DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 18, 2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (Sector-based Resource Allocation for Broadband Fixed Wireless Networks, cited in IDS filed on 2/18/25, hereinafter Srivastava) in view of Zhu et al. (US20190342050A1, hereinafter Zhu).
For claim 1, Srivastava teaches a method of allocating radio resource to a subscriber module in a fixed wireless access cellular wireless system comprising an access point and a plurality of subscriber modules at static locations ([Abstract], a sector-based resource allocation scheme for broadband fixed wireless networks. [Page 1680, sect. II, first para.], a broadband fixed wireless network where each cell is divided into multiple sectors, each of which is served by a sector antenna co-located with a base station at the center of the cell. Terminals use directional antennas mounted on the roof top and pointed to their respective base antennas. [Page 1681, sect. III, third para], Time is divided into slots. Sectors with label L can schedule packet transmission in time slots of subframe L), each subscriber module having a directional antenna aligned with the access point ([Page 1680, sect. II, first para.], a broadband fixed wireless network where each cell is divided into multiple sectors, each of which is served by a sector antenna co-located with a base station at the center of the cell. Terminals use directional antennas mounted on the roof top and pointed to their respective base antennas), and the area of coverage of the access point having a plurality of sectors ([Page 1680, sect. II, first para.], a broadband fixed wireless network where each cell is divided into multiple sectors, each of which is served by a sector antenna co-located with a base station at the center of the cell), each sector being served by a respective radio transceiver of the access point ([Page 1680, sect. II, first para.], a broadband fixed wireless network where each cell is divided into multiple sectors, each of which is served by a sector antenna co-located with a base station at the center of the cell), the method comprising: providing a frequency allocation to each sector ([Page 1680, sect. II, second para.], This has been a strong motivation for solutions that can use the same frequency in every sector of every cell in broadband wireless networks), the frequency allocation for each sector being the same ([Page 1680, sect. II, second para.], This has been a strong motivation for solutions that can use the same frequency in every sector of every cell in broadband wireless networks), the radio resource for each sector being allocated as a plurality of time slots ([Page 1681, sect. III, third para.], time is divided into slots. Sectors with label L can schedule packet transmission in time slots of subframe L), and each time slot having the same frequency allocation ([Page 1681, sect. III, third para.], time is divided into slots. Sectors with label L can schedule packet transmission in time slots of subframe L. [Page 1680, sect. II, second para.], This has been a strong motivation for solutions that can use the same frequency in every sector of every cell in broadband wireless networks).
Although teaching time slot reuse, Srivastava does not explicitly disclose determining a suitability of the subscriber module for time slot re-use based on a first criterion, and dependent on a determination that the subscriber module is suitable for time slot re-use, allocating time slots for communication to the subscriber module that are also allocated to a sector adjacent to a sector used for communication with the subscriber module.
Zhu is directed to providing apparatus and method for wireless communication. More specifically, Zhu teaches determining a suitability of the subscriber module for time slot re-use based on a first criterion ([Para. 0004], pilot signals transmitted by user equipments in different cells using the same pilot sequence may be received by a base station in a neighboring cell thereby resulting in interferences [Examiner’s Note: The signal not resulting in interference is suitable for reuse]. [Para. 0041], The communication devices on the cell edge are susceptible to interferences from communication devices in the neighboring cell, while the communication devices in the cell center have better channel conditions and are less susceptible to interferences from the neighboring cell [Examiner’s Note: That a device located in the cell center is the first criterion where the device is less susceptible to interferences from communication devices in the neighboring cell]. [Para. 0047] and [FIG. 2], The center users can directly use the pilot sequences in the first pilot group, with center users in neighboring cells using the same pilot sequences [Examiner’s Note: The center users are suitable for reuse based the first criterion that the user is located at cell center]), and dependent on a determination that the subscriber module is suitable for time slot re-use, allocating time slots for communication to the subscriber module that are also allocated to a sector adjacent to a sector used for communication with the subscriber module ([Para. 0004], pilot signals transmitted by user equipments in different cells using the same pilot sequence may be received by a base station in a neighboring cell thereby resulting in interferences. [Para. 0041], The communication devices on the cell edge are susceptible to interferences from communication devices in the neighboring cell, while the communication devices in the cell center have better channel conditions and are less susceptible to interferences from the neighboring cell. [Para. 0047] and [FIG. 2], The center users can directly use the pilot sequences in the first pilot group, with center users in neighboring cells using the same pilot sequences. The center users 1 and 2 respectively occupy all of the time slots of ϕ1 and ϕ2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava, so that the center users use the same time slots, as taught by Zhu. The modification would have avoided intra-cell and inter-cell pilot pollutions (Zhu [Para. 0047]).
