Election/Restrictions
The restriction/election requirement dated 5/5/2026 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 8, 9, 16, 17, 19, 21, 22, 23, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0021098 A1 to Airgain, Inc. (hereinafter 'Airgain') in view of US 2022/0238988 A1 to HARADA INDUSTRY CO,. LTD. (hereinafter 'HARADA').
Regarding claim 1, Airgain discloses a system for a vehicle (para [0003] "This invention relates to antenna assemblies for vehicles."), comprising: a dock comprising (fig 9, antenna assembly 25, para [0055] "FIG. 9 Illustrates the removal of the existing antenna 900 of a vehicle, and the installation of an embodiment of antenna assembly 25 as described herein. FIGS. 10-12 illustrate the connections between the antenna assembly and the existing router 125 of the vehicle 1100. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30."): a base configured for attachment to a roof of the vehicle (fig 9, base 60, para [0055] "FIG. 9 illustrates the removal of the existing antenna 900 of a vehicle, and the installation of an embodiment of antenna assembly 25 as described herein. FIGS. 10-12 illustrate the connections between the antenna assembly and the existing router 125 of the vehicle 1100. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30."), the base comprising a condult for accessing an interior of the vehicle (fig 12, para [0055] "FIGS. 10-12 illustrate the connections between the antenna assembly and the existing router 125 of the vehicle 1100. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30. Four coaxial cables 131, 132, 133 and 135 are connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle.", aperture 64 extends through the body 61, para [0042] "An aperture 64 extends through the body 61 for access by at least one cable."), a first interface configured to couple to respective electrical conductors arranged to pass through the conduit and into an Interior of the vehicle (fig 9, ethernet, para [0055] "FIGS. 10-12 Illustrate the connections between the antenna assembly and the existing router 125 of the vehicle 1100. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30. Four coaxial cables 131, 132, 133 and 135 are connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle."); and a housing configured to detachably connect to the dock (fig 9, housing 30, housing covers the top lid, components are secured by bolt, para [0055] "FIG. 9 illustrates the removal of the existing antenna 900 of a vehicle, and the installation of an embodiment of antenna assembly 25 as described herein. FIGS. 10-12 illustrate the connections between the antenna assembly and the existing router 125 of the vehicle 1100. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modern 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30.", fig 4, para [0041] "The top lid 40 is to cover the base 60 and modem 50, and the top lid 40 preferably comprises at least one antenna element disposed on an exterior surface. A radiofrequency cable 70 is attached to the modem 50 and secured to the base 60 by bolt 71. The housing 30 covers the top lid 40 and the base 60. The top lid 40 acts as an electro-magnetic barrier for the modem 50 to maintain the electro-magnetic signals inside of the base 60 to prevent Interference with the antenna signals."), comprising: a first electronics module coupled to one or more first antennas (CPU 51, antenna elements, para [0055] "The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30. Four coaxial cables 131, 132, 133 and 135 are connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle. The coaxial cable 135 is connected to an injector 105, the coaxial cables 132 and 133 are connected to WiFI connectors 161 and 162 of a router 125. The coaxial cable 131 is connected to a GPS/GNSS connector 160 of the router 125."); and a second connector interface comprising a plurality of second electrical connectors configured to detachably connect (fig 9, 135, four coaxial cables connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle, para [0055] "Four coaxial cables 131, 132, 133 and 135 are connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle. The coaxial cable 135 is connected to an injector 105, the coaxial cables 132 and 133 are connected to WiFi connectors 161 and 162 of a router 125. The coaxial cable 131 is connected to a GPS/GNSS connector 160 of the router 125.").
