DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 11/19/25 with respect to claims 44 and 52 have been read and considered but are moot because claims 44 and 52 are now rejected with Benzler (US 2010/0299016), Zernov (US 2007/0242134) and Hong (WO 2012/023676) in view of Porat (US 2009/0282627). Peruse the rejection below for elaboration.
Dependent claims 48-50 are now rejected under Benzler (US 2010/0299016), Zernov (US 2007/0242134) and Hong (WO 2012/023676) in view of Porat (US 2009/0282627) for at least similar reasons as claim 44 and as stated in the rejection below.
With regards to lines 3-8 on page 8 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant asserts that Hong does not disclose a graphical depiction of a pool environment, “including the swimming pool or spa, the at least one piece of equipment in the swimming pool or spa, and a cleanliness characteristic of at least a portion of a surface of the swimming pool or spa on a user device based on the received visual data”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph [32], Hong discloses implementing an operation console for allowing a user to interact and input commands through the graphical depiction. Then in paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 relative to the swimming pool environment and the current location of the cleaning robot 100 to permit the user to see where the cleaning robot is going, in that the cleaning robot is the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and note that user’s commands can be inputted through the graphical depiction. And in paragraph [145], Hong discloses cleaning robot 100 has a switch 415 to be activated by a user for setting the cleaning robot 100 to be in automatic cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner so as to clean the swimming pool, or utilize the switch 415 to set the cleaning robot in a manual mode for manually controlling the cleaning robot with joystick 419, and stop switch 421 for stopping the cleaning robot 100, a pump switch 417. Also in paragraph [132], Hong discloses automatic cleaning unit 354 is connected to cleaning robot 100 through central processing unit 330 for analyzing the location of the cleaning robot 100 and sending control actions to control the cleaning robot to move along a predetermined route, and a touchscreen is implemented to display the location of the cleaning robot 100 and a cleaning area, and thus obtaining a graphical depiction of a pool environment. Thus, Hong discloses a graphical depiction of a pool environment, including the swimming pool or spa, the at least one piece of equipment in the swimming pool or spa, and a cleanliness characteristic of at least a portion of a surface of the swimming pool or spa on a user device based on the received visual data.
With regards to lines 12-13 on page 8 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant asserts that there is no graphical depiction in Hong. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph [32], Hong discloses implementing an operation console for allowing a user to interact and input commands through the graphical depiction. Then in paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 relative to the swimming pool environment and the current location of the cleaning robot 100 to permit the user to see where the cleaning robot is going, in that the cleaning robot is the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and note that user’s commands can be inputted through the graphical depiction. And in paragraph [145], Hong discloses cleaning robot 100 has a switch 415 to be activated by a user for setting the cleaning robot 100 to be in automatic cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner so as to clean the swimming pool, or utilize the switch 415 to set the cleaning robot in a manual mode for manually controlling the cleaning robot with joystick 419, and stop switch 421 for stopping the cleaning robot 100, a pump switch 417. Also, in paragraph [132], Hong discloses automatic cleaning unit 354 is connected to cleaning robot 100 through central processing unit 330 for analyzing the location of the cleaning robot 100 and sending control actions to control the cleaning robot to move along a predetermined route, and a touchscreen is implemented to display the location of the cleaning robot 100 and a cleaning area, and thus obtaining a graphical depiction of a pool environment. Thus, Hong discloses a graphical depiction of a pool environment, including the swimming pool or spa, the at least one piece of equipment in the swimming pool or spa, and a cleanliness characteristic of at least a portion of a surface of the swimming pool or spa on a user device based on the received visual data.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
Dependent claims 53-54 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benzler (US 2010/0299016), Zernov (US 2007/0242134), Hong (WO 2012/023676) and Porat (US 2009/0282627) in view of Namioka (US 2010/0165205). Peruse the rejection below.
Dependent claims 55-56 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benzler (US 2010/0299016), Zernov (US 2007/0242134), Hong (WO 2012/023676) and Porat (US 2009/0282627) in view of Egnal (US 2008/0060034). Peruse the rejection below.
Dependent claim 57 is now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benzler (US 2010/0299016), Zernov (US 2007/0242134), Hong (WO 2012/023676), Porat (US 2009/0282627) and DeLean (US 2004/0052418) in view of Tang (US 2012/0131212). Peruse the rejection below.
With regards to lines 7-13 on page 9 of Applicant’s remarks about claim 58, Applicant asserts that Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong fail to teach or suggest at least "one or more cameras, submerged or submergible, and configured to capture video or images of a target area of a pool or spa location while submerged" and "a control system in communication with the one or more cameras, the control system configured to receive visual data from the one or more cameras" and "determine a control action based on the received visual data, wherein the control action comprises at least a control of the automatic pool cleaner". The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph [80], Zernov discloses utilizing a submerged camera 10 for capturing video data underwater, and in paragraph [95], Zernov discloses that submerged camera 10 is implemented for allowing the viewer to view underwater images within any underwater or submerged structures that can include swimming pools, spas water tanks, etcetera. Thus, Zernov discloses “…one or more cameras, submerged or submergible, and configured to capture video or images of a target area of a pool or spa location while submerged”.
And in paragraph [54], Benzler discloses image data captured by camera 8 is transmitted to logic unit 10, wherein the image data is transmitted and communicated in a similar manner as shown in Benzler’s fig.1. Then, in paragraph [44], Benzler discloses the logic unit 10 performs calculations to ascertain driving instructions for the robotic vehicle 2 based on the received images from one or more cameras, and the calculated instructions that area generated for the robotic vehicle is considered a generated response to the received visual data. Thus, Benzler discloses "a control system in communication with the one or more cameras, the control system configured to receive visual data from the one or more cameras".
Next, in paragraph [22], Benzler discloses a logic unit for sensing position/orientation of robotic vehicle based on identifying distinctive shape or color of robotic vehicle, thus identifying the robotic vehicle as the item of interest that allows the system to track or follow the movement of the robotic vehicle. And in paragraph [53], Benzler discloses the optical detection or identification of the robotic vehicle 2 or swimmer 26 that is present in the swimming pool based on image data captured by camera 8, wherein paragraph [54], Benzler discloses images captured by camera 8 are transmitted to logic unit 10, and in that images are transmitted and communicated in a similar manner as shown in fig.1. And in paragraph [44], Benzler discloses logic unit 10 computes driving instructions for the robotic vehicle 2 based on received images from one or more cameras, and the computed instructions that area generated for the robotic vehicle is considered a generated response to the received visual data. Also, in paragraph [46], Benzler discloses robotic vehicle 2 reacts to driving instructions calculated by logic unit 10 from obtained image data captured by camera, and that if obstacles are detected, then the instructions are provided to the robotic vehicle for avoiding obstacles based on the tracking of the robotic vehicle position. And in paragraph [47], Benzler discloses the improved detection of robotic vehicle 2 is possible with the utilization of marks for making the tracking of robotic vehicle even easier for the logic unit to detect the robotic vehicle’s position and/or orientation. Thus, Benzler discloses “"determine a control action based on the received visual data”.