For claim 15, Srivastava teaches a schedule for allocating radio resource to a subscriber module in a fixed wireless access cellular wireless system comprising an access point and a plurality of subscriber modules at static locations ([Abstract], a sector-based resource allocation scheme for broadband fixed wireless networks. [Page 1680, sect. II, first para.], a broadband fixed wireless network where each cell is divided into multiple sectors, each of which is served by a sector antenna co-located with a base station at the center of the cell. Terminals use directional antennas mounted on the roof top and pointed to their respective base antennas. [Page 1681, sect. III, third para], Time is divided into slots. Sectors with label L can schedule packet transmission in time slots of subframe L. [Page 1682, paragraph 2], The sector-based resource allocation (SBRA) scheme can be implemented in a system with base stations installed in an irregular fashion), each subscriber module having a directional antenna aligned with the access point ([Page 1680, sect. II, first para.], a broadband fixed wireless network where each cell is divided into multiple sectors, each of which is served by a sector antenna co-located with a base station at the center of the cell. Terminals use directional antennas mounted on the roof top and pointed to their respective base antennas), and the area of coverage of the access point having a plurality of sectors ([Page 1680, sect. II, first para.], a broadband fixed wireless network where each cell is divided into multiple sectors, each of which is served by a sector antenna co-located with a base station at the center of the cell), each sector being served by a respective radio transceiver of the access point ([Page 1680, sect. II, first para.], a broadband fixed wireless network where each cell is divided into multiple sectors, each of which is served by a sector antenna co-located with a base station at the center of the cell), the scheduler comprising one or more processors configured cause the scheduler to ([Page 1682, paragraph 2], The sector-based resource allocation (SBRA) scheme can be implemented in a system with base stations installed in an irregular fashion [Examiner’s Note: The scheduling scheme implemented in base stations indicate the scheduler is executed by the processors in base stations]): allocate radio resource for each sector as a plurality of time slots ([Page 1681, sect. III, third para.], time is divided into slots. Sectors with label L can schedule packet transmission in time slots of subframe L), each time slot having the same frequency allocation and the frequency allocation for each sector being the same allocate a frequency allocation to each sector ([Page 1681, sect. III, third para.], time is divided into slots. Sectors with label L can schedule packet transmission in time slots of subframe L. [Page 1680, sect. II, second para.], This has been a strong motivation for solutions that can use the same frequency in every sector of every cell in broadband wireless networks).
Although teaching time slot reuse, Srivastava does not explicitly disclose determine a suitability of the subscriber module for time slot re-use based on a first criterion; and dependent on a determination that the subscriber module is suitable for time slot re-use, allocate time slots for communication to the subscriber module that are also allocated to a sector adjacent to a sector used for communication with the subscriber module.
Zhu is directed to providing apparatus and method for wireless communication. More specifically, Zhu teaches determine a suitability of the subscriber module for time slot re-use based on a first criterion ([Para. 0004], pilot signals transmitted by user equipments in different cells using the same pilot sequence may be received by a base station in a neighboring cell thereby resulting in interferences [Examiner’s Note: The signal not resulting in interference is suitable for reuse]. [Para. 0041], The communication devices on the cell edge are susceptible to interferences from communication devices in the neighboring cell, while the communication devices in the cell center have better channel conditions and are less susceptible to interferences from the neighboring cell [Examiner’s Note: That a device located in the cell center is the first criterion where the device is less susceptible to interferences from communication devices in the neighboring cell]. [Para. 0047] and [FIG. 2], The center users can directly use the pilot sequences in the first pilot group, with center users in neighboring cells using the same pilot sequences [Examiner’s Note: The center users are suitable for reuse based the first criterion that the user is located at cell center]), and dependent on a determination that the subscriber module is suitable for time slot re-use, allocate time slots for communication to the subscriber module that are also allocated to a sector adjacent to a sector used for communication with the subscriber module ([Para. 0004], pilot signals transmitted by user equipments in different cells using the same pilot sequence may be received by a base station in a neighboring cell thereby resulting in interferences. [Para. 0041], The communication devices on the cell edge are susceptible to interferences from communication devices in the neighboring cell, while the communication devices in the cell center have better channel conditions and are less susceptible to interferences from the neighboring cell. [Para. 0047] and [FIG. 2], The center users can directly use the pilot sequences in the first pilot group, with center users in neighboring cells using the same pilot sequences. The center users 1 and 2 respectively occupy all of the time slots of ϕ1 and ϕ2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava, so that the center users use the same time slots, as taught by Zhu. The modification would have avoided intra-cell and inter-cell pilot pollutions (Zhu [Para. 0047]).
Claims 2 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (Sector-based Resource Allocation for Broadband Fixed Wireless Networks, cited in IDS filed on 2/18/25, hereinafter Srivastava) in view of Zhu et al. (US20190342050A1, hereinafter Zhu), and further in view of Adachi et al. (US20140256331A1, hereinafter Adachi).
For claim 2, Srivastava and Zhu teach the method of claim 1. Although teaching determining time slots reuse based on the first criterion, the references do not explicitly disclose comprising: dependent on a determination that the subscriber module is, based on the first criterion, not suitable for time slot re-use: periodically determining a measure of quality of communication on a communication channel between the subscriber module and the access point; dependent on the measure of quality meeting a second criterion, allocating time slots for communication to the subscriber module, the time slots being also allocated to an adjacent sector; and dependent on the measure of quality not meeting the second criterion, not allowing allocation of time slots for communication to the subscriber module that are allocated to an adjacent sector.
