This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 3/11/2026.
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, 11-14, 16-19, 22-24, 26, 30 & 42 are pending and presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/24/2025, 4/13/2026 and 7/1/2026 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claim 39 has been cancelled.
Claims 1, 13 & 18 have been amended.
Objection to claim 13 has been made based on amendments to this claim.
Claim 42 has been added and is presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that claims 1, 4-6, 8, 9, 11-14, 16-19, 22-24, 26, 30 & 42 are patentable based on amendments to claims 1, 13 & 18 because the cited references in the Non-final rejection dated 12/17/2025, alone or in combination, fail to teach all of the limitations in these claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that a claimed invention may be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 when the invention is anticipated (or is “not novel”) over a disclosure that is available as prior art that teaches every element required by the claim under its broadest reasonable interpretation (see §MPEP 2131), and, per 35 U.S.C. 103, a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see §MPEP 2141).
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Yang fails to disclose "performing, by the first network node, a measurement based on the configuration information, wherein the measurement includes: measuring a reference signal of the RS type on time-frequency resources indicated by the RS resource information; and generating a measurement report according to the measurement report configuration.". Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that [0007] of Yang discloses that the first configuration information is used for a UE to perform a layer 1 measurement of a neighboring cell, and [0205] of Yang discloses that the layer 1 measurement may be on the frequency domain and time domain resources of a second reference signal (RS type). Further, [0007] of Yang discloses that the first configuration information is used by the UE to report a measurement (i.e. generate a measurement report) of a neighboring cell.).
Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains that Yang discloses all of the limitations of amended claim 1, and thus examiner maintains rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102.
Regarding claims 4 & 5, applicant submits that these claims are patentable due to amendments and arguments made for claim 1 and due to their dependency on claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner maintains rejections of claims 4 & 5 under 35 USC 102.
Regarding claims 6, 8, 9, 11 & 12, applicant submits that these claims are patentable due to amendments and arguments made for claim 1 and due to their dependency on claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner maintains rejections of claims 4 & 5 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claim 42, applicant submits that this claim is patentable due to amendments and arguments made for claim 1 and due to its dependency on claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner submits that claim 42 is not patentable purely based on being dependent on claim 1. The additional features of claim 42 are pending and presented for examination in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 13, applicant argues that Yang in view of Kim fail to disclose "wherein the measurement includes measuring a reference signal of an RS type on time-frequency resources indicated by RS resource information included in the measurement reference signal configuration.". Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that [0007] of Yang discloses that the first configuration information is used for a UE to perform a layer 1 measurement of a neighboring cell, and [0205] of Yang discloses that the layer 1 measurement may be on the frequency domain and time domain resources of a second reference signal (RS type). Further [0210]-[0211] of Yang discloses that the UE performs the layer 1 measurement based on the first configuration information (i.e. the measurement reference signal configuration).
Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains that Yang in view of Kim disclose all of the limitations of amended claim 13, and thus examiner maintains rejection of claim 13 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claims 14, 16 & 17, applicant submits that these claims are patentable due to amendments and arguments made for claim 13 and due to their dependency on claim 13. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner maintains rejections of claims 14, 16 & 17 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claim 18, applicant argues that Xu in view of Kim fail to disclose “wherein the transmission parameter configuration is determined according to feedback information corresponding to an interference measurement between the first network node and a second network node.". Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that [0083]-[0085] of Xu disclose that the interfering base station may reconfigure the UL-DL slot format based on RIM-RS and/or timing information (i.e. feedback), corresponding to interference measured by the interfered base station from the interfering bas station (i.e. interference between the first and second network nodes), transmitted by the interfered base station.
Based on the above discussion, examiner maintains that Xu in view of Kim disclose all of the limitations of amended claim 18, and thus examiner maintains rejection of claim 18 under 35 USC 103.
