DETAILED ACTION
STATUS OF CLAIMS
This Non-Final action is in reply to the application 18,285,552 filed on 12/04/2023.
Claims 1-20 are rejected
Claims 1 – 18 are elected for group I
Claims 19 – 20 are withdrawn
Claims 1 -20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Election/Restrictions
During a telephone conversation with Mathew Poulsen on 01/06/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of 18528552,Group I, claims 1 – 18. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Group II, Claims 19 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on was filed after the mailing date of the 12/04/2023 fully considered by examiner The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1)(a2) as being anticipated by CA 3167255 – Antle et al. hereinafter as ANTLE in view of US PG Pub 20220183265 – Kocer et al. hereinafter as KOCER in further view of US PG Pub 20180354625 – Verkade et al. hereinafter as VERKADE
Regarding Claim 1:
ANTLE discloses:
An implement-operating vehicle comprising:
a frame; ( frame 110)
a plurality of ground engagement elements coupled to the frame; (fig. 9 and 10 - 400 is tool bar attachments)
a power source configured to power the ground engagement elements;(para. 0041 - wherein the power sources from PTO and electrical system from a alternator 182 or battery 186)
an implement platform coupled to the frame(fig. 2, 9 and 10 - articulating tool arms - 300( including backbone 350), articulating tool arm mount 310, tool platform 370 and tool attachment 400 is the implement platform is connected to toolbar 106 , connected to frame 110 ) , the implement platform configured to:
couple to an implement; and (tool platform 370 is connected tool attachment 400)
ANTLE discloses of an autonomous vehicle with modular implements however doesn’t explicitly disclose of a implement rotation that is an axis perpendicular to the ground. However KOCER discloses of the ability to provide angular rotation of the ground engaging tools of dispatched implements, further discloses:
wherein the implement platform comprises a rotation pivot joint ( Fig. 2 and fig. 10 - para. 0054 – where in the rotation actuator includes actuators that rotate the implement (row unit) about the pivot pin)
rotate the implement via the rotation pivot joint on an axis perpendicular to a ground surface; and (Fig. 2 and fig. 10 - para. 0054 – wherein the pivot pin is the axis perpendicular to ground)
a platform motor coupled to the rotation
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for the autonomous implement system and coupling with implements of ANTLE to utilizing KOCER’s ability to provide angular rotation of the ground engaging tools of dispatched implements. This would allow ANTLE to alter the angular position of the one or more implements to reduce a difference
between the detected position between crop row that are straight line and curved crop rows.( para. 0061)
ANTLE / KOCER disclose of a rotational pivot joint ( 660) in order to adapt to straight and curved rows for the implements, VERKADE of a vehicle that utilizes couplings including ball bearing and hinges, discloses:
rotation bearing ( para. 0066 – wherein the linear coupling of ball bearings and hinges)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for the vehicle and rotational coupling of structure such as implements for ground engaging tools of ANTLE to utilizing VERKADE’s use of rotational coupling on vehicles used in agriculture such as ball bearings and hinges. This would allow ANTLE to when utilize couplings such hinges, including ball bearings to enhance stability, reduce vibration during operation of vehicle( VERKADE – para. 0066)
Regarding Claim 2:
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 1
ANTLE discloses:
2. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 1, further comprising one or more controllers communicatively coupled to the platform motor and the ground engagement elements, the one or more controllers including one or more processors configured to execute a set of program instructions stored in a memory, the set of program instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to: ( para. 0101 - controller 202
control movement of the ground engagement elements along the ground in the first direction; ( para. 0091 and 101 - The control system 200, including machine controller 202 and perception system 270,can perform the processing and control to providing autonomous working of the plant lines 62.
For example, the processing and control includes, but not limited to, detecting plant lines 62; centering tool arms 300 on plant lines 62; classifying, assigning confidence, bounding, locating and tracking objects of interest, including optional pre-/post-processing functions known in the art; following the working surface 58 using lift cylinder 346 of tool arm 300, and operating the tool attachment 400 to perform the working operation for the plant lines 62.)
