Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. DETAILED ACTION Election/Restrictions Applicant's election with traverse of FILLIN "Enter claim indentification information" \* MERGEFORMAT Species I (Figs. 5-7) in the reply filed on FILLIN "Enter mail date of the reply." \* MERGEFORMAT 02 March 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that FILLIN "Enter claim indentification information" \* MERGEFORMAT the species are not independent or distinct . This is not found persuasive because FILLIN "Enter claim indentification information" \* MERGEFORMAT in the current application, the examiner points out that Species II does not include a diaphragm (Fig. 5: 50) located between a first housing and a second housing and found in Species I, thus the references used to reject one invention may not be applicable to the other invention. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the sensing assembly (Fig. 5: 40) which includes a diaphragm (Fig. 5: 50) is located between the first housing and the second housing in Species I (Figs. 5-7), whereas the sensing assembly (Fig. 8: 140) which includes a spring (Fig. 8: 164) is located completely within the second housing in Species II (Fig. 8), further confirming that the references used to reject one invention may not be applicable to the other invention . The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. FILLIN "Enter claim indentification information" \* MERGEFORMAT Claim(s) 6-7 and 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected FILLIN "Enter the appropriate information" \* MERGEFORMAT Species , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on FILLIN "Enter mail date of the reply." \* MERGEFORMAT 02 March 2026 . Upon further review, the examiner understands that Claim(s) 1 8 can only read upon Group II (Species shown in Fig. 8 ), a non-elected Group, since it/they claim(s) “a t least one valve seat ” ( Fig. 8: 160 ). Thus, the examiner considers Claim(s) 18 withdrawn. Claim(s) 6-7, 14-15 and 18 has/have been withdrawn, thus Claims 1- 5, 8-13, 16-17 and 19 -20 filed on 02 March 2026 will be further examined in this action. Claim Objection Claim(s) 12 -13, 16-17 and 19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim(s) 12, in line 1, "the sensing member " should read “the sensing assembly ” to correlate with the Claim 9, line 9 , which states, “a sensing assembly ”; Claim(s) 12-13, in line 1, respectively , “The indicator of claim 9” should read “The flame arrestor of claim 9” (the preamble of claim 9 is “A flame arrestor for a flow control system, the flame arrestor comprising:”) ; Claim 16 in line 3 and Claim 19 in line 3 , should read “[a] the flame arrestor”; Claim(s) 16 in lines 4- 5 and Claim 17 in line 2, should read “the [mechanical] flame arrestor” to correlate with the preamble of Claim 16, line 1 , which states, “A method of indicating an event occurred within a flame arrestor of a flow control system,”; There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitation(s) in Claim 16 , line 7, s o it should read , “ [the] a housing”; Claim 17 , line 2 , should read “[a] the sensing assembly”; Claim 17 in line 4, Claim 19 in line 2 and Claim 20 in line 1, should read “[a] the housing ”; Claim 19, line 1, should read “[a] the mechanical indicator”. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Campau et al. (US 8802258 B2 , see reference in its entirety). With respect to independent Claim 1 6 , Campau disclose(s): A method of indicating an event occurred within a flame arrestor of a flow control system (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14) , the method comprising: coupling a mechanical indicator (Fig. 3: 50) to a flame arrestor (Fig. 3: 34) ; sensing pressure in a fluid flow path of the flame arrestor via a sensing assembly of the mechanical flame arrestor in fluid communication with the fluid flow path of the flame arrestor (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14) ; and moving a pin of the mechanical indicator from an unactuated position (Fig. 1) to an actuated position in which the pin extends outside of the housing upon sensing pressure, via a sensing area of the sensing assembly, exceeding a threshold value (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14) . With respect to Claim 19 , Campau disclose(s): the method of Claim 1 6 . Campau further disclose(s): wherein coupling a mechanical indicator to a flame arrestor comprises coupling a portion of a housing (Fig. 3: 30 ) of the mechanical indicator to a portion of a body of a flame arrestor (Fig. 3: 34) including providing fluid communication between the housing of the mechanical indicator and a fluid flow path of the body of the flame arrestor (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campau et al. in view of Kramer et al. (US 5027740, see reference in its entirety). With respect to independent Claim 1 , Campau disclose(s): A mechanical indicator for a flame arrestor of a flow control system ( Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14) , the indicator comprising: a housing (Fig. 3: 30) configured to be a coupled to a flame arrestor (Fig. 3: 34) , the pin moveable between an unactuated position (Fig. 1: 50) and an actuated position (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14) , the actuated position a position in which the pin extends outside of the housing providing a visual indicator an event occurred within the flame arrestor (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14) . where the pin is moved from the unactuated position to the actuated position upon the sensing area sensing pressure at or exceeding a threshold value (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14) . Campau does not specifically disclose: the housing having a channel disposed along a longitudinal axis of the housing; a sensing assembly disposed within the housing and in fluid communication with the channel of the housing, the sensing assembly including a sensing area configured to sense pressure; and a pin disposed within the channel. However, Kramer teach(es) a n indicator (Figs. 2-3) including: the housing (Fig. 2: 10 & 12) having a channel (see annotated Fig. 2 below) disposed along a longitudinal axis of the housing (see annotated Fig. 2 below) ; a sensing assembly (Fig. 2: 40) disposed within the housing and in fluid communication with the channel of the housing (Fig. 2) , the sensing assembly including a sensing area configured to sense pressure (Figs. 2-3) ; and a pin disposed within the channel (Fig. 2: 50). Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Campau , with the teachings of Kramer , for the purpose of a visual indication of the condition of pressure (col. 1, lines 18-21). Regarding Claim 2, Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the indicator of Claim 1. The combination does not specifically disclose: a locking member disposed within the housing and configured to engage a portion of the pin to prevent further movement of the pin in the actuated position. However, Kramer further teach(es): a locking member (Fig. 2: 44) disposed within the housing (Fig. 2) and configured to engage a portion of the pin to prevent further movement of the pin in the actuated position (Fig. 3). Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Campau and Kramer , with the further teachings of Kramer , for the purpose of acting upon a predetermined pressure (col. 2, lines 19-23). Regarding Claim 3 , Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the indicator of Claim 2 . The combination does not specifically disclose: the pin further comprising a notch, the locking member configured to engage the notch of the pin to prevent further movement of the pin when the pin is in the actuated position. However, Kramer further teach(es): the pin further comprising a notch (see annotated Fig. 2 above ) , the locking member configured to engage the notch of the pin to prevent further movement of the pin when the pin is in the actuated position (Fig. 3). Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 2 . Regarding Claim 4 , Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the indicator of Claim 1 . The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the sensing assembly comprises a diaphragm, and a portion of the diaphragm is disposed in the channel. However, Kramer further teach(es): wherein the sensing assembly comprises a diaphragm (Fig. 2: 40) , and a portion of the diaphragm is disposed in the channel (see annotated Fig. 2 above ) . Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1. Regarding Claim 5 , Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the indicator of Claim 1 . The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the housing includes a first housing portion and a second housing portion coupled to the first housing portion, the first housing portion including the pin, and the channel extending through the first and second housing portions, the indicator further comprising at least one seal disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion. However, Kramer further teach(es): wherein the housing includes a first housing portion (Fig. 2: 12) and a second housing portion (Fig. 2: 10) coupled to the first housing portion (Fig. 2) , the first housing portion including the pin (Fig. 2: 50) , and the channel extending through the first and second housing portions (see annotated Fig. 2 above ) , the indicator further comprising at least one seal (Fig. 2: 34) ,disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion (Fig. 2 ) . Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1. Regarding Claim 8 , Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the indicator of Claim 1 . The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the channel includes a first end and a second end, the pin is disposed within the channel at the first end of the channel, and the sensing area is configured to sense pressure from the second end of the channel. However, Kramer further teach(es): wherein the channel includes a first end (see annotated Fig. 2 above ) and a second end (see annotated Fig. 2 above ) , the pin is disposed within the channel at the first end of the channel (see annotated Fig. 2 above ) , and the sensing area is configured to sense pressure from the second end of the channel (see annotated Fig. 2 above ) . Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1. With respect to independent Claim 9 , Campau disclose(s): A flame arrestor of a flow control system (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14) , the flame arrestor comprising: the sensing assembly including a sensing area configured to sense pressure from the fluid flow path of the flame arrestor (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14 : 34 ) ; and a pin (Fig. 1: 50) moveable between an unactuated position (Fig. 1) and an actuated position (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14) , the actuated position a position in which the pin extends outside of the housing (Fig. 3: 30) of the indicator (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14) , providing a visual indicator an event occurred within the flame arrestor (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14) . Campau does not specifically disclose: a body having an interior portion and a fluid flow path disposed through the interior portion; an element disposed within the body and in fluid communication with the fluid flow path; and an indicator coupled to a portion of the body, the indicator in fluid communication with the fluid flow path of the body and comprising: a housing having a channel; a sensing assembly disposed within the housing and in fluid communication with the channel of the housing, pin disposed within the channel. However, Kramer teach(es) a system (Figs. 2-3) including: a body (Fig. 2: 18) having an interior portion and a fluid flow path disposed through the interior portion (Fig. 2) ; an element (Fig. 2: 26) disposed within the body and in fluid communication with the fluid flow path (Fig. 2) ; and an indicator coupled to a portion of the body (Fig. 2) , the indicator in fluid communication with the fluid flow path of the body (Fig. 2) and comprising: a housing (Fig. 2: 10 & 12) having a channel (see annotated Fig. 2 below) ; a sensing assembly (Fig. 2: 40) disposed within the housing and in fluid communication with the channel of the housing (see annotated Fig. 2 below) , pin disposed within the channel (Fig. 2: 5 0) . Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Campau , with the teachings of Kramer , for the purpose of a visual indication of the condition of pressure (col. 1, lines 18-21). Regarding Claim 10 , Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the system of Claim 9 . The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the pin is moved from the unactuated position to the actuated position upon the sensing area sensing pressure in the channel exceeding a threshold value. However, Kramer further teach(es): wherein the pin is moved from the unactuated position to the actuated position upon the sensing area sensing pressure in the channel exceeding a threshold value (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14) . Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 9. Regarding Claim 11 , Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the system of Claim 9 . The combination does not specifically disclose: the indicator further comprising a locking member disposed within the housing , the pin further comprising a notch, the locking member configured to engage the notch of the pin to prevent further movement of the pin when the pin is in the actuated position. However, Kramer further teach(es): the indicator further comprising a locking member (Fig. 2: 44) disposed within the housing (Fig. 2) , the pin further comprising a notch (see annotated Fig. 2 above ) , the locking member configured to engage the notch of the pin to prevent further movement of the pin when the pin is in the actuated position (Fig. 3). Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Campau and Kramer , with the further teachings of Kramer , for the purpose of acting upon a predetermined pressure (col. 2, lines 19-23). Regarding Claim 12 , Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the system of Claim 9 . The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the sensing member comprises a diaphragm, and a portion of the diaphragm is disposed in the channel. However, Kramer further teach(es): wherein the sensing member comprises a diaphragm (Fig. 2: 40) , and a portion of the diaphragm is disposed in the channel (see annotated Fig. 2 above ) . Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 9 . Regarding Claim 13 , Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the system of Claim 9 . The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the housing includes a first housing portion and a second housing portion coupled to the first housing portion, the first housing portion including the pin, and the channel extending through the first and second housing portions, the indicator further comprising at least one seal disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion. However, Kramer further teach(es): wherein the housing includes a first housing portion (Fig. 2: 12) and a second housing portion (Fig. 2: 10) coupled to the first housing portion (Fig. 2) , the first housing portion including the pin (Fig. 2: 50) , and the channel extending through the first and second housing portions (see annotated Fig. 2 above ) , the indicator further comprising at least one seal (Fig. 2: 34) ,disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion (Fig. 2 ) . Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 9 . Regarding Claim(s) 1 7 , Campau disclose(s) the method of Claim 1 6 . Campau further disclose(s): wherein sensing pressure in a fluid flow path of the flame arrestor via the mechanical flame arrestor in fluid communication with the fluid flow path of the flame arrestor comprises sensing pressure in the fluid flow path of the flame arrestor (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14). Campau does not specifically disclose: a sensing assembly including a diaphragm disposed in a channel of a housing of the mechanical indicator. However, Kramer teach(es) a method (Fig s. 2-3 and col. 1, lines 18-21 ) including : a sensing assembly including a diaphragm (Fig. 2: 40) disposed in a channel (see annotated Fig. 2 below) of a housing (Fig. 2: 10 & 12) of the mechanical indicator (see annotated Fig. 2 below ). Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Campau , with the teachings of Kramer , for the purpose of a visual indication of the condition of pressure (col. 1, lines 18-21 ). Regarding Claim(s) 20 , Campau disclose(s) the method of Claim 16. Campau does not specifically disclose: a locking member disposed in a housing of the mechanical indicator with a portion of the pin, the locking member engaging a notch of the pin when the pin is in the actuated position, preventing further movement of the pin in the actuated position. However, Kramer teach(es) a method (Figs. 2-3 and col. 1, lines 18-21) including: a locking member (Fig. 2: 44) disposed in a housing (Fig. 2: 10 & 12) of the mechanical indicator (see annotated Fig. 2 below ) with a portion of the pin (Fig. 2: 50) , the locking member engaging a notch of the pin (see annotated Fig. 2 below ) when the pin is in the actuated position (Fig. 3) , preventing further movement of the pin in the actuated position ( Fig. 3 ). Therefore , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Campau , with the teachings of Kramer , for the purpose of acting upon a predetermined pressure (col. 2, lines 19-23). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The following reference(s) relate(s) to indicators : Henderson et al. (US 3129689); Fanti et al. (US 8984929 B2); Popenoe (US 5189979); Cusumano et al. (US 5731523); Wakeman (US 9032805 B2). The following reference(s) relate(s) to indicators having a locking member and a notch: Mead et al. (US 5616157); Scavuzzo et al. (US 3028009). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TANIA COURSON whose telephone number is (571)272-2239. The examiner can normally be reached M-F (7am-3:30pm). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Kristina Deherrera, can be reached on (303) 297-4237. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov . Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TC/ 2 5 March 2026 /KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855