Regarding claims 19, 22-24, 26 & 30, applicant submits that these claims are patentable due to amendments and arguments made for claim 18 and due to their dependency on claim 18. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner maintains rejections of claims 19, 22,23 & 30 under 35 USC 103.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: this claim recites the limitations “performing, by a first network node, a measurement based on a configuration information including at least one of a measurement reference signal configuration, a measurement parameter configuration, a measurement report configuration, or a frame structure, wherein the measurement includes measuring a reference signal of an RS type on time-frequency resources indicated by RS resource information included in the measurement reference signal configuration”. This claim language first implies that the measurement be based on an optional measurement reference signal configuration, but then requires that the measurement includes measuring a reference signal included in the measurement reference signal configuration, making the measurement reference signal configuration a mandatory feature of the measurement. For clarity, examiner suggests modifying the claim language to make it clear that the measurement reference signal configuration is mandatory and only “a measurement parameter configuration, a measurement report configuration, or a frame structure” are optional features. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims in the present application recite Markush groups in the format of “at least one of A, B or C” (see MPEP §2117). For the purpose of this review, the examiner is interpreting these Markush claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B, C, A&B, A&C, B&C, or A&B&C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1, 4, 5 & 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0180081 A1, hereinafter “Yang”).
In regards to claim 1, Yang discloses A method of wireless communication, comprising: receiving, by a first network node, from a second network node, a configuration information ([0007] discloses a UE (i.e. first network node) receiving from a base station (i.e. a second network node) first configuration information for performing target operations at a layer 1 (i.e. layer 1 measurement configuration information).);
wherein the configuration information includes at least one of a measurement reference signal configuration, a measurement parameter configuration, a measurement report configuration, or a frame structure (optional) ([0086] discloses that the layer 1 measurement configuration information includes a sounding reference signal configuration, a channel state information measurement configuration, and a channel state information report configuration.),
wherein the measurement reference signal configuration includes at least one of reference signal (RS) type information or RS resource information ([0086] discloses a sounding reference signal configuration (i.e. SRS type), a sounding reference signal resource set, and a sounding reference signal resource.),
wherein the measurement parameter configuration indicates a measurement target ([0078] discloses that the first configuration information (i.e. layer 1 measurement configuration information) may include target reference signal information.),
wherein the measurement report configuration indicates conditions for a measurement report to be reported and contents of a measurement report ([0106] discloses that a measurement report config may specify a cell identifier for the measurements to be reported.),
wherein the frame structure corresponds to a frame structure of a cell of the second network node (optional);
and performing, by the first network node, a measurement based on the configuration information ([0007] discloses that the first configuration information is used for the UE to perform a layer 1 measurement of a neighboring cell.), wherein the measurement includes:
measuring a reference signal of the RS type on time-frequency resources indicated by the RS resource information ([0205] discloses the UE may perform layer 1 measurement on the frequency domain and time domain resources of a second reference signal (RS type).); and
generating a measurement report according to the measurement report configuration ([0007] discloses that the first configuration information is used by the UE to report a measurement (i.e. generate a measurement report) of a neighboring cell.).
In regards to claim 4, Yang discloses wherein the RS type information includes at least one of synchronization signal block (SSB), channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS), demodulation reference signal (DMRS) (optional), sounding reference signal (SRS), or remote interference management reference signal (RIM-RS) (optional) ([0086] discloses that the layer 1 measurement configuration includes a synchronization signal block (SSB) to be measured, a reference signal information includes SSB), a non-zero power channel state information reference signal resource (NZP-CSI-RS-Resource) and a sounding reference signal (SRS) configuration.),
wherein resource information of the SSB includes at least one of a period of SSB, an offset of SSB (optional), an actually transmitted SSB (optional), a cell identifier (ID) of a cell associated with the second network node, or a frequency location of SSB ([0047] & [0086] disclose that the layer 1 measurement configuration includes an SSB measurement timing configuration that defines a period for measuring the SSB. [0078] discloses that the first configuration information may include a cell identifier of a target neighboring cell (i.e. a cell associated with the base station). [0137]-[0138] disclose that first reference signal information, as part of the first configuration information, may include frequency domain information of a synchronization signal block position.).
