DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) is acknowledged.
Preliminary Amendment
The present Office Action is based upon the original patent application filed on 12/05/2023 as modified by the preliminary amendment filed on 12/05/2023. Claim 21 has been canceled. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoryaev et al. (US 2018/0212733 A1 herein Khoryaev), and further in view of Ravi et al. (US 2021/0067182 A1 herein Ravi).
Regarding claim 1, Khoryaev teaches a semiconductor device (read as wireless device or UE) (Khoryaev – [0038], [0089], and [0097]) comprising:
processing circuitry (read as one or more processor(s)) (Khoryaev – [0078]-[0079] and [0097]) configured to,
determine a carrier band (read as radio frequency for transmission) (Khoryaev – [0055]) and reference signal bands (read as demodulation reference signal (DMRS) signal patterns can apply to LTE SL or can apply to LTE UL wireless communications; LTE spectrum) (Khoryaev – [0029], [0038] and [0041]) based on a data signal received from a network (read as network 100 comprises node 110; to communicate with a node, such as a base station (BS), an evolved Node B (eNodeB), baseband unit (BBU), or other type of wireless wide area network access point) (Khoryaev – [0038], and [0089]), the carrier band and reference signal bands being allocated by the network (read as allowing the infrastructure to retaining control plane functions such as radio resource allocation; D2D communication links are allocated dedicated cellular wireless resources including the option when a dedicated D2D carrier is allocated for D2D communication; “resource pools” of the LTE/LTE-A uplink spectrum are allocated for use in D2D communications) (Khoryaev – [0004], [0041]), the reference signal bands corresponding to a reference signal for channel estimation (read as demodulation reference signal (DMRS) are used to perform channel estimation of resource elements of the physical resource block corresponding to the SL channel; demodulation reference signal extraction for use in channel estimation) (Khoryaev – Figure 4B, [0037] and [0059]), and the reference signal being within a carrier band (read as for higher carrier frequencies (e.g. around 6GHz) the more dense demodulation reference signal (DMRS) structure may be used; for lower carrier frequencies, the legacy DMRS structure or lets dense DMRS structure may be used) (Khoryaev – [0069]).
However, Khoryaev fails to teach output a control signal causing a local oscillator (LO) to change a LO frequency to a value that does not overlap the reference signal bands.
In the related art, Ravi teaches output a control signal causing a local oscillator (LO) to change a LO frequency to a value that does not overlap the reference signal bands (read as phase control module 1008 may include instructions regarding how certain frequencies and phases are generated from sub-harmonic frequency phase combinations; calculations to be performed to determine a specific set of phases that will produce a desired set of LO signals at a target (multiplied) frequency and with an optional phase shift; the values generated by the frequency multiplier/divider control module 1408 may be selected based upon a correlation to desired changes in the frequency of the input signal for each respectively controlled component) (Ravi – [0101], [0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Ravi into the teachings of Khoryaev for the purpose of implementing input signals that are to be distributed to each receiver chain using power distribution systems that advantageously save power and require less design effort and also include the PLL and LO distribution being performed at RF frequencies, saving significant power.
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: generate the reference signal, and modulate the reference signal to have a frequency included in one of the reference signal bands, and output the modulated reference signal (read as in the transmitter path, the scrambling logic 312 applies a number of different scrambling codes to the input data signal and the transmitter selects for transmission the SC-FDMA modulated signal having better power efficiency characteristics (Khoryaev – [0050]).
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the reference signal bands are a portion of a plurality of subcarrier bands included in the carrier band; and the processing circuitry outputs the control signal causing the LO to change the LO frequency such that the LO frequency is spaced apart from a center frequency of the carrier band by at least 0.5 times a subcarrier spacing (SCS) (read as if a number (2N+1) of multiple phase-shifted signals are combined, each being equally spaced by 2π/(2N+1) at a frequency of LO/(2N+1), the sub-harmonic (lower frequency) LO signals will coherently add at the (higher) LO frequency (and harmonics of the LO signal frequency), and will cancel out at all other odd harmonics of LO/(2N+1) as a result of destructive interference) (Ravi – [0051], [0054]).
