DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-12, 14, 20-21, 24, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2014/0327390, hereinafter “Park”).
Claim 1: Park discloses a wireless electronics device (Figs.2-3A), comprising:
an antenna (100) configured to receive a radio frequency signal (see [0051]);
a frequency detection circuit (410, within 400; see Fig.5 and [0080]-[0081]) configured to detect whether the received radio frequency signal is in a first frequency range (within a WPC band) or in a second frequency range (within an NFC band; see step S1120 and [0054]), the first and second frequency ranges being non-overlapping (being of a high frequency NFC band versus a low frequency WPC band; see [0054] and [0056]);
a first communications circuit (322) configured to transmit a first return signal (charge state ID via the WPC protocol in step S1160) when the received radio frequency signal is detected to be in the first frequency range (following S1120=no, S1130=yes) and to establish electrical energy recuperation (S1141wireless charging; see step S1140) from the received radio frequency signal according to a first protocol (WPC protocol); and
a second communications circuit (312) configured to transmit a second return signal (charge state ID via the NFC protocol in step S1160) when the received radio frequency signal is detected to be in the second frequency range (following S1120=yes, S1131=no; see [0059]) and to establish electrical energy recuperation (wireless charging; see step) from the received radio frequency signal according to a second protocol (NFC protocol).
Claim 25: Park discloses a method of wireless powering of an electronics device (Figs.2-3A), comprising:
receiving, by an antenna of the electronics device (100), a radio frequency signal emitted by a wireless charger (see [0051]);
detecting, by a frequency detection circuit (410 within 400) of the electronics device, whether the received radio frequency signal is in a first frequency range (within an WPC band) or in a second frequency range (within a NFC band; see step S1120 and [0054]), the first and second frequency ranges being non-overlapping (being of a high frequency NFC band versus a low frequency WPC band; see [0054] and [0056]);
when the radio frequency signal is in the first frequency range (S1120 =no, S1130=yes):
transmitting, by a first communications circuit (322) of the electronics device, a first return signal to the wireless charger (S1160) and establishing electrical energy recuperation from the received radio frequency signal according to a first protocol (charging and communication via the WPC standard; see steps S1140, S1160, [0057], and [0059]); and
when the radio frequency signal is in the second frequency range (S1120=yes):
transmitting, by a second communications circuit (312), a second return signal to the wireless charger (S1160) and establishing electrical energy recuperation from the received radio frequency signal according to a second protocol (charging and communication via the NFC standard; see steps S1141, S1160, [0055], and [0059]).
Claim 2: Park discloses wherein the radio frequency signal is emitted by a wireless charger (see [0051]), the first protocol is a first wireless charging protocol (WPC charging) and the second protocol is a second wireless charging protocol (NFC charging; see Fig.2, [0057]-[0059]).
Claim 3: Park discloses wherein the radio frequency signal is emitted by a wireless charger (see [0051]), and wherein the first protocol is a communications protocol of the first communications circuit (WPC protocol), and when the received radio frequency signal is in the first frequency range the first communications circuit is configured to establish communications with the wireless charger using the communications protocol of the first communications circuit (via WPC; see [0057]-[0059]).
Claim 4: Park discloses wherein the first return signal is communicated using the communications protocol to the wireless charger (see [0059]).
Claim 5: Park discloses wherein the radio frequency signal is emitted by a wireless charger (see [0051]), and wherein the second protocol is a communications protocol of the second communications circuit (NFC protocol), and when the received radio frequency signal is in the second frequency range the second communications circuit is configured to establish communications with the wireless charger using the communications protocol of the second communications circuit (see [0059]).
Claim 6: Park discloses wherein the second return signal is communicated using the communications protocol to the wireless charger (see [0059]).
Claim 7: Park discloses power management circuit (313, 323) configured to recuperate the electrical energy from the received radio frequency signal and to supply the recuperated electrical energy to one or more circuits of the wireless electronics device (to the battery; see Fig.3A, [0038], [0046]).