In regards to claim 5, Yang discloses wherein the resource information of RS includes at least one of time domain resource of RS, frequency domain resource of RS, sequence of RS, or quasi co-location (QCL) source of RS ([0137]-[0138] disclose that first reference signal (RS) information, as a part of the first configuration information, includes time domain information including a period, offset, quantity of symbols or a location of a symbol. [0137]-[0138] disclose that first RS information, as a part of the first configuration information, includes frequency domain information including a quantity of resource blocks (RBs) or subcarriers, or a RB or subcarrier location.[0137] discloses that first RS information, as a part of the first configuration information, includes a resource element pattern (i.e. sequence of RS) and QCL information.).
In regards to claim 42, Yang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication comprising at least one processor that is configured to carry out the method of claim 1 ([0009]-[0010] disclose that user equipment and network side devices include processors for executing the steps of the methods of claim 1.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was
commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0180081 A1, hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Olofsson et al. (US PG Pub. 2011/0182202 A1, hereinafter “Olofsson”).
In regards to claim 6, Yang discloses the method of claim 1.
Yang fails to disclose but Olofsson teaches wherein the measurement target includes at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR) (optional), or channel quality indicator (CQI) ([0063] discloses that network signaling to a UE may include information on what signals or parameters to measure (i.e. target information) including reference signal received power (RSRP), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ) and Channel Quality indicator (CQI).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the measurement target includes at least one of reference signal received power (RSRP), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), or channel quality indicator (CQI), as taught by Olofsson. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station to configure a UE to perform measurements of a target neighboring cell, wherein the measurements of the target neighboring cell include an RSRP, so that the UE can generate and send a measurement report to the base station including the RSRP measured by the UE at the neighboring cell so that the base station can determine if the UE may be receiving enough signal strength from the neighboring cell to initiate a handover to the neighboring cell.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0180081 A1, hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Watts et al. (US PG Pub. 2025/0233650 A1, hereinafter “Watts”).
In regards to claim 8, Yang discloses the method of claim 1.
Yang fails to disclose but Watts teaches wherein the measurement report configuration includes a threshold value, and wherein the first network node transmits the measurement report in a case that a measured result is higher than the threshold value ([0091] discloses that a WTRU (i.e. first network node) sends a measurement report if neighboring cell measurements exceed a threshold, according a measurement configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the measurement report configuration includes a threshold value, and wherein the first network node transmits the measurement report in a case that a measured result is higher than the threshold value, as taught by Watts. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station to configure a UE to perform measurements of a target neighboring cell, wherein the configuration indicates to the UE to only report the measurements of the target neighboring cell when a signal strength of the target neighboring cell exceeds a threshold, in order to reduce interference and conserve battery life in the UE by not sending measurement reports of the target neighboring cell when the signal strength measured from the target neighboring cell does not exceed a threshold for minimum power required to perform a handover to the target neighboring cell.
In regards to claim 9, Yang discloses the method of claim 1.
Yang fails to disclose but Watts teaches wherein the first network node transmits the measurement report periodically ([0091] discloses that a WTRU may transmit measurement reports periodically.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the first network node transmits the measurement report periodically, as taught by Watts. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station to configure a UE to perform measurements of a target neighboring cell, wherein the configuration indicates to the UE to report the measurements of the target neighboring cell periodically, so that the UE sends measurement reports frequent enough to recognize when the received signal strength from a target neighboring cell has increased to a point where interference from the target neighboring cell may become an issue and the UE should handover to the target neighboring cell.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0180081 A1, hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Fwu et al (US PG Pub. 2013/0194982 A1, hereinafter “Fwu”).
In regards to claim 11, Yang discloses the method of claim 1.
Since claim 11 further defines an optional limitation of claim 1, and Yang has already shown to teach a different optional limitation, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as applied above to claim 1.
