DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites in line 8, “a second communication link”. The Examiner believes that this appears to be a typographical error and the limitation should read, “a second external electronic device”.
Claim 9, Claim 1 recites in line 3, “a second communication link”. The Examiner believes that this appears to be a typographical error and the limitation should read, “a second external electronic device”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Election/Restrictions
An election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1-16. Claims 17-20 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's election with traverse of group I, claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 01/14/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “Both groups… share the common feature that the respective devices mutually check whether their roles (i.e., channel directions) are different from each other-namely, whether they can form a compatible set-and perform operations for coupling based on the result of such checking. In view of this, Applicant submits that these groups share an essential characteristic which is best examined together (refer, e.g., to below figure).” This is not found persuasive because Group I, claims 1-16 relate to the particulars of an electronic device (master device) receiving capability and coupling information through separate links from each a first and a second external electronic device (slave devices), determining whether the first and second external communication devices can operate as a set and displaying the determination information (direct one-to-one piconet configuration) . Group II, claims 17-20 relate to the particulars of one external electronic device (slave device) transmitting capability and coupling information to an electronic device (master device), receiving connection information from the electronic device, initiating a third link to request a connection with a second external electronic device (Bluetooth relay configuration).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-11 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20180067712 A1 (Behzadi et al., hereinafter Behzadi).
Regarding claim 1, Behzadi discloses an electronic device (Figs. 1A, 5A-5N, “portable multifunction device 100”) comprising:
a transceiver (Figs. 1A, “RF circuitry 108…RF transceiver”);
a display (Fig. 1, “touch-sensitive display system 112”);
at least one processor (Fig. 1, “processor(s) 120”); and memory (Fig. 1, “memory 102”) storing instructions that (par. [0100]), when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device (par. [0100]) to:
establish a first communication link (par. [0164], [0188], “device 100 periodically and repeatedly listens for wireless broadcast signals (e.g., pairing requests) from one or more peripherals (e.g., earbuds 502-1 and 502-2, as well as earbud case 502-3) to pair the peripheral(s) with the device 100.” reads on communication link) with a first external electronic device (Fig. 5D-5E, “earbuds 502-1”) and a second communication link (par. [0164], “device 100 periodically and repeatedly listens for wireless broadcast signals (e.g., pairing requests) from one or more peripherals (e.g., earbuds 502-1 and 502-2, as well as earbud case 502-3) to pair the peripheral(s) with the device 100.” reads on communication link) with a second communication link (Fig. 5D-5E, “earbuds 502-2”);
receive first device capability information (Fig. 5H and par. [0168], “the earbud 502-1 is designated as user Emily's left earbud by a graphic (e.g., “L”) displayed in the window 520-3”, where left earbud designation corresponds to capability) and first coupling information through the first communication link (par. [0170], “the earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 are part of a predefined set because, for example, both earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 have previously paired with the device 100 in a single pairing process.”, reads on coupling information, since “earbuds 502-1” have been previously paired; therefore, having at least the name/address/ID of the device it paired previously);
receive second device capability information (Fig. 5H and par. [0168], “an earbud can be designated as a right earbud by displaying another graphic (e.g., the “R” graphic shown for earbud 502-2 in FIG. 5H”, where right earbud designation corresponds to capability) and second coupling information through the second communication link (par. [0170], “the earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 are part of a predefined set because, for example, both earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 have previously paired with the device 100 in a single pairing process.”, reads on coupling information, since “earbuds 502-1” have been previously paired; therefore, having at least the name/address/ID of the device it paired previously);
decide whether the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device are operable as a set (Fig. 5H and par. [0170], “determining that the earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 are part of a predefined set”), based on the first device capability information (Fig. 5H and par. [0168], “the earbud 502-1 is designated as user Emily's left earbud by a graphic (e.g., “L”) displayed in the window 520-3”) and the second device capability information (Fig. 5H and par. [0168], “an earbud can be designated as a right earbud by displaying another graphic (e.g., the “R” graphic shown for earbud 502-2 in FIG. 5H.” Emily’s L and R earbuds operable as a set); and
display a user interface (Fig. 5H, window 520-4 overlaid on the user interface”) for coupling of the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device (par. [0166], “In FIG. 5C, the device 100 detects a tap gesture 530-1 on the button 522-1. In response to detecting the tap gesture 530-1, the device 100 initiates pairing of the device 100 with the peripherals of earbud set 503. In FIG. 5D, while the device 100 is pairing with the peripherals of earbud set 503, the device 100 displays a ‘Connect . . .’”), based on the first coupling information and the second coupling information (par. [0170], “the earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 are part of a predefined set because, for example, both earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 have previously paired with the device 100”), upon deciding that the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device are operable as the set (Fig. 5H and par. [0170], “determining that the earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 are part of a predefined set”).
