Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 35, 2-16, and 18-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
“[S]ilica-like” is indefinite, as it is not clear what characteristic(s) present in silica that the claimed partial silica-like network should also possess. On the other hand, the Specification clearly states Q-type units to be “silica-like” and that the claimed coating should have a certain proportion of Q-type units and other types of units (e.g. T-type, D-type, and M-type). (See Spec. ¶¶ 0309-0310, 0359, and 0367). For prior art rejection below, this is taken to mean the presence of Q-type structure.
As claims 35, 2-16, and 18-30 depend on claim 1, and as the respective limitations of the dependent claims do not resolve the aforementioned issue in claim 1, claims 35, 2-16, and 18-30 are also held to be rejected.
Claims 35, 2-16, and 18-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 35 further requires the presence of an alkyl silane in the fluorine-free anti-fingerprint coating. This is indefinite, because alkyl silane is the precursor material used, whereas the actual transformed product is one missing various hydrolysable moieties found in the alkyl silane but otherwise having the hydrolysable moieties transformed as to form condensed siloxane linkages with other Si atoms (e.g. with the structure having Q-type structure).
As claim 2-16, and 18-30 depend on claim 35, and as the respective limitations of the dependent claims do not resolve the aforementioned issue in claim 35, claims 35, 2-16, and 18-30 also held to be rejected.
Requirement for Information
Under the authority provided under MPEP 704.10 and 37 CFR 1.105, Examiner hereby requires Applicant to submit the following:
a) explanation of how the claimed Si-(OSi)/Si ratio can be calculated from the 29Si NMR spectrum shown in Fig. 21;
-b) full FT-IR spectrum for the cropped spectrum shown in Fig. 15. This full spectrum should extend upwards to ~ 4000 cm-1 and have various salient peaks labeled;
-c) 29Si NMR spectrum for partially cured PHPS and calculation for its Si-(OSi)/Si ratio for this partially cured PHPS;
-d) full FT-IR spectrum for partially cured PHPS. This full spectrum should span between ~800 to ~ 4000 cm-1 and have various salient peaks labeled; and
-e) calculation of the claimed ratio of (Si-O-Si) bonds to Si atom for each of the entries in Table I of the Instant Application.
Such a submission of data is necessary to assess how various claimed subject matters are determined and to aid comprehension of the subject matter disclosed. Furthermore, as various claimed properties are extracted from these data sought in this Request, this requirement is not deemed unduly burdensome.
Applicant’s response is not found persuasive, as some of the calculations form necessary parts of the claimed subject matter (e.g. item a) mentioned above). This is particularly the case for item a), as Applicant applies some type of fitting to extract separate peaks from overlapped and coalesced signals that appear in the 29Si NMR spectrum, yet how Applicant effected this is not at all clear.
Objection to the Drawings
Various graphs (including NMR and FT-IR spectroscopic data) are objected, as they are missing respective chart titles, axes titles, and units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over WO 2024/104972 A1 (“Shelemin”, fully supported by European Application 22315287.7 filed on 14 November 2022).
Considering claim 1, Shelemin discloses a transparent substrate coated with a multilayered film, wherein the multilayered film comprises, in the sequence listed from the substrate, an anti-abrasion and/or anti-scratch coating, an interferential coating containing a so-called layer A, and a hydrophobic and/or oleophobic coating, wherein the interferential coating is an anti-reflective coating having high refractive index layers alternating with low refractive index layers, and wherein the outermost low refractive index layer is the so-called layer A according to the inventive procedure set forth in the reference. (Shelemin pg. 5 line 20 to pg. 6 line 28 and pg. 18 line 26-29). In particular examples, such a sequence of alternating high (ZrO2) and low (SiO2 except for the outermost layer) is deposited on a clear substrate, with its outermost layer made of layer A. (Id. pg. 22 Example 8). Furthermore, various examples having the inventive outermost layer made of “layer A” are deposited on a glass substrate. (Id. pg. 19 line 16-20). Shelemin is analogous art, for it is directed to the same field of endeavor as that of the instant application (silicon oxide based coatings for transparent substrates).
