DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination, wherein claims 1-12 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on July 14, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miki (US 2013/0295451) in view of Sakai et al (WO 2019/135315, with citations to US 2020/0328453).
Regarding independent claim 1, Miki teaches a solid-state electrode for a solid-state battery, said electrode providing said battery with high output, said electrode comprising:
(i) a plurality of granules that are composite particles with a particle diameter of about 10 to 1000 μm,
wherein said granules each comprises
(i.a) a plurality of lithium ion conductor particles, which may be e.g. 2-100 particles, which may have a composition of a solid electrolyte; and,
(i.b) a plurality of active material particles, which may be may be e.g. 2-100 particles, which may have a composition of e.g. lithium titanate (Li4/3Ti5/3O4, also Li4Ti5O12)
wherein in said granules, said lithium ion conductor and said active material may be mixed in a mass ratio of 1:1 to 67,000:1, preferably 5:1 to 25:1; plus,
(ii) a plurality of solid electrolyte particles, which may have a composition of e.g. oxide-type noncrystalline solid electrolytes, such as Li2O—B2O3—P2O5, Li2O—SiO2, Li2O—B2O3, Li2O—B2O3—ZnO; and, crystalline oxides and oxynitrides, such as LiI, LiI—Al2O3, Li3N, Li3N—LiI—LiOH, Li1.3Al0.3Ti0.7(PO4)3, Li1+x+yAxTi2-xSiyP3-yO12 (A=Al or Ga, 0≤x≤0.4, 0<y≤0.6), [(B1/2Li1/2)1-zCz]TiO3 (B=La, Pr, Nd, Sm, C=Sr or Ba, 0≤x≤0.5), Li5La3Ta2O12, Li7La3Zr2O12, Li6BaLa2Ta2O12, Li3PO(4-3/2w)Nw (w<1), and Li3.6Si0.6P0.4O4
(e.g. ¶¶ 0001, 09-12, 21-23, 25-31, 36-38, and 41 plus e.g. Figures 1 and 3-5), reading on “composite active material,” said granules comprising:
(1) said plurality of said active material particles may be e.g. 2-100 particles, which may have said composition of e.g. lithium titanate (Li4/3Ti5/3O4, also Li4Ti5O12) (e.g. supra), noting the following distinctions:
the taught “granule” corresponds with the claimed “composite active material;” and,
the taught “plurality of active material particles” corresponds with the claimed “active material,” as claimed,
reading on “an active material including Li, Ti, and O,” as claimed; and,
(2) said plurality of said lithium ion conductor particles may be e.g. 2-100 particles, which may have said composition of said solid electrolyte (e.g. supra), reading on “a first solid electrolyte,”
wherein in said granules, said lithium ion conductor and said active material may be mixed in a mass ratio of 1:1 to 67,000:1, preferably 5:1 to 25:1; plus,
said granules are said composite include e.g. 2-100 of said lithium ion conductor particles; e.g. 2-100 of said active material particles; and, said granules have said particle diameter of about 10 to 1000 μm (e.g. supra), see further e.g. Figure 1, noting:
the spaces between particles of said plurality of active material particles, including those spaces in which said plurality of lithium ion conductor particles are located reads on “plurality of pores;” and,
said plurality of active material particles with spaces therebetween, including those spaces in which at least one of said lithium ion conductor particle located therebetween corresponds with the claimed “porous material,” as claimed,
reading on the active material is a porous material having a plurality of pores,” as claimed; and, “at least a part of the first solid electrolyte is present inside the plurality of pores.”
Miki teaches said plurality of granules that are composite particles, each with said plurality of said lithium ion conductor particles may be e.g. 2-100 particles, which may have said composition of said solid electrolyte (e.g. supra), but does not expressly teach the limitation “the first solid electrolyte includes Li, M, and X, M is at least one selected from the group consisting of metal elements and metalloid elements belonging to the 5th or 6th period, X is at least one selected from the group consisting of F, Cl, Br, and I.”