Finally, in paragraph [32], Hong discloses an operation console permits the user to interact and input commands through the graphical depiction, wherein paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 and the current location of the cleaning robot 100, wherein the cleaning robot is considered the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and that user can input commands through the graphical depiction. And in paragraph [145], Hong discloses that cleaning robot 100 has a switch 415 to be activated by a user for setting the cleaning robot 100 to automatic cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner for cleaning the swimming pool, or utilize the switch 415 to set the cleaning robot in a manual mode for manually permitting the user to control the cleaning robot with joystick 419, and stop switch 421 for stopping the cleaning robot 100, a pump switch 417 that can be activated or deactivated by the user. Thus, Hong discloses “…wherein the control action comprises at least a control of the automatic pool cleaner”.
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
With regards to lines 16-19 on page 9 of Applicant’s remarks about claim 58, Applicant asserts that Hong’s cited control or movement is not dependent on "based on the received visual data" from "one or more cameras, submerged or submergible, and configured to capture video or images of a target area of a pool or spa location while submerged". The rejection of claim 58 is not based on Hong alone, but the combination of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together. As previous stated above and in the rejection below, since Benzler discloses "a control system in communication with the one or more cameras, the control system configured to receive visual data from the one or more cameras", and Zernov discloses “one or more cameras, submerged or submergible, and configured to capture video or images of a target area of a pool or spa location while submerged”, and Hong discloses “…wherein the control action comprises at least a control of the automatic pool cleaner”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]). Thus, by combining the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together, one of ordinary skill can ascertain the limitations of claim 58, and “determine a control action based on the received visual data, wherein the control action comprises at least a control of the automatic pool cleaner”.
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Thus, the combination of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together as a whole teaches or suggests the limitations of claim 58.
With regards to last line on page 9 to line 2 on page 10 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant asserts that Hong does not teach or suggest that a control system utilizes received visual data from a submerged or submergible camera to control a pool cleaner. As previously stated above and in the rejection below, the rejection of claim 58 is not based on Hong alone, but the combination of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together. For reasons already explained above and in the rejection below, Benzler discloses "a control system in communication with the one or more cameras, the control system configured to receive visual data from the one or more cameras", and Zernov discloses “one or more cameras, submerged or submergible, and configured to capture video or images of a target area of a pool or spa location while submerged”, and Hong discloses “…wherein the control action comprises at least a control of the automatic pool cleaner”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]). Thus, by combining the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together, one of ordinary skill can ascertain the limitations of claim 58, and obtain “a control system utilizes received visual data from a submerged or submergible camera to control a pool cleaner”.
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Thus, the combination of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together as a whole teaches or suggests the limitations of claim 58.
Dependent claims 59-60 and 63-65 are rejected for at least similar reasons as stated above, and in the rejection below for claim 58.
Dependent claim 66 is still rejected under Benzler (US 2010/0299016), Zernov (US 2007/0242134), Porat (US 2009/0282627) and Hong (WO 2012/023676) in view of Tani (US 2005/0273226). Peruse the rejection below.
Claims 45-47, 51 and 61-62 are canceled.
Thus, the rejection of the claims is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 44, 48-50 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benzler (US 2010/0299016), Zernov (US 2007/0242134) and Hong (WO 2012/023676) in view of Porat (US 2009/0282627).
Regarding claim 44, Benzler discloses a pool system (paragraph [51], fig.3, Benzler discloses environment for monitoring a pool) comprising:
one or more cameras configured to capture video or images of a target area of a pool or spa location (paragraph [53], Benzler discloses a camera 8 for capturing images of at least one piece of equipment, the robotic vehicle 2 that is located on the bottom of the swimming pool, wherein paragraph [52], Benzler discloses the robotic vehicle 2 is located on work area 3 at the bottom of the swimming pool that is surrounded by pool walls); and
a control system in communication with the one or more cameras (paragraph [54], Benzler discloses that image data captured by camera 8 is transmitted to logic unit 10, and that the image data is transmitted and communicated in a similar manner as shown in fig.1, wherein paragraph [44], Benzler discloses logic unit 10 calculates driving instructions for the robotic vehicle 2 based on received image data from one or more cameras, and the calculated instructions that area generated for the robotic vehicle is considered a generated response to the received visual data), the control system configured to:
receive visual data from the one or more cameras (paragraph [54], Benzler discloses that image data captured by camera 8 is transmitted to logic unit 10, and that the image data is transmitted and communicated in a similar manner as shown in fig.1, wherein paragraph [44], Benzler discloses logic unit 10 calculates driving instructions for the robotic vehicle 2 based on received image data from one or more cameras, and the calculated instructions that area generated for the robotic vehicle is considered a generated response to the received visual data);
identify an item of interest in the target area based on the visual data (paragraph [22], Benzler discloses logic unit for detecting position/orientation of robotic vehicle based on identifying distinctive shape or color of robotic vehicle, thus identifying the robotic vehicle as the item of interest, and paragraph [53], Benzler discloses the optical detection or identification of the robotic vehicle 2 or swimmer 26 that is present in the swimming pool based on images captured by camera 8, and paragraph [54], Benzler discloses that image data captured by camera 8 is transmitted to logic unit 10, and that the image data is transmitted and communicated in a similar manner as shown in fig.1, wherein paragraph [44], Benzler discloses logic unit 10 calculates driving instructions for the robotic vehicle 2 based on received image data from one or more cameras, and the calculated instructions that area generated for the robotic vehicle is considered a generated response to the received visual data, thus, Benzler clearly makes a distinction between the robotic vehicle and the swimmer for identifying the item of interest since Benzler needs to identify the robotic vehicle for sending control instructions of maneuvering and controlling the motion of the robotic vehicle);
track movement of the item of interest in the target area (paragraph [22], Benzler discloses logic unit for detecting position/orientation of robotic vehicle based on identifying distinctive shape or color of robotic vehicle, thus identifying the robotic vehicle as the item of interest, and based on the identification of the robotic vehicle, the system can track or follow the movement of the robotic vehicle, wherein paragraph [53], Benzler discloses the optical detection or identification of the robotic vehicle 2 or swimmer 26 that is present in the swimming pool based on images captured by camera 8; paragraph [47], Benzler discloses improved detection of robotic vehicle 2 is possible with the use of marks for making the tracking of robotic vehicle even easier for the logic unit to detect the robotic vehicle’s position and/or orientation); and
determine a control action based on the received visual data and the tracked movement (paragraph [22], Benzler discloses logic unit for detecting position/orientation of robotic vehicle based on identifying distinctive shape or color of robotic vehicle, thus identifying the robotic vehicle as the item of interest that permits the system to track or follow the movement of the robotic vehicle, and paragraph [53], Benzler discloses the optical detection or identification of the robotic vehicle 2 or swimmer 26 that is present in the swimming pool based on images captured by camera 8, and paragraph [54], Benzler discloses that image data captured by camera 8 is transmitted to logic unit 10, and that the image data is transmitted and communicated in a similar manner as shown in fig.1, wherein paragraph [44], Benzler discloses logic unit 10 calculates driving instructions for the robotic vehicle 2 based on received image data from one or more cameras, and the calculated instructions that area generated for the robotic vehicle is considered a generated response to the received visual data; also, paragraph [46], Benzler discloses that robotic vehicle 2 is able to react to driving instructions calculated by logic unit 10 from obtained images captured by camera, and that if obstacles are detected, then instructions are provided to robotic vehicle to avoid the obstacles based on the tracking of the robotic vehicle position, and paragraph [47], Benzler discloses improved detection of robotic vehicle 2 is possible with the use of marks for making the tracking of robotic vehicle even easier for the logic unit to detect the robotic vehicle’s position and/or orientation),
wherein the item of interest comprises a robotic vehicle for the pool (paragraph [51], fig.3, Benzler discloses a robotic vehicle 2 can be the item of interest submerged in the swimming pool below the water surface, and paragraph [53], Benzler discloses that camera 8 is above the pool for optically capturing images of robot vehicle 2).