Airgain in one embodiment does not disclose: the base comprising: a recess; and the housing dimensioned to be received by the recess of the base; The first interface: connector interface comprising a plurality of first electrical connectors; The second electrical connectors configured to detachably connect: to the first electrical connectors. Airgain In another embodiment discloses: the base comprising: a recess (fig 13, recess 65, para [0061] "FIGS. 13, 13A and 14 illustrate thermal dissipation and isolation features that are utilized in certain embodiments of an antenna assembly 25 for a vehicle to optimize heat removal and to protect certain heat sensitive components. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a housing 30, a top lid 40 with antenna elements and a base 60 In some embodiments, the body 61 has an internal compartment or recess 65 forming a mounting surface 69 for mounting certain components directly on the body 61 itself, while other components are mounted on other features that themselves are mounted to the body 61. In certain embodiments having a recess 65 formed by a sidewall 63, the recess 65 has a shape that allows components to be mounted in proximity to or in contact with the heat sink 68."); and the housing dimensioned to be received by the recess of the base (fig 13, para [0061] "FIGS. 13, 13A and 14 Illustrate thermal dissipation and isolation features that are utilized in certain embodiments of an antenna assembly 25 for a vehicle to optimize heat removal and to protect certain heat sensitive components. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a housing 30, a top lid 40 with antenna elements and a base 60 In some embodiments, the body 61 has an internal compartment or recess 65 forming a mounting surface 69 for mounting certain components directly on the body 61 itself, while other components are mounted on other features that themselves are mounted to the body 61. In certain embodiments having a recess 65 formed by a sidewall 63, the recess 65 has a shape that allows components to be mounted in proximity to or in contact with the heat sink 68.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by one embodiment of Airgain, so as to include the base comprising a recess, as disclosed by another embodiment of Airgain, because it allows the system to mount the various components within the base and in contact with heat sink which helps with heat dissipation (Airgain, para [0061]).
Airgain still does not disclose: The first interface: connector interface comprising a plurality of first electrical connectors; The second electrical connectors configured to detachably connect: to the first electrical connectors. However, HARADA discloses a vehicle exterior device (abstract) and further discloses: The first interface: connector interface comprising a plurality of first electrical connectors (fig 3, 70, para [0047] "A connector 70 for the cable 58 is connected to the back face of the camera 20. A supporting portion 72 is formed to protrude from the middle of the antenna base 30. The cable 58 is guided by the supporting portion 72 and the guiding member 40, and drawn downward through the Insertion hole 34."); The second electrical connectors configured to detachably connect: to the first electrical connectors (fig 3, connector is connected to the back face of the camera 20, para [0047] "A connector 70 for the cable 58 is connected to the back face of the camera 20. A supporting portion 72 is formed to protrude from the middle of the antenna base 30. The cable 58 is guided by the supporting portion 72 and the guiding member 40, and drawn downward through the insertion hole 34.°).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed Airgain, so as to include connector Interface comprising first electrical connector and the second electrical connector detachably connected to first connector, as disclosed by HARADA, because it allows the connectors on the top of the vehicle to be connected to the vehicle through the roof hole (HARADA, para [0047]).
Regarding claim 7, Airgain as modified by HARADA and Valeo discloses the system according to claim 1, and HARADA further discloses wherein the attachment arrangement is configured to cause the first connector interface to matingly engage the second connector interface (fig 3, connector is connected to the back face of the camera 20, para [0047] "A connector 70 for the cable 58 is connected to the back face of the camera 20. A supporting portion 72 is formed to protrude from the middle of the antenna base 30. The cable 58 is guided by the supporting portion 72 and the guiding member 40, and drawn downward through the insertion hole 34.").
Regarding claim 8, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 1, and Airgain further discloses wherein the first and second electrical connectors comprise power, data, and radio frequency (RF) connectors (fig 9, power regulator 94, WiFi, para [0055] "The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30. Four coaxial cables 131, 132, 133 and 135 are connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle. The coaxial cable 135 is connected to an injector 105, the coaxial cables 132 and 133 are connected to WIFI connectors 161 and 162 of a router 125.", para [0041] "A radiofrequency cable 70 is attached to the modem 50 and secured to the base 60 by bolt 71.").
