Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 5, are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18279252 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the are directed to the same invention and limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a processor that may sense the position of a cover based on information from a positioning sensor [0094], it does not reasonably provide enablement for a processor to be configured to control power supplied from the battery to the heater based on whether or not the cover opens the hole. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. One of ordinary skill does not know how to configure a processor to identify if a cover opens a hole without sensing circuity. Processors are not known to perform this function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sayed et al. (US 20220183357 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 3 Sayed et al disclose a an aerosol generating device (100) including a housing (102) including a hole (104) for accommodating an aerosol-generating article and a guide (202) separated from the hole (104), and a lid/cover (108a) that moves between a first position ( open position ) and a second position ( closed position ) along the guide (202) in order to open and close the hole (104) [0019], wherein when the cover (108) is located in the first position, the hole (104) is opened, and when the lid/cover (108) is located in the second position, the hole (108) is closed (see, [0038], [0067-0080] and figures 9A-9E below).
The spring (i.e. a deformed structure) of Sayed et al. biases the lid towards the open position when the lid is in or near the open position or toward the closed position when it is in or near the closed position ([0004], [0075-0078], see also claim 1). The spring moves the cover by elastic force before a threshold position between the first and second portion. Pivot points are used as a first and second maintain portions. The spring has a wound portion between the ends of the spring.
Regarding claim 2, the guide of Sayed (202) comprises a protrusion (as illustrated) on a surface of the housing. Portion 204 on the bottom of the lid (108b) goes under the protrusion while the top of the lid (108a) goes on top of the protrusion creating a groove where the protrusion from the housing is inserted (see figures 6-8).
Regarding claim 6-9, the spring of Sayed et al. accumulates elastic force before the cover reaches the threshold position (intermediate position), stating, “Here the spring 206 is in a more compressed state than in FIG. 9B…In FIG 9C the lid 108 has not yet reached the intermediate position and is therefore still biased towards the open position, in the direction of arrow 220.” [0076]. The compressed spring as described and shown stores more energy than an expanded spring.
When the lid, “has moved beyond an intermediate position and the spring 206 has continued to rotate about the two pivot points 208, 210…The spring 206 therefore biases the lid 108 towards the closed position in the direction of arow 222.” [0077]. The spring inherently accelerates movement of the cover by providing a biasing force.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as 103 as being unpatentable over Sayed et al. (US 20220183357 A1) in view of Tanaka (US 20210015151A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Sayed et al. disclose a spring (i.e. elastic member) has a wound portion between and end and the other end, but Sayed et al. do not expressly disclose that as the cover moves the movement path of the wound portion forms a curve.
However, it is known in the art that other types of springs are readily available. For instance, Tanaka discloses a smoking device with a lids and a guide member along with a torsion spring. The spring applies torsion and is illustrated in three different position and that winding forms a curve through the illustrated movement path (see figure 6, element 60a, 60b, and 60c, below). The spring has a first part and a second part that extend in different directions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the spring of Tanaka in place of the spring of Sayed et al. because it is well known in the art to replace one element of the same type for the same purpose. Replacing one known spring biasing a moving lid with another known spring biasing a moving lid would have been obvious and would have had predictable results.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayed et al. (US 20220183357 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bellusci et al. (US 20210007396 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Sayed et al. disclose a heater configured to heat the aerosol generating article, a battery to power the heater, and a controller such as a processor and memory to control the power supplied to the heater [0017, 0018, 0037, 0045-0046]. Sayed et al. do not disclose that the processor is configured to control power supplied from the battery to the heater based on whether or not the cover opens the hole.
However, Bellusci et al. disclose a similar cover for a similar aerosol generating device. The device of Bellusci et al. contains a detector that provides, “a signal to the controller 18 indicative of whether the cover element 42 is in the closed position or the open position.” [0104]. The controller will not supply power to the heater if the cover is closed because it is assumed that an aerosol generating article is not in the heating cavity [0105]. If the cover is open, the controller may supply power to the heater [0106].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use a sensor as disclosed in the invention of Bellusci et al. to detect whether the cover of Sayed et al. is in the open and closed position so that the controller can determine whether or not to provide power to the heating system as described by Bellusci et al.
Conclusion
/Michael J Felton/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1747