Yang fails to disclose but Fwu teaches wherein the frame structure includes at least one of a semi-static frame structure configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or a dynamic frame structure indicated by downlink control information (DCI) ([0074] discloses an eNodeB transmitting frame level UL/DL re-configuration information. [0055] disclose that the re-configuration may be for a frame structure that can be dynamically adapted for UL or DL transmissions or have semi-static UL or DL transmissions. [0074] discloses that the re-configuration allocation may be for semi-static RRC signaling or dynamic signaling using DCI.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the frame structure includes at least one of a semi-static frame structure configured by radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or a dynamic frame structure indicated by downlink control information (DCI), as taught by Fwu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station to configure a UE to perform measurements of a target neighboring cell, wherein the configuration indicates to the UE to report the measurements of the target neighboring cell having a frame structure that either dynamically adapts between UL or DL transmission through dynamic signaling using DCI or semi-statically adapts between UL or DL transmission through semi-static RRC signaling, so that the UE knows the frame structure of the target neighboring cell and when to perform UL vs. DL measurements.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0180081 A1, hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Hu et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0362763 A1, hereinafter “Hu”).
In regards to claim 12, Yang discloses the method of claim 1.
Yang fails to disclose but Hu teaches wherein the receiving of the configuration information includes receiving a configuration information from an operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) function ([0168] discloses receiving QoE measurement-related configuration information from an OAM.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Yang, wherein the receiving of the configuration information includes receiving a configuration information from an operations, administration and maintenance (OAM) function, as taught by Hu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station to configure a UE to perform measurements of a target neighboring cell, based on receiving configuration information from an OAM so that UE measurements across multiple base stations can be configured in a coordinated fashion by a more centralized OAM function.
Claims 13 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0180081 A1, hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Kim et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0321417 A1, from IDS dated 12/05/2023, hereinafter “Kim”).
In regards to claim 13, Yang discloses A method of wireless communication, comprising: performing, by a first network node, a measurement based on a configuration information including at least one of a measurement reference signal configuration, a measurement parameter configuration, a measurement report configuration, or a frame structure (optional) ([0007] discloses a UE (i.e. first network node) performing measurements of a neighboring cell of a first cell (i.e. a second network element) based on receiving from the first cell first configuration information for performing target operations at a layer 1 (i.e. layer 1 measurement configuration information that includes a sounding reference signal configuration, a channel state information measurement configuration, and a channel state information report configuration.),
wherein the measurement includes measuring a reference signal of an RS type on time-frequency resources indicated by the RS resource information included in the measurement reference signal configuration ([0205] discloses the UE may perform layer 1 measurement on the frequency domain and time domain resources of a second reference signal (RS type). [0210]-[0211] discloses that the UE performs the layer 1 measurement based on the first configuration information.);
transmitting, by the first network node, to a second network node, a measurement report including a feedback information corresponding to the measurement according to the measurement report configuration ([0007]-[0008] & [0068-0072] discloses the UE (i.e. first network device) reports (i.e. transmits) to the network side device (i.e. second network device) a target measurement report including layer 1 measurement results (i.e. feedback information) corresponding to the layer 1 measurements indicated in the first configuration information.);
Yang fails to disclose but Kim teaches performing, the first network node, an interference coordination based on the configuration information that is updated according to the measurement report ([0196-0201] discloses an aggressor gNB, based on identifying cross-link interference has occurred (e.g. through measurement reports from a UE), resolves interference (i.e. performs interference coordination) by broadcasting a predetermined RS (i.e. updated configuration information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method of wireless communication, comprising performing, by a first network node, a measurement based on a configuration information including at least one of a measurement reference signal configuration, a measurement parameter configuration, a measurement report configuration, or a frame structure, wherein the measurement includes measuring a reference signal of an RS type on time-frequency resources indicated by the RS resource information included in the measurement reference signal configuration; and transmitting, by the first network node, to a second network node, a measurement report including a feedback information corresponding to the measurement according to the measurement report configuration, as disclosed by Yang, and performing, the first network node, an interference coordination based on the configuration information that is updated according to the measurement report, as taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station to configure a UE to perform measurements of a target neighboring cell, the UE performs and reports layer 1 measurements based on the configuration, and the base station sends updated configuration information to the UE and the target neighboring cell performing interference coordination based on the layer 1 measurements reported by the UE in order to resolve interference issues and improve performance at the base station, neighboring cell and UE.