Aforementioned “layer A” (inventive coating of the reference) is disclosed to be made by deposition of a precursor polysilsequioxane material, wherein the deposition is carried out by applying ion bombardment to the deposited precursor material to form the finalized product in the form of “layer A”; phrased differently the deposition process used in Shelemin is ion assisted deposition. (Id. pg. 8 line 26-33). Shelemin discloses respective results from a) subjecting the same precursor silsesquioxane composition to ion bombardment (Examples 1-7, in particular Ex. 1) and b) depositing the same precursor silsesquioxane composition by evaporation but without ion bombardment (Comp. Ex. 1). In particular, Shelemin notes that in the comparative example, by merely evaporating the silsesquioxane composition (and without subjecting the composition to ion bombardment), the resulting deposited film is largely made of the starting silsesquioxane composition. (Id. pg. 22 line 28 to pg. 23 line 2). In contrast, by subjecting the starting silsesquioxane composition to ion beam bombardment, the resulting deposited film exhibits 1) reduced intensity of and broadening of peaks characteristics of various moieties found in the starting silsesquioxane composition and 2) simultaneous presence of an absorption band at ~1050 cm-1 that is characteristic of Si-O-Si network structure. (Id. pg. 23 line 3-15, Table 1, and Fig. 1, with Fig. 1 reproduced infra, with particular emphasis for Ex. 1 of Shelemin).
It is noted that the phenomenon disclosed in Shelemin (in particular re: the transformation of the silsesquioxane when subject to ion bombardment, and with the product showing a FT-IR peak indicative of presence of Si-O-Si network structure) is the same operative mechanism described in the Instant Application. (Compare entries in Table 1 of Shelemin (in particular Ex. 1 and Comp Ex.1 thereof) with Table 1 of the Instant Application; and compare Fig. 1 of Shelemin with Fig. 15 of the Instant Application, both reproduced infra). In particular, trace 1505 the Instant Application (which also shows the phenomenon observed for Comp. Ex. 1 of Shelemin) shows that when the deposition is carried out without ion bombardment, the cage structure present in precursor silsesquioxane is left intact (as evidenced by peak at ~ 1105 cm-1). (Inst. Spec. ¶ 0359 and traces 1505 and 1515 in Fig. 15.). This peak is comparable to the FT-IR peak for the silsesquioxane cage structure present in the FT-IR for Comp. Ex. 1 of Shelemin. In particular, the Instant Application states: (emphases added)
Returning to FIG. 15, curves 1507, 1509, and 1511 correspond to Examples A-C, respectively. As shown, curves 1507, 1509, and 1511 have large peaks from about 1000 cm−1 to about 1060 cm−1 that is not present to this extent in curve 1505 or 1515. This peak is attributed to the formation of Q-type (i.e., silica-like) Si—O—Si bonds, which demonstrates that the ion beam treatment transforms the OV-POSS. Indeed, the intensity of the peak around 1105 cm−1 decreases going from curve 1505 to curve 1507 to curve 1509 to curve 1511. This demonstrates that the ion-beam treatment at least partially disrupts the cage structure, for example, by transforming T-type structures into Q-type structures. Also, the greater fraction of oxygen in the chamber (and thus in the ion beam) is associated with greater disruption of the T-type structures.
As such, the Instant Application acknowledges that only by subjecting a silsesquioxane starting composition to ion beam bombardment, does a deposited film possess a Si-O-Si network with characteristic absorption band at ~1000 to ~1060 cm-1 and decrease of peaks associated with the starting silsesquioxane material. This phenomenon is clearly shown in the case of Ex. 1 of Shelemin and for at least Ex. A and B of the Instant Application.
Fig. 1 of Shelemin
Fig. 15 from Instant Application.
A comparison of the respective cited sections from Shelemin and the Instant Application, in particular re: pertinent and dispositive phenomena such as preservation of cage structure of silsesquioxane deposited without ion bombardment and the concurrent 1) diminishing of peaks attributable to the silsesquioxane (including cage structure found only in silsesquioxane) and 2) presence of a new peak attributable so Si-O-Si network when deposition is carried out with ion bombardment, clearly show that the inventive concept of Shelemin is effectively the same as the one disclosed in the Instant Application, and that the inventive concept of the Instant Application is the indispensable process for yielding a film having the claimed properties recited in the Instant Application.
Furthermore, Shelemin expressly discloses usage of a POSS starting material that is the same as the one used in the Instant Application (viz. OV-POSS). (See molecule II on pg. 14 of Shelemin). As such, even the starting silsesquioxane used in the Instant Application is disclosed with sufficient specificity in Shelemin. Although Shelemin does not provide the claimed characterization via NMR, Applicant is reminded that absence of characterization of a product by a particular method is not per se sufficient to show absence of disclosure of the product, when the cited prior art discloses many substantial and dispositive similarities, including a) usage of the same deposition process of subjecting a POSS precursor material to ion bombardment during deposition, b) usage of even the same precursor material, c) the same end goal of transforming POSS precursor into a deposited material having both cage structure and Si-O-Si network structure (viz. same inventive concept), and d) substantial similar properties such as elastic modulus on the orders of tens of GPa and substantially similar absorption peaks shown via FT-IR. Furthermore, more broadly, even deposition conditions re: current application (e.g. ~1 A) and optional amount of oxygen used (0.1 to 5 vol%) are substantially similar to conditions used in the Instant Application. (Shelemin pg. 9 line 24-34).
