DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 4 be found allowable, claim 13 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). It seems likely that claim 13 should depend from claim 12, but as drafted it depends from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 10,343,881 to Guo.
Regarding claim 1 Guo discloses an autonomous driving robot comprising: a storage unit comprising a housing (combination of side walls of shelves and base portion), which provides a space for storing an article, and a shelf (182/184) which is provided inside the housing and configured such that the article is loaded on the shelf (figure 1); a manipulator (140) comprising a linear actuator (vertical movement mechanism) which is provided inside the housing and extends in a vertical direction (see figure 1), and a selective compliance articulated robot arm (SCARA arm) (142), which is coupled to the linear actuator; and a transport unit (124) coupled to the storage unit and configured to move the storage unit, wherein a plurality of shelves are provided in the storage unit, some of the shelves are provided adjacent to one inner wall of the housing and spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction (182), and the other shelves are provided adjacent to another inner wall which faces the one inner wall and spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction, and wherein the plurality of shelves extend in a horizontal direction toward a central axis of the housing (184 and figure 1), the central axis extending vertically at a center of the housing, and the plurality of shelves do not vertically overlap the central axis of the housing (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 2 Guo discloses the transport unit is coupled to a bottom surface of the storage unit and configured to move on a floor (figure 1).
Regarding claim 3 Guo discloses the SCARA arm comprises a first arm (see figure 1 section with pivots on both ends) and a second arm (outer section to which 144 is connected), one end of the first arm is coupled to the linear actuator (see figure 1), and the other end of the first arm at the opposite end from the one end is coupled to one end of the second arm (figure 1) the first arm is configured to rotate, on an X-Y plane, about a first axis that is located at an end portion of the first arm adjacent to the one end of the first arm at which the first arm is coupled to the linear actuator, and the second arm is configured to rotate, on an X-Y plane, about a second axis that is located at another end portion of the first arm adjacent to the other end of the first arm at which the second arm is coupled to the first arm. When the arm is located in a horizontal plane/position it meets the claim language.
Regarding claim 4 Guo discloses the second arm is coupled to a bottom surface of the other end of the first arm. When the arm is located in a horizontal plane/position it meets the claim language.
Regarding claim 13 see discussion of claims 3 and 4 above.
Regarding claim 5 Guo discloses the SCARA arm further comprises a hand (144) that is coupled to the second arm, and the hand is configured to be coupled to or detached from the article (col. 2 lines 45-50).
Regarding claims 6 and 15 Guo discloses an opening is formed in one side of the housing (see figure 1), the opening of the housing is configured such that the article is carried in or taken out (area where arm extends), through the opening, the housing comprises a pair of first side walls perpendicular to the side of the housing including the opening (ends of 182/184), some of the shelves are arranged adjacent to one of the first side walls (see figure 1), and the other shelves are arranged adjacent to the other first side wall that faces the one of the first side walls (figure 1), and an area of each of the first side walls is smaller than an area of a side wall perpendicular to each of the first side walls (see figure 1, the perpendicular side wall also includes the lower portion below the opening).
Regarding claims 7, 11 and 17, these claims are directed to the article being handled which is not a required element of the claim and does not limit the structure of the apparatus. See MPEP 2115. Guo is capable of handling an article with a door, and the door of the article is configured to face the first side wall adjacent to the shelf when the article is loaded on the shelf and the article comprises a front open unified pod (FOUP) and thus reads on the claims as currently drafted.
Regarding claims 8 and 16 Guo discloses four shelves are provided in the storage unit, and two of the four shelves are provided on one of the first side walls of the housing, and the other two shelves are provided on the other first side wall that faces the one of the first side walls (see figure 1 showing more than 4 shelves arranged on both sides).
Regarding claims 9 and 14 Guo discloses the storage unit further comprises a coupling member which is provided inside the housing and configured to connect the manipulator and the housing to each other (see connection between 140 and 124).
Regarding claim 10 Guo discloses coupling member further comprises a frame which is coupled to one inner wall of the housing and configured to be coupled to and detached from the linear actuator (see figure 1 and rotatable base of 140).
