DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 21-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun et al. (US20080106234).
As to claim 21, Yun et al. discloses a consumer-electronic device comprising: a primary battery (figure 1), wherein the primary battery (1200) is rechargeable via a first charging mechanism (1230); and an auxiliary battery (1100) configured to supply auxiliary electrical power, wherein a first surface of the auxiliary battery is positioned along a first surface of the primary battery (1200), wherein the first surface of the auxiliary battery (1100) has a smaller area than the first surface of the primary battery (1200), and wherein the auxiliary battery is rechargeable via a second charging mechanism (1130) separate from the first charging mechanism (1230).
Yun et al. fail to disclose wherein the auxiliary battery is a thin-film battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Yun et al. with wherein the auxiliary battery is a thin-film battery for the purpose of providing optimal size in order to provide optimal value in absence of unexpected results.
As to claim 22, Yun et al. discloses further comprising: a first charging port (figure 1 number 1210), wherein the first charging mechanism comprises a connection to a first external power source via the first charging port; and a second charging port (1110), wherein the second charging mechanism comprises a connection to a second external power source via the second charging port.
As to claim 23, Yun et al. discloses, further comprising a first charging port (figure 1 number 1210), wherein the first charging mechanism comprises a connection to a first external power source via the first charging port, and wherein the second charging mechanism (1130) comprises inductive coupling with a second external power source.
As to claim 24, Yun et al. discloses wherein the auxiliary battery is flexible (paragraph 0016).
As to claim 25, Yun et al. discloses wherein the primary battery is arranged in a flattened jellyroll conformation (paragraph 0016).
As to claim 26, Yun et al. discloses, wherein the primary battery is arranged in a pouch conformation (paragraph 0016).
As to claim 27, Yun et al. discloses wherein the auxiliary battery is shaped so as to conform with a shape of a case of the consumer-electronic device (paragraph 0005).
As to claim 28, Yun et al. discloses wherein the auxiliary battery has a different shape than the primary battery (figure 1 number 1200,1100).
2. Claim(s) 29-32,36-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barkat et al. (US6081096).
As to claim 29, Barkat et al. discloses a consumer-electronic device (figure 2) comprising: a primary battery (102); and an auxiliary battery (101) configured to supply auxiliary electrical power, wherein a first surface of the auxiliary battery is positioned along a first surface of the primary battery, wherein the first surface of the auxiliary battery has a smaller area than the first surface of the primary battery, and wherein the primary battery and the auxiliary battery are both rechargeable via a first charging mechanism (figure 3 number 310).
Barkat et al. fail to disclose wherein the auxiliary battery is a thin-film battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Barkat et al. with wherein the auxiliary battery is a thin-film battery for the purpose of providing optimal size in order to provide optimal value in absence of unexpected results.
As to claim 30, Barkat et al. discloses further comprising a charging port, wherein the first charging mechanism comprises a connection to an external power source via the charging port (figure 4 number 430).
As to claim 31, Barkat et al. discloses wherein the first charging mechanism comprises inductive coupling with an external power source (figure 4 number 430).
As to claim 32, Barkat et al. discloses wherein the first charging mechanism is configured to charge the auxiliary battery once the primary battery is charged to a threshold value by engaging a switch that alternates from the primary battery to the auxiliary battery (figure 4 number 426).
As to claim 36, Barket et al. discloses wherein the auxiliary battery has a different shape than the primary battery (figure 2 number 101,102).
As to claim 37, Barkat et al. discloses wherein the auxiliary battery is shaped so as to conform with a shape of a case of the consumer-electronic device (figure 2 number 101).
As to claim 38, Barkat et al. discloses a method (figure 4) comprising: providing electrical power to a consumer-electronic device by discharging a primary battery (424) of the consumer-electronic device; and providing, upon the primary battery being discharged to a first threshold value, electrical power to the consumer-electronic device by discharging an auxiliary battery (420) of the consumer-electronic device, wherein a first surface of the auxiliary battery (figure 2 number 101) is positioned along a first surface of the primary battery (102), wherein the first surface of the auxiliary battery has a smaller area than the first surface of the primary battery(102), and wherein the primary battery and the auxiliary battery (101) are both rechargeable via a first charging mechanism (figure 4 number 314,430).
Barkat et al. fail to disclose wherein the auxiliary battery is a thin-film battery. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Barkat et al. with wherein the auxiliary battery is a thin-film battery for the purpose of providing optimal size in order to provide optimal value in absence of unexpected results.
As to claim 39, Barket et al. discloses further comprising: charging, by the first charging mechanism, the primary battery; once the primary battery is charged to a second threshold value, engaging a switch that alternates from the primary battery to the auxiliary battery; and charging, by the first charging mechanism, the auxiliary battery (figure 4 number 442).
As to claim 40, Barket et al. discloses further comprising, once the primary battery is discharged to the threshold value, engaging a switch that alternates from the primary battery to the auxiliary battery (figure 4 number 442).
3. Claim(s) 33-35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barket et al. in view of Yun et al. (US20080106234).
Barket et al. discloses the consumer electronic device described above. Barket et al. fail to disclose wherein the auxiliary battery is flexible, wherein the primary battery is arranged in a flattened jellyroll conformation and wherein the primary battery is arranged in a pouch conformation.
Yun et al. teaches wherein the auxiliary battery is flexible, wherein the primary battery is arranged in a flattened jellyroll conformation and wherein the primary battery is arranged in a pouch conformation for the purpose of providing different size batteries for charging efficiency (paragraph 0009, 0016).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Barket et al. with wherein the auxiliary battery is flexible, wherein the primary battery is arranged in a flattened jellyroll conformation and wherein the primary battery is arranged in a pouch conformation for the purpose of providing different size batteries for charging efficiency (paragraph 0009, 0016).
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724