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to: set a radio frequency (RF) band corresponding to a frequency band of an RF signal to be transmitted (Ravi – [0108]), and control the LO frequency to have a first value within the carrier band in response to an RF bandwidth of the RF band being less than or equal to a threshold value (Ravi – [0043], [0054], and [0078]).
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 4, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the LO frequency to have a second value out of the carrier band in response to the RF bandwidth of the RF band exceeding the threshold value such that a first frequency band is included in the RF band, the first frequency band being centered on the LO frequency and having a same bandwidth as a system bandwidth of the carrier band (read as use a PLL to generate a clock signal at a sub-harmonic of the LO frequency which is distributed to each transceiver chain; this clock signal is then multiplied up to the LO frequency using an injection-locked oscillator or a self-mixing multiplier, local to each transceiver) (Ravi – [0043]).
Regarding claim 6, Khoryaev teaches a communication device (read as electronic device 1400) (Khoryaev – Figure 14, and [0100]) comprising:
processing circuitry (read as one or more processor) (Khoryaev – Figure 14, and [0101]);
a radio frequency (RF) circuit configured to convert a baseband signal into a carrier signal (read as RF circuitry 1406 may include a transmit signal path which may include circuitry to up-convert baseband signals provided by the baseband circuitry 1404 and provide RF output signals to the FEM circuitry 1408 for transmission) (Khoryaev – [0107]), the carrier signal including a plurality of subcarrier signals (read as plurality of subcarriers) (Khoryaev – [0045] and [0168]); and
an antenna module (read as one or more antennas 1410) (Khoryaev – Figure 14 and [0100]) configured to transmit the carrier signal to a network (network read as to communicate with a node, such as a base station (BS), an evolved Node B (eNodeB), baseband unit (BBU), or other type of wireless wide area network access point) (Khoryaev – [0089]); and reference signal bands being allocated for transmitting a reference signal for channel estimation (read as demodulation reference signal (DMRS) are used to perform channel estimation of resource elements of the physical resource block corresponding to the SL channel; demodulation reference signal extraction for use in channel estimation) (Khoryaev – Figure 4B, [0037] and [0059]), and carrier band being allocated by the network (read as allowing the infrastructure to retaining control plane functions such as radio resource allocation; D2D communication links are allocated dedicated cellular wireless resources including the option when a dedicated D2D carrier is allocated for D2D communication; “resource pools” of the LTE/LTE-A uplink spectrum are allocated for use in D2D communications) (Khoryaev – [0004], [0041]).
However, Khoryaev fails to teach wherein the RF circuit is configured to, generate a local oscillator (LO) signal having an LO frequency, generate a first signal in which a difference between a target center frequency of the carrier signal and the LO frequency is compensated when the baseband signal is input, and output the carrier signal having the target center frequency by mixing the first signal and the LO signal, and the processing circuitry is configured to control the LO frequency to avoid the reference signal bands among subcarrier bands included in the carrier band.
In the related art, Ravi teaches wherein the RF circuit is configured to, generate a local oscillator (LO) signal having an LO frequency (read as to generate local oscillator (LO) signals at higher frequencies; a local oscillator generation (LOG) 100 having injection locked clock multiplier (ILCM) which is injected with multiple phase-shifted signals 102 of a lower-frequency signal; this lower frequency may be a sub-harmonic of a desired, higher frequency LO signal) (Ravi – [0039], and [0050]-[0051]), generate a first signal in which a difference between a target center frequency of the carrier signal and the LO frequency is compensated when the baseband signal is input (read as controlling and/or arbitrating transmit and/or receive functions of the device 1000, performing one or more baseband processing functions) (Ravi – [0096]), and output the carrier signal having the target center frequency by mixing the first signal and the LO signal (read as RF transceivers require local oscillators (LOs) at or close to channel frequencies for mixing; clock signal is then multiplied up to the LO frequency using an injection-locked oscillator or self-mixing multiplier, local to each transceiver) (Ravi – [0040], [0043], [0106]), and the processing circuitry is configured to control the LO frequency to avoid the reference signal bands among subcarrier bands included in the carrier band (read as phase control module 1008 may include instructions regarding how certain frequencies and phases are generated from sub-harmonic frequency phase combinations; calculations to be performed to determine a specific set of phases that will produce a desired set of LO signals at a target (multiplied) frequency and with an optional phase shift; the values generated by the frequency multiplier/divider control module 1408 may be selected based upon a correlation to desired changes in the frequency of the input signal for each respectively controlled component) (Ravi – [0101], [0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Ravi into the teachings of Khoryaev for the purpose of implementing input signals that are to be distributed to each receiver chain using power distribution systems that advantageously save power and require less design effort and also include the PLL and LO distribution being performed at RF frequencies, saving significant power.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 6, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the LO frequency such that the LO frequency is spaced apart from the target center frequency by at least 0.5 times a subcarrier spacing (SCS) (read as if a number (2N+1) of multiple phase-shifted signals are combined, each being equally spaced by 2π/(2N+1) at a frequency of LO/(2N+1), the sub-harmonic (lower frequency) LO signals will coherently add at the (higher) LO frequency (and harmonics of the LO signal frequency), and will cancel out at all other odd harmonics of LO/(2N+1) as a result of destructive interference) (Ravi – [0051], [0054]).