In regards to claim 17, the combination Yang in view of Kim disclose the method of claim 13.
Yang fails to disclose but Kim teaches wherein the feedback information is carried by a first reference signal by performing a first method ([0217] discloses a method for determining interference based on the power of symbols in which a DMRS in sent by a UE (i.e. the feedback information is carried by the DMRS), wherein the first method includes at least one of:
initializing a sequence of the first reference signal by the feedback information (optional);
scrambling the sequence of the first reference signal by another sequence generated according to the feedback information (optional);
relating time domain resources of the first reference signal to the feedback information ([0232]-[0233] disclose relating a time location of an RS to when interference is present. [0213] discloses that the RS may be detected to obtain information on cross-link interference (CLI) (i.e. the RS contains feedback on interference present). Thus disclosed is relating a time location of an RS to interference feedback information.); or
relating frequency domain resources of the first reference signal to the feedback information ([0230]-[0231] disclose relating a frequency location of an RS to where interference is present. [0213] discloses that the RS may be detected to obtain information on cross-link interference (CLI) (i.e. the RS contains feedback on interference present). Thus disclosed is relating a frequency location of an RS to interference feedback information.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 13, as disclosed by Yang in view of Kim, wherein the feedback information is carried by a first reference signal by performing a first method, wherein the first method includes at least one of: relating time domain resources of the first reference signal to the feedback information; or relating frequency domain resources of the first reference signal to the feedback information, as further taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station to configure a UE to perform measurements of a target neighboring cell, the UE performs and reports layer 1 measurements based on the configuration through RS signals indicating interference levels, and the base station relates the time and frequency domain resources of the RS to interference level feedback so that the base station can determine when the received signal strength from the target neighboring cell identified through the RS signals has increased to a point where interference from the target neighboring cell may become an issue and the UE should handover to the target neighboring cell.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0180081 A1, hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Kim et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0321417 A1, from IDS dated 12/05/2023, hereinafter “Kim”), as applied to claim 13,and further in view of Olofsson et al. (US PG Pub. 2011/0182202 A1, hereinafter “Olofsson”).
In regards to claim 14, the combination Yang in view of Kim disclose the method of claim 13.
Yang fails to disclose but Olofsson further teaches wherein the measurement report includes at least one of: one or more RS indices corresponding to a strongest power or interference level or interference strength (optional);
one or more RS indices corresponding to a power or interference level or interference strength that is higher than a threshold value (optional);
one or more RS indices corresponding to a lowest power or interference level or interference strength (optional);
one or more RS indices corresponding to a power or interference level or interference strength that is lower than the threshold value (optional);
one or more RS indices corresponding to a power or interference level or interference strength that is lower than a first threshold value and higher than a second threshold value (optional);
a power or interference level or interference strength corresponding to each reported RS ([0063] discloses reporting of a reference signal (RS) received power and a reference signal received quality.);
one RS index list that includes RS indices sorted by a power or interference level or interference strength (optional);
a cell ID or node ID associated with a reported RS index (optional); or
a cell or a node that measures RS ([0063]-[0064] discloses reporting of a cell ID).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 13, as disclosed by Yang in view of Kim, wherein the measurement report includes at least one of: a power or interference level or interference strength corresponding to each reported RS or a cell or a node that measures RS, as further taught by Olofsson. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station to configure a UE to perform measurements of a target neighboring cell, the UE performs and reports layer 1 measurements based on the configuration, wherein the measurement report from the UE includes a power or interference level or interference strength corresponding to the reported RS and the cell ID of the target neighboring cell so that the base station receiving the report can recognize when the received signal strength from the target neighboring cell identified in the measurement report has increased to a point where interference from the target neighboring cell recognized in the measurement report may become an issue and the UE should handover to the target neighboring cell recognized in the measurement report.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US PG Pub. 2023/0180081 A1, hereinafter “Yang”) in view of Kim et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0321417 A1, from IDS dated 12/05/2023, hereinafter “Kim”) and further in view of Su et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0150012 A1, hereinafter “Su”).