Benzler does not disclose one or more cameras configured to capture video or images of a submerged target area of a pool or spa location. However, Zernov teaches one or more cameras configured to capture video or images of a submerged target area of a pool or spa location (paragraph [80], Zernov discloses implementation of a submerged camera 10 for capturing video data underwater, wherein paragraph [95], Zernov discloses that submerged camera 10 can be utilized for permitting the viewer to viewing underwater images within any underwater or submerged structures that can include swimming pools, spas water tanks, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler and Zernov together as a whole for capturing underwater images of items for monitoring the scene so as to properly gauge the presence of objects and obstacles in order to potentially clean and/or purify the water as needed.
Benzler and Zernov do not disclose wherein the item of interest comprises a submerged pool cleaner with tracks, a brush, a filter, an inlet, an outlet, and a pump. However, Hong teaches wherein the item of interest comprises a submerged pool cleaner (paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 and the current location of the cleaning robot 100, wherein the cleaning robot is the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and paragraph [145], Hong discloses that cleaning robot 100 can have a switch activated by a user to set the cleaning robot 100 to automatically cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner for cleaning the swimming pool) with tracks (paragraph [75], fig.1, Hong discloses the driver 120 supports and drives the body 110 of the cleaning robot, wherein body 110 includes a caterpillar 121 and wheels 122 for functioning as a propulsion of the cleaning robot (ie. automatic pool cleaner) to drive the cleaning robot, wherein paragraph [78], Hong discloses the combination of the plurality of wheels 122 that support the caterpillar 121 are utilized to permit the cleaning robot to move on any surfaces including uneven surfaces for moving around the bottom of water tank (ie. pool), and thus function as tracks for propulsion for moving the cleaning robot), a brush (paragraph [83], Hong discloses utilizing a brush with rotating screw 132, wherein paragraph [84], Hong discloses that screw 132 is connected to a rotary motor for rotating the screw 132 so as to permit the sediments to be dispersed to both sides of the suction tube 131 for leading the sediments to be sucked in by the suction tube), an inlet (paragraph [81], Hong discloses the cleaning robot implements a suction part 130 for suctioning water and sediments into the cleaning robot), an outlet (paragraph [91], Hong discloses cleaning robot 100 comprises a contaminated water discharge pipe 163 for functioning as an outlet to permit contaminated water to be discharged and exit out of cleaning robot 100, and paragraph [94], Hong discloses contaminated water discharge pipe 163 forms a route to let contaminated water exit out of cleaning robot 100 to the outside, and wherein paragraph [124], fig.7, Hong discloses cleaning robot 100 has a water discharge pipe 163 connected to sediment separator 200 and to the tank 210 in that contaminated water within the cleaning robot 100 is exits out the cleaning robot, thus, cleaning robot has an outlet for permitting the discharge of contaminated water), and a pump (paragraph [91], Hong discloses the cleaning robot 100 comprises a pump 161).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
Benzler, Zernov and Hong do not disclose a submerged pool cleaner with a filter. However, Porat teaches a submerged pool cleaner (paragraph [22], Porat discloses implementing an automated self-propelled pool cleaner to be utilized in a submerged pool) with a filter (paragraph [78], Porat discloses implementing a filter element within the housing 12 of the pool cleaner 10 for filtering the water, and discharging the filtered water through the outlet in the housing 12, and paragraph [79], Porat discloses within the interior of housing of the cleaner, inlets 32 are present for passing the water through to move the contaminated water through the filter for cleaning the water). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Hong and Porat together as a whole for properly purifying the water in order to ensure providing clean, healthy water for humans and other aquatic creatures to swim within underwater structures.