KOCER disclose the platform motor rotation to the first position as taught in claim 1
control operation of the platform motor to rotate the implement to the first position. ( ( para. 0061 – where in the controller can activate the movement of the rotational actuator 222 and controls the angular position of the implement)
Regarding Claim 3:
3. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 1, further including a lift mechanism coupled to the implement platform configured to adjust a height of the implement relative to the ground surface. (Fig. 9 and fig. 10 wherein the lift mechanism 344 and 342 lifts the implement platform 300 to adjust the height of implement 400 relative to ground)
Regarding Claim 4:
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 1
ANTLE discloses:
4. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 1, wherein the plurality of ground engagement elements includes a set of forward ground engagement elements and a set of aft ground engagement elements, wherein the implement platform is coupled to the frame at a position between the forward ground engagement elements( Fig. 2 wherein the tool 400 is between the forward and the aft engagement elements) and the aft ground engagement elements. ( fig. 9 and 10 tool towards the back end of vehicle)
Regarding Claim 5:
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 2
ANTLE discloses:
5. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 2, further including a vision system including one or more sensors communicatively connected to the one or more controllers,( vision para. 0070) wherein the set of program instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to generate a virtual guide path based on data received from the vision system, wherein the virtual guide path includes at least one of: a guide path segment that requires a steered movement to avoid an obstacle detected by the vision system, or a guide path segment that requires a steered movement to avoid a movement of the implement into a restricted area. ( para .0079 avoid a particular plan identified in an image )
Regarding Claim 6:
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 1
ANTLE discloses:
6. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 1, further including the implement. ( fig. 9 and 10)
Regarding Claim 7:
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 6
ANTLE discloses:
7. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 6, wherein the implement is configured to couple to the implement platform via an implement subframe. ( implement subframe – 350 – backbone)
Regarding Claim 8:
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 1
ANTLE discloses:
8. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 1, wherein the implement comprises at least one of a planter, a cultivator, a bailer, a plow, or a harvester. ( para. 0056 – planting, harvesting, cultivating)
Regarding Claim 9:
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 1
ANTLE discloses:
9. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 1, wherein the implement comprises at least one of a sprayer, a mower, a fertilizer spreader, a harrow, a rake, or an irrigation system. ( para. 0056 – spraying)
Regarding Claim 10:
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 1
ANTLE discloses:
10. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 1, wherein the implement-operating vehicle is under autonomous control. ( para. 0091)
Regarding Claim 11:ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 1
ANTLE discloses of an autonomous control vehicle , KOCER also discloses of an autonomous control vehicle in addition to supervised control, discloses:
11. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 1, wherein the implement-operating vehicle is under supervised autonomous control. (para. 0042 - Semi autonomous)
ANTLE and KOCER are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of autonomous vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ANTLE to incorporate the teachings of KOCER and combine the ability for the vehicles to be capable of supervised autonomous control. One would have made this combination to enhance and improve the machine.
Regarding Claim 12:ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 1
ANTLE discloses of an autonomous control vehicle , KOCER also discloses of an autonomous control vehicle in addition to full manual control, discloses:
12. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 1, wherein the implement-operating vehicle is under manual control. (para. 0042 – full manual control)
ANTLE and KOCER are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of autonomous vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ANTLE to incorporate the teachings of KOCER and combine the ability for the vehicles to be fully manual control. One would have made this combination to provide the flexibility to utilize the machine to its full capabilities.