Regarding claim 9, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 1, and Airgain further discloses wherein the base is configured to serve as a heatsink for the first electronics module of the housing (heat sink 68, para [0061] "FIGS. 13, 13A and 14 illustrate thermal dissipation and isolation features that are utilized in certain embodiments of an antenna assembly 25 for a vehicle to optimize heat removal and to protect certain heat sensitive components. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a housing 30, a top lid 40 with antenna elements and a base 60. The base 60 preferably has a body 61 and a heat sink 68, but those skilled in the pertinent art will recognize that the base may take various other forms without departing from the scope and spirit of the present invention.").
Regarding claim 16, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 1, and Airgain further discloses wherein the one or more antennas comprise one or more cellular, Wi-Fi, GPS, and satellite communication antennas (Wi-Fl, para [0055] "Four coaxial cables 131, 132, 133 and 135 are connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle. The coaxial cable 135 Is connected to an Injector 105, the coaxial cables 132 and 133 are connected to WIFI connectors 161 and 162 of a router 125.").
Regarding claim 17, Airgain discloses a system for a vehicle (para [0003] "This invention relates to antenna assemblies for vehicles."), comprising: a dock (fig 9, antenna assembly 25, para [0055] "FIG. 9 illustrates the removal of the existing antenna 900 of a vehicle, and the installation of an embodiment of antenna assembly 25 as described herein. FIGS. 10-12 illustrate the connections between the antenna assembly and the existing router 125 of the vehicle 1100. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30.") comprising: a base configured for attachment to a roof of the vehicle (fig 9. base 60, para [0055] "FIG. 9 illustrates the removal of the existing antenna 900 of a vehicle, and the installation of an embodiment of antenna assembly 25 as described herein. FIGS. 10-12 illustrate the connections between the antenna assembly and the existing router 125 of the vehicle 1100. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30."), the base comprising: a conduit for accessing an interior of the vehicle (fig 12, para [0055] "FIGS. 10-12 illustrate the connections between the antenna assembly and the existing router 125 of the vehicle 1100. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30. Four coaxial cables 131, 132, 133 and 135 are connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle.", aperture 64 extends through the body 61, para [0042] "An aperture 64 extends through the body 61 for access by at least one cable."); and a first Interface configured to couple to respective electrical conductors arranged to pass through the conduit and into the interior of the vehicle (fig 9, ethernet, para [0055] "FIGS. 10-12 illustrate the connections between the antenna assembly and the existing router 125 of the vehicle 1100. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30. Four coaxial cables 131, 132, 133 and 135 are connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle."); a housing configured to detachably connect to the dock (fig 9, housing 30, housing covers the top lid, components are secured by bolt, para [0055] "FIG. 9 illustrates the removal of the existing antenna 900 of a vehicle, and the installation of an embodiment of antenna assembly 25 as described herein. FIGS. 10-12 illustrate the connections between the antenna assembly and the existing router 125 of the vehicle 1100. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30.", fig 4, para [0041] "The top lid 40 is to cover the base 60 and modem 50, and the top lid 40 preferably comprises at least one antenna element disposed on an exterior surface. A radiofrequency cable 70 is attached to the modem 50 and secured to the base 60 by bolt 71. The housing 30 covers the top tid 40 and the base 60. The top lid 40 acts as an electro-magnetic barrier for the modem 50 to maintain the electro-magnetic signals inside of the base 60 to prevent interference with the antenna signals."), and comprising: a first electronics module coupled to one or more first antennas (CPU 51, antenna elements, para [0055] "The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30. Four coaxial cables 131, 132, 133 and 135 are connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle. The coaxial cable 135 is connected