DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/5/23, and 12/31/24 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 19 and 27, they contain the phrase “monitoring current and allowing continued operation below a brownout minimum voltage” is indefinite for failing to point out what kind of minimum voltage constitutes a brownout minimum voltage.
Regarding claims 19 and 27, they contain the phrase “increases significantly” which is indefinite as significantly is unclear.
Regarding claims 19 and 27, they contain the phrase “start current” which is indefinite because it lacks antecedent basis and is unclear how it relates to “monitoring current” and “brownout minimum voltage” in relation to the current measured from the current sensor from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11- 12, 16-22, and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedrotti et al. (US 2017/0331271) in view of Horne et al. (US 5,524,083).
Regarding claim 1,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
A contactor (Fig. 1, all elements) comprising: a processor (114, ¶0014); first, second, and third relays (A, B, C, 105) including respective first, second, and third relay contacts (A, B, C, 105, contactor, ¶0015) and configured to be operable by the processor (114) to electrically connect or disconnect a load to or from a voltage input (from A, B, C phases, ¶0015); and a current sensor (112) electrically connected with a corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays (connected to A phase contactor 105), the current sensor is in communication with the processor (114) for providing the processor with information about current from the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays to the load (101, ¶0016); wherein the processor is configured to determine a failure condition when:
They do not disclose:
after the first, second, and third relays are energized, the information from the current sensor indicates that there is no current across the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays thereby indicating that the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays is open and the load is running on two phases; or after the first, second, and third relays are energized, the information from the current sensor indicates that the current across the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays is at lock rotor current for more than a determined amount of time indicating that the load is running on two phases.
However, Horne teaches (Fig. 4):
after the first, second, and third relays are energized, the information from the current sensor (Fig. 4, CTA, CTB, CTC) indicates that there is no current across the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays (22) thereby indicating that the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays is open (phase loss, Col. 6:14-23) and the load is running on two phases (phase loss, Col. 6:14-23); or after the first, second, and third relays are energized, the information from the current sensor indicates that the current across the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays is at lock rotor current for more than a determined amount of time indicating that the load is running on two phases (Col. 6:13-23).
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the relay system for a compressor which has current sensors and voltage sensors in order to detect overcurrent or phase imbalance faults in order to protect a compressor as taught by Pedrotti (¶0015-¶0016) and use the current transformers from Horne in order to detect an open phase or phase loss fault in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Horne (Col. 6:13-23). This would improve reliability and safety.
Regarding claim 4,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the contactor (Fig. 1, 105) includes only said current sensor (112) that is electrically connected with only one of said first, second, and third relays (101, A-C, ¶0015).
Regarding claim 5,
Pedrotti discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein: the contactor includes only said current sensor that is electrically connected with said first relay for providing the processor with information about current from the first relay to the load; and the processor is configured to determine a failure condition when the information from the current sensor indicates that there is no current across the first relay, and the load is running on two phases via the second and third relays.
However, Horne teaches (Fig. 1):
wherein: the contactor (Fig. 1, 22) includes only said current sensor that is electrically connected with said first relay for providing the processor with information about current from the first relay to the load (Col. 6:13-23, can detect phases based on each individual sensor); and the processor is configured to determine a failure condition when the information from the current sensor indicates that there is no current across the first relay, and the load is running on two phases via the second and third relays (Col. 6:13-23).
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the relay system for a compressor which has current sensors and voltage sensors in order to detect overcurrent or phase imbalance faults in order to protect a compressor as taught by Pedrotti (¶0015-¶0016) and use the current transformers from Horne in order to detect an open phase or phase loss fault in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Horne (Col. 6:13-23). This would improve reliability and safety.
Regarding claim 6,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein: the current sensor of the contactor comprises first, second, and third current sensors (fig. 3, 315) electrically connected with the respective first, second, and third relays (105, ¶0026); and the first, second, and third current sensors are in communication with the processor for providing the processor with information about current from the first, second, and third relays to the load (¶0026).
