Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on February 25, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-30 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on February 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On p. 12 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues Zhang does not disclose the limitation of “multiplex uplink control information associated with the uplink control channel with data associated with the uplink data channel based at least in part on a first priority level assigned to the uplink control channel matching a second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, wherein the first priority level or the second priority level comprises the priority level” in claim 1. (Emphasis added).
While Zhang does not explicitly disclose multiplexing based on a first priority level assigned to the uplink control channel matching a second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, Huang does disclose the foregoing. For example, Huang teaches the UE multiplexes UCI when two uplink channels share the same (i.e., matching) priority level (e.g., PUCCH and PUSCH or multiple PUCCHs are both low priority transmissions or high priority transmissions). See Huang, ¶ [0069].
Therefore, Zhang in view of Huang discloses claim 1’s limitation of “multiplex uplink control information associated with the uplink control channel with data associated with the uplink data channel based at least in part on a first priority level assigned to the uplink control channel matching a second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, wherein the first priority level or the second priority level comprises the priority level” and also the remainder of claim 1 and all of the limitations of claims 10, 19, and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 11-13, 16-18, 20-22, 24, and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0225380) in view of Huang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0095324).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches “[a]n apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor, with instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to:” (see ¶¶ [0060] and [0074]; UE (i.e., apparatus) includes processor and memory; the memory is coupled to the processor, and has a plurality of instructions stored in the memory, which when executed by the processor cause the processor to perform various described techniques),
Zhang further teaches “receive a control message that is associated with an uplink control channel and that indicates a priority level associated with an uplink data channel” (see ¶¶ [0418], [0438], and [0439]; DCI (i.e., control message) can indicate PUCCH (i.e., uplink control channel) via PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field; DCI can further indicate if the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the higher priority and the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority both overlap with the PUSCH (i.e., uplink data channel) of the lower priority in the time domain, where the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority does not overlap with the PUSCH of the lower priority in the time domain or the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the higher priority does not overlap with the PUSCH of the higher priority in the time domain; by indicating whether the PUCCH overlaps with a PUSCH with a priority, the DCI is also indicating a priority level associated with an uplink data channel; thus, the apparatus receives a control message that is associated with an uplink control channel and that indicates a priority level associated with an uplink data channel);
Zhang also teaches “multiplex uplink control information associated with the uplink control channel with data associated with the uplink data channel based at least in part on . . . the priority level” (see ¶¶ [0436], [0438], and [0439]; where the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority does not overlap with the PUSCH of the lower priority in the time domain, the UE multiplexes the PUCCH with UCI (i.e. uplink control channel) of the higher priority in the PUSCH (uplink data channel) of the lower priority (i.e., based at least in part on the priority level being associated with the uplink data channel); thus, the apparatus multiplexes uplink control information associated with the uplink control channel with data associated with the uplink data channel based at least in part on . . . the priority level); and
Zhang additionally teaches “transmit the uplink control information multiplexed with the data in the uplink data channel” (see ¶¶ [0437] and [0440]; transmission of the UCI (i.e., the uplink control information multiplexed with the data in the uplink data channel in the previous paragraph) is improved; thus, apparatus transmit the uplink control information multiplexed with the data in the uplink data channel).