Adachi is directed to providing wireless communication system and wireless communication method and base station device. More specifically, Adachi teaches comprising: dependent on a determination that the subscriber module is, based on the first criterion ([Para. 0091] and [FIG. 10], the report value of the carrier to interference and noise power ratio (CINR) received from the terminal is compared with a predetermined second threshold value (a threshold value 2) (S103). When the report value of the CINR is larger than the threshold value 2, the terminal is determined to be located in the sector center (S104). When the report value of the CINR is smaller than the threshold value 2, the terminal is determined to be located in the sector edge), not suitable for time slot re-use ([Para. 0085], the base station is unlikely to be influenced by interference from the other two base stations in the sector centers. Meanwhile, in the sector edges, the base stations interfere with each other between sectors. For this reason, it is necessary to reduce influence of interference in the sector edge): periodically determining a measure of quality of communication on a communication channel between the subscriber module and the access point ([Para. 0090] and [FIG. 10], a base station specifies an area with respect to a terminal using a carrier to interference and noise power ratio (CINR) that is a ratio of interference power and noise power to carrier power of a currently connected base station and two other base stations within its own cell. The parameters are obtained such that the terminal scans at regular intervals, and the terminal reports the result to the base station. [Para. 0091], When the report value of the CINR is larger than the threshold value 2, the terminal is determined to be located in the sector center (S104). When the report value of the CINR is smaller than the threshold value 2, the terminal is determined to be located in the sector edge. [Para. 0092], When the CINR of the base station at the left side is determined to be larger, the terminal is determined to be located in the left sector edge (S106). However, when the CINR of the base station at the right side is determined to be larger, the terminal is determined to be located in the right sector edge (S107). [Para. 0096] and [FIG. 8], When the base station #1 and the base station #2 perform communication at the same time, influence of interference is large in the area 112 and the area 114 serving the sector edge. However, in the area 111 and the area 115 serving as the sector edge, influence of interference is small [Examiner's Note: Comparison of the CINRs of signals from two neighbor base stations determines the interference of which neighbor base station is stronger with the channel of the serving base station. Therefore, a determination of a measure of the quality of the channel]), dependent on the measure of quality meeting a second criterion ([Para. 0092] and [FIG. 9], When the CINR of the base station at the left side is determined to be larger, the terminal is determined to be located in the left sector edge (S106). However, when the CINR of the base station at the right side is determined to be larger, the terminal is determined to be located in the right sector edge (S107) [Examiner’s Note: The cell center in Adachi corresponds to the whole sector in the instant application. In FIG. 9, the time in the subframe for cell center is divided into three parts. 210 is for the sector centers in sector 1-3. 211 – 216 are for sector edges. 211-216 for sector edges are further divided into 211-213 and 214-216. 211-213 are for sector edges that resue time slots. 214-216 are for sector edges that do not reuse time slots. The second criterion is that in one of 211-213 time zones which are for time slots reuse between two adjacent sectors, the terminal is located in sector edge in the side of the sector receiving less interference than the sector edge in the other side of the sector]), allocating time slots for communication to the subscriber module ([Para. 0096] and [FIG. 8 and 9], when the base station #1 and the base station #2 perform communication at the same time, the base station #1 and the base station #2 can respectively perform communication with terminals located in the area 111 and the area 115. [Examiner's Note: In time zone 211 which is the time zone for time slots reuse for sector edges of adjacent sectors 1 and 2, terminals in edges 111 and 115 are located in the sector edges of the side of the sectors 1 and 2 respectively receiving less interference and hence meet the second criterion. These terminals in sector 1 and 2 reuse the time slots in the same time zone 211. The time zone 210 is for sector center. All terminals located in the sector centers of the sector 1-3 meet the first criterion and reuse the time slots in time zone 210]), the time slots being also allocated to an adjacent sector ([Para. 0096] and [FIG. 8 and 9], the base station #1 and the base station #2 can respectively perform communication with terminals located in the area 111 and the area 115 [Examiner’s Note: In FIG. 8 and 9, sector edges 111 and 115 are in sectors 1 and 2 respectively and in the side of their sectors receiving less interference. Terminals located in 111 and 115 respectively are in the adjacent sectors 1 and 2 and resue time slots in time zone 211. These terminals are not located in sector centers and do not meet the first criterion to resue time slots in time zone 210 which is for sector centers]); and dependent on the measure of quality not meeting the second criterion ([Para. 0096], When the base station #1 and the base station #2 perform communication at the same time, influence of interference is large in the area 112 and the area 114 serving the sector edge [Examiner’s Note: in FIG. 8 and 9, the terminals in sector edges 112 and 114 are in the sector edges in the side of their respective sector receiving more interference and do not meet the second criterion. These terminals are not located in the sector centers and do not meet the first criterion either to reuse time slots in time zone 210]), not allowing allocation of time slots for communication to the subscriber module that are allocated to an adjacent sector ([Para. 0096], When the base station #1 and the base station #2 perform communication at the same time, influence of interference is large in the area 112 and the area 114 serving the sector edge).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava and Zhu, so that the time zone in specific sector edges of the adjacent sectors is reused, as taught by Adachi. The modification would have allowed that an allocation of radio resources of each base station is adaptively changed and reducing deterioration in a signal quality that is caused by interference of signals transmitted from multiple neighbor base stations (Adachi [Para. 0043]).