Regarding claim 7,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the current sensor is electrically connected with the first, second, and third relays, whereby the current sensor is operable for providing the processor with information about current from the first, second, and third relays to the load (¶0026).
Regarding claim 8,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein: the current sensor of the contactor comprises at least two current sensors (Fig. 2, 112, 212) electrically connected with a corresponding two of the first, second, and third relays (connected to 114, which is connected to 105); and the at least two current sensors are in communication with the processor for providing the processor with information about current from the corresponding two of the first, second, and third relays to the load (¶0024).
Regarding claim 11,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein: the first relay is electrically connected in series with the second relay; and the second relay is electrically connected in series with the third relay (Fig. 1, 105, all contactors connected together).
Regarding claim 12,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein: the contactor includes relay drive and feedback/synchronization circuit module (Fig. 1, 112) electrically connected in series with the processor (114) and the first relay (105); the first relay (105 A phase) is electrically connected in series with the second relay (B phase); and the second relay is electrically connected in series with the third relay (C phase); whereby the processor is operable for independently switching the first, second, and third relays ON or OFF via the relay drive and feedback/synchronization circuit module (¶0024).
Regarding claim 16,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein after the processor has determined a failure condition exists, the processor is configured to not energize the load until the contactor is reset (¶0022).
Regarding claim 17,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein after the processor has determined that a failure condition exists, the processor is configured to alert a system controller and/or a user about the failure condition (¶0029).
Regarding claim 18,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein: the contactor includes at least one light source; and the processor is configured to control operation of the at least one light source to illuminate and thereby generate an alert after the processor has determined that a failure condition exists (¶0029).
Regarding claim 19,
Pedrotti discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein: the contactor is configured such that the information from the current sensor enables the processor to detect brownout; and the contactor is configured to allow continued operation below a brownout minimum voltage by monitoring current and if the current increases significantly or if start current lasts more than a fixed threshold, then the contactor is configured to shut off the load.
Horne teaches:
wherein: the contactor is configured such that the information from the current sensor enables the processor to detect brownout; and the contactor is configured to allow continued operation below a brownout minimum voltage by monitoring current and if the current increases significantly or if start current lasts more than a fixed threshold, then the contactor is configured to shut off the load (Col. 6:13-23).
Regarding claim 19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the relay system for a compressor which has current sensors and voltage sensors in order to detect overcurrent or phase imbalance faults in order to protect a compressor as taught by Pedrotti (¶0015-¶0016) and use the current transformers from Horne in order to detect an open phase or phase loss fault in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Horne (Col. 6:13-23). This would improve reliability and safety.
Regarding claim 20,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
A system comprising a controller in communication with the processor of the contactor of claim 1, wherein: the processor is configured to receive control signals from the controller; the first, second, and third relays are operable by the processor in response to control signals from the controller to electrically connect or disconnect the load to or from the voltage input received by the contactor from a line voltage source; and after the processor has determined that a failure condition exists, the processor is configured to send an alert to the controller about the failure condition (¶0013-¶0016).
Regarding claim 21,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
A system comprising a thermostat (Fig. 1, 122a-c, ¶0018) in communication with the processor (114) of the contactor (105) of claim 1, and a compressor including a motor (101, ¶0014), wherein: the processor is configured to receive control signals from the thermostat (from 122a-c); the first, second, and third relays are operable by the processor in response to control signals from the thermostat to electrically connect or disconnect the motor of the compressor to or from the voltage input received by the contactor from a line voltage source (¶0017); and after the processor has determined that a failure condition exists, the processor is configured to send an alert to the thermostat about the failure condition (¶0029).
Regarding claim 22,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
A method of providing adaptive undervoltage protection for a three-phase load (Fig. 1, 101), the method comprising: obtaining, via a current sensor (112), information about current from a corresponding one of a first, second, and third relay (A, B, C, 105, contactor, ¶0015) to a load (101); and determining, via a processor (114, ¶0014), a failure condition when:
They do not disclose:
after the first, second, and third relays are energized, the information from the current sensor indicates that there is no current across the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays thereby indicating that the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays is open and the load is running on two phases; or after the first, second, and third relays are energized, the information from the current sensor indicates that the current across the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays is at lock rotor current for more than a determined amount of time indicating that the load is running on two phases.