As such, with the many substantial and dispositive similarities between Shelemin and the Instant Application, despite the absence of characterization of the product of Shelemin via NMR, it can be concluded on the bases of the aforementioned substantial and dispositive similarities that an article produced according to the method of Shelemin anticipates or renders obvious the article recited in claim 1. With the only nominal deficiency being characterization via a spectroscopic method (while FT-IR, another spectroscopic method common to Shelemin and the Instant Application showing substantial similarities), the principle of substantially similar products (in particular formed from substantially similar starting material using substantially similar methods) exhibiting substantially similar properties (e.g. when characterized by 29Si-NMR) applies. Shelemin thus anticipates or renders obvious claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 35, 2-16, and 18-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelemin, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. 2015/0090026 A1 (“Imae”).
Considering claims 35, 2, 4, and 5, Shelemin discloses that its layer A has a thickness of 20 to 250 nm and refractive index less than 1.55. (Shelemin pg. 8 line 26-28 and pg. 16 line 22-24). Shelemin further discloses that additional hydrophobic layer having thickness of 1 to 10 nm can be present over its layer A. (Id. pg. 18 line 19-29). Shelemin cites two references regarding these additional layers, and it is clear that both types of layers are formed by condensing a respective silane precursor onto an underlying material that can condense with silane. It is noted that layer A of Shelemin contains moieties that can condense with other silanes.
Shelemin differs from the claimed invention, as the references incorporated therein discloses usage of only fluorinated silanes. However, in the art of hydrophobic coatings formed from silanes, it is known that long chain alkylsilanes for hydrophobic effects as to produce a coating exhibiting anti-fingerprint characteristics. (Imae abs.) In particular, Imae notes that higher cost of production and environmental externalities are both detriments of using a fluorosilane, and that its coatings, formed instead with long chain alkylsilanes such as octadecyltrimethoxysilane (ODS) per se or alternatively in conjunction with trimethoxymethylsilane (TMS), have water contact angle largely comparable to that of coating produced from fluorinated silane (evaluated by depositing the respective coatings are on planar glass). (Imae Table 1). Furthermore, both ODS per se and ODS used in conjunction with TMS exhibits low hexadecane contact angles. (Id). Given the substantial similarities in how such coatings are formed on a substrate (regardless of exact chemical composition, both fluorosilanes and long chain alkylsilane bond to respective SiO moieties on a substrate and condenses with other silanes), person of ordinary skill in the art has reasonable expectation of success that the long chain alkylsilanes such as ODS can be used in place of fluorosilanes. It would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention, to have utilized long chain alkylsilanes in lieu of fluorosilanes for the reasons discussed in Imae. (Imae ¶ 0007).
Considering claims 3, 23, and 24, it is noted that Shelemin expressly discloses that improvement in hardness and elastic modulus are due to the IAD process used when depositing the precursor POSS material. (Shelemin pg. 22 line 9-16). Furthermore, Shelemin discloses that elastic modulus and haredness of its layer A are 15 to 80 GPa and upwards of 0.15x elastic modulus (12 GPa), respectively. As such, at least the layer A portion of the combination of layer A and hydrophobic top layer meets the required ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. (See In re Wertheim, 191 USPQ 90, In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, and In re Peterson, 65 USPQ2d 1379; MPEP § 2144.05).
Furthermore, given the substantially similar method of forming the layers, including starting materials used (POSS and long chain alkylsilane), specific technique of deposition, and thickness of the respective layers, it stands to reason that the substantial similar coating structure of Shelemin and Imae would also exhibit the claimed properties.
Considering claim 6, as “bond[ing]” as defined in the specification allows for bonding via an intermediary, usage of APTES (as taught in Imae) reads on claim 6.
Considering claim 7, as OV-POSS deposited under IAD conditions is shown to possess silanol groups, and as OV-POSS and the IAD process used to deposit OV-POSS are disclosed in Shelemin, it follows that the layer A in Shelemin deposited from OV-POSS precursor under IAD condition would also contain silanol groups.