While Zhang teaches “multiplexing uplink control information associated with the uplink control channel with data associated with the uplink data channel based at least in part on . . . the priority level” of claim 1, it does not explicitly disclose multiplexing UCI based on “a first priority level assigned to the uplink control channel matching a second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, wherein the first priority level or the second priority level comprises the priority level” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Huang teaches multiplexing UCI “based at least in part on a first priority level assigned to the uplink control channel matching a second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, wherein the first priority level or the second priority level comprises the priority level” (see ¶ [0069]; the UE multiplexes UCI when two uplink channels share the same (i.e., matching) priority level (e.g., PUCCH and PUSCH are both low priority transmissions or high priority transmissions) (i.e., a first priority level assigned to PUCCH (the uplink control channel) and a second priority level assigned to PUSCH (the uplink data channel)); thus, UCI is multiplexed based at least in part on a first priority level assigned to the uplink control channel matching a second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, wherein the first priority level or the second priority level comprises the priority level). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Huang to multiplex UCI associated with uplink control channel with data associated with uplink data channel based on priority level assigned to the uplink control channel matching a second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel. The suggestion to do so would have been to prevent loss of UCI from being dropped in transmissions due to associated priority (see ¶ [0026] of Huang).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “receive an indication of a priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, wherein the uplink control information is multiplexed with the data associated with the uplink data channel based at least in part on the priority level indicated by the control message matching the priority level assigned to the uplink data channel” (see ¶¶ [0418] and [0436]; DCI (control message) can indicate if a PUCCH (uplink control information) with the HARQ-ACK of the higher priority and the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority (i.e., priority level indicated by the control message) overlaps (i.e., matches) with both a PUSCH of the lower priority and a PUSCH of the higher priority in the time domain (i.e., priority level assigned to the uplink data channel), the UE (i.e., apparatus) multiplexes the UCI of the higher priority and the UCI of the lower priority in the PUSCH of the higher priority; thus, the uplink control information is multiplexed with the data associated with the uplink data channel based at least in part on the priority level indicated by the control message matching the priority level assigned to the uplink data channel).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and also teaches “multiplex a copy of the uplink control information with second data associated with a second uplink data channel based at least in part on the second uplink data channel being associated with the priority level; and transmit the copy of the uplink control information multiplexed with the second data in the second uplink data channel” (see ¶¶ [0436], [0438], and [0439] of Zhang, and ¶¶ [0086] – [0089] of Huang; Zhang teaches where the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority does not overlap with the PUSCH of the lower priority in the time domain, the UE multiplexes the PUCCH with UCI (i.e. uplink control channel) of the higher priority in the PUSCH (uplink data channel) of the lower priority (i.e., based at least in part on the priority level being associated with the uplink data channel); thus, Zhang teaches multiplexing uplink control information with data associated with uplink data channel based at least in part on the uplink data channel being associated with the priority, and transmitting the uplink control information multiplexed with the data in the uplink data channel;
Huang teaches UE receives from a base station information including first resources for the first uplink data (i.e., second data) and second resources for the second uplink data, where at least a portion of the second resources overlaps in time with the first resources; first uplink data (i.e., second data) may comprise data scheduled for transmission in the first resources on a PUSCH (i.e., second uplink data channel); thus, the second data is associated with a second uplink data channel; the second uplink data may comprise UCI; since same UCI is transmitted irrespective of the different resources, the disclosed UCI is copy of the uplink control information; UE can multiplex the second uplink data (i.e., copy of the UCI) with first uplink data (second data) on PUSCH (second uplink data channel), and transmit the UCI multiplexed with second data on PUSCH (the second data in the second uplink channel)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Huang to use second data associated with a second data channel and multiplex the UCI with the second data associated with a second data channel based at least in part on the second uplink data channel being associated with the priority level and transmit the multiplexed UCI in the second uplink data channel. The suggestion to do so would have been to prevent loss of UCI from being dropped in transmissions due to associated priority (see ¶ [0026] of Huang).