Regarding claim 9, Behzadi discloses a method of operating an electronic device (par. [0005]), the method comprising:
establishing a first communication link (par. [0164], “device 100 periodically and repeatedly listens for wireless broadcast signals (e.g., pairing requests) from one or more peripherals (e.g., earbuds 502-1 and 502-2, as well as earbud case 502-3) to pair the peripheral(s) with the device 100.” reads on communication link) with a first external electronic device (Fig. 5D-5E, “earbuds 502-1”) and a second communication link (par. [0164], “device 100 periodically and repeatedly listens for wireless broadcast signals (e.g., pairing requests) from one or more peripherals (e.g., earbuds 502-1 and 502-2, as well as earbud case 502-3) to pair the peripheral(s) with the device 100.” reads on communication link) with a second communication link (Fig. 5D-5E, “earbuds 502-2”);
receiving first device capability information (Fig. 5H and par. [0168], “the earbud 502-1 is designated as user Emily's left earbud by a graphic (e.g., “L”) displayed in the window 520-3”, where left earbud designation corresponds to capability) and first coupling information through the first communication link (par. [0170], “the earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 are part of a predefined set because, for example, both earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 have previously paired with the device 100 in a single pairing process.”, reads on coupling information, since “earbuds 502-1” have been previously paired; therefore, having at least the name/address/ID of the device it paired previously);
receiving second device capability information (Fig. 5H and par. [0168], “an earbud can be designated as a right earbud by displaying another graphic (e.g., the “R” graphic shown for earbud 502-2 in FIG. 5H”, where right earbud designation corresponds to capability) and second coupling information through the second communication link (par. [0170], “the earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 are part of a predefined set because, for example, both earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 have previously paired with the device 100 in a single pairing process.”, reads on coupling information, since “earbuds 502-1” have been previously paired; therefore, having at least the name/address/ID of the device it paired previously);
deciding whether the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device are operable as a set (Fig. 5H and par. [0170], “determining that the earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 are part of a predefined set”), based on the first device capability information (Fig. 5H and par. [0168], “the earbud 502-1 is designated as user Emily's left earbud by a graphic (e.g., “L”) displayed in the window 520-3”) and the second device capability information (Fig. 5H and par. [0168], “an earbud can be designated as a right earbud by displaying another graphic (e.g., the “R” graphic shown for earbud 502-2 in FIG. 5H”, Emily’s L and R earbuds operable as a set); and
displaying a user interface (Fig. 5H, window 520-4 overlaid on the user interface”) for coupling of the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device (par. [0166], “In FIG. 5C, the device 100 detects a tap gesture 530-1 on the button 522-1. In response to detecting the tap gesture 530-1, the device 100 initiates pairing of the device 100 with the peripherals of earbud set 503. In FIG. 5D, while the device 100 is pairing with the peripherals of earbud set 503, the device 100 displays a ‘Connect . . .’”), based on the first coupling information and the second coupling information (par. [0170], “the earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 are part of a predefined set because, for example, both earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 have previously paired with the device 100”), upon deciding that the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device are operable as the set (Fig. 5H and par. [0170], “determining that the earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 are part of a predefined set”).
Regarding claims 2 and 10, Behzadi discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively. Behzadi further discloses wherein the first device capability information includes at least one of channel direction information or supportable audio channel information of the first external electronic device (Fig. 5H and par. [0168], “the earbud 502-1 is designated as user Emily's left earbud by a graphic (e.g., “L”) displayed in the window 520-3” corresponds to left channel direction. Note: only one of the limitations is required based on the optional limitation that includes the conjunction “or”), and
wherein the second device capability information includes at least one of channel direction information or supportable audio channel information of the second external electronic device (Fig. 5H and par. [0168], “an earbud can be designated as a right earbud by displaying another graphic (e.g., the “R” graphic shown for earbud 502-2 in FIG. 5H” corresponds to right channel direction. Note: only one of the limitations is required based on the optional limitation that includes the conjunction “or”).
