DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to Applicant’s argument that, “There is no disclosure in Konda of a gateway obtaining a certificate on behalf of a separate backend service and provisioning that certificate to the service for installation. The amended limitation requiring that the service be distinct from the gateway and that the signed certificate be installed at the service therefore is not met by Konda” (Remarks, p. 9), the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The home gateway management cloud manages the routers of the home network and through the DNS management service obtains a signed certificate for the router in a particular subdomain (Konda, [0080-0086]). It is pointed out that there is no actual installation of certificate(s). The limitations are all directed to “a signed certificate to be installed at the service” (cl. 1, ll. 7 and 18-19, cl. 10, ll. 9 and 19-20, cl. 18, ll. 8 and 18-19). The gateway, in an alternate approach, directly contacts the certificate authority to get certificates (Konda, [0092]). The gateway and the service are two distinct entities. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 10, and 18 have been amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1-20, there is not a positive recitation of a limitation of actually installing a certificate at the service. The limitations only state that a “signed certificate [is] to be installed” and “to be installed by the service” at some time in the future (cl. 1, ll. 7 and 18-19, cl. 10, ll. 9 and 19-20, cl. 18, ll. 8 and 18-19). The balance of the claims are similarly rejected for being dependent from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8-15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub. No. 2021/0266185 to Konda et al. (hereinafter Konda) in view of US Patent No. 8,327,128 to Prince et al. (hereinafter Prince).
As to claims 1, 10, and 18 as best understood, Konda teaches:
a. Receiving, by a gateway and from a client device, a first request, wherein the first request is to access a service, wherein the service is distinct from the gateway and is configured to communicate with the client device (gateway receives service request and the service is distinct from the gateway) (Konda, [0080-0088]).
b. Receiving, by the gateway and from the service, a second request, wherein the second request is for a signed certificate to be installed at the service (signed certificate signing request (CSR)) (Konda, [0081]).
c. Determining, by the gateway, that the service utilizes a TLS protocol secured by encryption using a public key and a private key in a key pair, wherein the gateway constructs a Certificate Signing Request (CSR) signed with the private key and transmits the CSR to a certificate authority via an Automated Certificate Management Environment (ACME) protocol challenge prior to retrieving the signed certificate, and wherein the gateway communicates with the certificate authority on behalf of the service (enrolling and using a TLS connection to conduct the operations of the reference and signing the CSR with the private key) (Konda, [0092, 0116, 0131, and 0146]).
d. Determining, by the gateway, the certificate authority to retrieve the signed certificate (interacting with a certificate authority to generate signed certificate) (Konda, [0092]).
e. Retrieving, by the gateway, the signed certificate from the certificate authority (signed certificate generated and stored) (Konda, [0081]).
Konda as modified does not expressly mention the installation of a signed certificate. However, in an analogous art, Prince teaches:
f. Sending the signed certificate and the private key to the service to be installed by the service for using in securing communications with the client device using the TLS protocol (certificate installed for secure communication) (Prince, 8:12-26 and Konda, [0086 and 0116] (sending private key within TLS)).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application would have been motivated to implement the secure communication scheme of Konda as modified with the installation of a signed certificate of Prince in order to enable a secure communication session as suggested by Prince (Prince, 8:12-26]).
As to claims 2 and 11, Konda as modified teaches the gateway is a reverse proxy associated with the service (proxy server is a go-between the entities negotiating a secure session between the client and the origin server) (Prince, at least Abstract).
As to claims 3, 12, and 19, Konda as modified teaches the gateway includes a domain name service to resolve and communicate network traffic through the gateway (DNS) (Konda, [0018]).
As to claims 4 and 13, Konda as modified teaches the gateway utilizes an automatic certificate management environment (ACME) protocol with the certificate authority to receive the signed certificate (ACME) (Konda, [0040]).
As to claims 5 and 14, Konda as modified teaches the service is a server associated with remote desktop connections (Remote functionality is included) (Konda, [0058]).
As to claims 6 and 15, Konda as modified teaches the key pair is associated with a second remote server (the network comprises one or more servers and some of those servers can be remote) (Konda, 0052]).
As to claims 8 and 17, Konda as modified teaches facilitating a secured communication channel by transmitting encrypted communications between the client device and the service, wherein the encrypted communications are encrypted by a session key (session key used for secure connections) (Prince, 20:3-8).
As to claim 9, Konda as modified teaches the first request is received from a network device upon configuration of the gateway with the service (gateway receives service request to forward to the service) (Konda, [0084]).
Claims 7, claim 16, and claim 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG Pub. No. 2021/0266185 to Konda et al. (hereinafter Konda) in view of US Patent No. 8,327,128 to Prince et al. (hereinafter Prince) as applied to claim 1, claim 10, and claim 18 respectively above, and further in view of IETF 8555 Automatic Certificate Management Environment (ACME) to Barnes et al.
As to claims 7, 16, and 20, Konda as modified teaches using ACME (Konda, [0040] does not explicitly recite the details of ACME. However, in an analogous art Barnes teaches:
a. Receiving, by the gateway and from the service, an authorized request to revoke the signed certificate (certificate revocation procedures) (Barnes, 7.6).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application would have been motivated to implement the secure communication scheme of Konda as modified with the details of certificate revocation of Barnes in order to facilitate certificate management functions including revocation as suggested by Barnes (Barnes, Abstract).
Konda as modified further teaches:
b. Transmitting the authorized request to the certificate authority, whereby when received by the certificate authority, the certificate authority publishes revocation information associated with the authorized request and the signed certificate (Barnes outlines the revocation procedure for ACME) (Barnes, 7.6).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM S POWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496