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and also teaches “wherein the control message indicates a third priority level associated with a second uplink data channel, and wherein the instructions are further executable to cause the apparatus to: multiplex a copy of the uplink control information with second data associated with the second uplink data channel based at least in part on the third priority level being associated with the second uplink data channel; and transmit the copy of the uplink control information multiplexed with the second data in the second uplink data channel” (see ¶¶ [0418], [0436], [0438], and [0439] of Zhang, and ¶¶ [0081] and [0086] – [0089] of Huang; Zhang teaches DCI (i.e., control message) can indicate PUCCH via PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field; DCI can further indicate if the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the higher priority and the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority both overlap with the PUSCH (i.e., uplink data channel) of the lower priority in the time domain; by indicating whether the PUCCH overlaps with a PUSCH with a priority, the DCI is also indicating a priority level associated with an uplink data channel; where the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority does not overlap with the PUSCH of the lower priority in the time domain, the UE multiplexes the PUCCH with UCI (i.e. uplink control channel) of the higher priority in the PUSCH (uplink data channel) of the lower priority (i.e., based at least in part on the priority level being associated with the uplink data channel); thus, Zhang teaches control message indicates a priority level associated with uplink data channel, multiplexing uplink control information with data associated with uplink data channel based at least in part on the uplink data channel being associated with the priority, and transmitting the uplink control information multiplexed with the data in the uplink data channel. Huang teaches UE may receive information from the base station scheduling a first uplink transmission with a one priority and a second uplink transmission with another priority; information can include DCI (control message) scheduling UL-SCH data (e.g., on PUSCH) (i.e., second uplink data channel); DCI (control message) priority indicator field, that indicates a priority index for the uplink transmissions (e.g., priority index 0 for the first uplink transmission and priority index 1 for the second uplink transmission, or vice-versa); thus, a control message that includes a third priority level associated with a second uplink data channel; UE receives from a base station information including first resources for the first uplink data (i.e., second data) and second resources for the second uplink data, where at least a portion of the second resources overlaps in time with the first resources; first uplink data (i.e., second data) may comprise data scheduled for transmission in the first resources on a PUSCH (i.e., second uplink data channel); thus, the second data is associated with a second uplink data channel; the second uplink data may comprise UCI; since same UCI is transmitted irrespective of the different resources, the disclosed UCI is copy of the uplink control information; UE can multiplex the second uplink data (i.e., copy of the UCI) with first uplink data (second data) on PUSCH (second uplink data channel), and transmit the UCI multiplexed with second data on PUSCH (the second data in the second uplink channel)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Huang to have a control message with a priority level associated with a second uplink data channel, and multiplex and transmit UCI with second data in the second data channel. The suggestion to do so would have been to prevent loss of UCI from being dropped in transmissions due to associated priority (see ¶ [0026] of Huang).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and teaches “wherein the priority level is the second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, and wherein the uplink control information is multiplexed with the data associated with the uplink data channel based at least in part on the priority level being the second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel” (see ¶¶ [0418] and [0436]; DCI (control message) can indicate if a PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the higher priority and the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority (i.e., priority level indicated by the control message) overlaps (i.e., matches) with both a PUSCH of the lower priority and a PUSCH of the higher priority in the time domain (i.e., priority level assigned to the uplink data channel), the UE (i.e., apparatus) multiplexes the UCI of the higher priority and the UCI of the lower priority in the PUSCH of the higher priority; thus, the priority level is a priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, and wherein the uplink control information is multiplexed with the data associated with the uplink data channel based at least in part on the priority level being the priority level assigned to the uplink data channel).