However, Sakai teaches battery an all-solid lithium secondary battery with an improved solid electrolyte particles (e.g. items 100) that may be included in at least one of a positive electrode, an electrolyte layer, and a negative electrode, said solid electrolyte particles providing high ion conductivity and further a stable structure that supports rapid charging/discharging of the battery,
wherein in said positive electrode and/or said negative electrode, said solid electrolyte particles (e.g. item 100) contact positive electrode particles (e.g. items 204) and/or said solid electrolyte particles (e.g. item 100) contact negative electrode particles (e.g. items 205),
said solid electrolyte particles may have a spherical particle shape; a median diameter of 0.1 μm to 100 μm; and, a composition of e.g. Li3YBr3Cl3 and Li3YBr2Cl4;
said positive electrode active material may be coated with e.g. Li4Ti5O12; and have a median diameter of 0.1 μm to 100 μm, while further being larger than said median diameter of said solid electrolyte, resulting in a good dispersion state of said positive electrode active material particles and said solid electrolyte material, and a volume ratio of 30 ≤ v ≤ 95 between said positive electrode active material particles and said solid electrolyte material to secure a sufficient battery energy density; and,
said negative electrode active material may have a median diameter of 0.1 μm to 100 μm, while further being larger than said median diameter of said solid electrolyte, resulting in a good dispersion state of said negative electrode active material particles and said solid electrolyte material, and a volume ratio of 30 ≤ v ≤ 95 between said electrode active material particles and said solid electrolyte material to secure a sufficient battery energy density;
(e.g. ¶¶ 0008-26, 61, 65-69, 70, 74, 77, 81-84, 88, 90,100-102, 123, 125, 153, 155, 161, 202, 206, and 235 plus e.g. Figure 1).
As a result, it would have been obvious to substitute the lithium ion conductor particles in the granules of Miki with the solid electrolyte particles of Sakai, with said compositions of e.g. Li3YBr3Cl3 and Li3YBr2Cl4, since Saki teaches its solid electrolyte particles provides high ion conductivity and/or stable structure that supports rapid charging/discharging of the battery, reading on said limitation.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 10, Miki as modified teaches the granules of claim 1, wherein said granules of Miki incorporate said solid electrolyte particles of Sakai, with said compositions of e.g. Li3YBr3Cl3 and Li3YBr2Cl4 (e.g. supra), reading on “the first solid electrolyte is represented by a following Formula (1): LiαMβXγ Formula (1) where, α, β, and γ are each independently a value greater than 0” (claim 2); "in the first solid electrolyte, M includes yttrium” (claim 3); “the first solid electrolyte includes at least one selected from the group consisting of Li3YBr3Cl3 and Li3YBr2Cl4” (claim 4); and, “the first solid electrolyte does not include sulfur” (claim 10).
Regarding claims 5-6, Miki as modified teaches the granules of claim 1, wherein said granules are said composite particles that each comprises said e.g. 2-100 particles of said lithium ion conductor particles; and, said e.g. 2-100 particles of said active material particles, wherein said lithium ion conductor and said active material may be mixed in said mass ratio of 1:1 to 67,000:1, preferably 5:1 to 25:1 (e.g. supra), further noting said
the spaces between particles of said plurality of active material particles, including those spaces in which said plurality of lithium ion conductor particles are located reads on “plurality of pores;” and,
said plurality of active material particles with spaces therebetween, including those spaces in which at least one of said lithium ion conductor particle located therebetween corresponds with the claimed “porous material,” as claimed,
but does not expressly teach the limitations “BET specific surface area of the active material defined as SAM and BET specific surface area of the composite active material defined as SAM-SE satisfy a following Expression (2): SAM-SE/SAM < 1 Expression (2)” (claim 5) or “satisfying a following Expression (3): SAM-SE/SAM < 0.5 Expression (3)” (claim 6).
However, differences in said proportions do not patentably distinguish the instant invention from the art, see e.g. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A), see further instant specification, at e.g. ¶¶ 0028-31 and 61-63.
