DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmonston et al. (US 2021/0020967) in view of Weingaertner et al. (US 2011/0053027).
Regarding claims 1 and 14, Edmonston discloses a fuel cell system comprising a fuel cell stack 102, and an anode exhaust cooler 140 configured to heat an air inlet stream (see air blower 208, [0020], [0022]) using heat extracted from an anode exhaust stream output from the stack (see anode exhaust outlet 308A-C, [0023], Figs 1A-C).
A first air conduit 302A [providing an air inlet stream] fluidly connected to an air inlet of the anode exhaust cooler 130 (Figs 1A-C)
A second air conduit (air conduits 302B, 302C) [providing a heated air inlet stream output] connected to an air outlet of the anode exhaust cooler (see where 302B discharged from cooler 140) and configured to receive a heated air inlet stream output from the anode exhaust cooler and to provide the heated air inlet stream into the stack (Figs 1A-C)
a first anode exhaust conduit (see anode exhaust conduits 308A-C) [providing an anode exhaust stream] fluidly connecting an anode exhaust outlet of the stack (see where 308A discharges from stack 102) to an anode exhaust inlet of the anode exhaust cooler (see where 308C flows into cooler 140) (Figs 1A-C);
a second anode exhaust conduit (see anode exhaust conduits 308E-G, 300C, 300D) [providing a cooled anode exhaust stream] fluidly connecting an anode exhaust outlet of the anode exhaust cooler (see where 308E discharges from cooler 140), to an anode recycle blower 212, and to a fuel inlet of the stack (see where 300D flows into stack 102) [recycling at least a portion of the cooled anode exhaust stream into a fuel inlet stream] (Figs 1A-C).
While Edmonston further discloses a hot box 100 [the at least one component] that contains the fuel cell stacks 102, anode recuperator 110, cathode recuperator 120, anode tail gas oxidizer 130, anode exhaust cooler 140, anode recuperator 110, and cathode recuperator 120 ([0020], Figs 1A-C) and is therefore a component to contain heat, Edmonston does not disclose the temperatures, and therefore does not explicitly disclose (claim 1) at least one component configured to maintain a temperature of an anode exhaust stream exiting the anode exhaust cooler into the second anode exhaust conduit at a temperature above 100C; nor (claim 14) providing a cooled anode exhaust stream at a temperature between 110C and 180C.
Weingaertner discloses a solid oxide fuel cell system having a hot box containing the fuel cell stack 9, multi-stream heat exchanger 13 [or fuel heat exchanger 137 {anode recuperator}, air heat exchanger 203 {cathode recuperator}, tail gas oxidizer 10 {ATO}, air preheater 205 {anode exhaust cooler}] (abstract, [0018], [0026], [0057] Figs 2A-B). Weingaertner teaches that the anode exhaust stream gives up some heat in the heat exchanger and exits as warm anode exhaust stream of about 100C ([0050]). Weingaertner teaches that the warmed air and fuel inlet streams at the anode exhaust cooler are maintained at about 150C in through the heat exchanger ([0052], Fig 3). Therefore, Weingaertner discloses a temperature range of about 100 to about 150C for warm streams from an anode exhaust cooler.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the temperature range of about 100 to about 150C (including 110 to 150C) for warm steams (including the anode exhaust conduit from the anode exhaust cooler) as taught by Weingaertner with the anode exhaust stream existing the anode exhaust cooler of Edmonston for the purpose of exchanging heat and maintaining heat of a resulting stream to a level to use in a solid oxide fuel cell system.