In regards to claim 16, Yang in view of Kim disclose the method of claim 13.
Yang fails to disclose but Su further teaches wherein the feedback information includes a resource pattern for high-interference transmissions ([0034] discloses replica indexes of M replicas of a plurality of replicas of which average inter-base station interference signal power are greater than a predetermined threshold in each frequency sub-band.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 13, as disclosed by Yang in view of Kim, wherein the feedback information includes a resource pattern for high-interference transmissions, as further taught by Su. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station to configure a UE to perform measurements of target neighboring cells, the UE performs and reports layer 1 measurement report feedback based on the configuration, wherein the measurement report from the UE includes a pattern of frequency sub-bands for which interference signal power is greater than a threshold so that the base station can recognize when a received signal strength from one of the target neighboring cells identified in the measurement report has increased to a point where interference from the one of the target neighboring cell recognized in the measurement report may become an issue and the UE should handover to the one of the target neighboring cells recognized in the measurement report.
Claims 18, 19, 22, 23, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0185726 A1, from IDS dated 12/05/2023, hereinafter “Xu”) in view of Kim et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0321417 A1, from IDS dated 12/05/2023, hereinafter “Kim”).
In regards to claim 18, Xu discloses a method of wireless communication, comprising: determining, by a first network node, a transmission parameter configuration for a first direction transmission from the first network node based on a plurality of patterns of channel or signal transmission (¶ [0083] discloses an interfering base station receiving a tdd-UL-DL transmission parameter configuration, from a plurality of UL-DL pattern transmission configurations, for determining a transmission direction from the interfering base station.); and
performing the first direction transmission according to the transmission parameter configuration ([0076-0077], [0082]-[0083] discloses downlink fallback (i.e. DL transmission) on DL symbols before a first reference point based on the tdd-UL-DL-Configuration pattern.),
wherein the transmission parameter configuration is determined according to feedback information corresponding to an interference measurement between the first network node and a second network node ([0083]-[0085] disclose that the interfering base station may reconfigure the UL-DL slot format based on RIM-RS and/or timing information (i.e. feedback), corresponding to interference measured by the interfered base station from the interfering bas station (i.e. interference between the first and second network nodes), transmitted by the interfered base station.).
Xu fails to disclose but Kim teaches wherein the plurality of patterns includes at least one of:
time domain positions or frequency domain positions of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ([0218] discloses that DMRS may be generated according to a predetermined pattern based on time-frequency location.);
time domain positions or frequency domain positions of a control channel (optional);
different control resource set configurations (optional);
different search space set configurations (optional); or
different scrambling sequences (optional).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method of wireless communication, comprising: determining, by a first network node, a transmission parameter configuration for a first direction transmission from the first network node based on a plurality of patterns of channel or signal transmission; and performing the first direction transmission according to the transmission parameter configuration, as disclosed by Xu, wherein the plurality of patterns includes at least one of: time domain positions or frequency domain positions of a demodulation reference signal (DMRS); time domain positions or frequency domain positions of a control channel; different control resource set configurations; different search space set configurations; or different scrambling sequences, as taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station to determine a DL transmission slot based on a specific tdd DL-UL slot pattern configuration used by a group of neighboring base stations, from a plurality of standardized tdd DL-UL slot pattern configurations that defines time-frequency domain locations for DMRS signals, for transmission of DL signals by the base station so that the base station minimizes interference seen by DMRS signals transmitted in the DL by avoiding transmission of DMRS signals in the DL during UL transmissions by neighboring base stations.
