DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nurse et al. (US Patent Pub. 2013/0028853) in view of Backman et al. (WO2020086755).
Nurse et al. disclose a composition comprising a plurality of photo stabilizers that enhance SPF values of the composition (ABSTRACT). Nurse et al. disclose a spray sunscreen composition comprises alcohol at a concentration of 61.25 %; a film former, acrylates/octylacrylamide copolymer at a concentration of 2.5%; butyloctyl salicylate at a concentration of 8 %; octisalate, avobenzone and octocrylene; and polyester-8 at a concentration of 6% (TABLE 4). The composition of Nurse et al. is free from octinoxate and oxybenzone.
Nurse et al. differs from the instant claim insofar as they do not disclose a preparation comprising one or more propanediol copolymers.
Backman et al. disclose sun protection compositions (ABSTRACT). Backman et al. disclose the composition comprises bis-octyldodecyl dimer dilinoleate/propanediol copolymer at a concentration of 2%; butyloctyl salicylate at a concentration of 5%; ethylhexyl methoxycrylene at a concentration of 1% (Table 1).
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. The idea for combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have combined the two compositions since they are both known for spray sunscreen compositions.
Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05. Therefore, it would be obvious to have varied the amount of the known components for sunscreen compositions.
Conclusion
/NANNETTE HOLLOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612