Regarding claim 8 as applied to claim 7, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to control the LO frequency to have one of a plurality of first frequency values, a spacing between the plurality of first frequency values corresponding to an integer multiple of the SCS (read as if a number (2N+1) of multiple phase-shifted signals are combined, each being equally spaced by 2π/(2N+1) at a frequency of LO/(2N+1), the sub-harmonic (lower frequency) LO signals will coherently add at the (higher) LO frequency (and harmonics of the LO signal frequency), and will cancel out at all other odd harmonics of LO/(2N+1) as a result of destructive interference) (Ravi – [0051], [0054]).
Regarding claim 9 as applied to claim 6, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determines an intermediate value of a first frequency band to be the LO frequency, the first frequency band being between two reference signal bands spaced apart from each other among the reference signal bands (read as if a number (2N+1) of multiple phase-shifted signals are combined, each being equally spaced by 2π/(2N+1) at a frequency of LO/(2N+1), the sub-harmonic (lower frequency) LO signals will coherently add at the (higher) LO frequency (and harmonics of the LO signal frequency), and will cancel out at all other odd harmonics of LO/(2N+1) as a result of destructive interference) (Ravi – [0051], [0054]).
Regarding claim 10 as applied to claim 6, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the target center frequency of the carrier signal (read as common PLL circuitry 302 generates the reference clock signal at a sub-harmonic frequency of the higher-frequency LO signal represented by LO/(2N+1), which LO being the higher target LO signal frequency and N being any positive integer value based upon desired frequency multiplication scaling) (Ravi – [0060]), a system bandwidth of the carrier signal (read as tuning parameters may facilitate the appropriate bandwidth) (Ravi – [0157]), and the reference signal bands based on allocation information received from the network (read as allowing the infrastructure to retaining control plane functions such as radio resource allocation; D2D communication links are allocated dedicated cellular wireless resources including the option when a dedicated D2D carrier is allocated for D2D communication; “resource pools” of the LTE/LTE-A uplink spectrum are allocated for use in D2D communications) (Khoryaev – [0004], [0041]).
Regarding claim 11 as applied to claim 6, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the reference signal bands are previously allocated reference signal bands (read as allowing the infrastructure to retaining control plane functions such as radio resource allocation; D2D communication links are allocated dedicated cellular wireless resources including the option when a dedicated D2D carrier is allocated for D2D communication; “resource pools” of the LTE/LTE-A uplink spectrum are allocated for use in D2D communications) (Khoryaev – [0004], [0041]); the LO frequency is a current LO frequency (Ravi – [0043]); and the processing circuitry is configured to: determine whether the current LO frequency overlaps new reference signal bands in response to determining the previously allocated reference signal bands have been changed by the network, and determine a new LO frequency having a value that avoids the new reference signal bands (read as phase control module 1008 may include instructions regarding how certain frequencies and phases are generated from sub-harmonic frequency phase combinations; calculations to be performed to determine a specific set of phases that will produce a desired set of LO signals at a target (multiplied) frequency and with an optional phase shift; the values generated by the frequency multiplier/divider control module 1408 may be selected based upon a correlation to desired changes in the frequency of the input signal for each respectively controlled component) (Ravi – [0101], [0156]).