For claim 16 is apparatus claim and it does not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim 2. Therefore, claims 16 is also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim 2.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (Sector-based Resource Allocation for Broadband Fixed Wireless Networks, cited in IDS filed on 2/18/25, hereinafter Srivastava) in view of Zhu et al. (US20190342050A1, hereinafter Zhu) and Adachi et al. (us20140256331a1, hereinafter Adachi), and further in view of Qualcomm Europe (3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 #59 R1-094998, hereinafter Qualcomm).
For claim 4, Srivastava, Zhu and Adachi teach the method of claim 2. Although teaching periodic measurement of channel quality for reuse of time slots in resource allocation, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the measure of quality of communication on the communication channel between the subscriber module and the access point is determined on a basis comprising receiving a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) at the access point.
Qualcomm teaches wherein the measure of quality of communication on the communication channel between the subscriber module and the access point is determined on a basis comprising receiving a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) at the access point ([Page 1, Sect. 2 Channel Quality Reporting in LTE Rel-8, first paragraph], a UE can be configured to report a wideband channel quality indicator (CQI) and/or subband CQI, via a periodic (PUCCH) or aperiodic (PUSCH) reporting. CQI reporting targets accurate representation of the serving channel quality which can be used subsequently by the serving eNB. [Page 1, Sect. 2 Channel Quality Reporting in LTE Rel-8, second paragraph], A CQI report generated by the UE should perform a certain amount of interference filtering to provide a meaningful CQI report. Such interference averaging is important to eliminate dependency of CQI report on short-term interference which depends on instantaneous scheduling decision(s) in the adjacent cells).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava, Zhu and Adachi, so that CQI measurement is reported for channel quality in the presence of inter-cell interference, as taught by Qualcomm. The modification would have enabled best-effort interference coordination (Qualcomm [Page 1, Sect. 1 Introduction, second paragraph]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (Sector-based Resource Allocation for Broadband Fixed Wireless Networks, cited in IDS filed on 2/18/25, hereinafter Srivastava) in view of Zhu et al. (US20190342050A1, hereinafter Zhu) and Adachi et al. (us20140256331a1, hereinafter Adachi), and further in view of Bin Sediq et al. (US20230239026A1, hereinafter Bin Sediq).
For claim 5, Srivastava, Zhu and Adachi teach the method of claim 2. Although teach determining reuse of time slots in the sector centers and edges, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the measure of quality of communication on the communication channel between the subscriber module and the access point is determined on a basis comprising block error rate information for data received at the subscriber module, wherein the block error rate information is based on HARQ feedback comprising ACK/NACK messages for downlink data received at the subscriber module.
Bin Sediq is directed to providing fast outerloop link adaptation. More specifically, Bin Sediq teaches wherein the measure of quality of communication on the communication channel between the subscriber module and the access point is determined on a basis comprising block error rate information for data received at the subscriber module ([Para. 0016], To help deliver the best downlink (DL) throughput to the wireless device, the network node may need to adapt its transmission parameters to the wireless device’s channel condition. [Para. 0019], a control loop that continuously corrects the SINR estimate is based on Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) acknowledgement/negative acknowledgement (ACK/NACK) feedbacks. SINRest = SINRreported + OLLA, where OLLA: = OLLA+Stepup If ACK, and OLLA: = OLLA – Stepup ×(1−BLERtarget)/BLERtarget If NACK, Where SINRest is the estimated SINR that includes a correction term; SINRreported is the SINR from CSI report without any correction; OLLA is the outerloop correction term update upon reception of HARQ feedbacks (ACK/NACK); Stepup is the amount of increase in OLLA if an ACK is received; BLERtarget is a configured target block error rate (BLER) [Examiner’s Note: SINR is determined based on the target block error rate]), wherein the block error rate information is based on HARQ feedback comprising ACK/NACK messages for downlink data received at the subscriber module ([Para. 0019], SINRest = SINRreported + OLLA. OLLA is the outerloop correction term update upon reception of HARQ feedbacks (ACK/NACK). BLERtarget is a configured target block error rate (BLER) [Examiner’s Note: The target block error rate is achieved by receptions of HARQ ACK and NACK]. [Para. 0016], If a more aggressive MCS is chosen than what the channel can support, there is a high chance the transmission is not decoded successfully at the wireless device, and the wireless device then reports a negative acknowledgment (NACK) using Hybrid Automatic Request Control (HARQ) mechanism).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava, Zhu and Adachi, so that the measurement of channel quality is corrected based on HARQ feedbacks to achieve the target block error rate, as taught by Bin Sediq. The modification would have had faster convergence in the corrected channel quality and achieved higher throughput (Bin Sediq [Para. 0044]).