Claim 8: Park discloses a power management circuit (313, 323) configured to recuperate the electrical energy from the received radio frequency signal and to recharge an energy storage device (Battery) of the wireless electronics device (see Fig.3A, [0038], [0046]).
Claim 11: Park discloses wherein the first frequency range has a higher frequency limit that is less than 13 MHz, wherein the second frequency range has a lower frequency limit that is higher than 300 kHz, and wherein the higher frequency limit and lower frequency limit are each an intermediate frequency level separating the first and second ranges (the first frequency range being a “low frequency WPC band”, corresponding to approximately 125 kHz, which is less than 13 MHz, the second frequency range being a “high frequency band” corresponding to approximately 13.56MHz, which is higher than 300 kHz, the “limits” determining the high frequency and low frequency bands being an “intermediate frequency level separating the ranges; see [0031]).
Claim 12: Park discloses an oscillator (providing “Control Clock” in Fig.5) configured to generate a reference signal at a reference frequency (“Control Clock”; see [0081]); wherein the frequency detection circuit comprises a frequency detector (410, Fig.5) configured to compare a frequency of the received radio frequency signal with the reference frequency (via the counter and circuitry in 400 that determines whether the signal is a high frequency or low frequency signal; see [0081]), and to indicate whether the received radio frequency signal is in one of the first and second frequency ranges based on the comparison (see [0081]).
Claim 14: Park discloses a matching circuit (210, 22) coupled to the antenna (100), wherein the power transfer according to the first protocol is in a higher power range than the power transfer according to the second protocol (WPC having a higher power range than NFC; see Wikipedia, “Qi (standard)” and NFC Forum, “Why Your Next Winning Product Will Use NFC Wireless Charging” for proof of inherency, where WPC, i.e. either Qi or Ki versions provide powers of the tens of watts or more where NFC provides a maximum of 1W), and the antenna and matching circuit are tuned to a frequency corresponding to the second protocol (see [0036]).
Claim 20: Park discloses a power limiter configured to limit the charging power supplied according to the first protocol (an RF limiter and/or the over voltage protection circuits of the DC-DC converters; see [0075]).
Claim 21: Park discloses wherein the wireless electronics device is selected from the group consisting of: an integrated circuit card; a mobile telephone (a smartphone; see [0006]); a tablet computer; wireless headphones; hearing aids; earphones; a wristwatch; and a portable electronics device (shown in Fig.3A) comprising a battery (“Battery”).
Claim 24: Park discloses a wireless charging system, comprising: a wireless electronics device of claim 1 (see Figs.2, 3A, and discussion above); and a wireless charger (a “transmitting wireless charging apparatus”; see [0035]) configured to perform wireless power transfer to, and charging of, the wireless electronics device according to the second protocol (NFC protocol), the wireless charger being configured to wirelessly emit an electromagnetic field having a power of 3W or less (the NFC standard limits charging to 1W as of 2023; see NFC Forum, “Why Your Next Winning Product Will Use NFC Wireless Charging” that provides support for the inherent feature of the NFC wireless charging standard).
Claim 27: Park discloses generating a reference signal at a reference frequency (“Control Clock”, Fig.5); wherein detecting comprises comparing a frequency of the received radio frequency signal with the reference frequency, and indicating whether the received radio frequency signal is in one of the first and second frequency ranges based on the comparison (via the counter and circuitry in 400 that determines whether the signal is a high frequency or low frequency signal; see [0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 22, 23, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Wikipedia (“Qi (standard)”).
Claims 10 and 26: Park discloses the limitations of claim 1, as well as the first protocol being a WPC wireless charging protocol and the second protocol being an NFC wireless charging protocol (see [0048] and [0057]-[0059]), as discussed above. While Park discloses the standard as a “WPC standard”, WPC as of the publication of the reference had two standards of Qi and Ki. Park does not explicitly disclose that the specific WPC standard discussed is the Qi standard. However, it is implied that the referenced WPC standard is Qi, as Park discloses that the wireless charging is within the context of a smartphone (see [0006]), whereas Ki is utilized for kitchen appliances. Further, Wikipedia (“Qi (standard)”, published on October 2022), discloses that the Qi standard is typically incorporated in smartphones, tablets, and other devices (see page 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided the Qi standard specifically as the WPC standard disclosed by Park as a suitable standard that is implied by Park.