Regarding claim 48, Benzler and Zernov do not disclose wherein the control system is configured to generate the control action to present a graphical depiction of the item of interest on a user device based on the received visual data. However, Hong teaches wherein the control system is configured to generate the control action to present a graphical depiction of the item of interest on a user device based on the received visual data (paragraph [32], Hong discloses an operation console for permiting the user to interact and input commands through the graphical depiction, wherein paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 and the current location of the cleaning robot 100, wherein the cleaning robot is the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and that there are commands that the user can input through the graphical depiction, and paragraph [145], Hong discloses that cleaning robot 100 can have a switch activated by a user to set the cleaning robot 100 to automatically cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner for cleaning the swimming pool; also paragraph [132], Hong discloses automatic cleaning unit 354 is connected to cleaning robot 100 through central processing unit 330 that analyzes the location of the cleaning robot 100 and sends control actions to control the cleaning robot to move along a predetermined route, and a touchscreen is implemented to display the location of the cleaning robot 100 and a cleaning area). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
Regarding claim 49, Benzler and Zernov do not disclose wherein the control system is configured to present a graphical depiction of a piece of equipment and/or a pool environment including a swimming pool or spa. However, Hong teaches wherein the control system is configured to present a graphical depiction of a piece of equipment and/or a pool environment including a swimming pool or spa (paragraph [32], Hong discloses an operation console for permitting the user to interact and input commands through the graphical depiction, wherein paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 and the current location of the cleaning robot 100, wherein the cleaning robot is the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and that there are commands that the user can input through the graphical depiction, and paragraph [145], Hong discloses that cleaning robot 100 can have a switch activated by a user to set the cleaning robot 100 to automatically cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner for cleaning the swimming pool; also paragraph [132], Hong discloses automatic cleaning unit 354 is connected to cleaning robot 100 through central processing unit 330 that analyzes the location of the cleaning robot 100 and sends control actions to control the cleaning robot to move along a predetermined route, and a touchscreen is implemented to display the location of the cleaning robot 100 and a cleaning area). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
Regarding claim 50, Benzler and Zernov do not disclose wherein the control system is configured to receive input commands from a user through the graphical depiction. However, Hong teaches wherein the control system is configured to receive input commands from a user through the graphical depiction (paragraph [32], Hong discloses an operation console for permitting the user to interact and input commands through the graphical depiction, wherein paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 and the current location of the cleaning robot 100, wherein the cleaning robot is the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and that there are commands that the user can input through the graphical depiction, and paragraph [145], Hong discloses that cleaning robot 100 can have a switch 415 activated by a user to set the cleaning robot 100 to automatically cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner for cleaning the swimming pool, or utilize the switch 415 to set the cleaning robot in a manual mode for manually controlling the cleaning robot with joystick 419, and stop switch 421 for stopping the cleaning robot 100, a pump switch 417). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
Regarding claim 52, Benzler discloses a pool system (paragraph [51], fig.3, Benzler discloses environment for monitoring a pool with a robotic vehicle 2) comprising:
one or more cameras configured to capture video or images of at least one piece of equipment for a swimming pool or spa or at least a portion of the swimming pool or spa (paragraph [53], Benzler discloses a camera 8 for capturing images of at least one piece of equipment, the robotic vehicle 2 that is located on the bottom of the swimming pool in that the optical detection or identification of the robotic vehicle 2 or swimmer 26 that is present in the swimming pool based on images captured by camera 8, wherein paragraph [52], Benzler discloses the robotic vehicle 2 is located on work area 3 at the bottom of the swimming pool that is surrounded by pool walls; paragraph [22], Benzler discloses logic unit for detecting position/orientation of robotic vehicle based on identifying distinctive shape or color of robotic vehicle, thus identifying the robotic vehicle as the item of interest); and
a control system configured to receive visual data from the one or more cameras and generate a control response (paragraph [54], Benzler discloses that image data captured by camera 8 is transmitted to logic unit 10, and that the image data is transmitted and communicated in a similar manner as shown in fig.1, wherein paragraph [44], Benzler discloses logic unit 10 calculates driving instructions for the robotic vehicle 2 based on received image data from one or more cameras, and the calculated instructions that area generated for the robotic vehicle is considered a generated response to the received visual data).
Benzler does not disclose one or more cameras configured to capture video or images of at least one submerged piece of equipment for a swimming pool or spa or at least a portion of a submerged surface of the swimming pool or spa. However, Zernov teaches one or more cameras configured to capture video or images of at least one submerged piece of object for a swimming pool or spa or at least a portion of a submerged surface of the swimming pool or spa (paragraph [80], Zernov discloses implementation of a submerged camera 10 for capturing video data underwater, and paragraph [81], Zernov discloses that submerged camera 10 can capture video image data underwater that can comprise any submerged objects that are submerged underwater that is located below the surface of the swimming pool or spa, wherein paragraph [95], Zernov discloses that submerged camera 10 can be utilized for permitting the viewer to viewing underwater images within any underwater or submerged structures that can include swimming pools, spas water tanks, etc.).
Since Benzler discloses “…one or more cameras configured to capture video or images of at least one piece of equipment for a swimming pool or spa or at least a portion of the swimming pool or spa”, and Zernov discloses “…one or more cameras configured to capture video or images of at least one submerged piece of object for a swimming pool or spa or at least a portion of a submerged surface of the swimming pool or spa”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler and Zernov together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “…one or more cameras configured to capture video or images of at least one submerged piece of equipment for a swimming pool or spa or at least a portion of a submerged surface of the swimming pool or spa” by simple substitution of the term “object” with “equipment” so as to capture underwater images of items for monitoring the scene so as to properly gauge the presence of objects and obstacles in order to potentially clean and/or purify the water as needed.
Benzler and Zernov do not disclose a control system configured to receive visual data from the one or more cameras and generate a control response to present a graphical depiction of the pool environment including the swimming pool or spa, the at least one piece of equipment in the swimming pool or spa, and a cleanliness characteristic of at least a portion of a surface of the swimming pool or spa on a user device based on the received visual data.
However, Hong teaches a control system configured to receive visual data from the one or more cameras (paragraph [131], Hong discloses a controller 300 with a central processing unit 330 and camera unit 351 is connected to camera 168 of cleaning robot 100, wherein camera 168 generates images to be received by central processing unit) and generate a control response to present a graphical depiction of the pool environment including the swimming pool or spa (paragraph [32], Hong discloses an operation console for permitting the user to interact and input commands through the graphical depiction, wherein paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 relative to the swimming pool environment and the current location of the cleaning robot 100, wherein the cleaning robot is the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and that there are commands that the user can input through the graphical depiction, and paragraph [145], Hong discloses that cleaning robot 100 can have a switch 415 activated by a user to set the cleaning robot 100 to automatically cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner for cleaning the swimming pool, or utilize the switch 415 to set the cleaning robot in a manual mode for manually controlling the cleaning robot with joystick 419, and stop switch 421 for stopping the cleaning robot 100, a pump switch 417; also paragraph [132], Hong discloses automatic cleaning unit 354 is connected to cleaning robot 100 through central processing unit 330 that analyzes the location of the cleaning robot 100 and sends control actions to control the cleaning robot to move along a predetermined route, and a touchscreen is implemented to display the location of the cleaning robot 100 and a cleaning area), and the at least one piece of equipment in the swimming pool or spa on a user device based on the received visual data (paragraph [32], Hong discloses an operation console for permitting the user to interact and input commands through the graphical depiction, wherein paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 and the current location of the cleaning robot 100, wherein the cleaning robot is the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and that there are commands that the user can input through the graphical depiction, and paragraph [145], Hong discloses that cleaning robot 100 can have a switch 415 activated by a user to set the cleaning robot 100 to automatically cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner for cleaning the swimming pool, or utilize the switch 415 to set the cleaning robot in a manual mode for manually controlling the cleaning robot with joystick 419, and stop switch 421 for stopping the cleaning robot 100, a pump switch 417; also paragraph [132], Hong discloses automatic cleaning unit 354 is connected to cleaning robot 100 through central processing unit 330 that analyzes the location of the cleaning robot 100 and sends control actions to control the cleaning robot to move along a predetermined route, and a touchscreen is implemented to display the location of the cleaning robot 100 and a cleaning area).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
Benzler, Zernov and Hong do not disclose a cleanliness characteristic of at least a portion of a surface of the swimming pool or spa on a user device based on the received visual data. However, Porat teaches a cleanliness characteristic of at least a portion of a surface of the swimming pool or spa (paragraph [87], Porat discloses an electronic ion analyzer for measuring the chlorine concentration in the pool water of the swimming pool or spa for determining the cleanliness of the pool water of the swimming pool or spa, and paragraph [89], Porat discloses if the chlorine concentration (ie. cleanliness characteristic) of the pool water is below a threshold, then a signal is generated to chlorine generator 30 to continue sending out chlorine to the pool, and if the chlorine concentration is at an acceptable level, then a signal is sent out to the chlorine generator 30 to stop sending out chlorine to the pool, and paragraph [93], Porat discloses a visual display panel 62 for indicating numeric values of the pool water, wherein visual display panel 62 includes a display 61 for displaying the pH level of the water and display 63 for displaying the chlorine concentration, in that the chlorine concentration indicates the level of cleanliness of the pool water to determine if more chlorine is needed to clean the water; paragraph [105], Porat discloses a chlorine sensor for determining a level of chlorine concentration in the pool water).