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the priority level comprises the first priority level assigned to the uplink control channel” (see ¶ [0069] of Huang; the UE multiplexes UCI when two uplink channels share the same priority level (e.g., PUCCH and PUSCH); thus, the priority level comprises the priority level assigned to the uplink control channel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Huang to have the priority level comprise the priority level of the uplink control channel. The suggestion to do so would have been to prevent loss of UCI from being dropped in transmissions due to associated priority (see ¶ [0026] of Huang).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “determine a set of uplink data channels that overlap in time with the uplink control channel” (see ¶¶ [0418] and [0436]; if a PUCCH (uplink control channel) with the HARQ-ACK of the higher priority and the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority overlaps with both a PUSCH of the lower priority and a PUSCH of the higher priority (i.e., a set of uplink data channels) in the time domain (i.e., a set of uplink data channels that overlap in time with the uplink control channel)); and
The combination of Zhang and Huang further teaches “select the uplink data channel for multiplexing the uplink control information based at least in part on the uplink data channel being included in the set of uplink data channels” (see ¶¶ [0418] and [0436]; the UE (i.e., apparatus) multiplexes the UCI of the higher priority and the UCI of the lower priority in the PUSCH of the higher priority; thus, the apparatus select the uplink data channel for multiplexing the uplink control information based at least in part on the uplink data channel being included in the set of uplink data channels).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the control message comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message that configures the uplink control channel or comprises a downlink uplink control information (DCI) message that schedules the uplink control channel” (see ¶¶ [0418] and [0436]; it can be specified in a standard and/or configured via higher layer signaling and/or dynamically indicated by DCI).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches “[a]n apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory coupled with the at least one processor, with instructions stored in the at least one memory, the instructions being executable by the at least one processor, individually or in any combination, to cause the apparatus to” (see ¶¶ [0068], and [0074] ; the gNB 102 (i.e., the apparatus) also includes a processor and a memory; the memory is coupled to the processor; memory includes a plurality of instructions, when executed caused the processor to perform the described techniques),
Zhang further teaches “output a control message that is associated with an uplink control channel and that indicates a priority level associated with an uplink data channel” (see ¶¶ [0418], [0438], and [0439]; DCI (i.e., control message) can indicate PUCCH (i.e., uplink control channel) via PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field; DCI can further indicate if the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the higher priority and the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority both overlap with the PUSCH (i.e., uplink data channel) of the lower priority in the time domain, where the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority does not overlap with the PUSCH of the lower priority in the time domain or the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the higher priority does not overlap with the PUSCH of the higher priority in the time domain; by indicating whether the PUCCH overlaps with a PUSCH with a priority, the DCI is also indicating a priority level associated with an uplink data channel; thus, the apparatus outputs a control message that is associated with an uplink control channel and that indicates a priority level associated with an uplink data channel);
Zhang also teaches “obtain, in the uplink data channel based at least in part on . . . the priority level, uplink control information that is associated with the uplink control channel and that is multiplexed with data associated with the uplink data channel” (see ¶¶ [0436] - [0440]; where the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority does not overlap with the PUSCH of the lower priority in the time domain, the UE multiplexes the PUCCH with UCI (i.e. uplink control channel) of the higher priority in the PUSCH of the lower priority (i.e., based at least in part on the priority level being associated with the uplink data channel); transmission of the UCI (i.e., the uplink control information multiplexed with the data in the uplink data channel in the previous paragraph) is improved; thus, the apparatus obtains, in the uplink data channel based at least in part on the priority level being associated with the uplink data channel, uplink control information that is associated with the uplink control channel and that is multiplexed with data associated with the uplink data channel); and
