DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to communication filed on 12/25/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Das et al (US 20110249571 A1) (hereinafter “Das”) in view of Garcia-Luna-Aceves et al (US 20040213167 A1) (hereinafter “Garcia-Luna1”).
Regarding claim 1, Das discloses a method for creating a Digital Twin node for a low power Wi- Fi device in a Wi-Fi network (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN), comprising:
issuing from the low power Wi-Fi device, a groupcast "discovery message" to identify proxy nodes that are able to serve as the Digital Twin node (see Fig. 2B (216 Paging Message), para. [0048];[0050] discloses proxy device 216 paging channel may broadcast paging or other messages for a number of client devices, having received paging or other message, client device 130a determines proper reaction, such as remaining in idle mode, proxy state after receiving message).
receiving, at the low power Wi-Fi device, responses from proxy nodes that are able to serve as the Digital Twin node (see Fig. 2B (224, continue to monitor messages relevant to Proxy state client devices), para. [0041] discloses flow diagram showing operational flow for monitoring of paging or other messages and entering active mode, proxy connected state);
selecting a first proxy node of the proxy nodes as the Digital Twin node and forming an association with the first proxy node (see Fig. 2A (219, 222-Request Connected State and Establish connection), para. [0036] discloses flow diagram showing operational flow for client device entering proxy state); and
Das fails to disclose but Garcia-Luna1 teaches assigning a recency score to the Digital Twin node (see para. [0028]; [0098] IR changes the cost of an adjacent link, add new neighbor notifications one at time and in the order in which it detects them; a single link parameter is used to characterize a link, called cost of the directed link).
which is indicative of how recently the association was formed, wherein the recency score is used by a controller to identify a most recent Digital Twin node associated with the low power Wi-Fi device (see para. [0028]; [0098] IR changes the cost of an adjacent link, add new neighbor notifications one at time and in the order in which it detects them; a single link parameter is used to characterize a link, called cost of the directed link).
Das and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and digital twins.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the messaging and score as described by and Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving tracking of operation conditions and parameters in large scale networks.
Regarding claim 2, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN).
Das fails to disclose but Garcia-Luna1 teaches wherein each time the low power Wi-Fi device forms an association with one of the proxy nodes, it assigns a different recency score (see para. [0028]; [0098] IR changes the cost of an adjacent link, add new neighbor notifications one at time and in the order in which it detects them; a single link parameter is used to characterize a link, called cost of the directed link).
Das, and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and digital twins.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the score as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving tracking of operation conditions and parameters in large scale networks.
Regarding claim 3, Das discloses a method see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN)
Das fails to disclose but Garcia-Luna1 teaches wherein each time the low power Wi-Fi device forms an association with one of the proxy nodes, it increases the recency score ((see para. [0028]; [0098] IR changes the cost of an adjacent link, add new neighbor notifications one at time and in the order in which it detects them; a single link parameter is used to characterize a link, called cost of the directed link).
Das, and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of communication methods, apparatus and routing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the score as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving tracking of operation conditions and parameters in large scale networks.
Regarding claim 7, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN).
Das fails to disclose but Garcia-Luna1 teaches wherein, after the association is formed, the low power Wi-Fi device also assigns a link code to the Digital Twin node ((see par. [0010]; [0018];[0020];[0021] discloses link identifiers among nodes of a network, assigned by a head of the link to which the identifiers pertain; routing along preferred paths either on hop by hop basis or by specifying a source route efficiently by means of local identifiers; each link is labeled with a local link identifier (LLID)).
Das, and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of communication methods, apparatus and routing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the link code as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving tracking of operation conditions and parameters in large scale networks.
Regarding claim 8, Das discloses a method of configuring and maintaining a chain of Digital Twin nodes (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN), comprising:
forming a chain using a plurality of Digital Twin nodes between a controller and a low power Wi-Fi device, wherein a first Digital Twin node is closest to the low power Wi- Fi device and a second Digital Twin node is closest to the controller (see Fig. 1A (low power proxy and client devices), para. [0021]; [0036] discloses one or more proxy devices may act as proxies to facilitate power conservation with respect one or more client devices; a number of client devices in addition to the two client devices represented in Fig. 1A may be supported) ; and
Das fails to discloses but Garcia-Luna1 discloses assigning each Digital Twin node in the chain a unique link code, wherein the link code is indicative of a position of a respective Digital Twin node in the chain (see par. [0010]; [0018];[0020];[0021];[0025];[0026] discloses link identifiers among nodes of a network, assigned by a head of the link to which the identifiers pertain; routing along preferred paths either on hop by hop basis or by specifying a source route efficiently by means of local identifiers; each link is labeled with a local link identifier (LLID)).
