DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “volume adjustment device” in claim 1, “closing member … reciprocating mechanism … positioning member” in claim 2, “control device” in claims 3 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3-4 and 6 recite the limitation “control device” which invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification is devoid of adequate structure to perform the claimed function. In particular, the specification merely states the claimed function of controlling a pressure is performed by the control device, however, there is no disclosure of any particular structure, either explicitly or inherently, to perform the controlling. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 3 further recites the limitation “the buffer tank” and depends from claim 1 which recites “a plurality of buffer tanks”, it is not clear if the buffer tank in claim 3 lacks sufficient antecedent basis or refers to one or all of the plurality of buffer tanks in claim 1.
Claim 4 depends from claim 3 and fails to remedy its deficiencies.
Claim 6 further recites the limitation “the buffer tank” and depends from claim 1 which recites “a plurality of buffer tanks”, it is not clear if the buffer tank in claim 6 lacks sufficient antecedent basis or refers to one or all of the plurality of buffer tanks in claim 1.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the pressure regulator” and depends from claim 7 which recites “a plurality of pressure regulators”, it is not clear if the pressure regulator in claim 9 lacks sufficient antecedent basis or refers to one or all of the plurality of pressure regulators in claim 7.
Claim 10 depends from claim 9 and fails to remedy its deficiencies.
Claims 3-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function of controlling a pressure. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shinozaki et al – hereafter Shinozaki – (US 20150151401 A1; also US 9,662,761 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Shinozaki teaches a polishing device (Fig.20/21), comprising:
a polishing table (2), supporting a polishing pad (1);
a top ring (5), having a plurality of pressure chambers (C1-C6) for pressing a substrate (W) against a polishing surface of the polishing pad (Fig.21);
a plurality of pressure regulators (R1-R6; note ¶131, “electropneumatic regulators”), controlling pressures of gases in the plurality of pressure chambers;
a plurality of pressure sensors, detecting pressures adjusted by the plurality of pressure regulators (Fig.3, 17; note ¶11, “pressure gauge 17 for measuring pressure of the gas at a downstream side of the pressure-regulating valve … electropneumatic regulator is widely used as the pressure regulator”; and
a plurality of buffer tanks (T1-T6), connected to a plurality of gas transfer lines (F1-F6) connecting the plurality of pressure chambers and the plurality of pressure regulators (Fig.21), wherein
each of the plurality of buffer tanks comprises
a tank section made of a rigid body (Fig.36, 111) and
a volume adjustment device (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a closing member/plate, reciprocating mechanism/screw/rack and pinion/piston, and positioning member/nut to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Shinozaki teaches a piston/spring/diaphragm, Fig.36, 112/114/116) which adjusts a volume of the buffer tank.
Regarding claim 2, Shinozaki further teaches the volume adjustment device comprises
a closing member which is disposed inside the tank section and closes off a part of an internal space of the tank section (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a plate, and equivalents thereof. Shinozaki teaches a diaphragm, Fig.36, 114),
a reciprocating mechanism (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a screw/rack and pinion/piston, and equivalents thereof. Shinozaki teaches a piston, Fig.36, 112) which reciprocates the closing member, and
a positioning member (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as a nut to accomplish the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Shinozaki teaches a spring, Fig.36, 116) which positions the closing member moved by the reciprocating mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinozaki.
Regarding claim 5, Shinozaki teaches all the limitations of claim 1, see above, however, does not explicitly teach when each of the plurality of pressure sensors is defined as a first pressure sensor and each of the plurality of pressure regulators is defined as a first pressure regulator, the polishing device comprises a second pressure sensor prepared in place of the first pressure sensor, and a second pressure regulator prepared in place of the first pressure regulator.
Although Shinozaki does not disclose a second pressure sensor prepared in place of the first pressure sensor, and a second pressure regulator prepared in place of the first pressure regulator, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In the current instance, applicant’s disclosure does not describe any new and unexpected result being produced by having a second pressure sensor and a second pressure regulator, therefore, mere duplication of said components has no patentable significance and the claim is deemed obvious in view of Shinozaki.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are allowed.
Claims 9-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The following claim limitations were not found in the prior art.
determining a volume of each of the plurality of buffer tanks that is variable based on a pressure value measured by each of the pressure sensors corresponding to the volume (as in the context of claim 7).
The closest prior art reference Shinozaki discloses a method for adjusting a pressure control unit including a plurality of buffer tanks (Fig.21, T1-T6), however, does not disclose determining a volume of each of the plurality of buffer tanks as claimed.
Another relevant prior art (Takahashi et al – JP 2015131360 A) discloses a method for adjusting a pressure control unit including a plurality of buffer tanks (Fig.2, T1-T6), however, does not disclose determining a volume of each of the plurality of buffer tanks as claimed.
Another relevant prior art (Shinozaki – JP 2015104790 A) discloses a method for adjusting a pressure control unit including a plurality of buffer tanks (Fig.16, 40), however, does not disclose determining a volume of each of the plurality of buffer tanks as claimed.
No other prior art reference was found that would anticipate or allow establishing a prima facie case of obviousness in view of the cited prior art above.
Conclusion
/JUAN G FLORES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745