Regarding claim 12 as applied to claim 6, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the RF circuit comprises: a first LO; a second LO (read as RF transceivers require local oscillators (LOs) at or close to channel frequencies for mixing; one or more LO signals need to be generated at each carrier frequency or channel of interest) (Ravi – [0040]); a digital mixer configured to generate the first signal when the baseband signal is input (read as use of a large array of mixers in a digital beamformer) (Ravi – [0112]); an intermediate frequency (IF) mixer outputting an IF signal by mixing the first signal and a first output signal of the first LO; and an RF mixer outputting the carrier signal by mixing the IF signal and a second output signal of the second LO, wherein the LO signal corresponds to a signal obtained by mixing the first output signal and the second output signal (read as to fractionally multiply the frequency of the reference signal generated by the frequency synthesizer 1202 that is used as the LO signal to the IF mixer; independently provide two different sets of LO signals to each respective IF mixer) (Ravi – [0133], [0143]).
Regarding claim 13 as applied to claim 12, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the RF circuit comprises: an image filter configured to remove an image frequency from the IF signal (read as mixer circuitry 1406a of the receive signal path and the mixer circuity 106a of the transmit path may include two or more mixers and may be arranged for image rejection) (Khoryaev – [0108], [0110]).
Regarding claim 14 as applied to claim 12, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the RF circuit comprises: a band pass filter having one or more stages, the band pass filter being configured to, pass a signal included in an RF band, and provide the passed signal to the antenna module (read as band-pass filter (BPF) configured to remove unwanted signals) (Khoryaev – [0108]).
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 14, Khoryaev as modified by Ravi further teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the LO frequency to have a first frequency value such that a first frequency band is included in an RF band (Ravi – [0108]), the first frequency band being centered on the LO frequency and having a same bandwidth as a system bandwidth of the carrier signal (read as tuning parameters may facilitate the appropriate bandwidth, filter coefficients, etc., based upon the current IF frequency bands that are being transmitted via the IF interface) (Ravi – [0157]).
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ravi et al. (US 2021/0067182 A1 herein Ravi), and further in view of Khoryaev et al. (US 2018/0212733 A1 herein Khoryaev).
Regarding claim 16, Ravi teaches a method of setting a local oscillator (LO) frequency of an LO signal (read as to generate local oscillator (LO) signals at higher frequencies; a local oscillator generation (LOG) 100 having injection locked clock multiplier (ILCM) which is injected with multiple phase-shifted signals 102 of a lower-frequency signal; this lower frequency may be a sub-harmonic of a desired, higher frequency LO signal) (Ravi – [0039], and [0050]-[0051]), the LO signal being for converting a baseband signal into a carrier signal (read as configured to frequency multiply the first reference signal to generate one or more HB IF LO signals for up-conversion of a first baseband signal to the first up-converted analog IF signal via the IF mixing stage) (Ravi – [0363], [0383]), the method comprising:
setting a radio frequency (RF) band of a band pass filter for passing the carrier signal (read as multiplexing block 1214 and de-multiplexing block 1216 may be implemented with components to facilitate one or more of a tunable band-pass filter which may be tuned and frequency-shifted depending upon the particular band of IF signals that are to be combined onto and extracted from the IF interface 1201) (Ravi – [0137]); and
controlling the LO frequency to have a value that does not overlap the reference signal band (read as phase control module 1008 may include instructions regarding how certain frequencies and phases are generated from sub-harmonic frequency phase combinations; calculations to be performed to determine a specific set of phases that will produce a desired set of LO signals at a target (multiplied) frequency and with an optional phase shift; the values generated by the frequency multiplier/divider control module 1408 may be selected based upon a correlation to desired changes in the frequency of the input signal for each respectively controlled component) (Ravi – [0101], [0156]) in response to an RF bandwidth of the RF band being less than or equal to a threshold value (read as one or more oscillators tuned to a frequency that is equal to or substantially the same as the intended LO frequency; tuning parameters may facilitate the appropriate bandwidth, filter coefficients, etc., based upon the current IF frequency bands that are being transmitted via the IF interface) (Ravi – [0078] and [0157]), a difference between the LO frequency and a target center frequency of the carrier band being compensated (read as common PLL circuitry 302 generates the reference clock signal at a sub-harmonic frequency of the higher-frequency LO signal with LO being the higher target LO signal frequency and N being any positive integer value based upon the desired frequency multiplication scaling used for a particular application; reference signal may be generated at a lower frequency than the target LO signal by exploiting frequency multiplication; if the monitored VSWR changes unexpectedly or exceeds a predetermined threshold, the bias of that particular transceiver chain amplifier may be adjusted to compensate) (Ravi – [0060]-[0061], [0203]).