Since Hong discloses “…a control system configured to receive visual data from the one or more cameras and generate a control response to present a graphical depiction of the pool environment including the swimming pool or spa, and the at least one piece of equipment in the swimming pool or spa on a user device based on the received visual data”, and Porat discloses “…a cleanliness characteristic of at least a portion of a surface of the swimming pool or spa”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Hong and Porat together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation "a control system configured to receive visual data from the one or more cameras and generate a control response to present a graphical depiction of the pool environment including the swimming pool or spa, the at least one piece of equipment in the swimming pool or spa, and a cleanliness characteristic of at least a portion of a surface of the swimming pool or spa on a user device based on the received visual data” in order to properly purify the water so as to ensure providing clean, healthy water for humans and other aquatic creatures to swim within underwater structures.
Claims 53-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benzler (US 2010/0299016), Zernov (US 2007/0242134), Hong (WO 2012/023676) and Porat (US 2009/0282627) in view of Namioka (US 2010/0165205).
Regarding claim 53, Benzler, Zernov, Hong and Porat do not disclose wherein the control system comprises a plurality of controllers. However, Namioka teaches wherein the control system comprises a plurality of controllers (paragraph [25], Namioka discloses Internet signal processor 113 for receiving still and moving (video) image data, and paragraph [27], Namioka discloses image processor 12 for performing MPEG video image decoding to output video images for display, thus, Namioka discloses utilizing plural controllers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Hong, Porat and Namioka together as a whole for processing data at an efficient manner by reducing the processing load and minimizing resources needed to accomplish the task of processing image data and cleaning the swimming pool.
Regarding claim 54, Benzler, Zernov, Hong and Porat do not disclose wherein a first controller of the plurality of controllers is configured to receive the visual data and wherein a second controller of the plurality of controllers is configured present the graphical depiction (paragraph [25], Namioka discloses Internet signal processor 113 for receiving still and moving (video) image data, and paragraph [27], Namioka discloses image processor 12 for performing MPEG video image decoding to output video images for display, thus, Namioka discloses utilizing plural controllers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Hong, Porat and Namioka together as a whole for processing data at an efficient manner by reducing the processing load and minimizing resources needed to accomplish the task of processing image data and cleaning the swimming pool.
Claims 55-56 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benzler (US 2010/0299016), Zernov (US 2007/0242134), Hong (WO 2012/023676) and Porat (US 2009/0282627) in view of Egnal (US 2008/0060034).
Regarding claim 55, Benzler discloses a pool system for monitoring a pool cleaner (paragraph [51], fig.3, Benzler discloses environment for monitoring a pool with a robotic vehicle 2, wherein paragraph [28], Benzler discloses that robotic vehicle is utilized in a swimming pool in that robotic vehicle can filter, clean and/or purify the swimming pool).
Benzler, Zernov, Hong and Porat do not disclose wherein the control system is configured to depict progress of a pool cleaner within the pool or spa. However, Egnal teaches the tracking of object that can include machines and vehicles for depicting progress of vehicular movement (paragraph [149], Egnal discloses that objects can be tracked with implementation of icons where the user can select an icon to track the movement of the selected object to show progress of a selected object such as progress of a vehicle down the street). Since Benzler discloses implementing a pool cleaner for cleaning a pool or spa, and Egnal discloses tracking an object for viewing the progress of vehicular movement, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Hong, Porat and Egnal together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the control system is configured to depict progress of a pool cleaner within the pool or spa” in order to permit accurate depiction of the pool cleaner to be viewed by a user to view the cleanliness of the pool or spa.
Regarding claim 56, Benzler, Zernov, Hong and Porat do not disclose wherein the graphical depiction comprises one or more moving icons. However, Egnal teaches wherein the graphical depiction comprises one or more moving icons (paragraph [149], Egnal discloses that objects can be tracked with implementation of icons where the user can select an icon to track the movement of the selected object to show progress of a selected object). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Hong, Porat and Egnal together as a whole for permitting accurate depiction of the pool cleaner to be viewed by a user to view the cleanliness of the pool or spa.
Claim 57 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benzler (US 2010/0299016), Zernov (US 2007/0242134), Hong (WO 2012/023676), Porat (US 2009/0282627) and DeLean (US 2004/0052418) in view of Tang (US 2012/0131212).
Regarding claim 57, Benzler discloses a pool system for monitoring a pool cleaner (paragraph [51], fig.3, Benzler discloses environment for monitoring a pool with a robotic vehicle 2, wherein paragraph [28], Benzler discloses that robotic vehicle is utilized in a swimming pool in that robotic vehicle can filter, clean and/or purify the swimming pool), wherein the control system configured to receive visual data from the one or more cameras to generate image data of at least one piece of equipment for a swimming pool and generate a control response (paragraph [54], Benzler discloses that image data, comprising at least a piece of equipment, captured by camera 8 is transmitted to logic unit 10, and that the image data is transmitted and communicated in a similar manner as shown in fig.1, wherein paragraph [44], Benzler discloses logic unit 10 calculates driving instructions for the robotic vehicle 2 based on received image data from one or more cameras, thus, logic unit responds to received image data by providing a control action with driving instructions to the robotic vehicle).