to an injector 105, the coaxial cables 132 and 133 are connected to WiFi connectors 161 and 162 of a router 125. The coaxial cable 131 is connected to a GPS/GNSS connector 160 of the router 125."); and a second connector interface comprising a plurality of second electrical connectors configured to detachably connect (fig 9, 135, four coaxial cables connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle, para [0055] "Four coaxial cables 131, 132, 133 and 135 are connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle. The coaxial cable 135 Is connected to an injector 105, the coaxial cables 132 and 133 are connected to WiFi connectors 161 and 162 of a router 125. The coaxial cable 131 is connected to a GPS/GNSS connector 160 of the router 125."); and a second module interface supported by the base and configured to receive and electrically couple to a second additional module via a coupling arrangement passing through the roof (coaxial cable 131, router 125, para [0055] "The coaxial cable 131 is connected to a GPS/GNSS connector 160 of the router 125. The Injector 105 comprises a reset button 95, a SIM card 96, a USB connection 97 and a power-conditioning unit. The router 125 preferably comprises a modem 130, an Ethernet or USB WAN connector 170, LTE connectors 163 and 164, an ignition sense and 12 Volt connector 171 which an ignition sense cable 185 and 12 Volt cable 190 connect thereto."); wherein the second additional module is situated in the interior of the vehicle and comprises a second electronics module and one or more second antennas (router 125, Ethernet or USB WAN connector 170, modem 130, para [0055] "The coaxial cable 131 is connected to a GPS/GNSS connector 160 of the router 125. The injector 105 comprises a reset button 95, a SIM card 96, a USB connection 97 and a power-conditioning unit. The router 125 preferably comprises a modem 130, an Ethernet or USB WAN connector 170, LTE connectors 163 and 164, an Ignition sense and 12 Volt connector 171 which an ignition sense cable 185 and 12 Volt cable 190 connect thereto.").
Airgain in one embodiment does not disclose: the base comprising: a recess, the housing dimensioned to be received by the recess of the base; The first interface: connector interface comprising a plurality of first electrical connectors; The second electrical connectors configured to detachably connect: to the first electrical connectors. Airgain in another embodiment discloses: the base comprising: a recess (fig 13, recess 65, para [0061] "FIGS. 13, 13A and 14 illustrate thermal dissipation and isolation features that are utilized in certain embodiments of an antenna assembly 25 for a vehicle to optimize heat removal and to protect certain heat sensitive components. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a housing 30, a top lid 40 with antenna elements and a base 60 In some embodiments, the body 61 has an internal compartment or recess 65 forming a mounting surface 69 for mounting certain components directly on the body 61 itself, while other components are mounted on other features that themselves are mounted to the body 61. In certain embodiments having a recess 65 formed by a sidewall 63, the recess 65 has a shape that allows components to be mounted in proximity to or in contact with the heat sink 68."), the housing dimensioned to be received by the recess of the base (fig 13, para [0061] "FIGS. 13, 13A and 14 illustrate thermal dissipation and isolation features that are utilized in certain embodiments of an antenna assembly 25 for a vehicle to optimize heat removal and to protect certain heat sensitive components. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a housing 30, a top lid 40 with antenna elements and a base 60 In some embodiments, the body 61 has an internal compartment or recess 65 forming a mounting surface 69 for mounting certain components directly on the body 61 itself, while other components are mounted on other features that themselves are mounted to the body 61. In certain embodiments having a recess 65 formed by a sidewall 63, the recess 65 has a shape that allows components to be mounted in proximity to or in contact with the heat sink 68.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by one embodiment of Airgain, so as to include the base comprising a recess, as disclosed by another embodiment of Airgain, because it allows the system to mount the various components within the base and In contact with heat sink which helps with heat dissipation (Alrgain, para [0061]).