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Behzadi discloses all the limitations of claims 2 and 10, respectively. Behzadi further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the electronic device to decide that the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device are operable as the set, when the channel direction information of the first external electronic device differs from the channel direction information of the second external electronic device (Fig. 5H and par. [0168], “an earbud can be designated as a right earbud by displaying another graphic (e.g., the “R” graphic shown for earbud 502-2 in FIG. 5H”, Emily’s L and R earbuds have “opposite” channel direction and it is determined that they operate as a set).
Regarding claim 6, Behzadi discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Behzadi further discloses wherein the user interface for the coupling includes an object for receiving a user input for performing the coupling of the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device (Fig. 5B and par. [0165], “The window 520-1 includes a “Connect” button 522-1, that, when activated by a user input (e.g., a tap gesture), initiates pairing of the device 100 with the peripherals (e.g., earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 and earbud case 502-3…”).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Behzadi discloses all the limitations of claims 6 and 14, respectively. Behzadi further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the electronic device to:
receive the user input through the object for receiving the user input (Fig. 5C and par. [0165], “The window 520-1 includes a “Connect” button 522-1, that, when activated by a user input (e.g., a tap gesture)…”; par. [0166], “the device 100 detects a tap gesture 530-1 on the button 522-1”); and
transmit first connection information through the first communication link and transmit second connection information through the second communication link, in response to the receiving of the user input (Fig. 5D and par. [0166], “the device 100 initiates pairing of the device 100 with the peripherals of earbud set 503.”, where signals are sent to the individual peripherals for pairing, please see individual signal emanating from the “device 100”).
Regarding claim 14, Behzadi discloses all the limitations of claim 9. Behzadi further discloses wherein the user interface for the coupling includes an object for receiving a user input for performing the coupling of the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device (Fig. 5B and par. [0165], “The window 520-1 includes a “Connect” button 522-1, that, when activated by a user input (e.g., a tap gesture), initiates pairing of the device 100 with the peripherals (e.g., earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 and earbud case 502-3…”), and the method further comprises:
receiving the user input through the object for receiving the user input (Fig. 5C and par. [0165], “The window 520-1 includes a “Connect” button 522-1, that, when activated by a user input (e.g., a tap gesture)…”; par. [0166], “the device 100 detects a tap gesture 530-1 on the button 522-1”); and
transmitting first connection information through the first communication link and transmit second connection information through the second communication link, in response to the receiving of the user input (Fig. 5D and par. [0166], “the device 100 initiates pairing of the device 100 with the peripherals of earbud set 503.”, where signals are sent to the individual peripherals for pairing, please see individual signal emanating from the “device 100”).
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Behzadi discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively. Behzadi further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the electronic device to:
transmit a connection request signal to the first external electronic device (par. [0165], “window 520-1 includes a “Connect” button 522-1, that, when activated by a user input (e.g., a tap gesture), initiates pairing of the device 100 with the peripherals (e.g., earbuds 502-1 and 502-2”), in response to identifying a first scanning signal received from the first external electronic device (par. [0164], “device 100 periodically and repeatedly listens for wireless broadcast signals (e.g., pairing requests) from one or more peripherals (e.g., earbuds 502-1 and 502-2…”, reads on scanning signals); and
transmit a connection request signal to the second external electronic device (par. [0165], “window 520-1 includes a “Connect” button 522-1, that, when activated by a user input (e.g., a tap gesture), initiates pairing of the device 100 with the peripherals (e.g., earbuds 502-1 and 502-2”), in response to identifying a second scanning signal received from the second external electronic device (par. [0164], “device 100 periodically and repeatedly listens for wireless broadcast signals (e.g., pairing requests) from one or more peripherals (e.g., earbuds 502-1 and 502-2…”, reads on scanning signals).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behzadi in view of US 20160323678 A1 (Niels Henrik Smorum Pontoppidan, hereinafter Pontoppidan).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Behzadi discloses all the limitations of claims 1 and 9, respectively. Behzadi further discloses wherein the first coupling information includes at least one of a Bluetooth address (coupled ID) or a synchronized identifier (synced ID) of the first external electronic device, and wherein the second coupling information includes at least one of a coupled ID or a synced ID of the second external electronic device (Bluetooth).