Benzler, Zernov, Hong and Porat do not disclose wherein the control system is configured to determine a characteristic of at least one piece of equipment for a swimming pool or spa or the at least a portion of the swimming pool or spa based on the received visual data.
However, DeLean discloses wherein the control system is configured to determine a characteristic of at least one piece of equipment for a swimming pool or spa or the at least a portion of the swimming pool or spa based on the received visual data (paragraph [96], DeLean discloses that if the child (ie. item of interest) is moving too close to the pool, then the alarm is triggered, wherein paragraph [18], DeLean discloses that the identified characteristic can include movements of an item (ie. a person) that comprises “movement of an item”, “appearance of a new item in an image”, “change of an image”, “a structure in an environment”, and that “movement of an item” can include movement of at least one piece of equipment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Hong, Porat and DeLean together as a whole for ensuring accurate monitoring of the pool scene in order to properly clean the swimming pool.
Benzler, Zernov, Hong, Porat and DeLean do not disclose control a visual attribute of the graphical depiction based on the determined characteristic. However, Tang discloses control a visual attribute of the graphical depiction based on the determined characteristic (paragraph [146], Tang discloses that progress module 516 can mark portions of travel route, wherein the change in color or change in width of the travel route 205 can be utilized for indicating where the user has been on the travel-route 205, thus, the visual attribute (ie. color, width) has changed to illustrate progress so that a visual attribute of the graphical depiction is controlled based on the determined characteristic). Since Benzler discloses “the control system configured to receive visual data from the one or more cameras to generate image data of at least one piece of equipment for a swimming pool and generate a control response”, DeLean discloses “wherein the control system is configured to determine a characteristic of at least one piece of equipment for a swimming pool or spa or the at least a portion of the swimming pool or spa based on the received visual data”, and Tang discloses “control a visual attribute of the graphical depiction based on the determined characteristic”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Hong, Porat, DeLean and Tang together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the control system is configured to determine a characteristic of the at least one piece of equipment for a swimming pool or spa or the at least a portion of the swimming pool or spa based on the received visual data and to control a visual attribute of the graphical depiction based on the determined characteristic” in order to accurately depict the cleanliness of the swimming pool so as to efficiently purify the water within the swimming pool and provide a safe, clean pool for swimming.
Claims 58-60 and 63-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benzler (US 2010/0299016), Zernov (US 2007/0242134) and Porat (US 2009/0282627) in view of Hong (WO 2012/023676).
Regarding claim 58, Benzler discloses a pool system (paragraph [51], fig.3, Benzler discloses environment for monitoring a pool) comprising:
one or more cameras configured to capture video or images of a target area of a pool or spa location (paragraph [53], Benzler discloses a camera 8 for capturing images of at least one piece of equipment, the robotic vehicle 2 that is located on the bottom of the swimming pool, wherein paragraph [52], Benzler discloses the robotic vehicle 2 is located on work area 3 at the bottom of the swimming pool that is surrounded by pool walls);
a control system in communication with the one or more cameras (paragraph [54], Benzler discloses that image data captured by camera 8 is transmitted to logic unit 10, and that the image data is transmitted and communicated in a similar manner as shown in fig.1, wherein paragraph [44], Benzler discloses logic unit 10 calculates driving instructions for the robotic vehicle 2 based on received image data from one or more cameras, and the calculated instructions that area generated for the robotic vehicle is considered a generated response to the received visual data), the control system configured to:
receive visual data from the one or more cameras (paragraph [54], Benzler discloses that image data captured by camera 8 is transmitted to logic unit 10, and that the image data is transmitted and communicated in a similar manner as shown in fig.1, wherein paragraph [44], Benzler discloses logic unit 10 calculates driving instructions for the robotic vehicle 2 based on received image data from one or more cameras, and the calculated instructions that area generated for the robotic vehicle is considered a generated response to the received visual data); and
determine a control action based on the received visual data (paragraph [22], Benzler discloses logic unit for detecting position/orientation of robotic vehicle based on identifying distinctive shape or color of robotic vehicle, thus identifying the robotic vehicle as the item of interest that permits the system to track or follow the movement of the robotic vehicle, and paragraph [53], Benzler discloses the optical detection or identification of the robotic vehicle 2 or swimmer 26 that is present in the swimming pool based on images captured by camera 8, and paragraph [54], Benzler discloses that image data captured by camera 8 is transmitted to logic unit 10, and that the image data is transmitted and communicated in a similar manner as shown in fig.1, wherein paragraph [44], Benzler discloses logic unit 10 calculates driving instructions for the robotic vehicle 2 based on received image data from one or more cameras, and the calculated instructions that area generated for the robotic vehicle is considered a generated response to the received visual data; also, paragraph [46], Benzler discloses that robotic vehicle 2 is able to react to driving instructions calculated by logic unit 10 from obtained images captured by camera, and that if obstacles are detected, then instructions are provided to robotic vehicle to avoid the obstacles based on the tracking of the robotic vehicle position, and paragraph [47], Benzler discloses improved detection of robotic vehicle 2 is possible with the use of marks for making the tracking of robotic vehicle even easier for the logic unit to detect the robotic vehicle’s position and/or orientation).
Benzler does not disclose one or more cameras, submerged or submergible, and configured to capture video or images of a target area of a pool or spa location while submerged. However, Zernov teaches one or more cameras (paragraph [80], Zernov discloses implementation of a submerged camera 10 for capturing video data underwater), submerged or submergible (paragraph [80], Zernov discloses implementation of a submerged camera 10 for capturing video data underwater), and configured to capture video or images of a target area of a pool or spa location while submerged (paragraph [80], Zernov discloses implementation of a submerged camera 10 for capturing video data underwater, wherein paragraph [95], Zernov discloses that submerged camera 10 can be utilized for permitting the viewer to viewing underwater images within any underwater or submerged structures that can include swimming pools, spas water tanks, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler and Zernov together as a whole for capturing underwater images of items for monitoring the scene so as to properly gauge the presence of objects and obstacles in order to potentially clean and/or purify the water as needed.
Benzler and Zernov do not disclose an automatic pool cleaner comprising: a body with an inlet port; a filter within the body, wherein debris-laden water flows through the inlet port to the filter; one or more rotating brushes; one or more tracks configured for propulsion of the automatic pool cleaner.