Regarding claim 2, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Edmonston teaches an anode recycle blower 212 located on the second anode exhaust conduit 308E ([0020], Figs 1A-C). The hot box 100 [at least one component] is configured to maintain the temperature of the anode exhaust stream exiting the anode exhaust cooler into the second anode exhaust conduit (see Figs 1A-C, where anode exhaust cooler 140 is in the hot box 100). With regards to the temperature of the anode exhaust stream exiting the anode exhaust cooler at a temperature between 110-180C, as set forth above, Weingaertner discloses a temperature range of about 100 to about 150C for warm streams from an anode exhaust cooler ([0050], [0052]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the temperature range of about 110 to about 150C for warm steams (including the anode exhaust conduit from the anode exhaust cooler) as taught by Weingaertner with the anode exhaust stream existing the anode exhaust cooler of Edmonston for the purpose of exchanging heat and maintaining heat of a resulting stream to a level to use in a fuel cell system.
Regarding claim 12, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Edmonston further teaches a cathode recuperator 120 in the hot box that is fluidly connected to the first air conduit 302A and a cathode exhaust conduit [exhaust conduit 304B] and configured to preheat the air inlet stream in the first air conduit by extracting heat from a cathode exhaust stream output [304B], and the cathode exhaust conduit 304B is fluidly connected to a cathode exhaust outlet 304A of the stack ([0024], [0045], Fig 1A-D).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Edmonston further teaches that the fuel cells are solid oxide fuel cells ([0018]-[0019]).
Claim(s) 3-5, 16-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmonston et al. (US 2021/0020967) in view of Weingaertner et al. (US 2011/0053027), as applied to claim 1 or 14 above, and further in view of Pastula et al. (US 2005/0249991).
Regarding claims 3-4, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Edmonston does not explicitly disclose (claim 3) a bypass air conduit fluidly connecting the first air conduit and the second air conduit and bypassing the anode exhaust cooler; and a bypass valve configured to control the air inlet stream flow through the bypass air conduit; or (claim 4) an air control valve configured to control air flow through the first air conduit.
Pastula discloses a fuel cell system including a stack zone 104, burner zone 106, and low temperature zone 102 (abstract). The system further includes stacks 10 (Figs 2-3). Air is provided from an air source 22/222 which splits into two streams where one or both streams pass through a low temperature air heat exchanger 38/238 ([0030], [0038], Figs 2-3). Valves 39 [bypass valve and air control valve] are located at each stream ([0030], Figs 2-3). The bypass stream 44/243 [bypass air conduit] rejoins with the first stream downstream of a high temperature air heat exchanger 42/242 (Figs 2-3). The bypass air sources provides a source of cool air, and allows for the temperature to be adjusted ([0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the bypass stream and valves on both streams as taught by Pastula with the air stream of Edmonston for the purpose of adjusting the temperature of the air that reaches the stack.
Regarding claim 5, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Edmonston teaches that the first air conduit 302A enters from an upper portion of the hot box 100 [shroud] surrounding the anode exhaust cooler 140 into an upper portion of the anode exhaust cooler (see Figs 2A and 3B, and stream direction arrows 302A,B in Fig 3B).
With regards to wherein the bypass air conduit directly connects the shroud or the first air conduit to the second air conduit, and wherein the shroud surrounds an upper portion of the anode exhaust cooler and the second air conduit is fluidly connected to a lower portion of the anode exhaust cooler, Edmonston teaches that the end portion of the anode exhaust cooler 140 is lower than its inlet (Fig 3B). Therefore, the connection of the bypass stream of Pastula connects the first air condition to the second air conduit, and the shroud [hot box 100] surrounds an upper portion of the anode exhaust cooler 140 and the second air conduit is fluidly connected to a lower portion of the anode exhaust cooler (Fig 3B of Edmonston).
Regarding claim 16, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Weingaertner discloses a temperature range of about 100 to about 150C for warm streams from an anode exhaust cooler ([0050], [0052]), modified Edmonston does not explicitly disclose wherein at least a portion of the air inlet stream bypasses the anode exhaust cooler prior to being provided into the stack.
