DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/056,195 (App. No. 19/056,195).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because App. No. 19/056,195 teaches each and every component and reads upon the claims in an anticipatory manner.
Regarding claims 1-14, App. No. 19/056,195 teaches a dual curing composition comprising 20-90 wt% of an epoxy methacrylate groups and 10-80 wt% of a polythiol compound, the composition has a molar ratio of thiol groups to (meth)acrylate groups in the range from 0.5:1 to 1:1 (Claim 1), and 0-50 wt% of an ethylenically unsaturated monomer, (claim 2), the epoxy methacrylate is an adduct of methacrylic acid and a polyepoxide compound with an eew of 100-700 g/eq (claims 3 and 4), the polyepoxide is a bisphenol A diglycidyl ether (claim 6) the polythiol is a pentaerythritol teramercaptoacetate (claims 7-10), the ethylenically unsaturated monomer is (meth)acrylate monomers (claim 12), and the composition is free of thermal free-radical initiators.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2009/028271 A1 to Saito et al. (hereinafter Saito).
Regarding claims 1-14, Saito teaches an epoxy acrylate obtained from a reaction of a 35 parts (0.730 eq) of bisphenol A epoxy resin (eew 185 g/eq), with 40 parts (0.556 eq) of acrylic acid (page 4, Manufacturing example 1). Saito further teaches a composition comprising 100 parts (73.5 wt%) of the epoxy acrylate, 25 parts (18.4 wt%) of a tetrathiol (QX30), 10 parts of an imidazole (1B2MZ), (See Table 1), wherein the tetrathiol is specifically pentaerythritol tris-thioglycolate, or pentaerythritol tetrathiolpriopionate (MW 488.6 g/mol), (page 2). The above may further include an isobornyl acrylate (IBX-A), (Example 5), which meets the claimed nonionic monomer. The above correlates to an epoxy acrylate wherein all of the epoxy groups are reacted with the acrylic acid, i.e. an acrylate eq. wt. of 185 g/eq, and using pentaerythritol tetrathiolpriopionate (thiol eq. weight of 163 g/eq), the above 100 parts of epoxy acrylate and 25 parts of tetrathiol correlates to 0.54 acrylate groups and 0.153 thiol groups, or 0.28:1 thiol groups:acrylate groups. Saito further teaches the radical photoinitiator “may” be added (page 2), suggesting that it is optional and the composition does not require it, which meets claims 13 and 14. This is further exemplified by Saito teaching using a very small amount of radical photoinitiator is preferred since too much impairs storage stability. (page 1-2).
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20210052344 A to Masaru (hereinafter Masaru).
Regarding claims 1-12, Masaru teaches a composition of 50 parts (33 wt%) of polypropylene diacrylate (APG-700, 404 g/acrylate eq), 50 parts (31 wt%) of an bisphenol A epoxy acrylate (Ebcryl 600, 250 g/acrylate eq), 1 part of phosphate-modified methyacrylate, (Ebecryl 168, 180 g/acrylate eq), 39 parts (25 wt%) of pentaerythritol tetrakis(3-mercaptopropionate) (PEMP, 122.3 g/thiol eq), 1 part of a photoradical generator (Irgacure 1173), 10 parts of a potential hardener (PN-23). (See Table 1), and the above correlates to 0.329 acrylate groups and 0.318 thiol groups, or 0.97:1 thiol groups:acrylate groups.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2878613 A1 to Boogaerts et al. (hereinafter Boogaerts).
Regarding claims 1-10, 12-14, Boogaerts teaches a composition comprising an inhibitor system (i), a thiol compound (v) and a (meth)acrylated compound (vi), (See abstract and para 54). Specifically, in Table 3, the composition comprises 75 (75 wt%) parts of a trifunctional acrylate (Ebecryl leo 10501, MW 470 g/mol, 157 g/acrylate eq, 25 parts (25 wt%) of pentaerythritol tetrakis(3-mercaptopropionate) (488.6 g/mol, 163 g/thiol eq), and 0.1 parts of stabilizer/radical scavenger, triphenyl phosphite (Table 3, page 9), which is free of radical initiators and meets claims 13-14, and correlates to 0.48 eq of acrylate groups and 0.153 eq of thiol groups, or 0.32 thiol groups:acrylate groups and meets the ratio of claim 1. Boogaerts further teaches specific examples of suitable (meth)acrylated compounds include epoxy(meth)acrylated oligomers (para 66) such as di(meth)acrylated of diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A (Ebecryl 600 or 3701), (para 75), which demonstrates that the Ebecryl 600 or 3701 are suitable (meth)acrylated compounds for the composition. (“The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination.” See MPEP 2144.07).
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to use the Ebecryl 600 or 3701 for the Examples in Boogaerts because Boogaerts further teaches specific examples of suitable (meth)acrylated compounds include epoxy(meth)acrylated oligomers (para 66) such as di(meth)acrylated of diglycidyl ether of bisphenol A (Ebecryl 600 or 3701), (para 75), which demonstrates that the Ebecryl 600 or 3701 are suitable (meth)acrylated compounds for the composition. (“The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination.” See MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766