However, Porat teaches an automatic pool cleaner (paragraph [22], Porat discloses implementing an automated self-propelled pool cleaner) comprising: a body with an inlet port (paragraph [79], Porat discloses within the interior of housing of the cleaner, inlets 32 are present for passing the water through to move the contaminated water through the filter for cleaning the water, wherein paragraph [78], Porat discloses implementing a filter element within the housing 12 of the pool cleaner 10 for filtering the water, and discharging the filtered water through the outlet in the housing 12); a filter within the body (paragraph [78], Porat discloses implementing a filter element within the housing 12 of the pool cleaner 10 for filtering the water, and discharging the filtered water through the outlet in the housing 12), wherein debris-laden water flows through the inlet port to the filter (paragraph [79], Porat discloses within the interior of housing of the cleaner, inlets 32 are present for passing the water through to move the contaminated water through the filter for cleaning the water, wherein paragraph [78], Porat discloses implementing a filter element within the housing 12 of the pool cleaner 10 for filtering the water, and discharging the filtered water through the outlet in the housing 12); one or more brushes (paragraph [78], Porat discloses a cleaning brush 16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov and Porat together as a whole for properly purifying the water in order to ensure providing clean, healthy water for humans and other aquatic creatures to swim within underwater structures.
Benzler, Zernov and Porat do not disclose an automatic pool cleaner with one or more rotating brushes; one or more tracks configured for propulsion of the automatic pool cleaner; and wherein the control action comprises at least a control of the automatic pool cleaner.
However, Hong teaches an automatic pool cleaner (paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 and the current location of the cleaning robot 100, wherein the cleaning robot is the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and paragraph [145], Hong discloses that cleaning robot 100 can have a switch activated by a user to set the cleaning robot 100 to automatically cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner for cleaning the swimming pool) with one or more rotating brushes (paragraph [83], Hong discloses utilizing a brush with rotating screw 132, wherein paragraph [84], Hong discloses that screw 132 is connected to a rotary motor for rotating the screw 132 so as to permit the sediments to be dispersed to both sides of the suction tube 131 for leading the sediments to be sucked in by the suction tube); one or more tracks configured for propulsion of the automatic pool cleaner (paragraph [75], fig.1, Hong discloses the driver 120 supports and drives the body 110 of the cleaning robot, wherein body 110 includes a caterpillar 121 and wheels 122 for functioning as a propulsion of the cleaning robot (ie. automatic pool cleaner) to drive the cleaning robot, wherein paragraph [78], Hong discloses the combination of the plurality of wheels 122 that support the caterpillar 121 are utilized to permit the cleaning robot to move on any surfaces including uneven surfaces for moving around the bottom of water tank (ie. pool), and thus function as tracks for propulsion for moving the cleaning robot); and wherein the control action comprises at least a control of the automatic pool cleaner (paragraph [32], Hong discloses an operation console for permitting the user to interact and input commands through the graphical depiction, wherein paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 and the current location of the cleaning robot 100, wherein the cleaning robot is the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and that there are commands that the user can input through the graphical depiction, and paragraph [145], Hong discloses that cleaning robot 100 can have a switch 415 activated by a user to set the cleaning robot 100 to automatically cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner for cleaning the swimming pool, or utilize the switch 415 to set the cleaning robot in a manual mode for manually controlling the cleaning robot with joystick 419, and stop switch 421 for stopping the cleaning robot 100, a pump switch 417).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
Regarding claim 59, Benzler does not disclose wherein the target area comprises a submerged surface of a pool or spa. However, Zernov teaches wherein the target area comprises a submerged surface of a pool or spa (paragraph [80], Zernov discloses implementation of a submerged camera 10 for capturing video data underwater, wherein paragraph [95], Zernov discloses that submerged camera 10 can be utilized for permitting the viewer to viewing underwater images within any underwater or submerged structures that can include swimming pools, spas water tanks, etc.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler and Zernov together as a whole for capturing underwater images of items for monitoring the scene so as to properly gauge the presence of objects and obstacles in order to potentially clean and/or purify the water as needed.
Regarding claim 60, Benzler, Zernov and Porat do not disclose wherein the control action comprises an alert to a user on a user device. However, Hong teaches wherein the control action comprises an alert to a user on a user device (paragraph [139], Hong discloses the warning buzzer 372 generates an alarm sound to alert the user/operator of a problem with the cleaning process when the cleaning robot encounters a problem, wherein warning buzzer belongs to controller 300 of the operating room of fig.7, wherein paragraph [127], Hong discloses that operation room 20 comprises controller 300 and operation console 400 for permitting the user/operator to perform actions in reaction to the alert or alarm, and paragraph [136], Hong discloses controller 300 includes an operator console connector 400a along with warning buzzer 372 for alert operator/user of an alarm condition). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
Regarding claim 63, Benzler, Zernov and Porat do not disclose wherein the control action comprises presenting a graphical depiction of at least one piece of equipment and/or a pool environment including a swimming pool or spa on a user device based on the received visual data. However, Hong teaches wherein the control action comprises presenting a graphical depiction of at least one piece of equipment and/or a pool environment including a swimming pool or spa on a user device based on the received visual data (paragraph [32], Hong discloses an operation console for permitting the user to interact and input commands through the graphical depiction, wherein paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 and the current location of the cleaning robot 100, wherein the cleaning robot is the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and that there are commands that the user can input through the graphical depiction, and paragraph [145], Hong discloses that cleaning robot 100 can have a switch 415 activated by a user to set the cleaning robot 100 to automatically cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner for cleaning the swimming pool, or utilize the switch 415 to set the cleaning robot in a manual mode for manually controlling the cleaning robot with joystick 419, and stop switch 421 for stopping the cleaning robot 100, a pump switch 417; also paragraph [132], Hong discloses automatic cleaning unit 354 is connected to cleaning robot 100 through central processing unit 330 that analyzes the location of the cleaning robot 100 and sends control actions to control the cleaning robot to move along a predetermined route, and a touchscreen is implemented to display the location of the cleaning robot 100 and a cleaning area). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