Airgain still does not disclose: The first Interface: connector interface comprising a plurality of first electrical connectors; The second electrical connectors configured to detachably connect: to the first electrical connectors. However, HARADA discloses a vehicle exterior device (abstract) and further discloses: The first interface: connector interface comprising a plurality of first electrical connectors (fig 3, 70, para [0047] "A connector 70 for the cable 58 is connected to the back face of the camera 20. A supporting portion 72 is formed to protrude from the middle of the antenna base 30. The cable 58 is guided by the supporting portion 72 and the guiding member 40, and drawn downward through the insertion hole 34.°); The second electrical connectors configured to detachably connect: to the first electrical connectors (fig 3, connector is connected to the back face of the camera 20, para [0047] "A connector 70 for the cable 58 is connected to the back face of the camera 20. A supporting portion 72 is formed to protrude from the middle of the antenna base 30. The cable 58 is guided by the supporting portion 72 and the guiding member 40, and drawn downward through the Insertion hole 34.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed Airgain, so as to include connector interface comprising first electrical connector and the second electrical connector detachably connected to first connector, as disclosed by HARADA, because it allows the connectors on the top of the vehicle to be connected to the vehicle through the roof hole (HARADA, para [0047]).
Regarding claim 19, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 17, but does not disclose comprising an attachment arrangement configured to slidably attach the housing to the dock. However, Valeo discloses a sensor pod module attached to a vehicle roof (abstract) and further discloses: comprising an attachment arrangement configured to slidably attach the housing to the dock (slides forward, para [0055] "Furthermore, in one or more embodiments, the second mount (311) and second locking mount (312) may be horizontally oriented such that the sensor housing (300) slides forward (e.g., in a horizontal direction toward the front of the autonomous vehicle (105)) to mount and lock onto the structural base (200).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Airgain and HARADA, so as to include an attachment arrangement to slidably attach the housing, as disclosed by Valso, because it allows the system to mount the housing on the vehicle and lock it In desired place (Valeo, para [0055]).
Regarding claim 21, Airgain as modified by HARADA and Valeo discloses the system according to claim 17, and HARADA further discloses wherein the attachment arrangement is configured to cause the first connector interface to matingly engage the second connector Interface (fig 3, connector is connected to the back face of the camera 20, para [0047] "A connector 70 for the cable 58 is connected to the back face of the camera 20. A supporting portion 72 is formed to protrude from the middle of the antenna base 30. The cable 58 is guided by the supporting portion 72 and the guiding member 40, and drawn downward through the insertion hole 34.").
Regarding claim 22, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 17, and Airgain further discloses wherein the first and second electrical connectors comprise power, data, and radio frequency (RF) connectors (fig 9, power regulator 94, WIFI, para [0055] "The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a base 60, a modem 50, a CPU 51, a combiner 92, a power regulator 94, and a plurality of antenna elements 31, 32, 43 and 44 within a housing 30. Four coaxial cables 131, 132, 133 and 135 are connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle. The coaxial cable 135 is connected to an injector 105, the coaxial cables 132 and 133 are connected to WIFI connectors 161 and 162 of a router 125.", para [0041] "A radiofrequency cable 70 is attached to the modem 50 and secured to the base 60 by bolt 71.").
Regarding claim 23, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 17, and Airgain further discloses wherein the base is configured to serve as a heatsink for the first electronics module of the housing (heat sink 68, para [0061] "FIGS. 13, 13A and 14 illustrate thermal dissipation and isolation features that are utilized in certain embodiments of an antenna assembly 25 for a vehicle to optimize heat removal and to protect certain heat sensitive components. The antenna assembly 25 preferably comprises a housing 30, a top lid 40 with antenna elements and a base 60. The base 60 preferably has a body 61 and a heat sink 68, but those skilled in the pertinent art will recognize that the base may take various other forms without departing from the scope and spirit of the present invention.").
Regarding claim 29, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 17, and Airgain further discloses wherein the one or more antennas comprise one or more cellular, WI-FI, GPS, and satellite communication antennas (WI-FI, para [0055] "Four coaxial cables 131, 132, 133 and 135 are connected from the antenna assembly 25 to connectors on the vehicle. The coaxial cable 135 is connected to an injector 105, the coaxial cables 132 and 133 are connected to WiFi connectors 161 and 162 of a router 125.").
Claim(s) 2, 4-6, 14, 15, 18, 27, and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Airgain in view of HARADA in further view of US 2020/0215988 A1 to Valeo North America, Inc. (hereinafter 'Valeo').