Zhang also teaches “decode the uplink control information based at least in part on receiving the uplink control information multiplexed with the data” (see ¶ [0074]; the gNB (apparatus) is configured to decode the received signal; thus, when the apparatus obtains (i.e., receives) the multiplexed UCI, it would decode it).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose “a first priority level assigned to the uplink control channel matching a second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, wherein the first priority level or the second priority level comprises the priority level” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Huang teaches “a first priority level assigned to the uplink control channel matching a second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, wherein the first priority level or the second priority level comprises the priority level” (see ¶ [0069]; the UE multiplexes UCI when two uplink channels share the same (i.e., matching) priority level (e.g., PUCCH and PUSCH are both low priority transmissions or high priority transmissions) (i.e., a first priority level assigned to PUCCH (the uplink control channel) and a second priority level assigned to PUSCH (the uplink data channel)); thus, UCI is multiplexed based at least in part on a first priority level assigned to the uplink control channel matching a second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, wherein the first priority level or the second priority level comprises the priority level). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Huang to obtain UCI associated with uplink control channel and multiplexedwith data associated with uplink data channel based on priority level assigned to the uplink control channel matching a second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel. The suggestion to do so would have been to prevent loss of UCI from being dropped in transmissions due to associated priority (see ¶ [0026] of Huang).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and further teaches “output an indication of a priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, wherein the uplink control information is received in the uplink data channel based at least in part on the priority level indicated by the control message matching the priority level assigned to the uplink data channel” (see ¶¶ [0418] and [0436] of Zhang; DCI (control message) can indicate if a PUCCH (uplink control information) with the HARQ-ACK of the higher priority and the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority (i.e., priority level indicated by the control message) overlaps (i.e., matches) with both a PUSCH of the lower priority and a PUSCH of the higher priority in the time domain (i.e., priority level assigned to the uplink data channel), the UE (i.e., apparatus) multiplexes the UCI of the higher priority and the UCI of the lower priority in the PUSCH of the higher priority; thus, the apparatus outputs an indication of a priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, wherein the uplink control information is received in the uplink data channel based at least in part on the priority level indicated by the control message matching the priority level assigned to the uplink data channel).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and also teaches “obtain, in a second uplink data channel based at least in part on the second uplink data channel being associated with the priority level, a copy of the uplink control information multiplexed with second data” (see ¶¶ [0436] - [0440] of Zhang and ¶¶ [0086] – [0089]; Zhang teaches where the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority does not overlap with the PUSCH of the lower priority in the time domain, the UE multiplexes the PUCCH with UCI (i.e. uplink control channel) of the higher priority in the PUSCH of the lower priority (i.e., based at least in part on the priority level being associated with the uplink data channel); transmission of the UCI (i.e., the uplink control information multiplexed with the data in the uplink data channel in the previous paragraph) is improved; thus, the apparatus obtains, in the uplink data channel based at least in part on the uplink data channel being associated with the priority level, uplink control information multiplexed with data;
Huang teaches UE receives from a base station information including first resources for the first uplink data (i.e., second data) and second resources for the second uplink data, where at least a portion of the second resources overlaps in time with the first resources; first uplink data (i.e., second data) may comprise data scheduled for transmission in the first resources on a PUSCH (i.e., second uplink data channel); the second uplink data may comprise UCI; since same UCI is transmitted irrespective of the different resources, the disclosed UCI is copy of the uplink control information; UE can multiplex the second uplink data (i.e., copy of the UCI) with first uplink data (second data) on PUSCH (second uplink data channel), and transmit the UCI multiplexed with second data on PUSCH (the second data in the second uplink channel); thus, the apparatus obtains in a second uplink data channel, a copy of the uplink control information multiplexed with second data).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Huang to obtain in a second uplink data channel based at least on priority level associated with the second data channel, a copy of the uplink control information multiplexed with second data. The suggestion to do so would have been to prevent loss of UCI from being dropped in transmissions due to associated priority (see ¶ [0026] of Huang).