DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I (Figs. 5-7) in the reply filed on 02 March 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species are not independent or distinct. This is not found persuasive because in the current application, the examiner points out that Species II does not include a diaphragm (Fig. 5: 50) located between a first housing and a second housing and found in Species I, thus the references used to reject one invention may not be applicable to the other invention. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the sensing assembly (Fig. 5: 40) which includes a diaphragm (Fig. 5: 50) is located between the first housing and the second housing in Species I (Figs. 5-7), whereas the sensing assembly (Fig. 8: 140) which includes a spring (Fig. 8: 164) is located completely within the second housing in Species II (Fig. 8), further confirming that the references used to reject one invention may not be applicable to the other invention.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 14-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02 March 2026.
Upon further review, the examiner understands that Claim(s) 18 can only read upon Group II (Species shown in Fig. 8), a non-elected Group, since it/they claim(s) “at least one valve seat” (Fig. 8: 160 ). Thus, the examiner considers Claim(s) 18 withdrawn.
Claim(s) 6-7, 14-15 and 18 has/have been withdrawn, thus Claims 1-5, 8-13, 16-17 and 19-20 filed on 02 March 2026 will be further examined in this action.
Claim Objection
Claim(s) 12-13, 16-17 and 19 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 12, in line 1, "the sensing member " should read “the sensing assembly” to correlate with the Claim 9, line 9, which states, “a sensing assembly”;
Claim(s) 12-13, in line 1, respectively, “The indicator of claim 9” should read “The flame arrestor of claim 9” (the preamble of claim 9 is “A flame arrestor for a flow control system, the flame arrestor comprising:”);
Claim 16 in line 3 and Claim 19 in line 3, should read “[a] the flame arrestor”;
Claim(s) 16 in lines 4-5 and Claim 17 in line 2, should read “the [mechanical] flame arrestor” to correlate with the preamble of Claim 16, line 1, which states, “A method of indicating an event occurred within a flame arrestor of a flow control system,”;
There is insufficient antecedent basis for the following limitation(s) in Claim 16, line 7, so it should read, “[the] a housing”;
Claim 17, line 2, should read “[a] the sensing assembly”;
Claim 17 in line 4, Claim 19 in line 2 and Claim 20 in line 1, should read “[a] the housing”;
Claim 19, line 1, should read “[a] the mechanical indicator”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Campau et al. (US 8802258 B2, see reference in its entirety).
With respect to independent Claim 16, Campau disclose(s): A method of indicating an event occurred within a flame arrestor of a flow control system (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14), the method comprising:
coupling a mechanical indicator (Fig. 3: 50) to a flame arrestor (Fig. 3: 34);
sensing pressure in a fluid flow path of the flame arrestor via a sensing assembly of the mechanical flame arrestor in fluid communication with the fluid flow path of the flame arrestor (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14); and
moving a pin of the mechanical indicator from an unactuated position (Fig. 1) to an actuated position in which the pin extends outside of the housing upon sensing pressure, via a sensing area of the sensing assembly, exceeding a threshold value (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14).
With respect to Claim 19, Campau disclose(s): the method of Claim 16.
Campau further disclose(s): wherein coupling a mechanical indicator to a flame arrestor comprises coupling a portion of a housing (Fig. 3: 30) of the mechanical indicator to a portion of a body of a flame arrestor (Fig. 3: 34) including providing fluid communication between the housing of the mechanical indicator and a fluid flow path of the body of the flame arrestor (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-13, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campau et al. in view of Kramer et al. (US 5027740, see reference in its entirety).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Campau disclose(s): A mechanical indicator for a flame arrestor of a flow control system (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14), the indicator comprising:
a housing (Fig. 3: 30) configured to be a coupled to a flame arrestor (Fig. 3: 34),
the pin moveable between an unactuated position (Fig. 1: 50) and an actuated position (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14), the actuated position a position in which the pin extends outside of the housing providing a visual indicator an event occurred within the flame arrestor (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14).
where the pin is moved from the unactuated position to the actuated position upon the sensing area sensing pressure at or exceeding a threshold value (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14).
Campau does not specifically disclose: the housing having a channel disposed along a longitudinal axis of the housing; a sensing assembly disposed within the housing and in fluid communication with the channel of the housing, the sensing assembly including a sensing area configured to sense pressure; and a pin disposed within the channel.