Regarding claim 2, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not disclose comprising an attachment arrangement configured to slidably attach the housing to the dock. However, Valeo discloses a sensor pod module attached to a vehicle roof (abstract) and further discloses: comprising an attachment arrangement configured to slidably attach the housing to the dock (slides forward, para [0055] "Furthermore, in one or more embodiments, the second mount (311) and second locking mount (312) may be horizontally oriented such that the sensor housing (300) slides forward (e.g., in a horizontal direction toward the front of the autonomous vehicle (105)) to mount and lock onto the structural base (200).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Airgain and HARADA, so as to include an attachment arrangement to slidably attach the housing, as disclosed by Valeo, because it allows the system to mount the housing on the vehicle and lock it in desired place (Valeo, para [0055]).
Regarding claim 4, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not disclose comprising an attachment arrangement configured to attach the housing to the dock, wherein the attachment arrangement comprises: a cam lever disposed at a first wall of the base and configured to engage a cam interface situated at a rear surface of the housing: and a guide slot at a front surface of the housing opposing the rear surface, the guide slot configured to receive a lip extending from a second wall of the base opposing the first wall. However, Valeo discloses a sensor pod module attached to a vehicle roof (abstract) and further discloses: comprising an attachment arrangement configured to attach the housing to the dock, wherein the attachment arrangement comprises: a guide slot at a front surface of the housing opposing the rear surface, the guide slot configured to receive a lip extending from a second wall of the base opposing the first wall (first mount 211, para [0048] "As shown in FIGS. 6-8, the structural base (200) further comprises a first connector (210) that provides a rigid connection between the structural base (200) and the sensor housing (300). In one or more embodiments, the first connector (210) may comprise a first mount (211) (e.g., a first dovetail slot, a first T-slot, etc.) that cooperates with a corresponding (i.e., respective) second mount (311) on the sensor housing (300) such that the sensor housing (300) can be interchangeably installed on and removed from the structural base (200)."). Neither explicitly discloses: a cam lever disposed at a first wall of the base and configured to engage a cam Interface situated at a rear surface of the housing.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Airgain and HARADA, so as to include using an appropriate fastener such as a cam lever to engage the housing, as disclosed by Valeo (para [0056]). because it allows the system to mount the housing on the vehicle and lock it in desired place (Valeo, para [0056]).
Regarding claim 5, Airgain as modified by HARADA and Valeo discloses the system according to claim 4, and Valeo further discloses wherein actuation of the cam lever relative to the cam interface causes the guide slot to engage the lip of the base (first mount 211, para [0048] "As shown in FIGS. 6-8, the structural base (200) further comprises a first connector (210) that provides a rigid connection between the structural base (200) and the sensor housing (300). In one or more embodiments, the first connector (210) may comprise a first mount (211) (e.g., a first dovetail slot, a first T-slot, etc.) that cooperates with a corresponding (i.e., respective) second mount (311) on the sensor housing (300) such that the sensor housing (300) can be interchangeably Installed on and removed from the structural base (200).").
Regarding claim 6, Airgain as modified by HARADA and Valeo discloses the system according to claim 4, and Valeo further discloses wherein the attachment arrangement comprises an eject spring disposed on the second wall of the base opposing the first wall (spring loaded latch, para [0050] "Each first fastening point (214) may comprise an M6 rivet nut that cooperates with a corresponding second fastening point (e.g., an M6 bolt) on the sensor housing (300). However, the invention is not particularly limited to this type of fastener. Any appropriate pair of cooperating fastenings (e.g., a locking key and cooperating slot, spring loaded latch and cooperating locking tab) that allows for the sensor housing (300) to be Interchangeably Installed on and removed from the structural base (200) may be used.").