Claims 22 and 23: Park discloses wireless charging system (see Figs.2,3A), comprising: a wireless electronics device of claim 1 (see discussion above); and a wireless charger (a “transmitting wireless charging apparatus”; see [0035]) configured to perform wireless power transfer to, and charging of, the wireless electronics device according to the first protocol (when WPC is selected; see discussion above), the wireless charger being configured to wirelessly emit an electromagnetic field (see [0051]). While Park discloses a WPC standard being used and Qi being implied (see discussion above), Park does not explicitly disclose the power being “at least 5W” or “at least 10W”. Wikipedia discloses that as of 2019, the Qi specification was extended to powers up to 65W (see pg.4, first paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided at least 10W of power via the Qi standard if such a power is required by the receiving device.
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Mehas et al. (US 2021/0385114, hereinafter “Mehas”).
Claims 15-16: Park discloses the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above. Park further discloses the first communications circuit comprises a first modulator (322_3) and a first demodulator, the first modulator and first demodulator being configured to implement wireless communications according to the first protocol (WPC protocol; see [0059]); and the second communications circuit comprises a second modulator (312_3) and a second demodulator (312_4), the second modulator and second demodulator being configured to implement wireless communications according to the second protocol (see [0059]), wherein the first protocol is a Qi wireless charging protocol (implied by “WPC” protocol within the context of a cellphone; see the discussion above) and the second protocol is an NFC (near field communications) wireless charging protocol (see [0048], [0055], [0059]). Park does not explicitly disclose that the first communications circuit also comprises “a first demodulator”. Mehas discloses that for a later version of the Qi standard ([0002], [0021]), the communication module may be provided with an ASK modulator circuit (306) in addition to an FSK demodulation circuit (314) in order to enable bidirectional communication for later version of the Qi standard (see [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided a FSK modulation circuit in addition to an ASK modulator circuit of Park in order to have provided bidirectional communication for later versions of the Qi standard.
Claim 17: the combination discloses wherein the first modulator is configured to perform amplitude shift keying modulation (via 306 of Mehas), and the first demodulator is configured to perform frequency shift keying demodulation (via 314 of Mehas).
Claim 18: Park discloses wherein the second modulator is configured to perform NFC modulation (see [0059], via 312_3), and the second demodulator is configured to perform NFC demodulation (via 312_4). Park does not explicitly disclose that the modulator performs load modulation. Mehas discloses using load modulator in a similar modulator for a wireless power receiver (see [0034]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized load modulation as a suitable means of modulation for the NFC modulator of Park. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have provided load modulation as the modulator of Park as a suitable means of modulation.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Louis (US 2021/0013749).
Park discloses the limitations of claim 1 as well as a rectifier (322_1) in the first communications circuit. Park does not explicitly disclose the rectifier as “an active rectifier configured to limit the charging power supplied according to the first protocol.” Louis discloses similar wireless power receiving circuitry (46) may comprise rectifier circuitry controlled by control circuitry 20 so as to limit charging power supplied according to a WPC protocol (see [0035], which discusses controlling the rectifier to maintain a substantially steady output power level, thus limited to this level, as well as [0022], which discloses that power level may correspond to WPC Qi specification 1.2.3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have provided an active rectifier for limiting power according to a WPC protocol in order to provide a substantially steady output power according to the WPC Qi specification.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13 and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose “wherein the frequency detection circuit is further configured to indicate when the received radio frequency signal is in both the first and second frequency ranges, and further including a circuit configured to select one of the first and second communications circuits to be used when the radio frequency signal is in both the first and second frequency ranges” of claim 13 and similar language of claim 28.
Conclusion
/RYAN JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849