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (Sector-based Resource Allocation for Broadband Fixed Wireless Networks, cited in IDS filed on 2/18/25, hereinafter Srivastava) in view of Zhu et al. (US20190342050A1, hereinafter Zhu) and Adachi et al. (us20140256331a1, hereinafter Adachi), and further in view of Irnich et al. (US20150237506A1, hereinafter Irnich).
For claim 7, Srivastava, Zhu and Adachi teach the method of claim 2. The references further teach and determining a schedule allocating time slots as a function of time to the subscriber modules camped in more than one sector based on processing of the measures of the quality of communication (Adachi [Para. 0091] and [FIG. 8 and 10], When the report value of the CINR is larger than the threshold value 2, the terminal is determined to be located in the sector center (S104). When the report value of the CINR is smaller than the threshold value 2, the terminal is determined to be located in the sector edge [Examiner’s Note: the terminals on the sector edges camp in more than one sectors receiving signals from the neighbor base stations]. Adachi [Para. 0092], When the CINR of the base station at the left side is determined to be larger, the terminal is determined to be located in the left sector edge (S106). However, when the CINR of the base station at the right side is determined to be larger, the terminal is determined to be located in the right sector edge (S107) [Examiner's Note: Comparison of the CINRs of signals from two neighbor base stations to determine the interference of which neighbor base station is stronger with the channel of the serving base station is a measure of the quality of the channel]. Adachi [Para. 0094] and [FIG. 8 and 9], The time zone 214 is assumed to be a period of time in which the base station #1 performs communication with terminals located in the areas 111 and 112 serving as the sector edge. Similarly for time zone 212 and 213. Adachi [Para. 0096], For time zone 211, when the base station #1 and the base station #2 perform communication at the same time, the base station #1 and the base station #2 can respectively perform communication with terminals located in sector edges 111 and 115. Similarly for time zones 212 and 213 [Examiner’s Note: In FIG. 8 and 9, for the example of a terminal located in sector edge 111, the time slots are allocated to the terminal is a function of time. During time zone 210, the terminal is not allocated with time slots; during time zone 211, the terminal is allocated; during time zones 212-213, the terminal is not allocated; during time zone 214, the terminal is allocated with time slots, during the other time zones, the terminal is not allocated. As subframe repeats, the same schedule repeats for the terminal]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava and Zhu, so that the time zones are allocated to specific sector edges of the adjacent sectors as a function of time, as taught by Adachi. The modification would have allowed that an allocation of radio resources of each base station is adaptively changed and reducing deterioration in a signal quality that is caused by interference of signals transmitted from multiple neighbor base stations (Adachi [Para. 0043]).
Although teaching allocation of time slots to sector edges as function of time, Srivastava, Zhu and Adachi do not explicitly disclose comprising: holding in a database the measure of the quality of communication on the communication channel between subscriber module and the access point for a plurality of subscriber modules camped in a plurality of sectors.
Irnich is directed to providing white space channel selection for cellular networks. More specifically, Irnich teaches comprising: holding in a database the measure of the quality of communication on the communication channel between subscriber module and the access point for a plurality of subscriber modules camped in a plurality of sectors ([Para. 0025] and [FIG. 2], The configuration node 204 may configure which channel or channels are individually used by base stations of the cellular network 203. Each channel of the set of channels may show a different transmission quality. The transmission quality basically indicates whether the particular channel is suited for use in the cellular network and gives a quality of the channel in the cellular network 203. The transmission quality of a channel may be determined on the basis of several quality values such as the allowed transmit power and a level of interference, which may be provided by the database 205).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava, Zhu and Adachi, so that channel quality of each channel in a cell is provided in database, as taught by Irnich. The modification would have allowed that optimal number of channels for the cellular network on the basis of the ranked set of channels such that a signal quality in the cellular network is optimized (Irnich [Para. 0008]).