Regarding claim 64, Benzler, Zernov and Porat do not disclose wherein the control system is configured to determine the control action by: determining, based on the visual data, whether debris is present in at least a portion of target area; and responsive to determining that debris is present, determining a cleaning strategy or approach for cleaning the debris using the automatic pool cleaner based on the visual data. However, Hong teaches wherein the control system is configured to determine the control action (paragraph [32], Hong discloses an operation console for permitting the user to interact and input commands through the graphical depiction, wherein paragraph [143], Hong discloses a display 414 for displaying the route of the cleaning robot 100 and the current location of the cleaning robot 100, wherein the cleaning robot is the item of interest or equipment for the pool system, and that there are commands that the user can input through the graphical depiction, and paragraph [145], Hong discloses that cleaning robot 100 can have a switch 415 activated by a user to set the cleaning robot 100 to automatically cleaning mode, thus permitting the cleaning robot 100 to function as an automatic pool cleaner for cleaning the swimming pool, or utilize the switch 415 to set the cleaning robot in a manual mode for manually controlling the cleaning robot with joystick 419, and stop switch 421 for stopping the cleaning robot 100, a pump switch 417) by: determining, based on the visual data (paragraph [155], Hong discloses that cleaning robot activates automatic cleaning mode when camera recognizes high degree of sediment/debris contamination), whether debris is present in at least a portion of target area (paragraph [155], Hong discloses that cleaning robot activates automatic cleaning mode when camera recognizes high degree of sediment/debris contamination); and responsive to determining that debris is present (paragraph [155], Hong discloses that cleaning robot activates automatic cleaning mode when camera recognizes high degree of sediment/debris contamination, wherein paragraph [169], Hong discloses generating a detour for cleaning robot when there are obstacles present, and paragraph [170], Hong discloses generating a new target point for getting around the obstacles, and paragraph [180], Hong discloses that cleaning robot can check if movement to right or left is permissible, and paragraph [181], Hong checks if cleaning robot can perform forward movement, and if it is permissible to move forward, then the cleaning robot will continue to move forward and, if not, then cleaning robot will move backward; also, paragraph [152], Hong discloses that the ordering of how the cleaning robot 100 cleans the area is set based on determined shape of the area to be cleaned at the bottom of the tank, and if the bottom of water tank has a polygonal shape, then, the coordinates P1, P2, P3,..., Pn corresponds to the corners and the cleaning robot will move accordingly to the corners as shown in fig.13b-c, and if the bottom of water tank is circular shape, then coordinates P1, P2, P3,..., Pn corresponds to the edge of the bottom of water tank can be set as shown in fig.13d-e, thus providing different alternative strategies or approaches for cleaning), determining a cleaning strategy or approach for cleaning the debris using the automatic pool cleaner based on the visual data (paragraph [155], Hong discloses that cleaning robot activates automatic cleaning mode when camera recognizes high degree of sediment/debris contamination, wherein paragraph [169], Hong discloses generating a detour for cleaning robot when there are obstacles present, and paragraph [170], Hong discloses generating a new target point for getting around the obstacles, and paragraph [180], Hong discloses that cleaning robot can check if movement to right or left is permissible, and paragraph [181], Hong checks if cleaning robot can perform forward movement, and if it is permissible to move forward, then the cleaning robot will continue to move forward and, if not, then cleaning robot will move backward; also, paragraph [152], Hong discloses that the ordering of how the cleaning robot 100 cleans the area is set based on determined shape of the area to be cleaned at the bottom of the tank, and if the bottom of water tank has a polygonal shape, then, the coordinates P1, P2, P3,..., Pn corresponds to the corners and the cleaning robot will move accordingly to the corners as shown in fig.13b-c, and if the bottom of water tank is circular shape, then coordinates P1, P2, P3,..., Pn corresponds to the edge of the bottom of water tank can be set as shown in fig.13d-e, thus providing different alternative strategies or approaches for cleaning).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
Regarding claim 65, Benzler, Zernov and Porat do not disclose wherein the cleaning strategy or approach is a first cleaning strategy or approach of a plurality of cleaning strategies or approaches. However, Hong teaches wherein the cleaning strategy or approach is a first cleaning strategy or approach of a plurality of cleaning strategies or approaches (paragraph [169], Hong discloses generating a detour for cleaning robot when there are obstacles present, and paragraph [170], Hong discloses generating a new target point for getting around the obstacles, and paragraph [180], Hong discloses that cleaning robot can check if movement to right or left is permissible, and paragraph [181], Hong checks if cleaning robot can perform forward movement, and if it is permissible to move forward, then the cleaning robot will continue to move forward and, if not, then cleaning robot will move backward; also, paragraph [152], Hong discloses that the ordering of how the cleaning robot 100 cleans the area is set based on determined shape of the area to be cleaned at the bottom of the tank, and if the bottom of water tank has a polygonal shape, then, the coordinates P1, P2, P3,..., Pn corresponds to the corners and the cleaning robot will move accordingly to the corners as shown in fig.13b-c, and if the bottom of water tank is circular shape, then coordinates P1, P2, P3,..., Pn corresponds to the edge of the bottom of water tank can be set as shown in fig.13d-e, thus providing different alternative strategies or approaches for cleaning). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
Claim 66 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benzler (US 2010/0299016), Zernov (US 2007/0242134), Porat (US 2009/0282627) and Hong (WO 2012/023676) in view of Tani (US 2005/0273226).
Regarding claim 66, Benzler, Zernov and Porat do not disclose herein the control system is further configured to control the automatic pool cleaner pursuant to a prioritized order in which different portions of the target area are cleaned.
However, Hong teaches wherein the control system is further configured to control the automatic pool cleaner pursuant to different portions of the target area are cleaned (paragraph [152], Hong discloses that the ordering of how the cleaning robot 100 cleans the area is set based on determined shape of the area to be cleaned at the bottom of the tank, and if the bottom of water tank has a polygonal shape, then, the coordinates P1, P2, P3,..., Pn corresponds to the corners and the cleaning robot will move accordingly to the corners as shown in fig.13b-c, and if the bottom of water tank is circular shape, then coordinates P1, P2, P3,..., Pn corresponds to the edge of the bottom of water tank can be set as shown in fig.13d-e). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong together as a whole for efficiently cleaning the water to generate clean water to thereby saving water resources (Hong’s paragraph [50]).
Benzler, Zernov, Porat and Hong do not disclose wherein the control system is further configured to control the automatic pool cleaner pursuant to a prioritized order in which different portions of the target area are cleaned.
However, Tani teaches wherein the control system is configured to control automatic cleaner pursuant to a prioritized order in which different locations are cleaned (paragraph [120], Tani discloses that a self-propelled cleaner can travel from one position to another position in an order or sequence based on a set priority, wherein paragraph [112], Tani discloses that self-propelled cleaner can move to the room with highest priority, and to the room with second highest priority, and so on). Since Hong discloses "wherein the control system is further configured to control the automatic pool cleaner pursuant to different portions of the target area are cleaned" and Tani discloses "wherein the control system is configured to control automatic cleaner pursuant to a prioritized order in which different locations are cleaned", therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Benzler, Zernov, Porat, Hong and Tani together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation "wherein the control system is further configured to control the automatic pool cleaner pursuant to a prioritized order in which different portions of the target area are cleaned" in order to conveniently cleaning any portions that user deems as important to clean first based on user's set prioritized needs within swimming pool.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 8/13/25 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of the full statutory term of US Patent No. 11,880,207 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ALLEN C WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488