Das and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and routing protocols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the link identifiers as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving routing.
Regarding claim 9, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009];[0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN).
Das fails to disclose but Garcia-Luna1 teaches further comprising: creating an association between pairs of adjacent Digital Twin nodes in the chain (see para. [0029] discloses any IR (internet radio- wireless router, can consider another IR adjacent (neighbor) if there is a radio connectivity between the two, each pair of adjacent IRs define defines two point to point bidirectional links between them); and assigning a recency score to each association, which is indicative of when the association was formed (see para. [0028]; [0098] IR changes the cost of an adjacent link, add new neighbor notifications one at time and in the order in which it detects them; a single link parameter is used to characterize a link, called cost of the directed link).
Das and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and routing protocols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the recency score as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving routing.
Regarding claim 18, Das discloses a Wi-Fi network (see Fig. 1A (100), Fig. 1B access point, para [0023] discloses WLAN access points) comprising
a low power Wi-Fi device (see Fig 1A (121- low power interface)); and
one or more Digital Twin nodes (see Fig. 1A (proxy device-120),
associated with the low power Wi-Fi device (see Fig 1A (121- low power interface)), comprising: a controller (see Fig. 1C (133) discloses Processor circuitry);
Das does not clearly disclose but Garcia -Luna1 discloseswherein an association between the low power Wi-Fi device and each Digital Twin node is assigned a recency score (see para. [0028]; [0098] IR changes the cost of an adjacent link, add new neighbor notifications one at time and in the order in which it detects them; a single link parameter is used to characterize a link, called cost of the directed link)
wherein the recency score is used by the controller to identify the Digital Twin node most recently associated with the low power Wi-Fi device (see para. [0028]; [0098] IR changes the cost of an adjacent link, add new neighbor notifications one at time and in the order in which it detects them; a single link parameter is used to characterize a link, called cost of the directed link).
Das, and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and digital twins.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the score as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving routing.
Regarding claim 19, Das discloses a Wi-Fi network (see Fig. 1A (100), Fig. 1B access point, para [0023] discloses WLAN access points)
Das fails to disclose but Garcia-Luna1 teaches wherein the low power Wi- Fi device assigns a different recency score each time it forms an association with a Digital Twin node (see para. [0028]; [0098] IR changes the cost of an adjacent link, add new neighbor notifications one at time and in the order in which it detects them; a single link parameter is used to characterize a link, called cost of the directed link).
Das, and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and digital twins.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the score as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving routing.
Regarding claim 20, Das discloses a Wi-Fi network (see Fig. 1A (100), Fig. 1B access point, para [0023] discloses WLAN access points), further comprising at least a second Digital Twin node.
Das fails to disclose but Garcia-Luna1 teaches wherein each Digital Twin node is assigned a link code, indicative of its position between the controller and the low power Wi-Fi device (see para. [0010]; [0018];[0020];[0021] discloses link identifiers among nodes of a network, assigned by a head of the link to which the identifiers pertain; routing along preferred paths either on hop by hop basis or by specifying a source route efficiently by means of local identifiers; each link is labeled with a local link identifier (LLID)).
Das, and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of communication methods, apparatus and routing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the link code as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving tracking of operation conditions and parameters in large scale networks.
Claim 10-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Das et al (US 20110249571 A1) (hereinafter “Das”) in view of Garcia-Luna-Aceves et al (US 20040213167 A1) (hereinafter “Garcia-Luna1”) as applied to claim 8 above and further in view of Ziv et al (US 20210144088 A1) (hereinafter “Ziv”).
Regarding claim 10, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN).
