DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to: Amendments filed on August 25th, 2025
This action is made Final.
Claims 1-9 are pending claims.
Applicants amended claims 1, 3, and 4.
Applicants cancelled claim 2.
Applicants added claims 6-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chauncey et al., US PG PUB# 2020/0216001 A1 (hereinafter Chauncey).
As for independent claim 1:
Chauncey discloses an information processing apparatus comprising a controller, the controller being configured to execute:
acquiring first data about an amount of fuel or power consumed when a first vehicle passes through each of a plurality of first road segments (0009, Chauncey discloses fuel consumption for a vehicle and road segments 0058);
generating, based on the first data, first information on the fuel or power consumption amounts of the first vehicle in a section of a predetermined length that includes the first road segment; and mapping the first information on the first road segment on a road map (Chauncey discloses mapping module in 0007, 0016 and 0057 where Chauncey shows route determination and road segment. The invention provides a method of determining fuel use of a vehicle for at least one segment of a route of travel. The method includes determining one or more vehicle characteristics of the vehicle, the vehicle characteristics including at least one of a vehicle profile or a vehicle load; determining one or more segment characteristics of the at least one segment, including at least one of a slope, government imposed traffic controls, volume of traffic, or weather conditions; and determining, with a processor, a fuel economy for the vehicle relating to the at least one segment as a function of the one or more vehicle characteristics and the one or more segment characteristics);
wherein the controller overlays a graphic for presenting the first information, on the first road segment included in the road map (0007, 0048, and 0057, see mapping module and identification of road segment. Chauncey disclosed mapping module identifies segments and route. Chauncey disclosed audiovisual device generating visual and audio to the operator with feedback and display).
As for dependent claim 3:
Chauncey discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the controller decides color of the graphic based on the fuel or power consumption amount of the first vehicle (0057, The determination module obtains information from the fuel-use log and determines the amount of fuel used during all or a portion of the sortie, the amount of fuel wasted, and the minimum amount of fuel required to complete all or a portion of the sortie. The mapping module identifies one or more routes of travel between a departure and a destination. The mapping module may further break down each route of travel into a plurality of continuous segments of the route of travel. In one embodiment, the mapping module is remote to the vehicle, e.g., in a back-office server, and may transmit a calculated route to the vehicle.)
As for independent claim 4:
Chauncey discloses information processing apparatus comprising a controller, the controller being configured to execute:
acquiring first data about an amount of fuel or power consumed when a first vehicle passes through a first road segment; acquiring second data about amounts of fuel or power consumed when a plurality of second vehicles pass through the first road segment (0009, Chauncey discloses fuel consumption for a vehicle and road segments 0057. Chauncey discloses acquiring data form a plurality of vehicles in the cited sections and 0123);
generating, based on the first and second data, first information that is a result of comparing the fuel or power consumption amounts in a section of a predetermined length that includes the first road segment, between the first vehicle and the plurality of second vehicles; and mapping the first information on the first road segment on a road map (Chauncey discloses mapping module in 0007, 0016 and 0057 where Chauncey shows route determination and road segment. The invention provides a method of determining fuel use of a vehicle for at least one segment of a route of travel. The method includes determining one or more vehicle characteristics of the vehicle, the vehicle characteristics including at least one of a vehicle profile or a vehicle load; determining one or more segment characteristics of the at least one segment, including at least one of a slope, government imposed traffic controls, volume of traffic, or weather conditions; and determining, with a processor, a fuel economy for the vehicle relating to the at least one segment as a function of the one or more vehicle characteristics and the one or more segment characteristics.)
wherein the controller overlays a graphic for presenting the first information, on the first road segment included in the road map (0007, 0048, and 0057, see mapping module and identification of road segment. Chauncey disclosed mapping module identifies segments and route. Chauncey disclosed audiovisual device generating visual and audio to the operator with feedback and display).
As for dependent claim 5:
Chauncey discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the plurality of second vehicles are vehicles having a same attribute as the first vehicle (see second vehicle profile in 0123).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Chauncey et al., US PG PUB# 2020/0216001 A1 (hereinafter Chauncey) in view of Mineta, US PG PUB# 2011/0246019 A1 (hereinafter Mineta).
As for dependent claim 6:
Chauncey does not disclose information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the graphic includes the acquired fuel consumption or power consumption for the first road segment. Mineta disclosed information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the graphic includes the acquired fuel consumption or power consumption for the first road segment in 0047-0049. In the cited section Mineta discloses energy map and fuel consumption for roadway segment. Accordingly it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a skilled artisan to modify the apparatus of Chauncey to incorporate the teaching of Mineta, thus allow a graphic display of fuel consumption associated with roadway segment (Mineta, 0047).
As for dependent claim 7:
Chauncey -Mineta discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the graphic includes the acquired fuel consumption and power consumption for the first road segment (Mineta,0047-0048, Figure 7, see acquired fuel consumption and power consumption).
As for dependent claim 8:
Chauncey -Mineta discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the graphic includes the acquired fuel consumption or power consumption for the first road segment (Mineta, 0048-0049)
As for dependent claim 9:
Chauncey -Mineta discloses information processing apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the graphic includes the acquired fuel consumption and power consumption for the first road segment (Mineta, 0048-0049, see acquired fuel consumption and power consumption).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Office refers applicants to MPEP 2123, where the MPEP 2123 states the entire reference is cited and specific cited sections of the reference are not limiting in any way. Any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d
During patent examination, the pending claims must be 'given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification.' Applicant always has the opportunity to amend the claims during prosecution and broad interpretation by the examiner reduces the possibility that the claim, once issued, will be interpreted more broadly than is justified. In re Prater, 162 USPQ 541,550-51 (CCPA 1969).
Reference is made to MPEP 2144.01 - Implicit Disclosure
"[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).
As for 35 USC 102 rejection:
As for independent claims 1 and 4:
Applicants assert Chauncey fails to disclose overlaying a graphic for presenting the first information, on the first road segment included in the road map (Applicant’s Remarks, Pg.5).
The Office respectfully disagrees.
As shown above in the last Office Action mailed on, Chauncey shows and suggests the overlaying a graphic for presenting the first information, on the first road segment included in the road map in 0007, 0048, and 0057, see mapping module and identification of road segment. Chauncey disclosed mapping module identifies segments and route. Chauncey disclosed audiovisual device generating visual and audio to the operator with feedback and display. From the evidence shown above, Chauncey shows and suggests all the limitations in claim 1. At this time claim 1 is not in condition for an allowance.
Claim 4 contains similar subject matter as claim 1 and is therefore not allowable for the same reason stated above.
It is noted that any citation to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the references should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)).
The Examiner notes MPEP § 2144.01, that quotes In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825,159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968) as stating “in considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom.” Further MPEP 2123, states that “a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Laboratories, 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/David Phantana-angkool/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172