However, Horne teaches (Fig. 4):
after the first, second, and third relays are energized, the information from the current sensor (Fig. 4, CTA, CTB, CTC) indicates that there is no current across the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays (22) thereby indicating that the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays is open (phase loss, Col. 6:14-23) and the load is running on two phases (phase loss, Col. 6:14-23); or after the first, second, and third relays are energized, the information from the current sensor indicates that the current across the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relays is at lock rotor current for more than a determined amount of time indicating that the load is running on two phases (Col. 6:13-23).
Regarding claim 22, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the relay system for a compressor which has current sensors and voltage sensors in order to detect overcurrent or phase imbalance faults in order to protect a compressor as taught by Pedrotti (¶0015-¶0016) and use the current transformers from Horne in order to detect an open phase or phase loss fault in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Horne (Col. 6:13-23). This would improve reliability and safety.
Regarding claim 25,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein the method includes using only said current sensor (fig. 1, 112) that is electrically connected with only one of said first, second, and third relays to thereby obtain the information about current from the corresponding one of the first, second, and third relay to the load (101, A-C, ¶0015).
Regarding claim 26,
Pedrotti discloses (Fig. 1):
wherein after determining, via a processor, a failure condition, the processor is configured to not energize the load until after resetting a contactor that includes the processor (¶0022).
Regarding claim 27,
Pedrotti discloses the above elements from claim 22.
They do not disclose:
using information from the current sensor to detect brownout; monitoring current and allowing continued operation below a brownout minimum voltage; and shutting off the load if the monitored current increases significantly or if start current lasts more than a fixed threshold.
Horne teaches:
using information from the current sensor to detect brownout; monitoring current and allowing continued operation below a brownout minimum voltage; and shutting off the load if the monitored current increases significantly or if start current lasts more than a fixed threshold. (Col. 6:13-23).
Regarding claim 27, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the relay system for a compressor which has current sensors and voltage sensors in order to detect overcurrent or phase imbalance faults in order to protect a compressor as taught by Pedrotti (¶0015-¶0016) and use the current transformers from Horne in order to detect an open phase or phase loss fault in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Horne (Col. 6:13-23). This would improve reliability and safety.
Claim(s) 2-3, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedrotti et al. (US 2017/0331271) and Horne et al. (US 5,524,083) as applied to claim 1 and in view of Edwards et al (US 2017/0047869).
Regarding claim 2,
Pedrotti discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the contactor is configured such that the information from the current sensor enables the processor to determine a motor stall based on an actual motor stall condition.
However, Edwards teaches:
wherein the contactor is configured such that the information from the current sensor enables the processor to determine a motor stall based on an actual motor stall condition (¶0011).
Regarding claim 2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the contactor system from Pedrotti that uses a current sensor to shut off the motor in an over current event (¶0016) and utilize the current sensors to detect a stall condition as taught by Edwards (¶0011). This would further protect the motor from excessive currents and improve reliability.
Regarding claim 3,
Pedrotti discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the processor is configured to use a threshold of greater than 40% over typical fully loaded amps as indicative of a stall or potential stall condition.
However, Edwards teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to use a threshold of greater than 40% over typical fully loaded amps as indicative of a stall or potential stall condition (¶0011-¶0012).
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the contactor system from Pedrotti that uses a current sensor to shut off the motor in an over current event (¶0016) and utilize the current sensors to detect a stall condition as taught by Edwards (¶0011). This would further protect the motor from excessive currents and improve reliability.
Regarding claim 23,
Pedrotti discloses the above elements from claim 22.
They do not disclose:
wherein the contactor is configured such that the information from the current sensor enables the processor to determine a motor stall based on an actual motor stall condition.