In regards to claim 19, Xu in view of Kim disclose the method of claim 18.
Xu discloses the performing of the first direction transmission includes adjusting the first direction transmission ([0076-0077] discloses reconfiguring (i.e. adjusting) a DL/UL configuration and the transmission power for DL transmission by the base station.).
In regards to claim 22, Xu in view of Kim disclose the method of claim 18.
Xu discloses wherein the plurality of patterns includes at least one of:
time domain resource allocation (TDRA) tables for data transmission (optional);
modulation and coding scheme (MCS) tables for data transmission (optional);
redundancy versions (RVs) for data transmission (optional);
repetition numbers for data transmission ([0321] disclose IDs (i.e. repetition numbers) for sequences of UL-DL configurations that may repeat.);
or scrambling sequences for data transmission (optional).
In regards to claim 23, Xu in view of Kim disclose the method of claim 18.
Xu discloses wherein the plurality of patterns includes transmission powers for data transmission ([0076-0078] discloses reconfiguring a DL/UL configuration and the transmission power for the DL/UL configuration.).
In regards to claim 30, Xu in view of Kim disclose the method of claim 18.
Xu teaches wherein the first network node performs a measurement ([0042] discloses that an interfering gNB detects (i.e. measures) an RS-1, and
a second network node receives a measurement result from the first network node ([0042]-[0043] discloses that as a result of detecting RS-1, an interfered base station receives an RS-2 as part of a RIM interference avoidance scheme.).
wherein the plurality of patterns includes one or more combinations of the patterns defined for the first and second network nodes ([0083] discloses multiple TDD UL-DL pattern configurations tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon and tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon2 for the interfering base station. [0145] discloses that tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon and tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon2 may also be used by the interfered base station to transmit RIM-RS and RIM-RS2),
wherein one of the plurality of patterns is selected according to a feedback information corresponding to the measurement ([0083]-[0085] disclose that the interfering base station may reconfigure the UL-DL slot format based on RIM-RS and/or timing information (i.e. feedback), corresponding to interference measured by the interfered base station from the interfering bas station, transmitted by the interfered base station.).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0185726 A1, from IDS dated 12/05/2023, hereinafter “Xu”) in view of Kim et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0321417 A1, from IDS dated 12/05/2023, hereinafter “Kim”), as applied to claim 18, and further in view of Malladi (US PG Pub. 2020/0328861 A1, hereinafter “Malladi”).
In regards to claim 24, Xu in view of Kim disclose the method of claim 18.
Xu discloses wherein a second network node selects one of the plurality of patterns according to a relationship between the first direction transmission and the reference signal in the feedback information ([0083]-[0085] discloses an interfering base station reconfiguring an UL-DL slot format based on a DL transmission from the interfering base station causing interference to an interfered base station and receiving RIM-RS and/or timing information from the interfered base station.).
Xu fails to disclose but Malladi teaches wherein the first direction transmission includes a DMRS ([0162] discloses transmission including a DMRS). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 18, wherein a second network node selects one of the plurality of patterns according to a relationship between the first direction transmission and the reference signal in the feedback information, as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim, wherein the first direction transmission includes a DMRS, as taught by Malladi. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station to determine a DL transmission slot based on a specific tdd DL-UL slot pattern configuration based on a DL transmission from the base station causing interference to neighboring base stations and feedback of the interference sent by the neighboring base stations, from a plurality of standardized tdd DL-UL slot pattern configurations that defines time-frequency domain locations for DMRS signals, for transmission of DL signals by the base station including the DMRS signals, so that the base station minimizes interference seen by DMRS signals transmitted in the DL by transmitting on DL slots of tdd DL-UL slot pattern configurations that minimize overlap of transmission of DMRS signals in the DL during UL transmissions by neighboring base stations.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0185726 A1, from IDS dated 12/05/2023, hereinafter “Xu”) in view of Kim et al. (US PG Pub. 2021/0321417 A1, from IDS dated 12/05/2023, hereinafter “Kim”), as applied to claim 18, and further in view of Su et al. (US PG Pub. 2022/0150012 A1, hereinafter “Su”).
