DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 7/21/26 is acknowledged.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the term “Disclosed is” is stated in line 1. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GOKAVI ET AL (US 20210239147).
With respect to claim 1, GOKAVI ET AL discloses a pin and grommet (P&G) fastener assembly 100 for forming a connection between a first component 500 and a second component 502, the P&G fastener assembly comprising: a grommet 102 comprising a body 106 and a collar 108, wherein the body is configured to couple with the second component via an opening therein; and a fastener 104 comprising a head portion 126 and a shank portion 124 extending therefrom, wherein the fastener is configured to retain the first component relative to the second component via the grommet, and wherein the shank portion defines a shaft comprising a first shaft portion 124 having a first diameter and a second shaft portion (128, 130) having a second diameter that is less than the first diameter. See especially Fig. 1 and 5.
With respect to claim 2, GOKAVI ET AL teaches wherein the second shaft portion (128, 130) comprises a ratcheting feature configured to engage the grommet.
With respect to claim 3, GOKAVI ET AL teaches wherein the ratcheting feature comprises a plurality of annular valleys (128, 130).
With respect to claim 4, GOKAVI ET AL teaches wherein the body comprises a first body portion 114 and a second body portion 106 having a diameter that is less than that of the first body portion.
With respect to claim 7, GOKAVI ET AL teaches wherein the shank portion defines a sloped portion between the first shaft portion and the second shaft portion to provide a smooth transition between the first diameter and the second diameter. See especially Fig. 1.
With respect to claim 11, GOKAVI ET AL teaches wherein the shank portion defines a conical tip at a distal end of the second shaft portion, wherein a maximum diameter of the conical tip is less than or equal to the second diameter. See especially Fig. 1.
With respect to claim 12, GOKAVI ET AL teaches wherein the head portion is configured to couple with a doghouse structure of the first component. See especially Figs. 5 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GOKAVI ET AL alone, or in the alternative in view of SANTAPURI ET AL (US 20240077099).
With respect to claim 5, GOKAVI ET AL fails to explicitly teach wherein the first body portion comprises one or more retention wings configured to engage the second component via the opening as claimed. However, flexible snaps 114 provide the same function as the instantly claimed. Therefore, it would be considered an obvious substitution.
With respect to claim 6, GOKAVI ET AL fails to explicitly teach wherein the second body portion comprises one or more pawls configured to engage the fastener via a ratcheting feature formed in or on the second shaft portion as claimed. However, flexible snaps 114 provide the same function as the instantly claimed. Therefore, it would be considered an obvious substitution.
With respect to claim 8, GOKAVI ET AL fails to explicitly teach further comprising a flexible seal that is integrally coupled with the collar as claimed. However, GOKAVI ET AL teaches proving a seal for a waterproof fastener.
SANTAPURI ET AL teaches a pin and grommet fastener assembly flexible seal 28 for the purpose of to seal the interface between the grommet 16 and the pin 18. See SANTAPURI ET AL, Fig. 5, [0063]. Therefore, it would be considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to provide for a seal in order seal the interface between the grommet and pin/fastener.
With respect to claim 9, GOKAVI ET AL in view of SANTAPURI ET AL teaches wherein the flexible seal is fabricated from a first material and the grommet is fabricated from a second material that is different from the first material as claimed. See SANTAPURI ET AL, Fig. 5, [0063], [0066].
With respect to claim 10, GOKAVI ET AL in view of SANTAPURI ET AL fails to explicitly teach wherein the grommet and the flexible seal are fabricated to form a grommet assembly via a two-shot injection process or an over-molding process as claimed. However, it would be considered an obvious expedient to form such an assembly via any known method in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2007/0172327 teaches a fastener assembly that includes a grommet and a pin. The grommet may include a collar integrally formed with a plurality of legs, wherein an opening is formed through the collar. The pin is moveable through the opening between pre-driven and driven positions. The pin may include a plurality of flexible pin compression members connected to a ramp. The plurality of flexible pin compression members and the ramp spread the legs open in the driven position.
/ZAKIYA W BATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 9/16/2026