However, Kramer teach(es) an indicator (Figs. 2-3) including: the housing (Fig. 2: 10 & 12) having a channel (see annotated Fig. 2 below) disposed along a longitudinal axis of the housing (see annotated Fig. 2 below); a sensing assembly (Fig. 2: 40) disposed within the housing and in fluid communication with the channel of the housing (Fig. 2) , the sensing assembly including a sensing area configured to sense pressure (Figs. 2-3); and a pin disposed within the channel (Fig. 2: 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Campau, with the teachings of Kramer, for the purpose of a visual indication of the condition of pressure (col. 1, lines 18-21).
Regarding Claim 2, Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the indicator of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: a locking member disposed within the housing and configured to engage a portion of the pin to prevent further movement of the pin in the actuated position.
However, Kramer further teach(es): a locking member (Fig. 2: 44) disposed within the housing (Fig. 2) and configured to engage a portion of the pin to prevent further movement of the pin in the actuated position (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Campau and Kramer, with the further teachings of Kramer, for the purpose of acting upon a predetermined pressure (col. 2, lines 19-23).
Regarding Claim 3, Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the indicator of Claim 2.
The combination does not specifically disclose: the pin further comprising a notch, the locking member configured to engage the notch of the pin to prevent further movement of the pin when the pin is in the actuated position.
However, Kramer further teach(es): the pin further comprising a notch (see annotated Fig. 2 above), the locking member configured to engage the notch of the pin to prevent further movement of the pin when the pin is in the actuated position (Fig. 3).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 2.
Regarding Claim 4, Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the indicator of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the sensing assembly comprises a diaphragm, and a portion of the diaphragm is disposed in the channel.
However, Kramer further teach(es): wherein the sensing assembly comprises a diaphragm (Fig. 2: 40), and a portion of the diaphragm is disposed in the channel (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the indicator of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the housing includes a first housing portion and a second housing portion coupled to the first housing portion, the first housing portion including the pin, and the channel extending through the first and second housing portions, the indicator further comprising at least one seal disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion.
However, Kramer further teach(es): wherein the housing includes a first housing portion (Fig. 2: 12) and a second housing portion (Fig. 2: 10) coupled to the first housing portion (Fig. 2), the first housing portion including the pin (Fig. 2: 50), and the channel extending through the first and second housing portions (see annotated Fig. 2 above), the indicator further comprising at least one seal (Fig. 2: 34),disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion (Fig. 2).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the indicator of Claim 1.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the channel includes a first end and a second end, the pin is disposed within the channel at the first end of the channel, and the sensing area is configured to sense pressure from the second end of the channel.
However, Kramer further teach(es): wherein the channel includes a first end (see annotated Fig. 2 above) and a second end (see annotated Fig. 2 above), the pin is disposed within the channel at the first end of the channel (see annotated Fig. 2 above), and the sensing area is configured to sense pressure from the second end of the channel (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 1.
With respect to independent Claim 9, Campau disclose(s): A flame arrestor of a flow control system (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14), the flame arrestor comprising:
the sensing assembly including a sensing area configured to sense pressure from the fluid flow path of the flame arrestor (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14: 34); and
a pin (Fig. 1: 50) moveable between an unactuated position (Fig. 1) and an actuated position (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14), the actuated position a position in which the pin extends outside of the housing (Fig. 3: 30) of the indicator (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14), providing a visual indicator an event occurred within the flame arrestor (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14).
Campau does not specifically disclose: a body having an interior portion and a fluid flow path disposed through the interior portion; an element disposed within the body and in fluid communication with the fluid flow path; and an indicator coupled to a portion of the body, the indicator in fluid communication with the fluid flow path of the body and comprising: a housing having a channel; a sensing assembly disposed within the housing and in fluid communication with the channel of the housing, pin disposed within the channel.
However, Kramer teach(es) a system (Figs. 2-3) including: a body (Fig. 2: 18) having an interior portion and a fluid flow path disposed through the interior portion (Fig. 2); an element (Fig. 2: 26) disposed within the body and in fluid communication with the fluid flow path (Fig. 2); and an indicator coupled to a portion of the body (Fig. 2), the indicator in fluid communication with the fluid flow path of the body (Fig. 2) and comprising: a housing (Fig. 2: 10 & 12) having a channel (see annotated Fig. 2 below) ; a sensing assembly (Fig. 2: 40) disposed within the housing and in fluid communication with the channel of the housing (see annotated Fig. 2 below), pin disposed within the channel (Fig. 2: 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Campau, with the teachings of Kramer, for the purpose of a visual indication of the condition of pressure (col. 1, lines 18-21).