Regarding claim 14, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not disclose comprising one or more sensors. However, Valeo discloses a sensor pod module attached to a vehicle roof (abstract) and further discloses: comprising one or more sensors (para [0053] "The sensor housing (300) retains the plurality of sensors (e.g., a LIDAR sensor (102) and a camera sensor (104)). Furthermore, the sensor housing (300) comprises a second connector (310) that provides a rigid connection between the structural base (200) and the sensor housing (300).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Airgain and HARADA, so as to include comprising one or more sensors, as disclosed by Valeo, because it allows the system to acquire data from the vehicle surroundings (Valeo, para [0035]).
Regarding claim 15, Airgain as modified by HARADA and Valeo discloses the system according to claims 14, and Valeo further discloses discloses wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a temperature sensor, a camera, a radar sensor, and a lidar sensor (lidar, para [0053] "The sensor housing (300) retains the plurality of sensors (e.g., a LIDAR sensor (102) and a camera sensor (104)). Furthermore, the sensor housing (300) comprises a second connector (310) that provides a rigid connection between the structural base (200) and the sensor housing (300).").
Regarding claim 18, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 17, but does not disclose wherein the coupling arrangement comprises a snap-on fastening arrangement. However, Valeo discloses a sensor pod module attached to a vehicle roof (abstract) and further discloses: wherein the coupling arrangement comprises a snap-on fastening arrangement (cooperating locking tab, para [0050] "In one or more embodiments, a first fastening point of the plurality of first fastening points may be a shaped protrusion that cooperates with a complementary second fastening point on the sensor housing (300). Each first fastening point (214) may comprise an M6 rivet nut that cooperates with a corresponding second fastening point (e.g., an M6 bolt) on the sensor housing (300). However, the invention is not particularly limited to this type of fastener. Any appropriate pair of cooperating fastenings (e.g., a locking key and cooperating slot, spring loaded latch and cooperating locking tab) that allows for the sensor housing (300) to be interchangeably installed on and removed from the structural base (200) may be used.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Airgain and HARADA, so as to include a snap-on fastening arrangement, as disclosed by Valeo, because it allows the system to mount the housing on the vehicle and lock it in desired place (Valeo, para [0055]).
Regarding claim 27, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 17, but does not disclose comprising one or more sensors. However, Valeo discloses a sensor pod module attached to a vehicle roof (abstract) and further discloses: comprising one or more sensors (para [0053] "The sensor housing (300) retains the plurality of sensors (e.g., a LIDAR sensor (102) and a camera sensor (104)). Furthermore, the sensor housing (300) comprises a second connector (310) that provides a rigid connection between the structural base (200) and the sensor housing (300).").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Airgain and HARADA, so as to include comprising one or more sensors, as disclosed by Valeo, because it allows the system to acquire data from the vehicle surroundings (Valeo, para [0035]). Regarding claim 27/(18,19), Airgain as modified by HARADA and Valeo discloses the system according to any one of claims 18,19, and Valeo further discloses comprising one or more sensors (para [0053] "The sensor housing (300) retains the plurality of sensors (e.g., a LIDAR sensor (102) and a camera sensor (104)). Furthermore, the sensor housing (300) comprises a second connector (310) that provides a rigid connection between the structural base (200) and the sensor housing (300).").
Regarding claim 28, Airgain as modified by HARADA and Valeo discloses the system according to claim 27, and Valeo further discloses wherein the one or more sensors comprise one or more of an accelerometer, a gyroscope, a temperature sensor, a camera, a radar sensor, and a lidar sensor (para [0053] "The sensor housing (300) retains the plurality of sensors (e.g., a LIDAR sensor (102) and a camera sensor (104)). Furthermore, the sensor housing (300) comprises a second connector (310) that provides a rigid connection between the structural base (200) and the sensor housing (300).").
Claim(s) 3, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Airgain in view of HARADA in further view of US 2018/0302151 A1 to Waymo LLC (hereinafter 'Waymo').