Regarding claims 7-8, Miki as modified teaches the granules of claim 1, wherein Miki teaches said plurality of active material particles may have said composition of e.g. lithium titanate (Li4/3Ti5/3O4, also Li4Ti5O12) (e.g. supra), reading on “the active material includes a lithium titanium oxide” (claim 7) and “the lithium titanium oxide includes Li4Ti5O12” (claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, Miki as modified teaches the granules of claim 1, wherein Miki teaches said granules have said particle diameter of about 10 to 1000 μm, wherein said granules comprise
said plurality of lithium ion conductor particles may be e.g. 2-100 particles and
said plurality of active material particles may be e.g. 2-100 particles
(e.g. supra), but does not expressly teach the limitation “the active material has an average particle diameter of greater than or equal to 5 μm.”
However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to ensure each of said lithium ion conductor particles are uniform in size with other lithium ion conductor particles, in order to ensure isotropic properties within said granules and/or improve manufacturability of said granules; plus, each of said active material particles are uniform in size to other active material particles, in order to ensure isotropic properties within said granules and/or improve manufacturability of said granules.
Since said granules include e.g. 2-100 of said lithium ion conductor particles; e.g. 2-100 of said active material particles; and, said granules have said particle diameter of about 10 to 1000 μm, then said plurality of uniform-sized active material particles within a granule have a particle size that may be calculated to establish a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on the limitation “the active material has an average particle diameter of greater than or equal to 5 μm;” and/or, said plurality of active material particles is approximately said particle diameter of said granule (about 10 to 1000 µm), establishing a prima facie case of obviousness of the claimed range, see also e.g. MPEP § 2144.05(I), reading on said limitation.
Regarding claims 11-12, Miki and Sakai are applied as provided supra, with the following modifications.
Still regarding independent claim 11, Miki teaches said electrode further comprising said plurality of solid electrolyte particles, which may have said composition of e.g. oxide-type noncrystalline solid electrolytes, such as Li2O—B2O3—P2O5, Li2O—SiO2, Li2O—B2O3, Li2O—B2O3—ZnO; and, crystalline oxides and oxynitrides, such as LiI, LiI—Al2O3, Li3N, Li3N—LiI—LiOH, Li1.3Al0.3Ti0.7(PO4)3, Li1+x+yAxTi2-xSiyP3-yO12 (A=Al or Ga, 0≤x≤0.4, 0<y≤0.6), [(B1/2Li1/2)1-zCz]TiO3 (B=La, Pr, Nd, Sm, C=Sr or Ba, 0≤x≤0.5), Li5La3Ta2O12, Li7La3Zr2O12, Li6BaLa2Ta2O12, Li3PO(4-3/2w)Nw (w<1), and Li3.6Si0.6P0.4O4 (e.g. supra), reading on “electrode material comprising: the composite active material according to claim 1; and a second solid electrolyte.”
Still regarding independent claim 12, Miki teaches said solid-state battery comprising said electrode (e.g. supra), wherein said battery further comprises an opposing positive/negative electrode and a solid electrolyte layer therebetween (e.g. ¶¶ 0034-27), reading on “battery comprising: a positive electrode; a negative electrode; and an electrolyte layer disposed between the positive electrode and the negative electrode, wherein at least one selected from the group consisting of the positive electrode and the negative electrode includes the electrode material according to claim 11.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yubuchi et al (US 2025/0149548);
Jang (US 2024/0429435);
Shimamoto et al (US 2024/0186499);
Yabe et al (US 2024/0136511);
Fujinoki (US 2022/0384813);
Choi et al (US 2022/0328823);
Kakiage et al (US 2023/0238511);
Kim et al (US 2022/0328835);
Furukawa et al (US 2022/0285674);
Sugimoto et al (US 2021/0143474);
Mitsumoto et al (US 2020/0194788);
Isono et al (US 2020/0099094);
Miki (US 2016/0268595);
Iwasaki (US 2016/0013479);
Iwasaki et al (US 2015/0372344); and,
Uchiyama (US 2015/0024280).
/YOSHITOSHI TAKEUCHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723