Regarding claim 12 Guo discloses an autonomous driving robot comprising: a storage unit comprising a housing, which provides a space for storing an article, and a shelf which is provided inside the housing and configured such that the article is loaded on the shelf (combination of side walls of shelves and base portion and figure 1); a manipulator (140) comprising a linear actuator (vertical slide of 140), which is provided inside the housing and extends in a vertical direction (figure 1), and a selective compliance articulated robot arm (SCARA arm) (142), which is coupled to the linear actuator; and a transport unit (124) coupled to a bottom surface of the storage unit and configured to move on a floor, wherein a plurality of shelves are provided in the storage unit, some of the shelves are provided adjacent to one inner wall of the housing and spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction, and the other shelves are provided adjacent to another inner wall which faces the one inner wall and spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction, and the plurality of shelves extend horizontally toward a central axis of the housing (see figure 182/184 and figure 1), the central axis extending vertically at a center of the housing, and the plurality of shelves do not vertically overlap the central axis of the housing (see figure 1), wherein the SCARA arm comprises at least two horizontal joints (see figure 1 when arm is in horizontal position).
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-12, 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0258658 to Iwamoto (citation below of US 12,030,715 for any col/line numbering).
Regarding claim 1 Iwamoto discloses an autonomous driving robot comprising: a storage unit comprising a housing (140a and 140b in figure 1), which provides a space for storing an article, and a shelf (50) which is provided inside the housing and configured such that the article is loaded on the shelf (142); a manipulator (120) comprising a linear actuator (vertical movement mechanism) which is provided inside the housing and extends in a vertical direction (see figure 1), and a selective compliance articulated robot arm (SCARA arm) (124), which is coupled to the linear actuator; and a transport unit (111) coupled to the storage unit and configured to move the storage unit, wherein a plurality of shelves are provided in the storage unit, some of the shelves are provided adjacent to one inner wall of the housing and spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction (140a), and the other shelves are provided adjacent to another inner wall which faces the one inner wall and spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction, and wherein the plurality of shelves extend in a horizontal direction toward a central axis of the housing (140b and figure 1), the central axis extending vertically at a center of the housing, and the plurality of shelves do not vertically overlap the central axis of the housing (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 2 Iwamoto discloses the transport unit is coupled to a bottom surface of the storage unit and configured to move on a floor (figure 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 15 Iwamoto discloses an opening is formed in one side of the housing (see figure 1), the opening of the housing is configured such that the article is carried in or taken out (central area), through the opening, the housing comprises a pair of first side walls perpendicular to the side of the housing including the opening (ends of 140) some of the shelves are arranged adjacent to one of the first side walls (see figure 1), and the other shelves are arranged adjacent to the other first side wall that faces the one of the first side walls (figure 1), and an area of each of the first side walls is smaller than an area of a side wall perpendicular to each of the first side walls (see figure 1, the perpendicular side wall also includes the lower portion below the opening).
Regarding claims 7, 11 and 17, these claims are directed to the article being handled which is not a required element of the claim and does not limit the structure of the apparatus. See MPEP 2115. Iwamoto is capable of handling an article with a door, and the door of the article is configured to face the first side wall adjacent to the shelf when the article is loaded on the shelf and the article comprises a front open unified pod (FOUP) and thus reads on the claims as currently drafted.
Regarding claims 8 and 16 Iwamoto discloses four shelves are provided in the storage unit, and two of the four shelves are provided on one of the first side walls of the housing, and the other two shelves are provided on the other first side wall that faces the one of the first side walls (see figure 1 showing more than 4 shelves arranged on both sides).
Regarding claims 9 and 14 Iwamoto discloses the storage unit further comprises a coupling member which is provided inside the housing and configured to connect the manipulator and the housing to each other (see connection between 120 and 111).
Regarding claim 10 Iwamoto discloses coupling member further comprises a frame which is coupled to one inner wall of the housing and configured to be coupled to and detached from the linear actuator (see connection between 120 and 111).
