DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 8, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Min et al. (US Pub. 20230070925).
Regarding claim 1, Min et al. discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 8, paragraph [0038], [0059]-[0060], [0069], [0103], [0105], [0137]-[0139], a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first nanosheet transistor device [ transistor with active patterns AP1];
a second nanosheet transistor device [transistor with active patterns AP2];
a dielectric gate cut structure [160] between and electrically isolating the first nanosheet transistor device [transistor with active patterns AP1] from the second nanosheet transistor device [transistor with active patterns AP2], wherein a first portion [160U] of the dielectric gate cut structure [160] comprises a positive tapered profile, and a second portion [160B] of the dielectric gate cut structure [160] comprises a negative tapered profile.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Min et al. discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 8, paragraph [0053]
wherein the second portion [160B] of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure is embedded within a shallow trench isolation region [105].
Regarding claim 8, Min et al. discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 8, paragraph [0038], [0059]-[0060], [0069], [0103], [0105], [0137]-[0139], a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first nanosheet stack [active patterns AP1];
a second nanosheet stack [active patterns AP2];
a self-aligned gate cut structure [160] between and electrically isolating a first gate [120] associated with the first nanosheet stack [AP1] and a second gate [220] associated with the second nanosheet stack [AP2], wherein a first portion [160U] of the self-aligned gate cut structure [160] comprises a positive tapered profile, and a second portion [160B] of the self-aligned gate cut structure [160] comprises a negative tapered profile.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US Pub. 20230070925) as applied to claim 1 and claim 8 above and further in view of Jeon et al. (US Pub. 20190378903)
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Min et al. fails to disclose in embodiment of Fig. 8
an air gap embedded within the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure.
However, Min et al. discloses in Fig. 17, paragraph [0164]
an air gap [AG] embedded within the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure [160].
Jeon et al. discloses in Fig. 2,
an air gap [180] embedded within the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure [170].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jeon et al. into the method of Min et al. to include an air gap embedded within the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Min et al. in the above manner for the purpose of improve an insulation effect of the gate isolation layer [paragraph [0039] of Jeon et al.].
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US Pub. 20230070925) as applied to claim 1 and claim 8 above and further in view of Do et al. (US Pub. 20220328408)
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Min et al. fails to disclose
signal lines directly above the dielectric/ self-aligned gate cut structure in a cell boundary.
Do et al. discloses in Fig. 10E, paragraph [0026], [0034], [0042], [0114], [0115], [0141]
signal lines [M1_I1 to M1_I4] directly above the dielectric/ self-aligned gate cut structure [CT] in a cell boundary.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Do et al. into the method of Min et al. to include signal lines directly above the dielectric/ self-aligned gate cut structure in a cell boundary. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Min et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing routing lines for connecting one cell with another cells [paragraph [0114]-[0115] of Do et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US Pub. 20230070925) as applied to claim 1 and claim 8 above and further in view of Su et al. (US Pub. 20220262915).
Regarding claims 4 and 11, Min et al. fails to disclose
a source drain contacts above and directly contacting a source drain region, wherein the source drain contact extends laterally into the dielectric/ self-aligned gate cut structure.
However, Min et al. discloses in paragraph [0136] “[a]lthough not shown, a via plug and/or a wiring line, which will be connected to the source/drain patterns 150, 250”.
Su et al. discloses in Fig. 12A-12B, 13A-B, 14A-B, 15A-B, paragraph [0024], [0035]-[0037]
a source drain contact [260] above and directly contacting a source drain region [230], wherein the source drain contact [260] extends laterally into the dielectric/ self-aligned gate cut structure [244-1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Su et al. into the method of Min et al. to include a source drain contact above and directly contacting a source drain region, wherein the source drain contact extends laterally into the dielectric/ self-aligned gate cut structure. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Min et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable configuration of source drain contact be connected to the source/drain patterns [Paragraph [0024] of SU et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US Pub. 20230070925) as applied to claim 1 and claim 8 above and further in view of Cheng et al. (US Pub. 20220139914)
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Min et al. fails to disclose
wherein the second portion of the dielectric/ self-aligned gate cut structure directly contacts a portion of a backside contact structure.
Cheng et al. discloses in Fig. 32A, Fig. 32B, paragraph [0042], [0046]-[0047],
wherein the second portion of the dielectric/ self-aligned gate cut structure [298] directly contacts a portion of a backside contact structure [306 and/or 314].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Cheng et al. into the method of Min et al. to include wherein the second portion of the dielectric/ self-aligned gate cut structure directly contacts a portion of a backside contact structure. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Min et al. in the above manner for the purpose of increasing the number of metal tracks available in the workpiece for directly connecting to source/drain contacts and vias, including the backside self-aligned source/drain contact [paragraph [0047] of Cheng et al.].
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US Pub. 20230070925) as applied to claim 1 above
Regarding claims 7 and 14, Min et al. fails to discloses in Fig. 8
wherein a smallest width of the second portion of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure is greater than a smallest width of the first portion of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure.
However, Min et al. suggests in Fig. 8-Fig. 14
a smallest width of the second portion [160B] of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure and a smallest width of the first portion [160U] of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure can be adjusted.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for a smallest width of the second portion of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure with respect to a smallest width of the first portion of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure: a smallest width of the second portion of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure is greater than/is less than/is equal to a smallest width of the first portion of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try wherein a smallest width of the second portion of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure is greater than a smallest width of the first portion of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure to yield a suitable smallest width of the second portion of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure with respect to a smallest width of the first portion of the dielectric/self-aligned gate cut structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US Pub. 20230070925) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20240079467)
Regarding claim 15, Min et al. discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 8, paragraph [0038], [0059]-[0060], [0069], [0103], [0105], [0137]-[0139], a semiconductor structure comprising:
first set of nanosheet channels [AP1] surrounded by a first gate structure [120];
second set of nanosheet channels [AP2] surrounded by a second gate structure [220];
a self-aligned gate cut structure between and electrically isolating the first gate structure [120] from the second gate structure [220].