Das fails to disclose but Ziv teaches wherein after a third Digital Twin node in the chain, disposed between the first Digital Twin node and the second Digital Twin node, becomes unavailable, Digital Twin nodes on either side of the third Digital Twin node, referred to as a near-side neighbor and a far-side neighbor, associate with each other (see Fig. 1C (100), para. [0008]; [0024] discloses approaches for recovery from a connectivity failure; assuming the links from node B to node A and from node C to node A both fail (this may be possible due to a wireless interference near node A), when the path-vector approach is implemented, node B may choose node C as its new parent node).
Das and Ziv are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of communication methods, apparatus and routing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the node neighbors as described by Ziv.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving routing.
Regarding claim 11, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN).
Das fails to disclose but Garcia-Luna1 teaches wherein all Digital Twin nodes disposed between the third Digital Twin node and the controller are assigned new link codes (see para. [0081] discloses the incident link new labeled routing tree is different from the link in the current labeled routing tree only if the cost of the path has decreased).
Das and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and routing protocols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the link code as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving routing.
Regarding claim 12, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009];[0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN), wherein link codes of all Digital Twin nodes disposed between the third Digital Twin node and the controller are decremented (see para. [0081] discloses the incident link new labeled routing tree is different from the link in the current labeled routing tree only if the cost of the path has decreased).
Das and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and routing protocols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the link code as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving routing.
Regarding claim 13, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN).
Das fails to disclose but Garcia-Luna1 teaches wherein the far-side neighbor receives a new recency score (see para. [0028]; [0098] IR changes the cost of an adjacent link, add new neighbor notifications one at time and in the order in which it detects them; a single link parameter is used to characterize a link, called cost of the directed link).
Das and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and routing protocols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the link code as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving routing.
Regarding claim 14, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN).
Das fails to disclose but Garcia-Luna1 teaches wherein the near-side neighbor and the far-side neighbor are assigned new recency scores (see para. [0028]; [0098] IR changes the cost of an adjacent link, add new neighbor notifications one at time and in the order in which it detects them; a single link parameter is used to characterize a link, called cost of the directed link).
Das and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and routing protocols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the neighbor recency scores as described by Garcia-Luna.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving routing.
Regarding claim 15, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN).
Das fail to disclose but Ziv teaches wherein after a third Digital Twin node in the chain, disposed between the first Digital Twin node and the second Digital Twin node, becomes unavailable, Digital Twin nodes on either side of the third Digital Twin node, referred to as a near-side neighbor and a far-side neighbor, associate with a new Digital Twin node (see Fig. 1C (100), para. [0008]; [0024] discloses approaches for recovery from a connectivity failure; assuming the links from node B to node A and from node C to node A both fail (this may be possible due to a wireless interference near node A), when the path-vector approach is implemented, node B may choose node C as its new parent node).
Das and Ziv are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of communication methods, apparatus and routing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the node association as described by Ziv.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving routing.
Regarding claim 16, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN).
Das fails to disclose but Garcia-Luna1 teaches wherein the new Digital Twin node assumes the link code of the third Digital Twin node (see para. [0020] discloses router sends updates to its neighbors regarding the links and nodes. Each link is labeled with a LLID).
Das and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and routing protocols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the link code as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving routing.
Regarding claim 17, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN).
Das fails to disclose but Garcia-Luna1 teaches wherein the new Digital Twin node is assigned a recency score different from the recency score previously assigned to the third Digital Twin node (see para. [0028]; [0098] IR changes the cost of an adjacent link, add new neighbor notifications one at time and in the order in which it detects them; a single link parameter is used to characterize a link, called cost of the directed link).
Das and Garcia-Luna1 are considered analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and routing protocols.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the recency score as described by Garcia-Luna1.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving routing.
Claim 4-6 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Das et al (US 20110249571 A1) (hereinafter “Das”) in view of Garcia-Luna-Aceves et al (US 20040213167 A1) (hereinafter “Garcia-Luna1”) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Zhou et al (CN 102083102 (B), published 2013-06-19).
Regarding claim 4, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN).
