DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites, “the two retaining arms are arranged in the at least one slot in the pre-assembly position and abut an outer casing wall of the locking sleeve in a biased manner”. However, it is not clear to the Examiner how the two retaining arms are arranged in the at least one slot in the pre-assembly position. The Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 11796099, Gocha.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Gocha discloses a fluid coupling apparatus for coupling two fluid lines along an axial direction, the fluid coupling apparatus comprising: a tubular socket element (16, 40) having at least one slot (70), a conduction side and a coupling side, wherein a locking sleeve (80) which is axially displaceable in a direction of the conduction side is arranged in the socket element and fixes a pre-assembly position, wherein the locking sleeve includes at least one inner catching element (82) for fixing the pre-assembly position and at least one outer catching element (92) for fixing the locking sleeve in a final assembly position; a tubular plug element (12) having a conduction side and a coupling side and a retaining groove (13), wherein a retaining groove is formed on an outside of the tubular plug element; and a retaining element (60) configured to enter the at least one slot, wherein the retaining element is arranged orthogonally to the axial direction and is C-shaped and has two retaining arms.
In regards to claim 15, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Gocha discloses the at least one inner catching element extends radially inward and is arranged in the locking recess in the pre-assembly position.
In regards to claim 16, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Gocha discloses the at least one outer catching element extends radially outward and is arranged in the locking recess in the final assembly position.
In regards to claim 17, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Gocha discloses the socket element comprises a second slot, the at least one slot and second slot extending orthogonally to an axial direction and arranged opposite one another are formed in the socket element.
In regards to claim 18, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Gocha discloses the retaining groove extends orthogonally to the axial direction, in which, in a final assembly position, retaining arms of the retaining element are receivable.
In regards to claim 19, as best understood, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Gocha discloses the two retaining arms are arranged in the at least one slot in the pre-assembly position and abut an outer casing wall of the locking sleeve in a biased manner.
In regards to claim 20, in Figures 3-8 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Gocha discloses the retaining arms are received in the retaining groove in the final assembly position after release by the locking sleeve and thereby fix a complete coupling of the socket element and the plug element in the final assembly position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 and 9-12 are allowed.
Claims 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679