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and also teaches “wherein the control message indicates a third priority level, and wherein the instructions are further executable to cause the apparatus to: obtain, in a second uplink data channel based at least in part on the third priority level being associated with the second uplink data channel, a copy of the uplink control information that is multiplexed with second uplink data associated with the second uplink data channel” (see ¶¶ [0418], [0436], [0438], and [0439] of Zhang and ¶¶ [0081] and [0086] – [0089] of Huang; Zhang teaches DCI (i.e., control message) can indicate PUCCH via PUCCH resource indicator (PRI) field; DCI can further indicate if the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the higher priority and the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority both overlap with the PUSCH (i.e., uplink data channel) of the lower priority in the time domain; by indicating whether the PUCCH overlaps with a PUSCH with a priority, the DCI is also indicating a priority level associated with an uplink data channel; where the PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority does not overlap with the PUSCH of the lower priority in the time domain, the UE multiplexes the PUCCH with UCI (i.e. uplink control channel) of the higher priority in the PUSCH (uplink data channel) of the lower priority (i.e., based at least in part on the priority level being associated with the uplink data channel);
Huang teaches UE may receive information from the base station scheduling a first uplink transmission with a one priority and a second uplink transmission with another priority; information can include DCI (control message) scheduling UL-SCH data (e.g., on PUSCH) (i.e., second uplink data channel); DCI (control message) priority indicator field, that indicates a priority index for the uplink transmissions (e.g., priority index 0 for the first uplink transmission and priority index 1 for the second uplink transmission, or vice-versa); thus, a control message that indicates a third priority level and the third priority level being associated with a second uplink data channel; UE receives from a base station information including first resources for the first uplink data (i.e., second data) and second resources for the second uplink data, where at least a portion of the second resources overlaps in time with the first resources; first uplink data (i.e., second data) may comprise data scheduled for transmission in the first resources on a PUSCH (i.e., second uplink data channel); thus, the second data is associated with a second uplink data channel; the second uplink data may comprise UCI; since same UCI is transmitted irrespective of the different resources, the disclosed UCI is copy of the uplink control information; UE can multiplex the second uplink data (i.e., copy of the UCI) with first uplink data (second data) on PUSCH (second uplink data channel), and transmit the UCI multiplexed with second data on PUSCH (the second data in the second uplink channel); thus, the apparatus obtains copy of the uplink control information that is multiplexed with second uplink data associated with the second uplink data channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Huang to indicate a second priority level in a control message, and obtain in a second uplink data channel based at least on priority level associated with the second data channel, a copy of the uplink control information multiplexed with second data. The suggestion to do so would have been to prevent loss of UCI from being dropped in transmissions due to associated priority (see ¶ [0026] of Huang).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein the priority level is the second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, and wherein the uplink control information is received in the uplink data channel based at least in part on the priority level being the second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel” (see ¶¶ [0418] and [0436] of Zhang; DCI (control message) can indicate if a PUCCH with the HARQ-ACK of the higher priority and the HARQ-ACK of the lower priority (i.e., priority level indicated by the control message) overlaps (i.e., matches) with both a PUSCH of the lower priority and a PUSCH of the higher priority in the time domain (i.e., priority level assigned to the uplink data channel), the UE (i.e., apparatus) multiplexes the UCI of the higher priority and the UCI of the lower priority in the PUSCH of the higher priority; thus, the priority level is the second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel, and wherein the uplink control information is multiplexed with the data associated with the uplink data channel based at least in part on the priority level being the second priority level assigned to the uplink data channel).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein the priority level comprises the first priority level assigned to the uplink control channel” (see ¶ [0069] of Huang; the UE multiplexes UCI when two uplink channels share the same priority level (e.g., PUCCH and PUSCH); thus, the priority level comprises the priority level assigned to the uplink control channel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang to incorporate the teachings of Huang to have the priority level comprise the priority level of the uplink control channel. The suggestion to do so would have been to prevent loss of UCI from being dropped in transmissions due to associated priority (see ¶ [0026] of Huang).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein the control message comprises a radio resource control (RRC) message that configures the uplink control channel or comprises a downlink uplink control information (DCI) message that schedules the uplink control channel” (see ¶¶ [0418] and [0436] of Zhang; it can be specified in a standard and/or configured via higher layer signaling and/or dynamically indicated by DCI).
