DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 12/05/2023. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/10/2024 and 12/5/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
As to claims 1-2 and 11-12 , which recites “converting the estimated power into --mapping power based on the slope parameter” which is unclear. It is unclear if the estimated power is converted based on the slope parameter or the adjusted slope parameter.
Claims 2-10 and 12-20 is/are included in this rejection due to their dependence on claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (CN103792489).
As to claim 1, Liu discloses a battery power displaying method, adapted to an electronic device comprising a battery module ([0004] [0025] and Fig. 5-11… To further address the issues of large display errors, uneven battery curves, and large fluctuations in the battery's charge level, after step one, the process may include one or more of the following: anti-rebound processing, slope limiting processing…), the battery power displaying method comprising: obtaining estimated power of the battery module (Fig. 5 [0057]-[0060][0085] Obtain battery measurement capacity…battery measurement capacity is determined according to the compensated Voltage); adjusting a slope parameter according to a charging and discharging state of the electronic device and the estimated power ([0026] and S2 Fig. 5 in the anti-rebound processing… when the battery is discharging…when the battery is charging.. the input power is used as the output power. [0086]-[0087]… the current displayed battery level value nm is used as the result of this step….the battery level after step S2 is further adjusted based on the currently displayed battery level….Based on the current charging and discharging state of the system and the status of the main power-consuming devices, a rate of change of power N (i.e slope) is calculated); converting the estimated power into mapping power based on the slope parameter ([0087] Fig. 5 … when the nin greater than nm, the result of step S2 is further adjusted according to the formula ((int) (nin-nm) /N + l) + nm further adjustment to the processing result of the step S2. [0099]-[0106] Before performing the slope limiting process, the output charge of step S2 is first loaded as the input charge nin for the slope limiting process.. S32, calculate the slope coefficient N .. Fig. 7 S33, the output quantity nQUt is nout = ((int) (nin (nm) /N + l) + nm…S36 the output quantity nQUt is nout = ((int) (nin-nm) /N-l) + nm… S37 assigns the input power value to the output power value.. [0089] S5, Power Filtering Process: The power obtained after the above steps is added to a smoothing filter queue, the earliest data in the queue is deleted, and then the average value is taken to calculate the final battery power.); and displaying the mapping power on a user interface ([0025]… The input power of the processing connected to step one is the measured power after processing in step one, and the output power of the last processing is used as the current displayed power of the battery in step two…[0089] S5, Power Filtering Process: The power obtained after the above steps is added to a smoothing filter queue, the earliest data in the queue is deleted, and then the average value is taken to calculate the final battery power. The processing result will then be used to update the displayed battery level.)
As to claim 2, Liu discloses battery power displaying method according to claim 1, wherein the estimated power is obtained by dividing a remaining capacity of the battery module by a full charge capacity of the battery module, and the step of converting the estimated power into the mapping power based on the slope parameter comprises: multiplying the full charge capacity by the slope parameter to obtain a parameter capacity; and dividing the remaining capacity by the parameter capacity to obtain the mapping power ( [0087]… when the nin greater than nm, the result of step S2 is further adjusted according to the formula ((int) (nin-nm) /N + l) + nm further adjustment to the processing result of the step S2. [0099]-[0106] Before performing the slope limiting process, the output charge of step S2 is first loaded as the input charge nin for the slope limiting process.. S32, calculate the slope coefficient N .. Fig. 7 S33, the output quantity nQUt is nout = ((int) (nin (nm) /N + l) + nm…S36 the output quantity nQUt is nout = ((int) (nin-nm) /N-l) + nm. The power ((nin-nm) or (nin (nm)) is divided by the slope “N”).
As to claim 11 Liu discloses an electronic device (calculating the battery power of a system, [0012] and Fig. Fig. 5-11), comprising: a battery module, comprising a battery cell group and a control circuit (measuring battery voltage), wherein the control circuit is configured to calculate estimated power of the battery module (Fig. 5 [0057]-[0060][0085] Obtain battery measurement capacity…battery measurement capacity is determined according to the compensated Voltage); a display device, configured to display a user interface ([0089] S5, Power Filtering Process: The power obtained after the above steps is added to a smoothing filter queue, the earliest data in the queue is deleted, and then the average value is taken to calculate the final battery power. The processing result will then be used to update the displayed battery level.); a memory, configured to store a programming command; and a processor, coupled to the battery module, the display device, and the memory and loading and executing the programming command ([0002] computer-automated measurement method for measuring and calculating battery charge.[0057] S11, the reference voltage of the battery is obtained by measuring the battery voltage using an ADC.) to: obtain the estimated power of the battery module from the control circuit (Fig. 5 [0057]-[0060][0085] Obtain battery measurement capacity…battery measurement capacity is determined according to the compensated Voltage); adjust a slope parameter according to a charging and discharging state of the electronic device and the estimated power ([0026] and S2 Fig. 5 in the anti-rebound processing… when the battery is discharging…when the battery is charging.. the input power is used as the output power. [0086]-[0087]… the current displayed battery level value nm is used as the result of this step….the battery level after step S2 is further adjusted based on the currently displayed battery level….Based on the current charging and discharging state of the system and the status of the main power-consuming devices, a rate of change of power N (i.e slope) is calculated); convert the estimated power into mapping power based on the slope parameter ([0087] Fig. 5 … when the nin greater than nm, the result of step S2 is further adjusted according to the formula ((int) (nin-nm) /N + l) + nm further adjustment to the processing result of the step S2. [0099]-[0106] Before performing the slope limiting process, the output charge of step S2 is first loaded as the input charge nin for the slope limiting process.. S32, calculate the slope coefficient N .. Fig. 7 S33, the output quantity nQUt is nout = ((int) (nin (nm) /N + l) + nm…S36 the output quantity nQUt is nout = ((int) (nin-nm) /N-l) + nm… S37 assigns the input power value to the output power value.. [0089] S5, Power Filtering Process: The power obtained after the above steps is added to a smoothing filter queue, the earliest data in the queue is deleted, and then the average value is taken to calculate the final battery power.); and display the mapping power on the user interface through the display device ([0025]… The input power of the processing connected to step one is the measured power after processing in step one, and the output power of the last processing is used as the current displayed power of the battery in step two…[0089] S5, Power Filtering Process: The power obtained after the above steps is added to a smoothing filter queue, the earliest data in the queue is deleted, and then the average value is taken to calculate the final battery power. The processing result will then be used to update the displayed battery level).