Considering claims 16, 18, 22, 25, 26, 29, and 30, Shelemin is as discussed in ¶¶ 14-17 above. It is noted that the multilayered structure disclosed reads on that of claims 2, 16, 18, 22, 25, and 26, as the multilayered structure comprises an anti-abrasion and/or anti-scratch coating having thickness of 100 – 200 nm, an interferential coating containing a so-called layer A, and a hydrophobic and/or oleophobic coating, wherein the interferential coating is an anti-reflective coating having high refractive index layers alternating with low refractive index layers, wherein the total number of high index layers and low index layers is six, and wherein the high index layers can be made of Nb2O5 and low index layers can be made of SiO2. (Shelemin pg. 5 line 20 to pg. 6 line 28 and pg. 18 line 26-29). Shelemin further discloses that the multilayered structurecan be deposited on clear glass substrates used as a cover glass or in a glazing unit, and with specific deposition of the coatings on crown glass B270. (Shelemin pg. 4 line 5-11, pg. 19 line 14-20. As such the limitations of claims 29 and 30 are met.
Considering claims 19-21, the multilayered structure of Shelemin and Imae have the requisite thickness, as the total of the alternating HI/LI anti-reflective layer and layer A is less than 500 nm and with the hydrophobic layer having thickness ~ 10 nm. (Id. pg. 6 line 18-21).
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelemin and Imae, as applied to claim 35 above, and optionally further in view of U.S. 2018/0296775 A1 (“Frache”).
Considering claims 8-15, it is noted that ODS has water contact angle of 87° and hexadecane contact angle of 0° when deposited on flat glass. (Imae Table 1). In the instant Application, when the same material is deposited on the surface of the layer formed by depositing POSS under ion bombardment, the corresponding material exhibits water contact angle of at least 97°. Given the substantially similar method of forming the layers, including starting materials used (POSS and long chain alkylsilane), specific technique of deposition, and thickness of the respective layers, it stands to reason that the substantial similar coating structure of Shelemin and Imae would also exhibit the claimed properties.
Alternatively, it is also known in the art that various C8-C12 n-alkyltrialkoxysilane exhibits high water contact angle on planar glass, with each of octyltriethoxysilane, decyltriethoxysilane, and dodecyltriethoxysilane each cured to form a respective coating exhibiting contact angle of ~108°, and only slightly inferior to the ~110° exhibited by a coating formed from curing tridecafluorooctyltriethoxysilane. (Frache Tables 20 and 21). Given the general desirability of a coating exhibiting higher water contact angle, and given the particularly high contact angle exhibited by C8-C12 n-alkyltrialkoxysilanes such as the ones mentioned in Frache, it would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention, to have used any one of these C8-C12 n-alkyltrialkoxysilanes to form the hydrophobic layer placed over layer A in Shelemin. The resulting product, being produced in a manner substantially similar to that used in the Instant Application, including starting materials used (POSS and long chain alkylsilane), specific technique of deposition, and thickness of the respective layers, is considered to possess the various properties recited in claims 8-15.
Claims 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shelemin and Imae, as applied to claim 35 above, and optionally further in view of U.S. 2020/0408954 A1 (“Koch”). Alternatively, claims 1, 35, 27, and 28 are rejected over Koch in view of Shelemin and Imae.
Considering claims 27 and 28, although Shelemin contemplates providing its multilayered coating structure to a protective cover glass, Shelemin is silent re: a cover glass substrate having a textured surface. However, in the art of anti-reflective coatings for cover glasses, it is known to provide a multilayered coating structure having an alternating HI/LI anti-reflective coating and an anti-fingerprint layer onto a glass substrate having a textured surface. (Koch ¶¶ 0043-0046 and 0140). As such, it would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention, to have placed the multilayered coating structure of Shelemin and Imae on a textured glass substrate, as this is well-known. Alternatively, it would have been obvious, to a person of ordinary skill at the time of the claimed invention, to use the multilayered coating structure of Shelemin and Imae as the uppermost LI layer and anti-fingerprint layer in the coated textured glass substrate of Koch, for the increased mechanical properties discussed above.
Double Patenting Rejection
Claims 1, 35, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 6-9 of copending Application No. 18/932,938 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the aforementioned claims of the ‘938 reference recites all limitations recited in claims 1, 35, and 18 of the Instant Application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant mere provides respective negation statements without providing any articulated rationale in response to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and the prior art rejections relying upon at least Shelemin. (See pg. 2 ¶ 8+ and pg. 3 ¶ 5+ of the response filed 2 March 2026). Applicant did not even acknowledge the double patenting rejection. As any persuasive argument must necessarily be articulated, Applicant’s mere gainsaying and failure to even address a line of rejection means that there is no bona fide argument provided, and Applicant’s mere remarks are not persuasive.
Concluding Remarks
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z. Jim Yang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781