However, Ravi fails to teach determining a carrier band and a reference signal band, the reference signal band being allocated to a reference signal for channel estimation from among a plurality of subcarrier bands included in the carrier band.
In the related art, Khoryaev teaches determining a carrier band (read as radio frequency for transmission) (Khoryaev – [0055]) and a reference signal band (read as demodulation reference signal (DMRS) signal patterns can apply to LTE SL or can apply to LTE UL wireless communications; LTE spectrum) (Khoryaev – [0029], [0038] and [0041]), the reference signal band being allocated (read as allowing the infrastructure to retaining control plane functions such as radio resource allocation; D2D communication links are allocated dedicated cellular wireless resources including the option when a dedicated D2D carrier is allocated for D2D communication; “resource pools” of the LTE/LTE-A uplink spectrum are allocated for use in D2D communications) (Khoryaev – [0004], [0041]) to a reference signal for channel estimation from among a plurality of subcarrier bands included in the carrier band (read as demodulation reference signal (DMRS) are used to perform channel estimation of resource elements of the physical resource block corresponding to the SL channel; demodulation reference signal extraction for use in channel estimation; all subcarriers of symbols of each subframe are allocated to DMRS; allocates all twelve frequency subcarriers) (Khoryaev – [0037], [0059], [0064], [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Khoryaev into the teachings of Ravi for the purpose of providing a receive path for wireless sidelink or uplink signal from a user equipment including demodulation reference signal extraction for use in channel estimation wherein channel estimation involves filtering in time and in frequency.
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 16, Ravi as modified by Khoryaev further teaches wherein the controlling the LO frequency comprises determining the LO frequency such that a first frequency band is included in the RF band, the first frequency band being centered on the LO frequency and having a same bandwidth as a system bandwidth of the carrier band (read as use a PLL to generate a clock signal at a sub-harmonic of the LO frequency which is distributed to each transceiver chain; this clock signal is then multiplied up to the LO frequency using an injection-locked oscillator or a self-mixing multiplier, local to each transceiver) (Ravi – [0043]).
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 16, Ravi as modified by Khoryaev further teaches wherein the threshold value is equal to or greater than 1.5 times a system bandwidth of the carrier band value (read as one or more oscillators tuned to a frequency that is equal to or substantially the same as the intended LO frequency; tuning parameters may facilitate the appropriate bandwidth, filter coefficients, etc., based upon the current IF frequency bands that are being transmitted via the IF interface) (Ravi – [0078] and [0157]).
Regarding claim 19 as applied to claim 18, Ravi as modified by Khoryaev further teaches further comprising: controlling the LO frequency to have a value outside the carrier band in response to the RF bandwidth not exceeding the threshold value such that a first frequency band having a same bandwidth as the system bandwidth is included in the RF band value (read as one or more oscillators tuned to a frequency that is equal to or substantially the same as the intended LO frequency; tuning parameters may facilitate the appropriate bandwidth, filter coefficients, etc., based upon the current IF frequency bands that are being transmitted via the IF interface) (Ravi – [0078] and [0157]).
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 16, Ravi as modified by Khoryaev further teaches wherein the setting the RF band comprises setting a band having a determined RF bandwidth and centered on the target center frequency as the RF band; and the controlling the LO frequency comprises determining the LO frequency based on the following [Equation 1]
[Equation 1]
fc' < fc + (RFBW/2) - (System BW /2),
wherein fc' is the LO frequency, fc is the target center frequency, RFBW is the RF bandwidth and System BW is a system bandwidth of the carrier band (read as tuning parameters may facilitate the appropriate bandwidth, filter coefficients, etc., based upon the current IF frequency bands that are being transmitted via the IF interface; aspects include these tuning parameters being dynamically adjusted depending upon the currently used IF frequencies, which may be changed depending upon operating conditions, to avoid blocker signals, based upon measured feedback, etc.) (Ravi – [0157]).
Conclusion
/APRIL G GONZALES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648