Regarding claim 12 Iwamoto discloses an autonomous driving robot comprising: a storage unit comprising a housing, which provides a space for storing an article, and a shelf which is provided inside the housing and configured such that the article is loaded on the shelf (140a and 140b in figure 1); a manipulator (120) comprising a linear actuator (vertical slide of 120), which is provided inside the housing and extends in a vertical direction (figure 1), and a selective compliance articulated robot arm (SCARA arm) (124), which is coupled to the linear actuator; and a transport unit (111) coupled to a bottom surface of the storage unit and configured to move on a floor, wherein a plurality of shelves are provided in the storage unit, some of the shelves are provided adjacent to one inner wall of the housing and spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction, and the other shelves are provided adjacent to another inner wall which faces the one inner wall and spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction, and the plurality of shelves extend horizontally toward a central axis of the housing (see figure 140a/140b and figure 1), the central axis extending vertically at a center of the housing, and the plurality of shelves do not vertically overlap the central axis of the housing (see figure 1), wherein the SCARA arm comprises at least two horizontal joints (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 18 Iwamoto discloses an article transport method comprising: transmitting an operation instruction signal from a central control system to an autonomous driving robot, wherein the autonomous driving robot transmits a response signal to the central control system in response to the operation instruction signal (see col. 2 lines 64-67 and col. 5 lines 10-20); moving the autonomous driving robot to a manual port of a stocker (locating the agv to where a pick up/drop off is to occur); and starting loading or unloading of an article by the autonomous driving robot (handling an article with 120), wherein the autonomous driving robot comprises: a storage unit comprising a housing, which provides a space for storing an article, and a shelf, which is provided inside the housing and on which the article is loaded; a manipulator comprising a linear actuator, which is provided inside the housing and extends in a vertical direction, and a selective compliance articulated robot arm (SCARA arm), which is coupled to the linear actuator; and a transport unit coupled to a bottom surface of the storage unit and configured to move on a floor, wherein the SCARA arm comprises at least two horizontal joints (see discussion above re claim 1 and 12).
Regarding claim 19 Iwamoto discloses four shelves are provided in the storage unit, two of the four shelves are provided adjacent to one inner wall of the housing and spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction, and the other two shelves are provided adjacent to another inner wall of the housing, which faces the one inner wall, and spaced apart from each other in the vertical direction (see figure 1 and discussion above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwamoto in view of Guo.
Iwamoto discloses all the limitations of the claim except the SCARA arm comprises a first arm and a second arm, one end of the first arm is coupled to the linear actuator, and the other end of the first arm at the opposite end from the one end is coupled to one end of the second arm, the first arm rotates, on an X-Y plane, about a first axis that is located at an end portion adjacent to the one end of the first arm at which the first arm is coupled to the linear actuator, and the second arm rotates, on an X-Y plane, about a second axis that is located at another end portion adjacent to the other end of the first arm at which the second arm is coupled to the first arm, wherein the second arm is coupled to a bottom surface of the other end of the first arm.
Guo teaches a system including the SCARA arm comprises a first arm and a second arm, one end of the first arm is coupled to the linear actuator, and the other end of the first arm at the opposite end from the one end is coupled to one end of the second arm, the first arm rotates, on an X-Y plane, about a first axis that is located at an end portion adjacent to the one end of the first arm at which the first arm is coupled to the linear actuator, and the second arm rotates, on an X-Y plane, about a second axis that is located at another end portion adjacent to the other end of the first arm at which the second arm is coupled to the first arm, wherein the second arm is coupled to a bottom surface of the other end of the first arm (see discussion of claims 3, 4, and 13 above) in order to load and unload both articles and shelving units (col. 2 lines 45-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of Applicants’ claim to have modified Iwamoto to include the SCARA arm comprises a first arm and a second arm, one end of the first arm is coupled to the linear actuator, and the other end of the first arm at the opposite end from the one end is coupled to one end of the second arm, the first arm rotates, on an X-Y plane, about a first axis that is located at an end portion adjacent to the one end of the first arm at which the first arm is coupled to the linear actuator, and the second arm rotates, on an X-Y plane, about a second axis that is located at another end portion adjacent to the other end of the first arm at which the second arm is coupled to the first arm, wherein the second arm is coupled to a bottom surface of the other end of the first arm, as taught by Guo, in order to load and unload both articles and shelving units. This could include using the Guo system according the control scheme discussed in Iwamoto as such usage is the typical manner in which such AGV systems are utilized to handle articles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional cited references show other AGV with shelves and robotic manipulators/arms.
/MARK C HAGEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3652