As to claim 12, Liu discloses the electronic device according to claim 11, wherein the estimated power is obtained by dividing a remaining capacity of the battery module by a full charge capacity of the battery module, the processor multiplies the full charge capacity by the slope parameter to obtain a parameter capacity and divides the remaining capacity by the parameter capacity to obtain the mapping power ( [0087]… when the nin greater than nm, the result of step S2 is further adjusted according to the formula ((int) (nin-nm) /N + l) + nm further adjustment to the processing result of the step S2. [0099]-[0106] Before performing the slope limiting process, the output charge of step S2 is first loaded as the input charge nin for the slope limiting process.. S32, calculate the slope coefficient N .. Fig. 7 S33, the output quantity nQUt is nout = ((int) (nin (nm) /N + l) + nm…S36 the output quantity nQUt is nout = ((int) (nin-nm) /N-l) + nm. The power ((nin-nm) or (nin (nm)) is divided by the slope “N”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 and 13-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and rewritten to overcome the 112 rejection above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding dependent claim 3, Although the prior art discloses a battery power displaying method, adapted to an electronic device comprising a battery module, the battery power displaying method comprising: obtaining estimated power of the battery module; adjusting a slope parameter according to a charging and discharging state of the electronic device and the estimated power; converting the estimated power into mapping power based on the slope parameter; and displaying the mapping power on a user interface, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the step of adjusting the slope parameter according to the charging and discharging state of the electronic device and the estimated power comprises: determining whether the battery module is being charged; when the battery module is not being charged, determining whether the battery module has been fully charged during a previous charging period; and when the battery module has been fully charged during the previous charging period, adjusting the slope parameter to a first slope.”
Regarding dependent claim 9, Although the prior art discloses a battery power displaying method, adapted to an electronic device comprising a battery module, the battery power displaying method comprising: obtaining estimated power of the battery module; adjusting a slope parameter according to a charging and discharging state of the electronic device and the estimated power; converting the estimated power into mapping power based on the slope parameter; and displaying the mapping power on a user interface, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the step of displaying the mapping power on the user interface comprises: obtaining a current average current of the battery module; determining a buffer time based on the average current; determining whether a variation amount of the mapping power in a unit time is greater than a threshold value; and if the variation amount of the mapping power in the unit time is determined as being greater than the threshold value, updating the mapping power displayed on the user interface by delaying the buffer time.”
Regarding dependent claim 13, Although the prior art discloses an electronic device, comprising: a battery module, comprising a battery cell group and a control circuit, wherein the control circuit is configured to calculate estimated power of the battery module; a display device, configured to display a user interface; a memory, configured to store a programming command; and a processor, coupled to the battery module, the display device, and the memory and loading and executing the programming command to: obtain the estimated power of the battery module from the control circuit; adjust a slope parameter according to a charging and discharging state of the electronic device and the estimated power; convert the estimated power into mapping power based on the slope parameter; and display the mapping power on the user interface through the display device, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the processor determines whether the battery module is being charged, when the battery module is not being charged, the processor determines whether the battery module has been fully charged during a previous charging period, and when the battery module has been fully charged during the previous charging period, the processor adjusts the slope parameter to a first slope.”
Regarding dependent claim 19, Although the prior art discloses an electronic device, comprising: a battery module, comprising a battery cell group and a control circuit, wherein the control circuit is configured to calculate estimated power of the battery module; a display device, configured to display a user interface; a memory, configured to store a programming command; and a processor, coupled to the battery module, the display device, and the memory and loading and executing the programming command to: obtain the estimated power of the battery module from the control circuit; adjust a slope parameter according to a charging and discharging state of the electronic device and the estimated power; convert the estimated power into mapping power based on the slope parameter; and display the mapping power on the user interface through the display device, the prior art of record does not disclose or teach the combination of:
“wherein the processor obtains a current average current of the battery module from the control circuit, determines a buffer time based on the average current, and determines whether a variation amount of the mapping power in a unit time is greater than a threshold value, and if the variation amount of the mapping power in the unit time is determined as being greater than the threshold value, the processor updates the mapping power displayed on the user interface through the display device by delaying the buffer time.”
As to claim 4-8,10 and 14-18, and 20 is also objected to as they include the allowable subject matter in claims 3,9, 13 and 19.
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Teng et al (US 20160146899) is cited for having [0033] In step S370, the calculating module 250 adjusts the capacity estimation value of the battery and coulometer capacity according to the weight value to calculate a displaying capacity of the battery of the battery 20.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859