Pastula discloses a fuel cell system including a stack zone 104, burner zone 106, and low temperature zone 102 (abstract). The system further includes stacks 10 (Figs 2-3). Air is provided from an air source 22/222 which splits into two streams where one or both streams pass through a low temperature air heat exchanger 38/238 ([0030], [0038], Figs 2-3). Valves 39 [bypass valve and air control valve] are located at each stream ([0030], Figs 2-3). The bypass stream 44/243 [bypass air conduit] rejoins with the first stream downstream of a high temperature air heat exchanger 42/242 (Figs 2-3). The bypass air sources provides a source of cool air, and allows for the temperature to be adjusted ([0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the bypass stream and valves on both streams as taught by Pastula with the air stream of Edmonston for the purpose of adjusting the temperature of the air that reaches the stack.
Regarding claim 17, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. As Pastula teaches that the bypass stream is separated from the main stream until in the stack zone 104 (Fig 2), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the bypass stream bypass the anode exhaust cooler from a shroud surrounding the anode exhaust chamber (see hot box 100 of Fig 2A).
Regarding claim 18, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. With regards to the temperature of the anode exhaust stream exiting the anode exhaust cooler at a temperature between 110-180C, as set forth above, Weingaertner discloses a temperature range of about 100 to about 150C for warm streams from an anode exhaust cooler ([0050], [0052]). While Edmonston teaches that the first air conduit 302A enters from an upper portion of the hot box 100 [shroud] surrounding the anode exhaust cooler 140 into an upper portion of the anode exhaust cooler (see Fig 3B, and stream direction arrows 302A,B), modified Edmonston does not explicitly disclose providing a second portion of the air inlet stream from a lower portion of the shroud surrounding the anode exhaust cooler into a lower portion of the anode exhaust cooler.
Pastula discloses a fuel cell system including a stack zone 104, burner zone 106, and low temperature zone 102 (abstract). The system further includes stacks 10 (Figs 2-3). Air is provided from an air source 22/222 which splits into two streams where one or both streams pass through a low temperature air heat exchanger 38/238 ([0030], [0038], Figs 2-3). Valves 39 [bypass valve and air control valve] are located at each stream ([0030], Figs 2-3). The bypass stream 44/243 [bypass air conduit] rejoins with the first stream downstream of a high temperature air heat exchanger 42/242 (Figs 2-3). The bypass air sources provides a source of cool air, and allows for the temperature to be adjusted ([0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the bypass stream passing through the heat exchanger with the main stream as taught by Pastula with the air stream of Edmonston for the purpose of adjusting the temperature of the air that reaches the stack.
Regarding claim 20, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. With regards to the temperature of the anode exhaust stream exiting the anode exhaust cooler at a temperature between 110-180C, as set forth above, Weingaertner discloses a temperature range of about 100 to about 150C for warm streams from an anode exhaust cooler ([0050], [0052]). However, Edmonston does not explicitly disclose providing at least a portion of the air inlet stream into a heat exchanger upstream of the anode exhaust cooler; and providing at least a portion of a cathode exhaust stream from the stack into the heat exchanger to heat the air inlet stream.
Pastula discloses a fuel cell system including a stack zone 104, burner zone 106, and low temperature zone 102 (abstract). The system further includes stacks 10 (Figs 2-3). Downstream of the stack is an afterburner 54, which exhausts heat to a primary reformer 30/230, high temperature air heat exchanger 42/242 [anode exhaust cooler], and a low temperature air heat exchanger 38/238 [heat exchanger upstream of anode exhaust cooler] (abstract, Figs 2-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an additional heat exchanger [low temperature air heat exchanger] that is upstream of high temperature air heat exchanger [anode exhaust cooler] the on the air inlet stream as taught by Pastula with the fuel cell system of Edmonston for the purpose of reusing heat, and for adjusting the temperature of the air inlet stream.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmonston et al. (US 2021/0020967) in view of Weingaertner et al. (US 2011/0053027) and Pastula et al. (US 2005/0249991), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Dean et al. (US 6,370,878).