Regarding claims 19-22 and 24, they are corresponding method claims of claims 1-4 and 6 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-4 and 6. Claims 19, 20, and 24 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 25-28, they are corresponding method claims of claims 10-13 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 10-13. Claims 25-28 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 5, 15, 23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Huang and in further view of Fu et al. (U.S. Publication No. US2023/0189273).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “receive a second control message that is associated with a second uplink control channel and that indicates the priority level” and “multiplex, based at least in part on the control message and the second control message indicating the same priority level, the uplink control information associated with the uplink control channel with second uplink control information associated with the second uplink control channel” (see ¶¶ [0357], [0366]; multiple PUCCHs (i.e., a second uplink control channel) have same priority, and multiplexing multiple PUCCHs with a same priority may be sub-slots under this priority; multiple DCIs (i.e., it includes a second control message) indicating whether HARQ-ACKs (i.e., second uplink control information) of a same priority are multiplexed are same or not; thus, a second control message that is associated with a second uplink control channel is received, and that indicates the priority level are received, and based at least in part on the control message and the second control message indicating the same priority level, the uplink control information associated with the uplink control channel is multiplexed with second uplink control information associated with the second uplink control channel). The combination of Zhang and Huang does not explicitly disclose “wherein multiplexing the uplink control information with the data comprises multiplexing the second uplink control information with the data” of claim 5. However, the foregoing limitations are well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Fu teaches “wherein multiplexing the uplink control information with the data comprises multiplexing the second uplink control information with the data” (see ¶ [0106]; multiplexing UCIs (i.e., multiple UCIs, including the second uplink control information) on PUSCH (with the data associated with the uplink data channel) the same priority as that of the UCIs can easily meet the delay requirements of multiplexing; therefore, multiple UCIs (incl. second UCI) can be multiplexed with the data in one uplink data channel; thus, multiplexing the uplink control information with the data associated with the uplink data channel comprises multiplexing the second uplink control information with the data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang in view of Huang to incorporate the teachings of Fu to have two UCIs multiplexed in one uplink data channel. The suggestion to do so would have been to satisfy delay requirements of multiplexing (see ¶ [0106] of Fu).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and further teaches “output a second control message that is associated with a second uplink control channel and that indicates the priority level” (see ¶¶ [0357], [0366]; multiple PUCCHs (i.e., a second uplink control channel) have same priority; multiple DCIs (i.e., it includes a second control message) indicating whether HARQ-ACKs (i.e., second uplink control information) of a same priority are multiplexed are same or not; thus, apparatus outputs a second control message that is associated with a second uplink control channel and that indicates the priority level). Zhang does not explicitly disclose “obtain, based at least in part on the control message and the second control message indicating the same priority level, the uplink control information multiplexed with second uplink control information that is associated with the second uplink control channel” of claim 5. However, the foregoing limitations are well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Fu teaches “obtain, based at least in part on the control message and the second control message indicating the same priority level, the uplink control information multiplexed with second uplink control information that is associated with the second uplink control channel” (see ¶¶ [0086] and [0106]; multiplexing UCIs (i.e., multiple UCIs, including the second uplink control information) on PUSCH (with the data associated with the uplink data channel) the same priority as that of the UCIs can easily meet the delay requirements of multiplexing; therefore, multiple UCIs (incl. second UCI) can be multiplexed with the data in one uplink data channel; multiplexed PUSCH is transmitted; thus, apparatus obtains, based at least in part on the control message and the second control message indicating the same priority level, the uplink control information multiplexed with second uplink control information that is associated with the second uplink control channel). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang in view of Huang to incorporate the teachings of Fu to obtain two multiplexed UCIs. The suggestion to do so would have been to satisfy delay requirements of multiplexing (see ¶ [0106] of Fu).
Regarding claim 23, it is the corresponding method claims of claim 5 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 5. Claim 23 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 30, it is the corresponding method claims of claim 15 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 15. Claim 30 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 14 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Huang and further in view of Kundu et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0239216).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhang and Huang teaches the apparatus of claim 13, but does not explicitly disclose “combine the uplink control information with the copy of the uplink control information, wherein decoding the uplink control information comprises decoding the combination of the uplink control information and the copy of the uplink control information” of claim 14. However, the foregoing limitations are well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Kundu teaches “combine the uplink control information with the copy of the uplink control information, wherein decoding the uplink control information comprises decoding the combination of the uplink control information and the copy of the uplink control information” (see ¶¶ [0097] and [0167] ; a first UCI (i.e., the uplink control information) and a second UCI (i.e., a copy of the uplink control information) are multiplexed (i.e., combine); the base station is configured to decode received signals, thus, the base station is configured to decode the multiplexed (combined) uplink control information (i.e., decoding the uplink control information and the copy of the uplink control information)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Zhang in view of Huang to incorporate the teachings of Kundu to combine two UCI and decode the combined UCI by decoding the UCI and the copy of the UCI. The suggestion to do so would have been to enable fast and rich content delivery services (see ¶ [0003] of Kundu).
Regarding claim 29, it is the corresponding method claims of claim 14 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 14. Claim 29 is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475