DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 103160310 A (hereinafter “CN ’310”) in view of Noe (US 2010/0270213 A1) (hereinafter “Noe”).
CN ’310 teaches a composite solvent system for separation of aromatic hydrocarbons from
hydrocarbon mixtures, including refinery streams (e.g., naphtha, reformate). CN ’310 discloses
solvent systems comprising:
a main solvent selected from sulfolane, N-formylmorpholine (NFM), dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), or glycols;
a co-solvent selected from N-methylpyrrolidone (NMP) or dimethylformamide (DMF); and
an optional modifier (e.g., ethylene glycol or polyethylene glycol).
CN ’310 teaches that combining such solvents improves aromatics selectivity and solubility relative to conventional single-solvent systems and is suitable for aromatics separation in refinery operations. CN ’310 further teaches solvent-to-feed ratios and operating conditions within conventional extraction practice.
Noe teaches extractive distillation of aromatics from non-aromatic hydrocarbons using
aromatic-selective solvents, including sulfolane (tetramethylene sulfone) and other solvents
alone or in combination, such as DMSO, NMP, NFM, and glycols. Noe explicitly teaches:
extractive distillation columns for separating benzene, toluene, and xylenes from paraffinic/naphthenic hydrocarbons;
solvent-to-feed ratios ranging from about 1:1 to about 20:1;
operating temperatures spanning ranges that include about 125 °C to about 150 °C; and
that solvent selection and operating conditions are adjusted to achieve desired separation efficiency.
Although neither CN ’310 nor Noe explicitly quantifies octane-to-benzene relative volatility under the exact test conditions recited in claim 1, relative volatility between aromatic and non-aromatic hydrocarbons is a recognized measure of separation performance in extractive distillation, and temperature, feed composition, and solvent-to-feed ratio are known result-effective variables affecting such performance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of CN ’310 by combining the aromatics separation of CN’310 and Noe’s teaching of extractive distillation using those solvents under overlapping operating conditions, to evaluate and optimize the known solvent systems under different feed compositions, temperatures, and solvent-to-feed ratios to achieve improved separation performance relative to sulfolane, including the performance recited in claim 1.
The limitation “consisting essentially of” does not patentably distinguish the claim because any additional components disclosed in the references (e.g., modifiers or water used as process aids) are not shown to materially affect the basic and novel characteristics of the solvent mixture, namely its use for aromatics separation and associated separation performance.
Claim 2 (relative amounts of first and second solvents): CN ’310 teaches solvent composition ranges in which a main solvent is present in a majority amount and a co-solvent is present in a lesser amount, overlapping the claimed ranges. Selection of specific proportions would have been a matter of routine optimization.
Claim 3 (first solvent selected from DMSO, DFP, DMS, EMS): CN ’310 explicitly teaches DMSO as a main solvent for aromatics separation. Selection among known alternative solvents within the same class would have been obvious.
Claim 4 (second solvent selected from TMSO, GBL, furanone, NFM, DVL, NMP, propylene carbonate, DES, 3-MS): CN ’310 teaches NMP and NFM as co-solvents. Noe further teaches sulfolane derivatives and related solvents used in extractive distillation. Selection from these known solvents would have been obvious.
Claim 5 (additives): CN ’310 teaches optional modifiers (e.g., glycols), and Noe teaches use of water or other process aids. The use of additives such as stabilizers or inhibitors in solvent systems is well known.
Claim 6 (specific solvent combinations and ranges): These recite particular combinations and proportions of known solvents taught by CN ’310. Selecting specific combinations and ranges from among known options would have been obvious as a matter of routine experimentation.
Claim 7 recites a solvent mixture for extractive distillation consisting essentially of a base solvent (including sulfolane, NMP, NFM, DMF, glycols), first and second co-solvents, and optional additives, with improved separation performance relative to the base solvent.
CN ’310 teaches base solvents including sulfolane, NFM, DMSO, and glycols, with co-solvents such as NMP. Noe teaches extractive distillation using those same solvents, alone or in combination, under overlapping operating conditions.
Claims 8–12, which further limit solvent ratios, solvent selections, and additives, are unpatentable for the same reasons discussed above: the solvent species and their use in extractive distillation are taught by the references, and selection of specific ratios, combinations, and additives represents routine optimization of known systems.
CN ’310 provides the solvent identities and combinations suitable for aromatics separation, while Noe provides the extractive distillation context and teaches operating those solvents under conditions overlapping those recited in the claims.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of CN ’310 in the extractive distillation processes taught by Noe, with a reasonable expectation of success, because both references address the same problem of separating aromatic hydrocarbons from non-aromatics in refinery streams. Optimizing performance metrics such as relative volatility by adjusting known result-effective variables would have been obvious.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that CN ’310 is limited to liquid-liquid extraction (“LLE”) and therefore cannot reasonably suggest the claimed extractive distillation solvent systems. The argument is not persuasive. CN ’310 expressly teaches composite solvent systems for separating aromatic hydrocarbons from hydrocarbon mixtures utilizing the same classes of solvents recited in the instant claims, including sulfolane, dimethyl sulfoxide (DMSO), N-methylpyrrolidone (NMP), N-formylmorpholine (NFM), dimethylformamide (DMF), and glycol-derived modifiers. See CN ’310, page 3, lines corresponding to paragraphs [0006]-[0007], and page 4, paragraph [0007]. CN ’310 further teaches that the addition of co-solvents and modifiers increases solvent selectivity and solubility for aromatic hydrocarbons and improves aromatic separation efficiency. See page 4, paragraphs [0008]-[0011].