For claim 8, Srivastava, Zhu, Adachi and Irnich teach the method of claim 7. The references further teach wherein determining the schedule allocating time slots as a function of time to the subscriber modules camped in more than one sector is based on comparing the measures of the quality of communication to a threshold (Adachi [Para. 0091] and [FIG. 8 and 10], When the report value of the CINR is larger than the threshold value 2, the terminal is determined to be located in the sector center (S104). When the report value of the CINR is smaller than the threshold value 2, the terminal is determined to be located in the sector edge [Examiner’s Note: the terminals on the sector edges camp in more than one sectors receiving signals from the neighbor base stations]. Adachi [Para. 0092], When the CINR of the base station at the left side is determined to be larger, the terminal is determined to be located in the left sector edge (S106). However, when the CINR of the base station at the right side is determined to be larger, the terminal is determined to be located in the right sector edge (S107) [Examiner's Note: Comparison of the CINRs of signals from two neighbor base stations determines which time zone is allocated to which sector edges in time]. Adachi [Para. 0094] and [FIG. 8 and 9], The time zone 214 is assumed to be a period of time in which the base station #1 performs communication with terminals located in the areas 111 and 112 serving as the sector edge. Similarly for time zone 212 and 213. Adachi [Para. 0096], For time zone 211, when the base station #1 and the base station #2 perform communication at the same time, the base station #1 and the base station #2 can respectively perform communication with terminals located in sector edges 111 and 115. Similarly for time zones 212 and 213 [Examiner’s Note: Time slots are allocated to specific sector edges of adjacent sectors as a function of time]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava and Zhu, so that the time zones are allocated to specific sector edges of the adjacent sectors as a function of time based on the comparison of CINRs of the neighbor base stations, as taught by Adachi. The modification would have allowed that an allocation of radio resources of each base station is adaptively changed and reducing deterioration in a signal quality that is caused by interference of signals transmitted from multiple neighbor base stations (Adachi [Para. 0043])
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (Sector-based Resource Allocation for Broadband Fixed Wireless Networks, cited in IDS filed on 2/18/25, hereinafter Srivastava) in view of Zhu et al. (US20190342050A1, hereinafter Zhu), and further in view of Tang (EP3474585B1, hereinafter Tang).
For claim 10, Srivastava and Zhu teach the method of claim 1. Although teaching time slots reuse based on the user being located in the cell center, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the first criterion is determined by a process comprising processing of measurements of signal strength of reference signals received at the subscriber module which are transmitted by a radio transceiver of a sector in which the subscriber module is camped and at least an adjacent sector.
Tang is directed to providing method and system for self-adaptive frequency adjustment for use in indoor coverage network. More specifically, Tang teaches wherein the first criterion is determined by a process comprising processing of measurements of signal strength of reference signals received at the subscriber module which are transmitted by a radio transceiver of a sector in which the subscriber module is camped and at least an adjacent sector ([Para. 0037], The users in the edge zone of each of the cells can be determined by various methods. These methods include a feedback report on RSRP difference of each serving cell, where the RSRP difference refers to difference between each serving cell and a neighboring cell set [Examiner’s Note: That a user is located in the cell center is the first criterion]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava and Zhu, so that whether the user is located in the cell center is determined by the difference between the RSRP of the serving cell and RSRP of the neighboring cells, as taught by Tang. The modification would have reduced inter-cell interference in the case of irregular layouts of cells and unpredictable radio propagation characteristics of the indoor coverage network (Tang [Para. 0011]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (Sector-based Resource Allocation for Broadband Fixed Wireless Networks, cited in IDS filed on 2/18/25, hereinafter Srivastava) in view of Zhu et al. (US20190342050A1, hereinafter Zhu) and Tang (EP3474585B1, hereinafter Tang), and further in view of Venkatraman et al. (US20150237637A1, hereinafter Venkatraman).
For claim 11, Srivastava, Zhu and Tang teach the method of claim 10. The references further teach wherein the measurements of signal strength comprise Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) (Tang [Para. 0037], The users in the edge zone of each of the cells can be determined by various methods. These methods include a feedback report on RSRP difference of each serving cell, where the RSRP difference refers to difference between each serving cell and a neighboring cell set) and wherein the process of determining the first criterion comprises processing measurements of Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of reference signals received in the sector in which the subscriber module is camped.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava and Zhu, so that whether the user is located in the cell center is determined by the difference between the RSRP of the serving cell and RSRP of the neighboring cells, as taught by Tang. The modification would have reduced inter-cell interference in the case of irregular layouts of cells and unpredictable radio propagation characteristics of the indoor coverage network (Tang [Para. 0011]).
Although teaching determining whether a user is located in the cell center based on RSRP, Srivastava, Zhu and Tang do not explicitly disclose wherein the measurements of signal strength comprise Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) and wherein the process of determining the first criterion comprises processing measurements of Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of reference signals received in the sector in which the subscriber module is camped.
Venkatraman is directed to providing apparatus for an enhanced node b for inter-cell interference coordination in wireless networks. More specifically, Venkatraman teaches wherein the measurements of signal strength comprise Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) ([Para. 0046] and [FIG. 4B], the identified user equipment power information for the identified user equipment is collected. For example, user equipment may periodically transmit reference signal received power (“RSRP”) measured from reference signals transmitted by the eNB. [Para. 0047], a test is conducted to determine whether the power information for the current user equipment exceeds a threshold. If so, the user equipment is characterized as cell central user equipment based on exceeding the threshold. Alternatively, if the power information for the current user equipment does not exceed the threshold, the user equipment is characterized as cell edge user equipment based on exceeding the threshold) and wherein the process of determining the first criterion comprises processing measurements of Reference Signal Received Quality (RSRQ) of reference signals received in the sector in which the subscriber module is camped ([Para. 0046] and [FIG. 4B], the identified user equipment power information for the identified user equipment is collected. For example, user equipment may periodically transmit reference signal receiving quality (“RSRQ”) information measured from reference signals transmitted by the eNB. [Para. 0047], a test is conducted to determine whether the power information for the current user equipment exceeds a threshold. If so, the user equipment is characterized as cell central user equipment based on exceeding the threshold. Alternatively, if the power information for the current user equipment does not exceed the threshold, the user equipment is characterized as cell edge user equipment based on exceeding the threshold).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava, Zhu and Tang, so that whether the user is located in the cell center is determined by RSRP and RSRQ of the serving cell, as taught by Venkatraman. The modification would have allowed allocation and optimization of sub-carriers by a plurality of cells based, at least in part, on aspects of user equipment utilizing the wireless communication network (Venkatraman [Para. 0014]).
