DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the embodiment wherein the insertion section is spear-like of claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US 7237455).
1. Taylor teaches an assembly (400), comprising:
a primary bottle stop remover (410) comprising a handle (416) comprising a gripping part (top of 416 is capable of being gripped, see Taylor fig. 4), at least two legs (412, 414) each comprising a first end and a second opposite end (Taylor fig. 4), the first end of each respective leg being fixed to the handle at correspondingly different positions that are spaced apart by a distance d1 between the different positions (see Taylor fig. 4), and
a secondary bottle stop remover (300) comprising a handle section (318) and an insertion section (312) configured for insertion into or through a bottle stop in a bottle neck for removal of the bottle stop from the bottle neck (Taylor fig. 3 and 4:6-38).
Taylor further teaches that the secondary bottle stop remover comprises straight through-going openings (320, 322) configured to receive the two legs (Taylor fig. 3 and 4:6-38) such that the legs pass on either side of the insertion section (see Taylor figs. 3-4).
Taylor does not teach that the handle comprises a straight through-going opening extending between a first opening and a second opening where the first opening is positioned at an outer surface between the at least two legs and the second opening is positioned at an opposite outer surface of the handle, or that the secondary bottle stop remover comprises an insertion section with an outer diameter smaller than an inner diameter of the straight through-going opening of the primary bottle stop remover and configured for insertion into or through a bottle stop in a bottle neck for removal of the bottle stop from the bottle neck, and the insertion section is configured for insertion into the straight through-going opening of the primary bottle stop remover.
However, it has been held that a reversal of the working parts of a device is an obvious modification involving only routine skill in the art. In re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955).
It would consequently have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Taylor by reversing primary and secondary bottle stop removers of Taylor, where such a reversal would result in the primary bottle stop remover being positioned below the secondary bottle stop remover and the handle of the primary bottle stop remover including a hole for the insertion of the secondary bottle stop remover such that the handle comprised a straight through-going opening extending between a first opening and a second opening where the first opening is positioned at an outer surface between the at least two legs and the second opening is positioned at an opposite outer surface of the handle (such a hole would be the reversal of the two holes 320, 322 for receiving the legs, see Taylor figs. 3-4), and the secondary bottle stop remover comprising an insertion section with an outer diameter smaller than an inner diameter of the straight through-going opening of the primary bottle stop remover and configured for insertion into or through a bottle stop in a bottle neck for removal of the bottle stop from the bottle neck, and the insertion section is configured for insertion into the straight through-going opening of the primary bottle stop remover.
2. Taylor as modified teaches the assembly according to claim 1, wherein a surface of the handle section of the secondary bottle stop remover faces a corresponding surface of the handle of the primary bottle stop remover and the surface of the handle section and the corresponding surface of handle fit or correspond to each other (Taylor teaches that protruding handle section 418 of the pronged section should fit into handle section cavity 324 of the corkscrew section, see Taylor figs. 3-4 and 4:6-38; reversing the parts to modify Taylor as described would have resulted in the protrusion and cavity reversing but would still have the surfaces of the handles correspond to each other).
3. Taylor as modified teaches the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the through-going opening comprises internal guiding means (the inner walls of the opening would be capable of guiding the insertion section in a relatively linear direction, with the effectiveness of the guiding being a function of the closeness of fit created by the manufacturing tolerances of the opening and insertion section).
4. Taylor as modified teaches the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the handle comprises an extension part that during use is positioned between the gripping part and the bottle stop in the bottle neck (lower portion of handle 410 includes a part that extends downward from the handle, see Taylor fig. 4).
5. Taylor as modified teaches the assembly according to claim 4, but does not explicitly teach that the extension part is shaped like a cylinder or like a truncated cone having a round or rounded perimeter with a length that is constant or that varies along a length of the extension part.
However, it has been held that the particular shape of a design element is a matter of obvious design choice absent some sort of persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed element was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
The disclosure assigns no particular significance for the shape of the extension part. It would have therefore been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the shape of the extension part of Taylor such that it was shaped like a cylinder or like a truncated cone having a round or rounded perimeter with a length that is constant or that varies along a length of the extension part, as doing so would have been a matter of obvious design choice.
6. Taylor as modified teaches the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the through-going opening is centralized relative to the at least two legs (Taylor teaches that the corkscrew should be centered relative to the two legs, see Taylor fig. 4; reversing the parts would result in a central opening for inserting the corkscrew rather than two openings centered on the corkscrew for the legs).
7. Taylor as modified teaches the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the insertion section is helical and configured for turning into or through the bottle stop (corkscrew 316 is helical, See Taylor fig. 3)
8. Taylor as modified teaches the assembly according to claim 1, wherein the assembly of the primary bottle stop remover and the secondary bottle stop remover is configured for removal of the bottle stop, the primary bottle stop remover is configured for removal of the bottle stop by itself, and the secondary bottle stop remover is configured for removal of the bottle stop by itself (each of the pronged portion, corkscrew, and combination of the two would be independently capable of removing a bottle stop).
9. Taylor as modified teaches the assembly according to claim 2, wherein the assembly of the primary bottle stop remover and the secondary bottle stop remover is configured for removal of the bottle stop or the secondary bottle stop remover is configured for removal of the bottle stop by itself (each of the pronged portion and corkscrew would be independently capable of removing a bottle stop).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.R.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/JOEL D CRANDALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3723