Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 21, 2024, is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
3. The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: there is an erroneous "The" in line 10 of para. [0040] on page 7.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-17 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Summers 643 (US 20150082643 A1, Summers, G. et al.; hereinafter "Summers 643").
In regard to claim 1, Summers 643 discloses an archery sight apparatus that mounts on a bow [adjustable mechanism for an archery sight, abstract], comprising an elevation bar [elevation bar 12] having a longitudinal axis [longitudinal axis shown in Fig. 2] and connected with the bow {described in paras. [0001]-[0002]}; a sight mounting assembly [elevation adjustment assembly (abstract); complete assembly shown in Fig. 14] arranged on and displaceable longitudinally relative to said elevation bar [shown throughout, Fig. 2 is a clear example], said sight mounting assembly including at least one support surface {gib shelves 56, described in para. [0035], shown in Fig. 11}; and a first tension system [tensioning adjustment assembly (abstract)] for tensioning said sight mounting assembly relative to said elevation bar {described in para. [0035]}, said first tension system including at least one first gib [elevation gibs 60] arranged internally on said at least one support surface between said elevation bar and said sight mounting assembly [elevation gibs arranged in channels of elevation bar, shown at least in Figs. 12 and 14] and a displacement device [yoke 42] for displacing said sight mounting assembly relative to said elevation bar in a direction normal to the longitudinal axis {described in para. [0034], shown at least in Figs. 7-10}, whereby a freedom of movement of said sight mounting assembly along said elevation bar is provided {freedom of movement described in para. [0033]}.
In regard to claim 2, Summers 643 discloses that the sight mounting assembly comprises an elevation carriage [elevation carriage 20].
In regard to claim 3, Summers 643 discloses that the sight mounting assembly comprises a windage carriage [windage carriage 21].
In regard to claim 4, Summers 643 discloses that at least one support surface is arranged on said elevation carriage and normal to the longitudinal axis [shown at least in Fig. 14].
In regard to claim 5, Summers 643 discloses that the first tension system is adjustable {tension adjustment described at least in para. [0038]}.
In regard to claim 6, Summers 643 discloses that the first tension system includes an elevation tension cam shaft [cam shaft 52] connected with said elevation carriage [shown in Fig. 17] for biasing said elevation carriage relative to said elevation bar {tension adjustment through rotating cam shaft described at least in paras. [0037]-[0038]}.
In regard to claim 7, Summers 643 discloses that the first tension system further includes an elevation yoke [yoke 42] adjustably connected with said elevation carriage [shown at least in Figs. 7-10], whereby said elevation yoke is drawn toward said elevation carriage upon rotation of said elevation cam shaft in a first direction to increase tension between said elevation carriage and said yoke and said elevation yoke is moved away from said elevation carriage upon rotation of said elevation cam shaft in a second direction to decrease tension between said elevation carriage and said yoke {moving of cam shaft to increase or decrease tension described in para. [0037]}.
In regard to claim 8, Summers 643 discloses that the elevation cam shaft includes a cam surface between said elevation carriage and said elevation yoke {cylindrical cam surface 52a, positioning described in para. [0036]}.
In regard to claim 9, Summers 643 discloses that the first tension system further includes a locking lever [locking lever 70] connected with a head of said elevation cam shaft [cam shaft head 52b] externally of said elevation carriage [shown in Fig. 16], said locking lever being manually operated to rotate said cam surface to adjust the tension applied by said cam surface to said elevation yoke and to said first gibs against said elevation bar {rotation of cam via locking lever described in para. [0037]}.
In regard to claim 10, Summers 643 discloses that the elevation carriage includes a pair of parallel spaced support surfaces [channels, seen at least in Figs. 12 and 14] which support a pair of said first gibs [Figs. 12 and 14], respectively.
In regard to claim 11, Summers 643 discloses that the at least one second gib [tension gibs 58] is arranged internally between said elevation bar and said elevation yoke [shown in Figs. 11-14].
In regard to claim 12, Summers 643 discloses that the elevation yoke includes a pair of parallel spaced support surfaces [gib selves 56] which support a pair of said second gibs [tension gibs 58], respectively.
In regard to claim 13, Summers 643 discloses that the elevation bar contains support surfaces for receiving said first and second gibs [tension gibs 58 arranged on elevation bar 12 shown in Fig. 11, elevation gibs 60 arranged on elevation bar 12 in Fig. 12].
In regard to claim 14, Summers 643 discloses that the first tension system further includes at least one spring [disc spring 62] arranged between said elevation carriage and said elevation yoke [shown in Fig. 14] to exert constant internal pressure on said first and second gibs and deaden vibrations within said elevation carriage {described in claim 14 - the spring provides constant tension the carriage and the bar; thus exerting constant internal pressure on the tension and elevation gibs (described in paras. [0035]-[0037]); springs absorbing vibration when applying force is a well-known function and would be obvious to do so}.
In regard to claim 15, Summers 643 discloses that the elevation yoke support surfaces are arranged in parallel spaced relation from said elevation carriage support surfaces [shown in Fig. 14].
In regard to claim 16, Summers 643 discloses a windage carriage [windage carriage 21] adjustably connected with said elevation carriage [shown in Fig. 2] for displacement in a direction normal to a direction of displacement of said elevation carriage relative to said elevation bar {shown in Fig. 2, described in para. [0039]}.