Claims 12-13 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Srivastava et al. (Sector-based Resource Allocation for Broadband Fixed Wireless Networks, cited in IDS filed on 2/18/25, hereinafter Srivastava) in view of Zhu et al. (US20190342050A1, hereinafter Zhu), and further in view of Giridhar K. et al. (US20220109999A1, hereinafter Giridhar K.).
For claim 12, Srivastava and Zhu teach the method of claim 1. Although teaching time slots reuse based on the user being located in the cell center, the references do not explicitly disclose wherein the first criterion is determined by process comprising processing pre-configured data providing classification of a location of the subscriber module.
Giridhar K. is directed to providing simultaneous sharing of spectrum in wireless communications. More specifically, Giridhar K. teaches wherein the first criterion is determined by process comprising processing pre-configured data providing classification of a location of the subscriber module ([Para. 0109], each cell may be divided into two regions: an interior region and an exterior region. The interior region may be a predetermined area surrounding a centre of the cell and the remainder of the region may be the exterior region [Examiner’s Note: The predetermined area is the pre-configured data]. [Para. 0111], The interior regions may not be seeing significant interference from the BSs in neighboring cells. [Para. 0110] and [FIG. 3(b) and 8], The first band is a part of the frequency spectrum shared between the operators. In other words, the first BS 102-1, the second BS 102-2, the third BS 102-3, and the fourth BS 102-4 may use the first band 820 for sending downlink signals to UEs in the interior region 802. [Para. 0112], The frequency band to be utilized for communicating with UEs in the first exterior region may vary across the neighboring cells [Examiner’s Note: The locations of UEs are classified by the predetermined area. That a UE is located in the interior of a cell is the first criterion]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava and Zhu, so that the interior and exterior regions of a cell is predetermined and the locations of UEs are classified by the interior and exterior regions, as taught by Giridhar K.. The modification would have reduced the cost of ownership of premium spectrum bands and provide different services to the UE of any operator under the shared spectrum (Giridhar K. [Para. 0037]).
For claim 13, Srivastava, Zhu and Giridhar K. teach the method of claim 12. The references further teach wherein the classification of the location of the subscriber module is according to the suitability of the subscriber module for time slot re-use (Zhu [Para. 0004], pilot signals transmitted by user equipments in different cells using the same pilot sequence may be received by a base station in a neighboring cell thereby resulting in interferences [Examiner’s Note: The signal not resulting in interference is suitable for reuse]. Zhu [Para. 0041], The communication devices on the cell edge are susceptible to interferences from communication devices in the neighboring cell, while the communication devices in the cell center have better channel conditions and are less susceptible to interferences from the neighboring cell. Zhu [Para. 0047] and [FIG. 2], The center users can directly use the pilot sequences in the first pilot group, with center users in neighboring cells using the same pilot sequences. [Examiner’s Note: The classification of the locations of users into cell center and cell edge is based on likelihood of interferences, which decides the suitability of time slots reuse]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Srivastava and Giridhar K., so that the center users use the same time slots, as taught by Zhu. The modification would have avoided intra-cell and inter-cell pilot pollutions (Zhu [Para. 0047]).
For claims 18-19 are apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claims 12-13. Therefore, claims 18-19 are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claims 12-13.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US20190342050A1, hereinafter Zhu) in view of Srivastava et al. (Sector-based Resource Allocation for Broadband Fixed Wireless Networks, cited in IDS filed on 2/18/25, hereinafter Srivastava).