However, Edwards teaches:
wherein the contactor is configured such that the information from the current sensor enables the processor to determine a motor stall based on an actual motor stall condition (¶0011).
Regarding claim 23, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the contactor system from Pedrotti that uses a current sensor to shut off the motor in an over current event (¶0016) and utilize the current sensors to detect a stall condition as taught by Edwards (¶0011). This would further protect the motor from excessive currents and improve reliability.
Regarding claim 24,
Pedrotti discloses the above elements from claim 22.
They do not disclose:
wherein the processor is configured to use a threshold of greater than 40% over typical fully loaded amps as indicative of a stall or potential stall condition.
However, Edwards teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to use a threshold of greater than 40% over typical fully loaded amps as indicative of a stall or potential stall condition (¶0011-¶0012).
Regarding claim 24, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the contactor system from Pedrotti that uses a current sensor to shut off the motor in an over current event (¶0016) and utilize the current sensors to detect a stall condition as taught by Edwards (¶0011). This would further protect the motor from excessive currents and improve reliability.
Claim(s) 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedrotti et al. (US 2017/0331271) and Horne et al. (US 5,524,083) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Cashatt (US 6,737,827).
Regarding claim 13,
Pedrotti discloses the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the contactor includes: a first voltage and synchronization module electrically connected with the processor, the first relay, and the third relay, whereby the first voltage and synchronization module is operable for providing synchronization of voltage, frequency, phase rotation, and/or phase angle between the first relay and the third relay; a second voltage and synchronization module electrically connected with the processor, the second relay, and the first relay, whereby the second voltage and synchronization module is operable for providing synchronization of voltage, frequency, phase rotation, and/or phase angle between the second relay and the first relay; and a third voltage and synchronization module electrically connected with the processor, the third relay, and the second relay, whereby the third voltage and synchronization module is operable for providing synchronization of voltage, frequency, phase rotation, and/or phase angle between the third relay and the second relay.
However, Cashatt teaches (Fig. 1):
wherein the contactor includes: a first voltage and synchronization module electrically connected with the processor, the first relay, and the third relay, whereby the first voltage and synchronization module is operable for providing synchronization of voltage, frequency, phase rotation, and/or phase angle between the first relay and the third relay; a second voltage and synchronization module electrically connected with the processor, the second relay, and the first relay, whereby the second voltage and synchronization module is operable for providing synchronization of voltage, frequency, phase rotation, and/or phase angle between the second relay and the first relay; and a third voltage and synchronization module electrically connected with the processor, the third relay, and the second relay, whereby the third voltage and synchronization module is operable for providing synchronization of voltage, frequency, phase rotation, and/or phase angle between the third relay and the second relay (Fig. 1,1 5, Col. 6:14-53) .
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the relay system for a compressor which has current sensors and voltage sensors in order to detect overcurrent or phase imbalance faults in order to protect a compressor as taught by Pedrotti (¶0015-¶0016) and use the current transformers from Horne in order to detect an open phase or phase loss fault in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Horne (Col. 6:13-23). This would improve reliability and safety.
It would have been further obvious to take the phase synchronization module from Cashatt and use that to time the relays in order to switch the switches at a phase zero crossing in order to prevent arcing (Col. 5:26-43)
Regarding claim 14,
Pedrotti discloses the above elements from claim 13.
They do not disclose:
wherein: the contactor includes relay drive and feedback/synchronization circuit module electrically connected in series with the processor and the first relay; the first relay is electrically connected in series with the second relay; and the second relay is electrically connected in series with the third relay; whereby the processor is operable for independently switching the first, second, and third relays ON or OFF via the relay drive and feedback/synchronization circuit module.
However, Cashatt teaches (Fig. 1):
wherein: the contactor includes relay drive and feedback/synchronization circuit module electrically connected in series with the processor and the first relay; the first relay is electrically connected in series with the second relay; and the second relay is electrically connected in series with the third relay; whereby the processor is operable for independently switching the first, second, and third relays ON or OFF via the relay drive and feedback/synchronization circuit module (Fig. 1,1 5, Col. 6:14-53).