Regarding Claim 12:ANTLE discloses:
13. An implement-operating vehicle comprising:
a frame; ( frame 110)
a plurality of ground engagement elements coupled to the frame; (fig. 9 and 10 - 400 is tool bar attachments)
a power source configured to power the ground engagement elements; (para. 0041 - wherein the power sources from PTO and electrical system from a alternator 182 or battery 186)
an implement platform coupled to the frame, (fig. 2, 9 and 10 - articulating tool arms - 300( including backbone 350), articulating tool arm mount 310, tool platform 370 and tool attachment 400 is the implement platform is connected to toolbar 106 , connected to frame 110 ), the implement platform configured to:
couple to a planter; and (tool platform 370 is connected tool attachment 400, wherein the specific tool is a planter – para. 0056)
ANTLE discloses of an autonomous vehicle with modular implements however doesn’t explicitly disclose of a implement rotation that is an axis perpendicular to the ground specifically an implement that is a planter. However KOCER discloses of the ability to provide angular rotation of the ground engaging tools of dispatched implements, further discloses:
rotate the planter via the rotation
a platform motor coupled to the rotation
one or more controllers communicatively coupled to the platform motor and the ground engagement elements, the one or more controllers including one or more processors configured to execute a set of program instructions stored in a memory,(controller can control the movements of the ground engagement elements to alter the angular position) the set of program instructions configured to cause the one or more processors to: control movement of the ground engagement elements along a ground surface in a first direction; ( para. 0061 – where in the controller can activate the movement of the rotational actuator 222 and controls the angular position of the implement)
control operation of the platform motor to rotate the planter to a first position corresponding to the first direction. ( para. 0061 – where in the controller can activate the movement of the rotational actuator 222 and controls the angular position of the implement)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for the autonomous implement system and coupling with implements of ANTLE to utilizing KOCER’s ability to provide angular rotation of the ground engaging tools of dispatched implements. This would allow ANTLE to alter the angular position of the one or more implements to reduce a difference
between the detected position between crop row that are straight line and curved crop rows.( para. 0061)
ANTLE / KOCER disclose of a rotational pivot joint ( 660) in order to adapt to straight and curved rows for the planter implement, VERKADE of a vehicle that utilizes couplings including ball bearing and hinges, discloses:
rotation bearing ( para. 0066 – wherein the linear coupling of ball bearings and hinges)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicants invention for the vehicle and rotational coupling of structure such as implements for ground engaging tools of ANTLE to utilizing VERKADE’s use of rotational coupling on vehicles used in agriculture such as ball bearings and hinges. This would allow ANTLE to when utilize couplings such hinges, including ball bearings to enhance stability, reduce vibration during operation of vehicle( VERKADE – para. 0066)
Regarding Claim 14
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 13
ANTLE discloses a planter implement in claim 13, KOCER discloses the combination for rotation as disclosed in claim 13
14. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 13, wherein the implement is not operable when the implement platform is rotated to a second position not corresponding to the first direction. ( para. 0011– wherein a controller can identify when a crop is within a particular threshold where it would be able to operate as intended, the controller can cause the rotation actuator to adjust the angular orientation to minimize damage to crops)
Regarding Claim 15
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 13
ANTLE discloses:
15. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 13, further including a lift mechanism coupled to the implement platform configured to adjust a height of the planter relative to the ground surface. (Fig. 9 and fig. 10 wherein the lift mechanism 344 and 342 lifts the implement platform 300 to adjust the height of implement 400 relative to ground, para. 0056 - wherein the implement is a planter )
Regarding Claim 16
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 13
ANTLE discloses:
16. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 13, wherein the plurality of ground engagement elements includes a set of forward ground engagement elements and a set of aft ground engagement elements, wherein the implement platform is coupled to the frame at a position between the forward ground engagement elements( Fig. 2 wherein the tool 400 is between the forward and the aft engagement elements) and the aft ground engagement elements. ( fig. 9 and 10 tool towards the back end of vehicle)
Regarding Claim 17
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 13
ANTLE discloses:
17. The implement-operating vehicle of claim 13, further including a vision system communicatively connected to the one or more controllers, ( vision para. 0070) wherein the set of program instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to generate a virtual guide path based on data received from the vision system, wherein the virtual guide path includes at least one of: a guide path segment that requires a steered movement to avoid an obstacle detected by the vision system, or a guide path segment that requires a steered movement to avoid a movement of the implement into a restricted area. ( para .0079 avoid a particular plan identified in an image )
Regarding Claim 18
ANTLE / KOCER / VERKADE discloses claim 13
ANTLE discloses of an autonomous control vehicle , KOCER also discloses of an autonomous control vehicle in addition to supervised control and manual control, discloses:
wherein the implement-operating vehicle is under supervised autonomous, or manual control. (para. 0042 - Semi autonomous and fully manual)
ANTLE and KOCER are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor of autonomous vehicles. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified ANTLE to incorporate the teachings of KOCER and combine the ability for the vehicles to be capable of supervised autonomous control and fully manual control. One would have made this combination to enhance and improve the useability of the machine.
Conclusion
/A.H.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676