For claim 20, Zhu teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium carrying instructions which ([Para. 0118], the present invention discloses a program product in which machine-readable instruction codes are stored. The aforementioned methods can be implemented when the instruction codes stored in are read and executed by a machine. [Para. 0119], The memory medium for carrying the program product in which machine-readable instruction codes are stored includes but is not limited to disc, memory and the like), when executed by one or more processors ([Para. 0116], the classification unit, the allocation unit, the determination unit can be implemented by one or more processors), cause a scheduler comprising the one or more processors to ([Para. 0008], an apparatus for wireless communications, including: a classification unit, configured to classify communication devices; and an allocation unit, configured to allocate pilot sequences. [Para. 0116], the classification unit, the allocation unit, the determination unit and the like can be implemented by one or more processors): determining a suitability of the subscriber module for time slot re-use based on a first criterion ([Para. 0004], pilot signals transmitted by user equipments in different cells using the same pilot sequence may be received by a base station in a neighboring cell thereby resulting in interferences [Examiner’s Note: The signal not resulting in interference is suitable for reuse]. [Para. 0041], The communication devices on the cell edge are susceptible to interferences from communication devices in the neighboring cell, while the communication devices in the cell center have better channel conditions and are less susceptible to interferences from the neighboring cell [Examiner’s Note: That a device is located in the cell center is the first criterion where the device is less susceptible to interferences from communication devices in the neighboring cell]. [Para. 0047] and [FIG. 2], The center users can directly use the pilot sequences in the first pilot group, with center users in neighboring cells using the same pilot sequences [Examiner’s Note: The center users are suitable for reuse based the first criterion that the user is located at cell center]), and dependent on a determination that the subscriber module is suitable for time slot re-use, allocating time slots for communication to the subscriber module that are also allocated to a sector adjacent to a sector used for communication with the subscriber module ([Para. 0004], pilot signals transmitted by user equipments in different cells using the same pilot sequence may be received by a base station in a neighboring cell thereby resulting in interferences. [Para. 0041], The communication devices on the cell edge are susceptible to interferences from communication devices in the neighboring cell, while the communication devices in the cell center have better channel conditions and are less susceptible to interferences from the neighboring cell. [Para. 0047] and [FIG. 2], The center users can directly use the pilot sequences in the first pilot group, with center users in neighboring cells using the same pilot sequences. The center users 1 and 2 respectively occupy all of the time slots of ϕ1 and ϕ2).
Although teach allocating time slots to users for reuse based on user locations in a cell, Zhu does not explicitly disclose perform a method of allocating radio resource to a subscriber module in a fixed wireless access cellular wireless system comprising an access point and a plurality of subscriber modules at static locations, each subscriber module having a directional antenna aligned with the access point, and the area of coverage of the access point having a plurality of sectors, each sector being served by a respective radio transceiver of the access point, the method comprising: providing a frequency allocation to each sector, the frequency allocation for each sector being the same, the radio resource for each sector being allocated as a plurality of time slots, and each time slot having the same frequency allocation.
Srivastava is directed to providing sector-based resource allocation for broadband fixed wireless networks. More specifically, Srivastava teaches perform a method of allocating radio resource to a subscriber module in a fixed wireless access cellular wireless system comprising an access point and a plurality of subscriber modules at static locations ([Abstract], a sector-based resource allocation scheme for broadband fixed wireless networks. [Page 1681, Sect. III, the first paragraph], The scheme ensures that co-channel sectors are not allowed in the neighboring cells. [Page 1680, sect. II, first para.], a broadband fixed wireless network where each cell is divided into multiple sectors, each of which is served by a sector antenna co-located with a base station at the center of the cell. Terminals use directional antennas mounted on the roof top and pointed to their respective base antennas. [Page 1681, sect. III, third para], Time is divided into slots. Sectors with label L can schedule packet transmission in time slots of subframe L), each subscriber module having a directional antenna aligned with the access point ([Page 1680, sect. II, first para.], a broadband fixed wireless network where each cell is divided into multiple sectors, each of which is served by a sector antenna co-located with a base station at the center of the cell. Terminals use directional antennas mounted on the roof top and pointed to their respective base antennas), and the area of coverage of the access point having a plurality of sectors ([Page 1680, sect. II, first para.], a broadband fixed wireless network where each cell is divided into multiple sectors, each of which is served by a sector antenna co-located with a base station at the center of the cell), each sector being served by a respective radio transceiver of the access point ([Page 1680, sect. II, first para.], a broadband fixed wireless network where each cell is divided into multiple sectors, each of which is served by a sector antenna co-located with a base station at the center of the cell), the method comprising: providing a frequency allocation to each sector ([Page 1680, sect. II, second para.], This has been a strong motivation for solutions that can use the same frequency in every sector of every cell in broadband wireless networks), the frequency allocation for each sector being the same ([Page 1680, sect. II, second para.], This has been a strong motivation for solutions that can use the same frequency in every sector of every cell in broadband wireless networks), the radio resource for each sector being allocated as a plurality of time slots ([Page 1681, sect. III, third para.], time is divided into slots. Sectors with label L can schedule packet transmission in time slots of subframe L), and each time slot having the same frequency allocation ([Page 1681, sect. III, third para.], time is divided into slots. Sectors with label L can schedule packet transmission in time slots of subframe L. [Page 1680, sect. II, second para.], This has been a strong motivation for solutions that can use the same frequency in every sector of every cell in broadband wireless networks).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Zhu, so that the wireless system where resource allocation is performed for time slots reuse comprises static terminals of which antennas are aligned to their serving base stations and the same frequency is used in every sector of every cell in the wireless system, as taught by Srivastava. The modification would have provided attractive and feasible broadband wireless system for homes and small businesses (Srivastava [[Page 1680, Sect. I and Sect. II, first paragraph]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6, 9, 14 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected claims, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claims and intervening claims.
Conclusion
/S.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417