Although CN ’310 primarily discusses liquid-liquid extraction, CN ’310 also expressly discloses distillation operations, including stripping towers and solvent recovery towers operating at elevated temperatures. Specifically, CN ’310 discloses stripping tower temperatures of 150-175°C and solvent recovery tower temperatures of 170-180°C. See claim 3 and page 4, paragraph [0010]. Thus, Applicant’s argument that CN ’310 is limited solely to low-temperature liquid-phase systems is not consistent with the reference itself, which expressly teaches operation of associated solvent recovery/distillation equipment at temperatures overlapping those recited in the claims.
Applicant further argues that Noe relates only to water reflux management rather than solvent composition. The argument is not persuasive. Noe expressly teaches extractive distillation systems utilizing aromatic-selective solvents including tetramethylene sulfone (sulfolane), dimethylsulfoxide, N-methylpyrrolidone, N-formyl morpholine, glycols, and combinations thereof. See Noe, paragraph [0015]. Noe further teaches extractive distillation operating temperatures of about 50-170°C overhead and 70-260°C bottoms temperatures, including preferred bottoms temperatures of about 180-200°C, as well as solvent-to-feed ratios of about 1:1 to about 20:1 depending upon feed composition and column conditions. See Noe, paragraph [0018]. Accordingly, Noe teaches the use of the same solvent classes in extractive distillation environments operating at temperatures overlapping those recited in the instant claims.
Applicant argues that neither CN ’310 nor Noe expressly teaches the claimed “higher octane-to-benzene relative volatility than sulfolane” limitations under the recited feed compositions, temperatures, and solvent-to-feed ratios. However, the rejection does not rely upon an assertion that the references expressly disclose identical relative-volatility values or the exact COSMOS-RS modeling methodology described in the specification. Rather, the rejection relies upon the combined teachings that: (1) the references teach the same solvent species and solvent combinations recited in the claims; (2) the references teach their use for aromatic/non-aromatic hydrocarbon separation; and (3) the references teach operation under overlapping extractive distillation conditions.
Applicant’s argument that temperature, feed composition, and solvent-to-feed ratio affect only “column performance” rather than intrinsic relative volatility is not persuasive because Applicant’s own specification explains that relative-volatility behavior changes as feed composition, temperature, and solvent-to-feed ratio vary due to changes in phase equilibrium conditions. Thus, Applicant’s disclosure confirms that the claimed relative-volatility behavior depends upon known process variables. Optimization of recognized result-effective variables affecting a known separation property is ordinarily within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP §2144.05 and In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (CCPA 1955).
Moreover, the claimed solvent species themselves inherently possess the claimed separation characteristics. Claims 3 and 4 specify that the claimed “first solvent” and “second solvent” are selected from DMSO, DFP, DMS, EMS, TMSO, GBL, NMP, NFM, DES, DVL, and related solvents. CN ’310 and Noe expressly teach use of overlapping solvent species for aromatic extraction/separation processes. Because the claims define the first and second solvents by both identity and performance characteristics, disclosure of the same solvent species in the same type of aromatic/non-aromatic separation processes reasonably suggests the claimed solvent characteristics. The prior art need not expressly quantify the exact relative-volatility values where the claimed properties are inherent characteristics of the disclosed solvent systems when operated under suitable known process conditions.
Applicant additionally argues that the proposed combination would require substantial redesign and “undue experimentation.” The argument is not persuasive because both references are directed to the same field of endeavor, namely separation of aromatic hydrocarbons from non-aromatic hydrocarbons using aromatic-selective solvent systems in refinery processing. CN ’310 teaches specific solvent systems having improved aromatic selectivity, while Noe teaches extractive distillation implementation using the same classes of solvents under overlapping process conditions. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the solvent systems disclosed in CN ’310 within the extractive distillation systems taught by Noe in order to improve aromatic separation performance, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Applicant’s arguments regarding COSMOS-RS modeling and alleged discovery of VLE/VLLE phase-transition behavior are likewise not persuasive because the claims do not recite COSMOS-RS modeling, VLE/VLLE transitions, or any specific thermodynamic modeling methodology. The claims are directed to solvent systems characterized by separation performance under specified conditions. Discovering or explaining the thermodynamic mechanism underlying an otherwise obvious solvent system does not render the claimed subject matter nonobvious.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771