Final Rejection
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 3-7 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicants arguments to claim 1, applicant states “WATANABE does not disclose, or suggest, at least the configuration of Applicant's independent claim 1, in which "the sound generation unit and the sound detection unit are disposed concentrically centered on the camera unit."”, examiner respectfully disagrees. Watanabe teaches and illustrates in figs.2-5 a speaker 20 (the sound generation unit), microphone array 11 (the sound detection unit) and camera 28 (the camera unit) and both the speaker 20 and microphone array 11 are disposed concentrically centered on camera 28. Furthermore, applicant refers to fig.4B to show the camera being detached from the body however in fig.4A the camera 28 is shown attached to the body and therefore reads on the limitation in question. No where in Watanabe does it teach and/or suggest that it is required for the invention to function to remove/detach the camera 28. Thus, Watanabe does properly teach the sound generation unit (20) and the sound detection unit (11) are disposed concentrically centered on the camera unit (28) (See Figs.2-5 of Watanabe).
Further regarding applicants arguments to claim 1, applicant states “WATANABE further fails to disclose or suggest at least "a sound detection unit including a plurality of microphones that detect a reflective sound of a sound generated by the sound generation unit," as recited in Applicant's independent claim 1.” examiner respectfully disagrees. It is very common in the art that one of ordinary skill would understand that the purpose of a microphone used in a sound, audio, ultrasonic and ultrasound device, system or method would be able to detect/receive a reflected or echoed signal. This is a commonly understood method of art and is widely used in applications of this nature.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe (JP 2016054455 A, all citations provided from machine translation attached) in view of Shin (US 20100110283 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Watanabe teaches an acoustic active sensor device comprising: a camera unit (28); an acoustic actuator (20) having a sound generation unit that generates a sound. (Abstract, Page.3, lines 4-22, 28-38, Figs.1, 3-5)
Watanabe also teaches a sound detection unit including a plurality of microphones (11, 14) that detect a reflective sound of a sound generated by the sound generation unit. (Page.2, lines 27-42, Page.5, lines 1-6, Page.15, lines 22-32, Figs.2A-2D, 3-5)
Watanabe also teaches the sound generation unit (20) and the sound detection unit (11) are disposed concentrically centered on the camera unit (28). (Figs.2-5)
Watanabe does not explicitly teach wherein the sound generation unit and the sound detection unit are disposed on an outer peripheral side centered on the camera unit.
Shin teaches wherein the sound generation unit (130) and the sound detection unit (14) are disposed on an outer peripheral side centered on the camera unit (120). (Paragraphs 6, 37, 23, Figs.3, 5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Watanabe to incorporate wherein the sound generation unit and the sound detection unit are disposed on an outer peripheral side centered on the camera unit as taught by Shin in order to emit the sound generated by the diaphragm outward and prevent introduction of foreign materials into the speaker housing.
Regarding claim 3, Watanabe does not explicitly teach wherein the sound generation unit includes a circular vibration plate centered on the camera unit.
Shin teaches wherein the sound generation unit includes a circular vibration plate (132) centered on the camera unit. (Paragraph 37, Figs.3, 5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Watanabe to incorporate wherein the sound generation unit includes a circular vibration plate centered on the camera unit in order to emit the sound generated by the diaphragm outward.
Regarding claim 4, Watanabe teaches wherein the sound detection unit includes a first microphone array disposed outside relative to the sound generation unit. (Page.2, lines 27-42, Claim 1, Figs.2-5)
Regarding claim 6, Watanabe does not explicitly teach wherein the acoustic actuator further includes a magnetic circuit that generates a magnetic flux for vibrating the sound generation unit, a hole portion is formed in a center part of the magnetic circuit in plan view, and the camera unit is disposed in the hole portion.
Shin teaches wherein the acoustic actuator further includes a magnetic circuit that generates a magnetic flux for vibrating the sound generation unit, a hole portion is formed in a center part of the magnetic circuit in plan view, and the camera unit is disposed in the hole portion. (Paragraphs 28, 36-37, Claims 6, 8, Figs.3-5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Watanabe to incorporate wherein the acoustic actuator further includes a magnetic circuit that generates a magnetic flux for vibrating the sound generation unit, a hole portion is formed in a center part of the magnetic circuit in plan view, and the camera unit is disposed in the hole portion in order to generate sound in engagement with a coil portion.
Regarding claim 7, Watanabe teaches wherein regarding a front traveling direction of a sound generated by the sound generation unit, a front end part of the camera unit protrudes forward relative to the front end part of the sound generation unit. (Figs.1, 3-5)
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe in view of Shin and Matsumoto (JP 2015118386 A, all citations provided from machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 5, Watanabe does not explicitly teach wherein the sound detection unit includes a second microphone array disposed inside relative to the sound generation unit.
Matsumoto teaches wherein the sound detection unit includes a second microphone array disposed inside relative to the sound generation unit. (Pages.4-5, Fig.2A)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have modified Watanabe to incorporate wherein the sound detection unit includes a second microphone array disposed inside relative to the sound generation unit in order to emphasize (amplify) the sound (volume level) in the specific direction from the position, sound data in which directivity in the specific direction is formed is generated.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDALLAH ABULABAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645