopping. However in analogous art Linsky discloses a system for concurrent transmission which utilizes a first and second frequency assigned to a device with two transmitters, and wherein the two transmitters transmit packets at the same time using their assigned frequency (Linsky, fig. 2, steps 202 and 206).
Therefore a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have find it obvious to try to implement Linsky’s methods for concurrent transmission to Batra’s teachings for isochronous source and sink device communication with Chens teachings for pre-calculating sub-events in an RF channel to enhance communication in multi-frequency multi-device communication.
It is noted that any citations to specific pages, columns, lines or figures in the prior art
references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered limiting in any way. A
reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably
suggested to a person of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123
Other Relevant References Not Used
Ouyang et al. (US-20220159782-A1), Seamless Role Switch For True Wireless Ear Buds, 2022. Role switch between wirelessly paired master/slave devices may be performed without perceived glitches in audio. The devices negotiate an anchor point, such as a point in time or a point in relation to other events, for performing the role switch. To prepare for the role switch prior to the anchor point, the devices communicate a variety of information, such as information for communicating with the host device after the role switch and information for bit processing after the role switch. The slave device may use such information to serve in the master role, without the host knowing that a role switch occurred.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIO R CAMPERO MIRAMONTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649