Regarding Claim 10, Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the system of Claim 9.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the pin is moved from the unactuated position to the actuated position upon the sensing area sensing pressure in the channel exceeding a threshold value.
However, Kramer further teach(es): wherein the pin is moved from the unactuated position to the actuated position upon the sensing area sensing pressure in the channel exceeding a threshold value (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 11, Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the system of Claim 9.
The combination does not specifically disclose: the indicator further comprising a locking member disposed within the housing, the pin further comprising a notch, the locking member configured to engage the notch of the pin to prevent further movement of the pin when the pin is in the actuated position.
However, Kramer further teach(es): the indicator further comprising a locking member (Fig. 2: 44) disposed within the housing (Fig. 2), the pin further comprising a notch (see annotated Fig. 2 above), the locking member configured to engage the notch of the pin to prevent further movement of the pin when the pin is in the actuated position (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Campau and Kramer, with the further teachings of Kramer, for the purpose of acting upon a predetermined pressure (col. 2, lines 19-23).
Regarding Claim 12, Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the system of Claim 9.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the sensing member comprises a diaphragm, and a portion of the diaphragm is disposed in the channel.
However, Kramer further teach(es): wherein the sensing member comprises a diaphragm (Fig. 2: 40), and a portion of the diaphragm is disposed in the channel (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim 13, Campau and Kramer disclose(s) the system of Claim 9.
The combination does not specifically disclose: wherein the housing includes a first housing portion and a second housing portion coupled to the first housing portion, the first housing portion including the pin, and the channel extending through the first and second housing portions, the indicator further comprising at least one seal disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion.
However, Kramer further teach(es): wherein the housing includes a first housing portion (Fig. 2: 12) and a second housing portion (Fig. 2: 10) coupled to the first housing portion (Fig. 2), the first housing portion including the pin (Fig. 2: 50), and the channel extending through the first and second housing portions (see annotated Fig. 2 above), the indicator further comprising at least one seal (Fig. 2: 34),disposed between the first housing portion and the second housing portion (Fig. 2).
Motivation to combine is the same as Claim 9.
Regarding Claim(s) 17, Campau disclose(s) the method of Claim 16.
Campau further disclose(s): wherein sensing pressure in a fluid flow path of the flame arrestor via the mechanical flame arrestor in fluid communication with the fluid flow path of the flame arrestor comprises sensing pressure in the fluid flow path of the flame arrestor (Fig. 3 and col. 4, lines 10-14).
Campau does not specifically disclose: a sensing assembly including a diaphragm disposed in a channel of a housing of the mechanical indicator.
However, Kramer teach(es) a method (Figs. 2-3 and col. 1, lines 18-21) including: a sensing assembly including a diaphragm (Fig. 2: 40) disposed in a channel (see annotated Fig. 2 below) of a housing (Fig. 2: 10 & 12) of the mechanical indicator (see annotated Fig. 2 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Campau, with the teachings of Kramer, for the purpose of a visual indication of the condition of pressure (col. 1, lines 18-21).
Regarding Claim(s) 20, Campau disclose(s) the method of Claim 16.
Campau does not specifically disclose: a locking member disposed in a housing of the mechanical indicator with a portion of the pin, the locking member engaging a notch of the pin when the pin is in the actuated position, preventing further movement of the pin in the actuated position.
However, Kramer teach(es) a method (Figs. 2-3 and col. 1, lines 18-21) including: a locking member (Fig. 2: 44) disposed in a housing (Fig. 2: 10 & 12) of the mechanical indicator (see annotated Fig. 2 below) with a portion of the pin (Fig. 2: 50), the locking member engaging a notch of the pin (see annotated Fig. 2 below) when the pin is in the actuated position (Fig. 3), preventing further movement of the pin in the actuated position (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Campau, with the teachings of Kramer, for the purpose of acting upon a predetermined pressure (col. 2, lines 19-23).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
The following reference(s) relate(s) to indicators: Henderson et al. (US 3129689); Fanti et al. (US 8984929 B2); Popenoe (US 5189979); Cusumano et al. (US 5731523); Wakeman (US 9032805 B2).
The following reference(s) relate(s) to indicators having a locking member and a notch: Mead et al. (US 5616157); Scavuzzo et al. (US 3028009).
assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TC/
25 March 2026
/KRISTINA M DEHERRERA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855