Min et al. fails to disclose
wherein a topmost surface of the second portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure is substantially flush with topmost surfaces of adjacent shallow trench isolation regions.
However, Min et al. appears to discloses in Fig. 17 and Fig. 19 that a topmost surface of the second portion [160B] of the self-aligned gate cut structure [160] or a bottommost surface of the first portion [160U] of the self-aligned gate cut structure [160] can be varied.
Min et al. also discloses a topmost surface of the second portion [160B] of the self-aligned gate cut structure [160] and a bottommost surface of the first portion [160U] of the self-aligned gate cut structure are same level.
Kim discloses in Fig. 5
a topmost surface of the second portion [portion of 170 in the trench isolation regions 107b] of the self-aligned gate cut structure [170 and 180] a bottommost surface of the first portion [180] of the self-aligned gate cut structure [170 and 180] is substantially flush with topmost surfaces of adjacent shallow trench isolation regions [107b].
Kim further discloses in Fig. 3-Fig. 5
a topmost surface of the second portion [170] of the self-aligned gate cut structure [170 and 180] or a bottommost surface of the first portion [180] of the self-aligned gate cut structure [170 and 180] can be varied.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kim into the method of Min et al. to include wherein a topmost surface of the second portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure is substantially flush with topmost surfaces of adjacent shallow trench isolation regions. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Min et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable location of a topmost surface of the second portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure.
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for a topmost surface of the second portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure with respect to topmost surfaces of adjacent shallow trench isolation regions: a topmost surface of the second portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure is substantially flush with/is higher than/is lower than topmost surfaces of adjacent shallow trench isolation regions. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try a topmost surface of the second portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure is substantially flush with topmost surfaces of adjacent shallow trench isolation regions to yield a suitable location of a topmost surface of the second portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19, Min et al. discloses in Fig. 3, Fig. 8, paragraph [0053]
wherein the second portion [160B] of the self-aligned gate cut structure is embedded within a shallow trench isolation region [105].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US Pub. 20230070925) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20240079467) as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of Jeon et al. (US Pub. 20190378903)
Regarding claim 16, Min et al. fails to disclose in embodiment of Fig. 8
an air gap embedded within the self-aligned gate cut structure.
However, Min et al. discloses in Fig. 17, paragraph [0164]
an air gap [AG] embedded within the self-aligned gate cut structure [160].
Jeon et al. discloses in Fig. 2,
an air gap [180] embedded within the self-aligned gate cut structure [170].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Jeon et al. into the method of Min et al. to include an air gap embedded within the self-aligned gate cut structure. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Min et al. in the above manner for the purpose of improve an insulation effect of the gate isolation layer [paragraph [0039] of Jeon et al.].
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US Pub. 20230070925) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20240079467) as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of Do et al. (US Pub. 20220328408)
Regarding claim 17, Min et al. fails to disclose
signal lines directly above the self aligned gate cut structure in a cell boundary.
Do et al. discloses in Fig. 10E, paragraph [0026], [0034], [0042], [0114], [0115], [0141]
signal lines [M1_I1 to M1_I4] directly above the self-aligned gate cut structure [CT] in a cell boundary.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Do et al. into the method of Min et al. to include signal lines directly above the self-aligned gate cut structure in a cell boundary. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Min et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing routing lines for connecting one cell with another cells [paragraph [0114]-[0115] of Do et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US Pub. 20230070925) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20240079467) as applied to claim 15 above and further in view of Su et al. (US Pub. 20220262915).
Regarding claim 18, Min et al. fails to disclose
a source drain contacts above and directly contacting a source drain region, wherein the source drain contact extends laterally into the self-aligned gate cut structure.
However, Min et al. discloses in paragraph [0136] “[a]lthough not shown, a via plug and/or a wiring line, which will be connected to the source/drain patterns 150, 250”.
Su et al. discloses in Fig. 12A-12B, 13A-B, 14A-B, 15A-B, paragraph [0024], [0035]-[0037]
a source drain contact [260] above and directly contacting a source drain region [230], wherein the source drain contact [260] extends laterally into the self-aligned gate cut structure [244-1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Su et al. into the method of Min et al. to include a source drain contact above and directly contacting a source drain region, wherein the source drain contact extends laterally into the self-aligned gate cut structure. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Min et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable configuration of source drain contact be connected to the source/drain patterns [Paragraph [0024] of SU et al.]. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US Pub. 20230070925) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20240079467) as applied to claim 15 above
Regarding claim 20, Min et al. fails to discloses in Fig. 8
wherein a smallest width of the second portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure is greater than a smallest width of the first portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure.
However, Min et al. suggests in Fig. 8-Fig. 14
a smallest width of the second portion [160B] of the self-aligned gate cut structure and a smallest width of the first portion [160U] of the self-aligned gate cut structure can be adjusted.
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for a smallest width of the second portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure with respect to a smallest width of the first portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure: a smallest width of the second portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure is greater than/is less than/is equal to a smallest width of the first portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try wherein a smallest width of the second portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure is greater than a smallest width of the first portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure to yield a suitable smallest width of the second portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure with respect to a smallest width of the first portion of the self-aligned gate cut structure with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art discloses similar materials, devices and methods.
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893