In regards to claim 26, Xu in view of Kim disclose the method of claim 18.
Xu discloses wherein the plurality of patterns includes a first pattern and a second pattern ([0146] discloses two different two different tdd-UL-DL configuration periods (i.e. patterns), tdd-UL-DL-configurationCommon and tdd-UL-DL-ConfigurationCommon2.),
wherein one of the first and second patterns is selected according to a feedback information from the first network node corresponding to a measurement ([0083]-[0085] discloses an interfering base station reconfiguring (i.e. selecting) an UL-DL slot format based on receiving RIM-RS and/or timing information from an interfered base station corresponding to a measurement of the interference seen by the interfered base station from a DL transmission by the interfering base station.).
Xu fails to disclose but Su further teaches wherein the selection is by a second network node ([0321] & [0324] discloses a first base station, that is receiving interference from an interfering base station (i.e. the first base station is a second network node), wherein the first base station configures (i.e. selects) UL-DL resources based on the interference.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 18, wherein the plurality of patterns includes a first pattern and a second pattern, wherein one of the first and second patterns is selected according to a feedback information from the first network node corresponding to a measurement, as disclosed by Xu in view of Kim, wherein the selection is by a second network node, as further taught by Su. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a base station to determine a DL transmission slot based on a specific tdd DL-UL slot pattern configuration based on a DL transmission from the base station causing interference to a neighboring base station and feedback of the interference sent by the neighboring base station, from a plurality of standardized tdd DL-UL slot pattern configurations that defines time-frequency domain locations for DMRS signals, for transmission of DL signals by the base station including the DMRS signals, and the neighboring base station selects a specific tdd DL-UL slot pattern configuration based on interference from the base station, so that the base station and neighboring base station can minimize interference seen by DMRS signals transmitted in the DL by the base station transmitting on DL slots of the base stations specific tdd DL-UL slot pattern configuration and seen by UL signals transmitted by the neighboring base station on UL sots of the neighboring bast stations specific tdd DL-UL slot pattern configuration.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure:
Nagata et al. (US 2015/0358098) discloses a Radio Bae Station, User Terminal and Radio Communication Method.
Abdelghaffar et al. (US 2022/0022183) discloses Methods and Apparatus for Cross Link Interference Mitigation. (related to optional features of claims 1 & 13)
Kumar et al. (US 12501313) disclose Compression Techniques for Data Reference Signal Resource Elements (REs). (related to optional features of claim 4)
Liu et al. (US 2024/0121643) discloses Systems and Methods for Determining Measurement Resource for Measuring Interference Between Network Nodes. (related to optional features of claim 4)
Yang et al. (US 2022/0248243) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Determining Measurement Target, Device, and Medium. (related to optional features of claim 6)
Wei et al. (US 2016/0277081) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Configuration of CSI-RS for 3D-MIMO. (related to optional features of claims 17, 18 & 22)
Kung et al. (US 2020/0322023) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Handling IDC Problems in NR in a Wireless Communication System. (related to optional features of claim 14)
Li et al. (US 2023/0422109) discloses a Cell Handover Method and Apparatus, and Terminal, Base Station and Storage Medium. (related to optional features of claim 14)
Zhang et al. (US 2024/0080898) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Information Transmission. (related to optional features of claim 18)
Harada et al. (US 2023/0057833) discloses a Terminal and Base Station. (related to optional features of claim 18)
Zhang et al. (US 2024/0313924) discloses Methods and Apparatus of Rate Matching Machine. (related to optional features of claim 18)
Nguyen et al. (US 2022/0191744) discloses Sensing for Unicast Sidelink Communication. (related to optional features of claim 22)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419