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the relay system for a compressor which has current sensors and voltage sensors in order to detect overcurrent or phase imbalance faults in order to protect a compressor as taught by Pedrotti (¶0015-¶0016) and use the current transformers from Horne in order to detect an open phase or phase loss fault in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Horne (Col. 6:13-23). This would improve reliability and safety.
It would have been further obvious to take the phase synchronization module from Cashatt and use that to time the relays in order to switch the switches at a phase zero crossing in order to prevent arcing (Col. 5:26-43)
Regarding claim 15,
Pedrotti discloses the above elements from claim 14.
They do not disclose:
wherein: the first, second, and third voltage and synchronization modules are operable as input voltage monitors for monitoring input voltage into the first, second, and third relays; and the processor is operable for receiving the input voltages into the first, second, and third relays via the first, second, and third voltage and synchronization modules, which enables the processor to detect or measure voltage across the first, second, and third relays and determine whether or not the first, second, and third relay contacts are open or closed.
However, Cashatt teaches (Fig. 1):
wherein: the first, second, and third voltage and synchronization modules are operable as input voltage monitors for monitoring input voltage into the first, second, and third relays; and the processor is operable for receiving the input voltages into the first, second, and third relays via the first, second, and third voltage and synchronization modules, which enables the processor to detect or measure voltage across the first, second, and third relays and determine whether or not the first, second, and third relay contacts are open or closed (Fig. 1,1 5, Col. 6:14-53).
Regarding claim 14, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the relay system for a compressor which has current sensors and voltage sensors in order to detect overcurrent or phase imbalance faults in order to protect a compressor as taught by Pedrotti (¶0015-¶0016) and use the current transformers from Horne in order to detect an open phase or phase loss fault in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Horne (Col. 6:13-23). This would improve reliability and safety.
It would have been further obvious to take the phase synchronization module from Cashatt and use that to time the relays in order to switch the switches at a phase zero crossing in order to prevent arcing (Col. 5:26-43)
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedrotti et al. (US 2017/0331271) and Horne et al. (US 5,524,083) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Jayanth et al. (US 2009/0119036).
Regarding claim 9,
Pedrotti and Horne disclose the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the processor is configured to determine a failure condition when the information from the current sensor indicates lock rotor current for more than ten seconds.
However, Jayanth teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to determine a failure condition when the information from the current sensor indicates lock rotor current for more than ten seconds (¶0186).
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the relay system for a compressor which has current sensors and voltage sensors in order to detect overcurrent or phase imbalance faults in order to protect a compressor as taught by Pedrotti (¶0015-¶0016) and use the current transformers from Horne in order to detect an open phase or phase loss fault in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Horne (Col. 6:13-23). This would improve reliability and safety.
It would have been further obvious to add the locked rotor protection from Jayanth that detects an overcurrent for a period of time before determining a locked rotor fault exists (¶0186-¶0188). This would further improve safety.
Regarding claim 10,
Pedrotti and Horne disclose the above elements from claim 1.
They do not disclose:
wherein the processor is configured to determine a failure condition when the information from the current sensor indicates lock rotor current multiple times longer than the determined amount of time.
However, Jayanth teaches:
wherein the processor is configured to determine a failure condition when the information from the current sensor indicates lock rotor current multiple times longer than the determined amount of time (¶0186-¶0188).
Regarding claim 10, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to take the relay system for a compressor which has current sensors and voltage sensors in order to detect overcurrent or phase imbalance faults in order to protect a compressor as taught by Pedrotti (¶0015-¶0016) and use the current transformers from Horne in order to detect an open phase or phase loss fault in order to prevent damage to a motor as taught by Horne (Col. 6:13-23). This would improve reliability and safety.
It would have been further obvious to add the locked rotor protection from Jayanth that detects an overcurrent for a period of time before determining a locked rotor fault exists (¶0186-¶0188). This would further improve safety.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Simms (US 2021/0066908) – motor protection relay
/C.S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2846 /KAWING CHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846