In regard to claim 17, Summers 643 discloses a second tension system for providing tension between said windage carriage and said elevation carriage {connection between the windage carriage 21 and elevation carriage 20 with tension adjustment described in paras. [0040]-[0042]}, said second tension system including at least one third gib [windage gib 96] arranged internally between said windage carriage and said elevation carriage and perpendicular to said at least first gib [windage gib 96 shown to be internal in Fig. 30, visibly perpendicular to the elevation gib when compared to Fig. 12].
In regard to claim 24, Summers 643 discloses a single elevation cam shaft for adjusting the tension within said elevation carriage [single cam shaft 52 shown throughout].
In regard to claim 25, Summers 643 discloses a single windage screw for adjusting the tension within said windage carriage {screw 76, tensioning described in paras. [0040]-[0041]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Summers 643 in view of Summers 686 (US 7610686 B1, Summers, G. et al.; hereinafter "Summers 686").
In regard to claim 18, Summers 643 teaches that the dovetail couplings of the elevation carriage function as a yoke for the windage carriage, but Summers 643 is not explicit that the coupling of that yoke and the windage carriage is adjustable.
However, Summers 686 also teaches an archery sight apparatus that mounts on a bow comprising an elevation carriage [elevation block 30] and a windage carriage [windage block 80] with a second tension system [shown in Fig. 24], as well as that the second tension system further includes a windage yoke [a portion of block 30 and arms 70 and 72 form a yoke for windage block 80, see Image 1 below] adjustably connected with said windage carriage [Fig. 24 shows the windage block adjustably connected to the arms 70 and 72 with a screw 74].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Summers 686’s second tension system utilizing a windage yoke adjustably coupled to a windage block with Summers 643’s archery sight apparatus in order to better adjust the location of a windage block along an axis, as taught by Summers 686 [col. 5 lines 52-67].
Image 1 – Summers 686 Fig. 2, Annotated
In regard to claim 19, Summers 643 does not teach a fourth gib between the windage carriage and windage yoke.
However, Summers 686 teaches at least one fourth gib [pins 430 and 432] arranged between said windage carriage and said windage yoke [shown in Fig. 24].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Summer 686’s gibs between a windage block and a windage yoke with Summers 643’s archery sight apparatus in order to better support a windage block as it travels axially, as taught by Summers 686 [col. 13 lines 3-25].
In regard to claim 20, Summers 643 teaches that the second tension system includes a windage tension screw connected with said windage carriage {screw 76, tensioning described in paras. [0040]-[0041]}.
Summers 643 does not teach that the windage tension screw is used for displacing the windage carriage toward and away from the windage yoke.
However, Summers 686 also teaches a windage tension screw [screw 74], where the windage tension screw moves the windage carriage toward and away from the windage yoke [shown in Fig. 24, the windage block travels towards or away from an arm of the windage yoke].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Summers 686’s method of moving a windage block towards and away from a yoke with Summers 643’s archery sight apparatus in order to better adjust the location of a windage block along an axis, as taught by Summers 686 [col. 5 lines 52-67].
In regard to claim 21, Summers 643 does not teach that the second tension system further includes at least one spring arranged between said windage carriage and said windage yoke to exert constant internal pressure on said third and fourth gibs and deaden vibrations within said windage carriage.
However, Summers 686 teaches that the second tension system further includes at least one spring arranged between said windage carriage and said windage yoke [wave spring washer 86, located between windage block and windage yoke] to exert constant internal pressure on said third and fourth gibs and deaden vibrations within said windage carriage [col. 13 lines 3-25 describe how the spring washer 86 (third gib) provides constant directional force between the windage block 80 and the windage yoke as well as the windage block 80; abstract describes how gibs can reduce wear, thus compensating for vibrations].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Summers 686’s arrangement of springs to exert constant internal pressure on a third and fourth gib with Summers 643’s archery sight apparatus in order to better prevent wear on the components, as taught by Summers 686 [abstract, col. 13 lines 3-25].
In regard to claim 22, although Summers 643 teaches providing a pair of parallel spaced surfaces to support a third gib {windage gib 96, support structure described in para. [0042]} – Summers 643 is not explicit in the use of a pair of third gibs.
However, Summers 686 teaches a pair of parallel spaced surfaces which support a pair of said third gibs, respectively [surface A of block 30 (forming part of the windage yoke) and surface B of recess 84 are a pair of support surfaces for both third gibs, with washers 84 and 86 acting as the pair of third gibs, see Image 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Summers 686’s use of a pair of third gibs with Summers 643’s archery sight apparatus in order to better prevent a windage block from becoming loose on its support, as taught by Summers 686 [col. 6 lines 1-14].
In regard to claim 23, Summers 643 does not teach that the windage yoke includes a pair of parallel spaced support surfaces which support a pair of said fourth gibs.
However, Summers 686 teaches that the windage yoke includes a pair of parallel spaced support surfaces which support a pair of said fourth gibs [holes 402 and 404 with guide bushings].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used Summers 686’s use of holes with guide bushing to support a pair of fourth gibs with Summers 643’s archery sight apparatus in order to better support a windage block as it travels axially, as taught by Summers 686 [col. 13 lines 3-25].
Conclusion
/DANIEL M QUINN/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/JOHN E BREENE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855