DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgments are made that this application claims the priority to the following:
.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), dated 06/22/2024, not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609, since the provided document is blurry and not readable. Applicants are requested to provide good quality of document, preferably the whole document.
Response to Restriction
Applicant's response to restriction requirement and election of group I corresponding to claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged.
The examiner also acknowledges applicants election of Al18F-RESCA-Z09591 (claim 8), as the conjugate binding molecule species, including PDFG beta polypeptide (the Z-molecule comprising the amino acid sequence SEQ ID NO:237), the radionuclide (Al18F), and the linker (RESCA). and providing a single species for the claimed compound.
Claim 12 is withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The claims 1-11 are examined, in light of elected species, on merits in this office action.
Claim Objections/Sequence Compliance
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: 37 CFR 1.821(d) states that where the claims recite a sequence the sequence identifier must be included. The applicants have provided a sequence listing, but have not included the corresponding sequence identifiers in the claim. Examiner also request applicants to search for sequences missing SEQ ID NOs in the specification.
In claim 3, line 2, the “PBM” should be in parenthesis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleeren (Theranostics, 2017, vol.7, issue 11, 2924-2939) in view of Tolmachev (The Journal of Nuclear Medicine, Feb 2014, vol.55, No.2, 294-300) and Lindborg (EP2231860B1).
For claims 1-2:
Cleeren teaches the following conjugate:
, wherein C Al18F is RESCA [see Fig.1].
Cleeren exemplified the above conjugate with proteins, viz., HSA [see Fig.2], AbV4m119 [see Fig.4] and PEP04314 [see Fig.6].
Cleeren further teaches that current methods for radiolabeling biomolecules with fluorine-18 are laborious and require multistep procedures with moderate labeling yields. The Al18F-labeling strategy involves chelation in aqueous medium of aluminum mono[18F]fluoride ({Al18F}2+) by a suitable chelator conjugated to a biomolecule. Therefore, we designed a new restrained complexing agent (RESCA) for application of the AlF strategy at room temperature. This generic radiolabeling method has the potential to be a kit-based fluorine-18 labeling strategy, and could have a large impact on PET radiochemical space, potentially enabling the development of many new fluorine-18 labeled protein-based radiotracers. [See Abstract and Introduciton].
Difference is that Cleeren is silent on applicants elected PDGF-Rβb binding polypeptide. This difference can be cured by the following teachings:
Tolmachev teaches PDGF Rβb binding polypeptide, viz., Z09591 in the conjugate 111In-DOTA-Z09591 [see abstract], wherein Z09591 is identical to applicants elected species.
Lindborg teaches applicants PDGF-Rβb binding polypeptide sequences and PBM sequences [see 0005-0030].
In light of advantages of Al18F RESCA, as taught or evidenced from the teachings of Cleeren, one would be motivated to replace polypeptide in the conjugate of Cleeren with desired polypeptide or applicants elected polypeptide from the teachings of Tolmachev and Lindborg. There is also a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at applicants claimed conjugate, because structurally similar conjugate is known from the teachings of Tolmachev.
For claims 3-5:
Lindborg teaches the following sequence:
, which is identical or at least overlaps with applicants sequences. [See 0005-0030].
Lindborg further teaches the following sequence:
.
The above sequence is identical to applicants claimed first sequence in claim 5.
For claims 6-8:
Applicants elected sequence Z09591 is known, see in the teachings of Tolmachev, see above For claims 1-2.
For claims 9:
Cleeren teaches a linker, which is in between RESCA and polypeptide [see Fig.6].
For claim 10:
Cleeren teaches their conjugate for positron emission tomography imaging [see title and abstract].
For claim 11:
The recited limitation is intended use and does not have any weight.
Alternatively, Cleeren teaches a conjugate for PET imaging and the property or utility depends on the polypeptide in the conjugate. For example, if the polypeptide is PDGF-Rβb binding polypeptide sequences [see teachings of Tolmachev and Lindborg], then it can be used in the assessment of fibrosis.
Based on the above established facts from the cited prior art, it appears that all the claimed elements, i.e, applicants individual components in the conjugate, were known in the prior art, and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known relationships, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The motivation to combine the art can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed conjugate with a reasonable expectation of success.
A combination of prior art references is only proper if a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSA) at the time of the invention, faced with the same problem, would have been motivated to combine their teachings with a reasonable expectation of success. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Here, the technical fields and problems addressed by the references are not distinct from that of the present claimed invention.
The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983). In the instant case, one is simply substituting a linker from Bonny into the composition of Abrahmsen.
Conclusion
/SUDHAKAR KATAKAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658