Although implicit, based on Bluetooth protocols, Behzadi does not explicitly disclose wherein the first coupling information includes at least one of a Bluetooth address (coupled ID) or a synchronized identifier (synced ID) of the first external electronic device, and wherein the second coupling information includes at least one of a coupled ID or a synced ID of the second external electronic device (par. [0003], “pairing technologies, such as Bluetooth®, are often used to connect (“pair”) peripherals…”).
In related art concerning Binaural hearing assistance system, Pontoppidan discloses wherein the first coupling information includes at least one of a Bluetooth address (coupled ID) or a synchronized identifier (synced ID) of the first external electronic device (par. [0119], “The audio sources and the audio gateway device may be paired using the button BT-pair on the auxiliary device. Once paired, the BT-address of the audio source may be stored in a memory of the audio gateway device for easy future pairing”), and wherein the second coupling information includes at least one of a coupled ID or a synced ID of the second external electronic device (par. [0119], “The audio sources and the audio gateway device may be paired using the button BT-pair on the auxiliary device. Once paired, the BT-address of the audio source may be stored in a memory of the audio gateway device for easy future pairing”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Pontoppidan’s teachings about coupling information comprising a Bluetooth address with the GUI for wireless pairing with peripheral devices disclosed by Behzadi because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that during the inquiry step in the Bluetooth pairing process, one device sends an inquiry request to discover the other device's address, name or ID . Devices that receive this request respond with their own address, name or ID information.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behzadi in view of Pontoppidan, and further in view of US 20200379713 A1 (Carrigan et al., hereinafter Carrigan).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Behzadi and Pontoppidan disclose all the limitations of claims 4 and 12, respectively. Behzadi further discloses
wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the electronic device to:
Behzadi further discloses identify whether the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device are coupled based on the first coupling information and the second coupling information (Fig. 5H and par. [0168], “an earbud can be designated as a right earbud by displaying another graphic (e.g., the “R” graphic shown for earbud 502-2 in FIG. 5H”, Emily’s L and R earbuds operable as a set);
display a user interface for performing the coupling of the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device when in a state where the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device are not coupled (Fig. 4B and par. [0165], “…The window 520-1 includes a ‘Connect’ button 522-1, that, when activated by a user input (e.g., a tap gesture), initiates pairing of the device 100 with the peripherals (e.g., earbuds 502-1 and 502-2 and earbud case 502-3 shown in FIG. 5A”) of earbud set 503”); and
Although implied, Behzadi and Pontoppidan disclose does not specifically disclose display a user interface for releasing the coupling of the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device when in a state where the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device are coupled.
In related art concerning methods and user interface for sharing audio, Carrigan discloses display a user interface for releasing the coupling of the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device when in a state where the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device are coupled (Fig. 6H and par. [0235], “device 600 detects input 610d (e.g., a tap) corresponding to selection of disconnect affordance 618a-4. In response to detecting input 610d, device 600 ceases providing audio data to device 650”; par. [0221], “device 650 is a pair of wireless earbuds consisting of earbud 650a, earbud 650b…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use Carrigan’s teachings about display a user interface for releasing the coupling of the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device when in a state where the first external electronic device and the second external electronic device are coupled with the GUI for wireless pairing with peripheral devices disclosed by Behzadi and Pontoppidan because one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that disconnecting/releasing pairing connections automatically or by user input request are at least two options available to the inventor for disconnecting/releasing a paired connection, where the latter option allows the user to release the connection even if the devices are within connection range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2015/0124976 A1 relates to binaural hearing assistance system comprising two wireless interfaces.
US 2018/0220241 A1 relates to method for operating a hearing aid apparatus and hearing aid apparatus.
US 2020/0288292 A1 relates to electronic device for transmitting response message in Bluetooth network environment and method thereof.
US 12,526,857 B2 relates to electronic device for providing user interface related to plurality of external electronic devices and operating method thereof.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the TC 2600's customer service number is 703-306-0377.
/Angelica M. Perez/
Primary Examiner AU 2649