Regarding claim 6, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Edmonston further discloses an anode recycle heat exchanger [anode recuperator 110] located on the second anode exhaust conduit [second anode exhaust recycling conduits 308E-G, fuel conduits 300C-D] ([0005]), an anode tail gas oxidizer ATO 130, a third anode exhaust conduit [conduit 544, anode exhaust output conduit 308D] which fluidly connects the second anode exhaust conduit to the anode tail gas oxidizer ([0028], Figs 1B), an anode tail gas oxidizer feed valve [valve 546] ([0028], Fig 1B). Edmonston further teaches an embodiment where gas is discharged via conduit 309 from the second anode exhaust conduit (308E-F) ([0028], Fig 1B).
However, Edmonston does not explicitly disclose an anode tail gas oxidizer feed valve located on the third anode exhaust conduit; an anode exhaust export conduit fluidly connected to the second anode exhaust conduit; and an anode exhaust export valve located on the anode exhaust export conduit, wherein: during startup of the fuel cell system, the anode tail gas oxidizer feed valve is configured to be open and the anode exhaust export valve is configured to be closed; and during steady-state operating of the fuel cell system, the anode tail gas oxidizer feed valve is configured to be closed and the anode exhaust export valve is configured to be open.
Dean discloses a fuel cell system including a fuel cell stack 22 having an anode exhaust 15, where the exhaust is taken to conduit 46 splitting into two branches 50 and 52, regulated by valve 28 (C5/L63-65, Fig 1). A first branch 50 delivers some of exhaust 30 to heat recovery device 26, and a second branch 52 delivers the rest of the exhaust 30 to the atmosphere 53 (C5/L63-65). The valves controls the amount of heat that is transferred to water 54, thereby controlling the temperature of the stream of heated water 32 (C6/L18-22). At startup on cold days, no water 54 is provided to the heat recovery system 100b until the temperature of the fuel cell rises (C8/L6-13). That is, during startup the exhaust is discharged.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the valve at a discharge, which is open during startup and closed during steady-state for heat recovery as Dean with the conduit 309/mixer 610 of Edmonston for the purpose of regulating the heat recovery.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmonston et al. (US 2021/0020967) in view of Weingaertner et al. (US 2011/0053027), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Valensa et al. (US 2007/0196704).
Regarding claim 7, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Edmonston teaches that the first air conduit 302A enters from an upper portion of the hot box 100 [shroud] surrounding the anode exhaust cooler 140 into an upper portion of the anode exhaust cooler (see Figs 2A and 3B, and stream direction arrows 302A,B in Fig 3B). However, Edmonston does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one component comprises a shroud surrounding the anode exhaust cooler and having an upper portion fluidly connecting the first air conduit to the air inlet of the anode exhaust cooler located in an upper portion of the anode exhaust cooler, and a lower portion fluidly connecting the first air conduit to a lower air inlet of the anode exhaust cooler located in a lower portion of the anode exhaust cooler.
Valensa discloses an integrated fuel cell unit 10 including an annular array of fuel cell stacks 14, an annular cathode recuperator 20, an annular anode recuperator 22, a reformer 24, and an anode exhaust cooler 26, all integrated within a common housing structure 28 (abstract). A cathode feed 44 [air inlet] flows into unit 10 via port 34 at the top of the unit 10 ([0054]), Fig 1). A cylindrical tube or sleeve 376 is attached to the cover 368 to act as an outer sleeve for the anode cooler 26, and an upper annular bolt flange 378 is attached to the top of the sleeve 376 ([0078], Figs 25-26). The cylindrical tube/sleeve 376 covers the upper and lower portion of anode exhaust cooler (Fig 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the cylindrical tube/sleeve of the integrated fuel cell unit of Valensa with the fuel cell system of Edmonston for the purpose of directing the air feed into the integrated fuel cell unit and hot box containing the anode exhaust cooler and fuel cell stacks.
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmonston et al. (US 2021/0020967) in view of Weingaertner et al. (US 2011/0053027), and Valensa et al. (US 2007/0196704), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Pastula et al. (US 2005/0249991).