Regarding claim 3, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not disclose comprising an attachment arrangement configured to rotatably attach the housing to the dock. However, Waymo discloses a vehicle mounted device with rotary joints (abstract) and further discloses: comprising an attachment arrangement configured to rotatably attach the housing to the dock (para [0096] "In some examples, the housing 310 can be configured to have a substantially cylindrical shape and to rotate about an axis of the LIDAR device 300. For example, the housing 310 can have the substantially cylindrical shape with a diameter of approximately 10 centimeters. In some examples, the axis is substantially vertical. By rotating the housing 210 that includes the various components, in some examples, a three-dimensional map of a 360-degree view of the environment of the LIDAR device 300 can be determined without frequent recalibration of the arrangement of the various components of the LIDAR device 300. ").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill In the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Airgain and HARADA, so as to include an attachment arrangement to rotatably attach the housing, as disclosed by Waymo, because it allows the system to change the housing direction for desired sensor needs (Waymo, para [0096]).
Regarding claim 20, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 17, but does not disclose comprising an attachment arrangement configured to rotatably attach the housing to the dock. However, Waymo discloses a vehicle mounted device with rotary joints (abstract) and further discloses: comprising an attachment arrangement configured to rotatably attach the housing to the dock (para [0096] "In some examples, the housing 310 can be configured to have a substantially cylindrical shape and to rotate about an axis of the LIDAR device 300. For example, the housing 310 can have the substantially cylindrical shape with a diameter of approximately 10 centimeters. In some examples, the axis is substantially vertical. By rotating the housing 210 that includes the various components, in some examples, a three-dimensional map of a 360-degree view of the environment of the LIDAR device 300 can be determined without frequent recalibration of the arrangement of the various components of the LIDAR device 300. ").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Airgain and HARADA, so as to Include an attachment arrangement to rotatably attach the housing, as disclosed by Waymo, because it allows the system to change the housing direction for desired sensor needs (Waymo, para [0096]).
Claim(s) 10 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Airgain in view of HARADA in further view of US 2020/0166637 A1 to Magna Electronics Inc. (hereinafter 'Magna').
Regarding claim 10, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the housing comprises a heatsink. However, Magna discloses a vehicle radar system (abstract) and further discloses: wherein the housing comprises a heatsink (para [0018] "As shown in FIG. 4, a radar sensor includes an RF chip or processor 21 disposed on the bottom of a PCB 24. The air wave guide antenna(s) 25 are also placed on the bottom or inboard side 24a of the PCB 24 that faces inboard of the vehicle or towards the Interior cabin of the vehicle (opposite the top or outboard side 24b that faces outboard or away from the vehicle and toward the exterior environment). and thus on the same side as the RF chip 21. Because of this, the radio signals do not suffer the signal loss associated with passing through the PCB while also allowing the RF chip 21 to be cooled via heat sink 22 that is mounted to or attached at the housing and allows heat transfer to the ambient environment 23.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill In the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Airgain and HARADA, so as to Include the housing comprising a heatsink, as disclosed by Magna, because it allows the system to transfer excess heat to the environment through the housing (Magna, para [0018]).
Regarding claim 24, Airgain as modified by HARADA discloses the system according to claim 17, but does not disclose wherein the housing comprises a heatsink. However, Magna discloses a vehicle radar system (abstract) and further discloses: wherein the housing comprises a heatsink (para [0018] "As shown in FIG. 4, a radar sensor includes an RF chip or processor 21 disposed on the bottom of a PCB 24. The air wave guide antenna(s) 25 are also placed on the bottom or inboard side 24a of the PCB 24 that faces inboard of the vehicle or towards the Interior cabin of the vehicle (opposite the top or outboard side 24b that faces outboard or away from the vehicle and toward the exterior environment), and thus on the same side as the RF chip 21. Because of this, the radio signals do not suffer the signal loss associated with passing through the PCB while also allowing the RF chip 21 to be cooled via heat sink 22 that is mounted to or attached at the housing and allows heat transfer to the ambient environment 23.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system, as disclosed by Airgain and HARADA, so as to include the housing comprising a heatsink, as disclosed by Magna, because it allows the system to transfer excess heat to the environment through the housing (Magna, para [0018]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13, 25 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GRAHAM P SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845