DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 (similar language in claim 13) recites, “…the locking sleeve includes at least one inner catching element for fixing the pre-assembly position and at least one outer catching element for fixing the locking sleeve in a final assembly position…a retaining element biased in the pre-assembly position and releasable by displacing the locking sleeve by means of the plug element in the direction of the conduction side of the socket element such that the retaining element is received in the final assembly position in the retaining groove and thereby a complete coupling of the socket element and the plug element is fixed in the final assembly position…”. The original disclosure recites:
[0150] In the axial coupling, the socket element 5 and the plug element 6 are first moved or displaced in the axial direction relative to one another. In this way, the anti-rotation retaining recesses 16 of the locking sleeve 11 contact the protrusions 27 of the plug element 6, such that the locking sleeve 11 is displaced in the axial direction 2 in the direction of the conduction side of the socket element 5, thereby axially displacing the inner catching elements 15 of the locking sleeve 11 in the locking recesses 10 of the retaining ring 9. It can alternatively be provided that the inner catching elements 15 of the locking sleeve 11 are disengaged from the locking recesses 10 of the retaining ring 9.
[0151] Through a further displacement of the locking sleeve 11 by means of the plug element 6, the outer catching elements 13 of the locking sleeve 11 finally lock into the retaining recesses 18 of the socket element 5 so that the retaining arms 21 of the retaining element 20 now move freely through the retaining element receiving slots 19 into the receiving space 7 and engage with the radially circumferential retaining groove 26 of the plug element 6.
[0152] In this way, the final assembly position 24 is securely and reliably fixed. The retaining arms 21 or the retaining element 20 are not only moved radially inward, but also orthogonally to the axial direction 2 in the direction of the receiving space 7.
[0153] In this way, a complete coupling of the socket element 5 and the plug element 6 is possible, and the final assembly position 24 is securely and reliably fixed.
The original disclosure does not support the locking sleeve includes at least one inner catching element for fixing the pre-assembly position and at least one outer catching element for fixing the locking sleeve in a final assembly position…a retaining element biased in the pre-assembly position and releasable by displacing the locking sleeve by means of the plug element in the direction of the conduction side of the socket element such that the retaining element is received in the final assembly position in the retaining groove and thereby a complete coupling of the socket element and the plug element is fixed in the final assembly position. Therefore, the Examiner must conclude the claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 2-6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites, “and a retaining groove” and “a retaining groove is formed”; however, it is not clear to the Examiner whether or not there are two different retaining grooves. The Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim 2 recites, “the retaining element are receivable” and “a retaining element biased”; however, it is not clear to the Examiner whether or not there are two different retaining elements. The Examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210054957, Gocha.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Gocha discloses a fluid coupling apparatus for coupling two fluid lines along an axial direction, the fluid coupling apparatus comprising: a tubular socket element (16) having a conduction side (32) and a coupling side (22), wherein a locking sleeve (40) which is axially displaceable in a direction of the conduction side is arranged in the socket element and fixes a pre-assembly position, wherein the locking sleeve includes at least one inner catching element (86) for fixing the pre-assembly position and at least one outer catching element (46) for fixing the locking sleeve in a final assembly position; a tubular plug element (12) having a conduction side and a coupling side and a retaining groove (13), wherein a retaining groove is formed on an outside of the tubular plug element; and a retaining element (60) biased in the pre-assembly position and releasable by displacing the locking sleeve by means of the plug element in the direction of the conduction side of the socket element such that the retaining element is received in the final assembly position in the retaining groove and thereby a complete coupling of the socket element and the plug element is fixed in the final assembly position, wherein the retaining element is arranged orthogonally to the axial direction and is C-shaped (in as much as Applicant’s invention is shaped) and has two retaining arms (62, 64).
In regard to claim 13, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs [0033]-[0041], Gocha discloses a method for axially coupling two fluid lines to a fluid coupling apparatus according to claim 1, comprising the following steps: introducing a tubular plug element in the axial direction into a tubular socket element; displacing a locking sleeve of the socket element in the direction of a conduction side of the socket element by means of the plug element; disengaging the at least one inner catching element of the locking sleeve from a locking recess with which the pre-assembly position has been fixed; locking an outer catching element in a retaining recess of the socket element; releasing a biased retaining element by the displacement of the locking sleeve; moving retaining arms of the retaining element radially inward and orthogonal to an axial direction in the direction of the socket element and the plug element, and inserting the retaining arms into a retaining groove of the plug element; and fixing the socket element and the plug element in a completely coupled final assembly position.
In regard to claim 15, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs [0033]-[0041], Gocha discloses the at least one inner catching element extends radially inward and is arranged in the locking recess in the pre-assembly position.
In regard to claim 16, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs [0033]-[0041], Gocha discloses the at least one outer catching element extends radially outward and is arranged in the locking recess in the final assembly position.
In regard to claim 17, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs [0033]-[0041], Gocha discloses two retaining element slots extending orthogonally to an axial direction and arranged opposite one another are formed in the socket element.
In regard to claim 18, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs [0033]-[0041], Gocha discloses the retaining groove extends orthogonally to the axial direction, in which, in a final assembly position, retaining arms of the retaining element are receivable.
In regard to claim 19, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs [0033]-[0041], Gocha discloses the two retaining arms are arranged in the retaining slots in the pre-assembly position and abut an outer casing wall of the locking sleeve in a biased manner.
In regard to claim 20, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs [0033]-[0041], Gocha discloses the retaining arms are received in the retaining groove in the final assembly position after release by the locking sleeve and thereby fix a complete coupling of the socket element and the plug element in the final assembly position.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) above have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679