DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim 17 utilizes the terms “means for receiving…”and “means for determining…”. The “means for receiving” will be interpreted as a signal receiving circuit, see par. [0024] of the PGPUB of the present application). The “means for determining” will be interpreted as an assessment circuit (e.g. a processor), see par. [0024] of the PPGUB of the present application).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
The claims are drawn to products (Claims 1-8 and 17-20) and processes (Claism 9-16)
Step 2A, Prong 1
Claims 1, 9, 17 and 18 recite the steps of “determining a patient metric using the received physiologic information”; “determine an indication of a predicted response to at least one of cardiac resynchronization therapy (CRT) or multi-site pacing (MSP) therapy based on the determined patient metric, wherein the first time period is prior to the CRT or MSP therapy”; and “provide the determined indication of the predicted response to a user or process”. These steps are so broadly claimed that they could amount to a clinician looking at a set of data (such as heart sound data); and predict a level of response to therapy, such as CRT therapy, if the heart sounds indicate therapy would be needed. The predicted response could simply be “they will respond positively” or “they will respond negatively”. The last step of providing the indication could be a mental acknowledgement (which is a process) or could be verbal or written communication to a user.
Step 2A, Prong 2
Claims 1, 9, 17 and 18 do not include any additional elements that amount to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims include the additional elements of a receiver circuit and an assessment circuit. The receiver circuit amounts to the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering. The assessment circuit amounts to generic computer implementation of the abstract idea. Insignificant, extra-solution activity and generic computer implementation do not amount to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B
Claims 1, 9, 17 and 18 do not include any additional elements that amount, alone or in combination, to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. he claims include the additional elements of a receiver circuit and an assessment circuit. The receiver circuit amounts to the insignificant extra-solution activity of data gathering. The assessment circuit amounts to generic computer implementation of the abstract idea. Insignificant, extra-solution activity and generic computer implementation, alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Claims 2, 10, 19 and 20 only generically expands the abstract idea to another technological environment or field of use.
Claims 3, 5, 8, 11, 13 and 16 only further define the abstract idea.
Claims 4, 6, 7, 12, 14 and 15 only further define the data gathering steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (8,617,082).
Regarding Claims 1, 9, 17 and 18, Zhang discloses a signal receiver circuit 82 (Fig. 3) configured to receive heart sounds and an assessment circuit 80 (Fig. 3, 4) configured to determine a patient metric using the heart sounds (comparisons of previous S3/S4 sounds; and determine an indication of a predicted response (predicted improvement from optimization, such as a predicted minimization f amplitude or duration of S3 and/or S4 sounds) based on the determined patient metric; and provide the optimization to a user or process (col. 18, lines 5-15).
In regards to Claims 2, 10 and 19, Zhang discloses heart sound sensor 82 can be a distinct structure on a lead (separate from the stimulator housing) and/or can be a separate sensor wirelessly connected to the IMD (col. 12, lines 57-64). In this configuration, Zhang discloses the assessment circuit 80 inside the IMD housing receives information form the first medical device (sensor on a lead or remote sensor connected via a wireless connection).
Regarding Claims 3 and 11, Zhang discloses comparing the heart sound metric to a threshold (col. 17, lines 29-35) and further discloses that the predicted response is an indication that a patient will respond to therapy and ultimately minimize the amplitude and/or duration of S3 and/or S4 sounds (col. 18, lines 4-15).
In regard to claims 4-7, 12-15 and 20, Applicant is requiring both heart sound and respiration information. However, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Claims 1, 9 and 17, from which Claims 4-7, 12-15 and 20 depend, only require one of heart sound or respiration. The Examiner has interpreted claims 1, 9 and 17 as only requiring heart sounds and thus does not require respiration signals. For the purposes of interpretation, Claims 4-7, 12-15 and 20 are being interpreted as only requiring heart sounds and Zhang discloses the heart sound information contains S1-S4 information, such as amplitudes and durations (col. 18 lines 1-15).
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gillberg et al. (2021/0196132).
Regarding Claims 1, 9, 17 and 18, Gillberg discloses a medical device system comprising a signal receiver circuit 86 (Fig. 3) to receive physiological information, one type being heart sounds form motion sensor 38 (par. [0037, 0059]). Gillberg further discloses an assessment circuit 80 configured to determine patient metrics from the heart sounds; and determine a predicted response to CRT therapy using a cardiovascular (CV) model(par. [0041, 0165, 0191]). Lastly, Gillberg discloses providing the results of the simulation/prediction to a user or process (par. [0009, 0031]).
In regards to Claims 2, 10 and 19, Gillberg discloses a first medical device (i.e. a motion sensor) that is a distinct device with its own housing from a second implantable medical device, e.g. a housing 60 having stimulation circuitry 84 therein, see Fig. 2 and 3). They are subcomponents of the same system but meet the BRI of a first and second medical device that are distinct from one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillberg et al. (2021/0196132) in view of Zhou (PGPUB 2023/0068131). Gillberg discloses utilizing impedance measurements in the therapy modelling but fails to disclose transthoracic impedance. However, Zhou discloses utilizing transthoracic impedance measurements along with other measures such as heart sounds to identify abnormalities and ultimately optimize therapy parameters to be delivered to the patient (par. [0083-0088, 0121-0124, 0127, 0138]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Gillberg reference to include transthoracic impedance sensing, as taught and suggested by Zhou, for the purpose of identifying abnormalities and ultimately optimizing therapy parameters to be delivered to the patient.
Conclusion
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796