Regarding claims 8-9, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Edmonston does not explicitly disclose (claim 8) wherein the shroud comprises a horizontal shroud plate separating the upper portion of the shroud and the lower portion of the shroud; or (claim 9) comprising a bypass valve configured to control air flow from the upper portion of the shroud, through the horizontal shroud plate, and into the lower portion of the shroud.
Pastula discloses a fuel cell system including a stack zone 104, burner zone 106, and low temperature zone 102 (abstract). The system further includes stacks 10 (Figs 2-3). Air is provided from an air source 22/222 which splits into two streams where one or both streams pass through a low temperature air heat exchanger 38/238 ([0030], [0038], Figs 2-3). Valves 39 [bypass valve and air control valve] are located at each stream ([0030], Figs 2-3). The bypass stream 44/243 [bypass air conduit] rejoins with the first stream downstream of a high temperature air heat exchanger 42/242 (Figs 2-3). The bypass air sources provides a source of cool air, and allows for the temperature to be adjusted ([0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the bypass stream and valves on both streams as taught by Pastula with the air stream of Edmonston for the purpose of adjusting the temperature of the air that reaches the stack.
With regards to wherein the horizontal shroud plate separating the upper and lower portion, as Pastula teaches that the bypass stream is separated from the main stream until in the stack zone 104 (Fig 2) and Edmonston teaches that the end portion of the anode exhaust cooler 140 is lower than its inlet (Fig 3B), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the bypass stream bypass the anode exhaust cooler by means of a divider [horizontal shroud plate] from a shroud surrounding the anode exhaust chamber (see hot box 100 of Fig 2A).
Regarding claim 10¸ modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Valensa teaches a cylindrical tube or sleeve 376 is attached to the cover 368 to act as an outer sleeve for the anode cooler 26 ([0078], Figs 25-26), and Edmonston teaches that the first air conduit 302A enters from an upper portion of the hot box 100 [shroud] surrounding the anode exhaust cooler 140 into an upper portion of the anode exhaust cooler (see Figs 2A and 3B, and stream direction arrows 302A,B in Fig 3B).
Claim(s) 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edmonston et al. (US 2021/0020967) in view of Weingaertner et al. (US 2011/0053027), as applied to claim 1 or 14 above, and further in view of Williams et al. (US 5,413,878).
Regarding claim 11¸ modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. However, Edmonston does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one component comprises a cathode exhaust diversion conduit fluidly connecting a cathode exhaust conduit to the first air conduit, and wherein the cathode exhaust conduit is fluidly connected to a cathode exhaust outlet of the stack.
Williams discloses an electrochemically active system including a plurality of electrochemical devices, such as fuel cells, including solid oxide fuel cells (abstract, Table 1). The system includes several stacks #1-#N where an oxidant discharge passes through a heat exchanger 79, and is further recycled to the oxidant inlet (Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the oxidant recycle stream as taught by Williams with the cathode discharge from the cathode recuperator of Edmonston for the purpose of recycling the oxidant and the heat contained therein.
Regarding claim 19, modified Edmonston discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. With regards to the temperature of the anode exhaust stream exiting the anode exhaust cooler at a temperature between 110-180C, as set forth above, Weingaertner discloses a temperature range of about 100 to about 150C for warm streams from an anode exhaust cooler ([0050], [0052]). However, Edmonston does not explicitly disclose further comprising providing at least a portion of a cathode exhaust stream from the stack into the air inlet stream.
Williams discloses an electrochemically active system including a plurality of electrochemical devices, such as fuel cells, including solid oxide fuel cells (abstract, Table 1). The system includes several stacks #1-#N where an oxidant discharge passes through a heat exchanger 79, and is further recycled to the oxidant inlet (Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the oxidant recycle stream as taught by Williams with the cathode discharge from the cathode recuperator of Edmonston for the purpose of recycling the oxidant and the heat contained therein.
Conclusion
/JACOB BUCHANAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725