Das fails to disclose but Zhou teaches wherein, after the association is formed, the Digital Twin node becomes unavailable (see para. [0144] discloses MAGs use their own unique MAG-SOLE addresses to send MAG-HELLO to determine the active/backup status of each MAG), and wherein, in response, the low power Wi-Fi device:
disassociates from the Digital Twin node (see para [0145] discloses check group ID check flag A, if it is 1, this MAG has higher priority and should be switched to active MAG); issues a groupcast "discovery message" to identify proxy nodes that are able to serve as a new Digital Twin node (see para. [0145] discloses through message interaction between MAGRRS members, the status of each member can be quickly determined, the one with highest priority is active MAG and the others are standby);
receives responses from proxy nodes that are able to serve as the new Digital Twin node (see para. [0145] discloses through message interaction between MAGRRS members, the status of each member can be quickly determined, the one with highest priority is active MAG and the others are standby);
selects a second proxy node of the proxy nodes as the new Digital Twin node and forms a new association with the second proxy node (see para. [0145] discloses through message interaction between MAGRRS members, the status of each member can be quickly determined, the one with highest priority is active MAG and the others are standby); and assigns a second recency score to the new Digital Twin node (see para. [0145] discloses MAG has a higher priority, while sender should fall back to the standby MAG), different from the recency score assigned to the Digital Twin node (see para. [0145] discloses MAG has a higher priority, while sender should fall back to the standby MAG).
Das, and Zhou are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and routing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the new Digital twin as described by Zhou.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving tracking of operation conditions and parameters in large scale networks.
Regarding claim 5, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN),
Das fails to disclose but Zhou teaches wherein after the new association is formed, the Digital Twin node becomes available, and wherein the Digital Twin node:
transmits a groupcast "discover query" with a unique node identifier associated with the low power Wi-Fi device to discover if there are other Digital Twin nodes in the Wi- Fi network (see para. [0145] discloses through message interaction between MAGRRS members, the status of each member can be quickly determined, the one with highest priority is active MAG and the others are standby);
receives a response from the new Digital Twin node (see para. [0145] discloses through message interaction between MAGRRS members, the status of each member can be quickly determined, the one with highest priority is active MAG and the others are standby),
wherein the response includes the second recency score (see para. [0145] discloses MAG has a higher priority, while sender should fall back to the standby MAG);
compares the second recency score to its recency score and determines that it is no longer associated with the low power Wi-Fi device (see para. [0145] discloses MAG has a higher priority, while sender should fall back to the standby MAG); and
disassociates itself from the low power Wi-Fi device (see para. [0145] discloses MAG has a higher priority, while sender should fall back to the standby MAG).
Das, and Zhou are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and routing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the new Digital twin as described by Zhou.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving tracking of operation conditions and parameters in large scale networks.
Regarding claim 6, Das discloses a method (see Fig. 1B (110), para. [0009]; [0023] discloses method for proxy device operation supporting multiple modes of client operation; base station/access points may comprise various configurations such as WLAN).
Das fails to disclose but Zhou teaches wherein after the low power Wi-Fi device forms the new association, the controller: issues a query to discover proxy nodes associated with the low power Wi-Fi device (see para. [0145] discloses through message interaction between MAGRRS members, the status of each member can be quickly determined, the one with highest priority is active MAG and the others are standby);
receives a response from the Digital Twin node and the new Digital Twin node (see para. [0145] discloses through message interaction between MAGRRS members, the status of each member can be quickly determined, the one with highest priority is active MAG and the others are standby);
compares the second recency score to the recency score assigned to the Digital Twin node (see para. [0145] discloses through message interaction between MAGRRS members, the status of each member can be quickly determined, the one with highest priority is active MAG and the others are standby); and
selects the new Digital Twin node to communicate with regarding the low power Wi-Fi device, based on the recency score and the second recency score (see para. [0145] discloses through message interaction between MAGRRS members, the status of each member can be quickly determined, the one with highest priority is active MAG and the others are standby).
Das, and Zhou are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of wireless communication methods, apparatus and routing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Das to include the new Digital twin as described by Zhou.
The motivation to combine both references would come from improving tracking of operation conditions and parameters in large scale networks.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Veillete et al (US 20170070941 A1) provides process for routing with particular subprocesses for routing based on logic with data frame and routing table.
Garcia -Luna et al (US 20220377006 A1) describes network routing with a router reporting distance only when voucher field holds a valid value.
Vandikas et al (WO 2024025450 A1) provides systems and methods for transfer learning for digital twins using machine learning, reinforce learning, and other techniques.
/LUIS GUILLERMO LEMA LEMOS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419